Road Tripping T&T

pato

Re: Road Tripping T&T

Postby pato » January 2nd, 2016, 2:15 pm

North coast to Arima is a nice drive, few stops along the way.....Maracas, Las Cuevas, Asa Wright Nature Center.

Postby Morpheus » January 2nd, 2016, 9:25 pm

Yup nice......with the right vehicle :ugeek:

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 3rd, 2016, 8:43 am

Na man, the road pretty ok on that run except for the parts after the quarry there.

Made it with a wingroad normal lol

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

pato

Postby pato » January 4th, 2016, 12:07 am

Yes most of the road good, i'm sure a car will be ok, I did it in my pick up doh. I always enjoy the Rio, Mayaro, Manzan run also, relaxing and interesting stops along the way.

msdragon89

Postby msdragon89 » January 7th, 2016, 10:49 pm

a drive to cedros and onwards to icacos and columbus beaches is nice!

Nexus

Postby Nexus » August 18th, 2019, 8:35 pm

Hey, thinking before the holidays out I'd like to make a trip thru the central range. Mundo Nuevo and them places. What is the best route and the condition of the roads. I know talparo around to Todd's road. Should I go thru talparo, El quimado or cumuto side and come out mamoral? I have a car btw

Postby MaxPower » August 18th, 2019, 8:57 pm

^ the place dangerous bro.

Dont go venturing in these times.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » August 18th, 2019, 9:43 pm

Really?
Banditry and sh*t? Well thanks for the warning

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » August 19th, 2019, 8:29 am

From Arima to Paria/Las Quevas via North coast is a beautiful drive, scenery rich.
I think key to those remote drives with any vehicle you choose is to not be in a hurry. Take your time on the bad roads and just enjoy the scenery.

Postby MG Man » August 19th, 2019, 10:00 am

in 2017 I left CHase Village at 4:00 am, went north, then turned east by nestle and then through Grande straight down to Mayaro, then retraced the route back home...4 hours including stops for pics etc....nothing beats sunrise through the coconuts. All done with a 40 year old car

This year, I did the La Brea-Pt Fortin - Cedros - Los Iros drive, then back up via Siparia / Debe / Penal...all in the MINI Cooper. Mostly nice roads. Stopped by beaches in La Brea, Vessigny, Graneville, Cedros and Los Iros....really great drive

Nexus

Postby Nexus » August 19th, 2019, 11:04 am

^ I did the cedros one last year; yeah some nice long coastlines down there.
Looking to explore the central range, thats a part of the country Ive never seen

Postby MG Man » August 19th, 2019, 11:19 am

Nexus wrote:^ I did the cedros one last year; yeah some nice long coastlines down there.
Looking to explore the central range, thats a part of the country Ive never seen

drive all over gran couva some years go. There's a guy up there who built a huge pyramid-shaped house. Been up to the church in Tortuga as well. Nice view but I think some ppl were robbed up there a few months back

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » August 19th, 2019, 11:22 am

Last Friday at 8:30pm I left Piparo, went thru Tabaquite - Rio Claro - Mayaro (stopped at The Ranch for a few drinks) - Manzan- Grande - Valencia - Grand Bazaar - Gasparillo - Piparo.

Got back home around 2. I love a night drive.

Only problem is that I drive a pickup but we went with my wife's Impreza and I hit the flyover over Montrose Main Rd on the left lane at about 95km/h and busted a Hankook up front.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 19th, 2019, 12:02 pm

I honestly don't mind the drives, road trips etc...but them mc roads to ridiculous....if only emphasis can be placed on those roads which carry you to the scenic parts of Trinidad, people will appreciate this place a bit more

For eg:

Grande-toco-Matelot
Grande-Manzan-Mayaro-Rio-Tabaquite
Coalmine-Biche Forest
Arima bypass-Paria (by the spring bridge)

Postby MG Man » August 19th, 2019, 12:54 pm

Can’t beat a Manzan sunrise

Road Tripping T&T

Postby MG Man » August 19th, 2019, 12:55 pm

Grand Riviere
Last edited by MG Man on August 19th, 2019, 12:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 19th, 2019, 12:56 pm

MG Man wrote:Image

Can’t beat a Manzan sunrise

pelt ah line in the river mouth oarrr

Postby MG Man » August 19th, 2019, 12:57 pm

North Deck to Maraval, with a detor down Mal Destomac road

Postby MG Man » August 19th, 2019, 1:08 pm

Randoms
WhatsApp Image 2019-08-19 at 1.03.43 PM.jpeg
Carli Bay
WhatsApp Image 2019-08-19 at 1.03.43 PM (2).jpeg
Biche sunset
WhatsApp Image 2019-08-19 at 1.03.43 PM (1).jpeg
Tortuga sunset
WhatsApp Image 2019-08-19 at 1.03.42 PM.jpeg
Cedros
WhatsApp Image 2019-08-19 at 1.03.42 PM (1).jpeg
Bay Road Jetty
WhatsApp Image 2019-08-19 at 1.03.40 PM.jpeg
Los Iros
WhatsApp Image 2019-08-19 at 1.03.39 PM.jpeg
Graneville

originalbling

Postby originalbling » August 19th, 2019, 1:34 pm

Saturday
Left Claxton Bay around 12:30pm passed tru Caratal Road, Whiteland, Sisters Road Williamsville passed the Triveni Mandir, came out in Princes Town, then onto Rio Claro and stopped in Mayaro. Left Mayaro around 6:30pm back thru Princes Town, M1 Tasker road, Daisy road then go to Tarouba around 8:20pm

