Licensing - Bribe Money Still A Thing?

Postby stev » November 22nd, 2015, 11:54 am

I did a search but didn't really come up with anything...

So I will be carrying my little cousin later this week to do his driving test....he told his parents that he needed $500 for the license, $300 to rent d car and another $500 to 'make sure he passes' according to his driving instructor (not calling name of school).

....how do I go about dealing with this? am I allowed to be up close and personal when he is doing his driving exam? if i see the officer fail him for no real reason...what should I do?

*edit* - I know this bribe thing going on a long time but i never had to deal with it...even way back when I got my license....that's why I'm asking

Re: Licensing - Bribe Money Still A Thing?

Postby tr1ad » November 22nd, 2015, 12:08 pm

Just make sure he does the driving test properly

Postby black start » November 22nd, 2015, 12:16 pm

nick639 wrote:The officer wont fail him if he does everything correctly tho

This

Postby Country_Bookie » November 22nd, 2015, 12:17 pm

Was $200 they was asking for in my day (2000). Didn't pay and went for test. Officer was talking to someone and told me to start.
Stated doing L reverse while officer wasn't looking. less than a minute later she told me to exit vehicle. Failed me for reversing too slow [CRYING FACE][CRYING FACE]

Sent from my SM-G530H using Tapatalk

Postby stev » November 22nd, 2015, 12:21 pm

^^^ wtf?

so basically the bribe money is for making the officers turn a blind eye to any mistakes during the test?

wah d ass i hearing here. lmao

Postby A172 » November 22nd, 2015, 12:22 pm

lol@ doing sumn

op reality is u a nobody in dah whole scenario so u cyar do 1 mc
tell dem doh pay and do d test normal

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 22nd, 2015, 12:30 pm

stev wrote:^^^ wtf?

so basically the bribe money is for making the officers turn a blind eye to any mistakes during the test?

wah d ass i hearing here. lmao

No the bribe money is to make sure the officer dont make some sheit up to fail you.

Postby black start » November 22nd, 2015, 12:31 pm

If e pay e bribe and still fail, you still cyah do one fork....

And even then, if e bribe and still fail, he shouldn't be let near a vehicle...

Postby rspann » November 22nd, 2015, 1:32 pm

The officers don't fail you for nothing, the driving instructors tell you that and hustle that money for themselves. When my sons went up I told them not to pay any bribe( although the instructor said 'the officer dread he does fail man for nuttin')They still pass.

Postby K74T » November 22nd, 2015, 1:38 pm

Only fools pay bribes

triston

Postby triston » November 22nd, 2015, 2:33 pm

When I went for heavy t in sando, the day of driving test, the school said to pass 400 to make sure I pass. Tell them things hard. When the officer went with me on the rd for test, I told him what school said. The man turned red saying how them could do that. I hit the truck roof and mirror on a tree branch, and the officer still pass me. This bribe thing is for too much greedy people.

wetfowl

Postby wetfowl » November 22nd, 2015, 2:45 pm

Sex with little or no lubricants is a bit of discomforting , even if its your personal lube

Just add the greases to make the wheels turn properly.

Btw if paying a five $500. Ensures you pass what is the issue ???

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 22nd, 2015, 2:50 pm

That $500 removing any nervousness normal normal. Yuh go drive like a boss

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

speedist

Postby speedist » November 22nd, 2015, 2:56 pm

Never experience the bribe thing. My instructor mentioned that it happening but he doesn't partake in that sh1t.

Postby Spitfir3 » November 22nd, 2015, 3:40 pm

only $500?? thought it was more like a grand anyway its not like they just throw it out there for you can do the test normally just show up for the proper date you are given
Last edited by Spitfir3 on November 22nd, 2015, 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SMc » November 22nd, 2015, 3:41 pm

speedist wrote:Never experience the bribe thing. My instructor mentioned that it happening but he doesn't partake in that sh1t.

Me too, didnt even know bribing was a thing when I was doing my test, didnt have money to bribe the man anyway but still passed and may probably be a better driver for it today seeing the amount od people that cant drive a manual

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 22nd, 2015, 4:30 pm

For my test, the officer, after saying good morning, plainly said to the group of us that if anyone has to bribe him, please do it now so he can pass you and not waste his time. We chuckled, and thought it was a joke, and went about to do the tests.

speedist

Postby speedist » November 22nd, 2015, 5:51 pm

SMc wrote:
speedist wrote:Never experience the bribe thing. My instructor mentioned that it happening but he doesn't partake in that sh1t.

Me too, didnt even know bribing was a thing when I was doing my test, didnt have money to bribe the man anyway but still passed and may probably be a better driver for it today seeing the amount od people that cant drive a manual

This. It possible the amount of serious road accidents is relative to the amount of people who paid for their license. :|

alex jj

Postby alex jj » November 22nd, 2015, 6:14 pm

I was failed for not looking over my shoulder at all times while reversing... Which never happened... Did back test couple months after... Told driving school I wudd pay the 200 bribe wen my pops pick me up after... Passed test with the occifer riding the clutch and directing me... Wen I was goin into car I saw the driving skool guy giv d occifer a thumbs up... After I passed I never paid the 200 and told the driving school to report me to the police

Postby MaxPower » November 22nd, 2015, 6:17 pm

speedist wrote:
It possible the amount of serious