Sunday
Left Brian Lara stadium around 7:15am, turned off at Tarouba, down the bypass to South Trunk road to Rousillac, La Brea, took the South Central road at the roundabout and headed to Cap de Ville junction. Made a left there onto the SS Erin road, Palo Seco, Santa Flora, Siparia, got to Penal before 10am, Debe and back to Claxton Bay.

Some nice winding country roads. Had one or two of the old time wooden houses still around.

Postby MG Man » August 19th, 2019, 1:51 pm

that Naparima Mayaro road getting worse....they really need that highway so heavy vehicles can bypass it completely

originalbling

Postby originalbling » August 19th, 2019, 1:57 pm

Yea you had to go at a slower than normal pace cause you dont know around which corner you would bounce up a pot hole or patched road. They did some scraping and paving around the teak area before Rio

nice pics MG Man

Coalmine-Biche Forest

Never did that one or to the lighthouse heading down Manzan side

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 19th, 2019, 2:04 pm

originalbling wrote:Yea you had to go at a slower than normal pace cause you dont know around which corner you would bounce up a pot hole or patched road. They did some scraping and paving around the teak area before Rio

nice pics MG Man

Coalmine-Biche Forest

Never did that one or to the lighthouse heading down Manzan side

driving through the biche forest really nice if you're a nature person...really wish they could fix that road...forest does be real cool...in between you'd see the monkeys and other types of wildlife....roadway heading to the lighthouse is only suited for vans.....doh even bother to drive a car through that

Postby MG Man » August 19th, 2019, 2:15 pm

I remember when that Coalmine road was smooth....I did some stupidly fast drives through there in a lancer wagon back in the day....and night

Long_bamboo

Postby Long_bamboo » October 18th, 2022, 6:49 pm

MG Man wrote:the road from Coalmine to Biche is bad but u can take your time and go with a car...from Biche to Plum Mitan, right through to Tabaquite is pretty decent. Cumoto is getting bad but again, if you take your time, it should be ok...can't say for Tamana and Todds road tho.....
A nice drive is from manzan to Tabaquite via Plum Mitan...nice twisty roads until Plum Mitan, not many bad spots to navigate, beautiful countryside

How is this jive nowadays i would imagine d road condition have only worsened, does anyone know if its passable with a car and how bad is it?

Postby MG Man » October 19th, 2022, 1:42 pm

Long_bamboo wrote:
MG Man wrote:the road from Coalmine to Biche is bad but u can take your time and go with a car...from Biche to Plum Mitan, right through to Tabaquite is pretty decent. Cumoto is getting bad but again, if you take your time, it should be ok...can't say for Tamana and Todds road tho.....
A nice drive is from manzan to Tabaquite via Plum Mitan...nice twisty roads until Plum Mitan, not many bad spots to navigate, beautiful countryside

How is this jive nowadays i would imagine d road condition have only worsened, does anyone know if its passable with a car and how bad is it?

last time I did that drive was in 2020 with a MINI Cooper
Not sure if it got worse since then

Postby MaxPower » October 19th, 2022, 1:49 pm

The roads are not impassable.

All u have to worry about is if you shut down.

Make sure your vehicles are serviced properly.

Crime is very bad in T&T.

Go in large groups.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 20th, 2022, 7:26 am

There are lots of folks who wish they could enjoy Trinidad natural beauty on quiet family trips, the issue is the safety of being alone on back roads and lonely narrow stretches, being subject to robberies and worst is a very true reality in our crime filled COuntry.

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2022, 2:38 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:There are lots of folks who wish they could enjoy Trinidad natural beauty on quiet family trips, the issue is the safety of being alone on back roads and lonely narrow stretches, being subject to robberies and worst is a very true reality in our crime filled COuntry.

tbh all you need is common sense
I have been cruising around with my wife for years. Obvs you not gonna park up and wander off along a lonely beach alone or drive through Coalmine at 11:00 pm in an unreliable car
but there are numerous places you can take your family without fear

Postby timelapse » October 20th, 2022, 7:46 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:There are lots of folks who wish they could enjoy Trinidad natural beauty on quiet family trips, the issue is the safety of being alone on back roads and lonely narrow stretches, being subject to robberies and worst is a very true reality in our crime filled COuntry.

tbh all you need is common sense
I have been cruising around with my wife for years. Obvs you not gonna park up and wander off along a lonely beach alone or drive through Coalmine at 11:00 pm in an unreliable car
but there are numerous places you can take your family without fear
I didn't get that memo nah.Me and the Mrs. Park up and go hiking by ourselves sometimes.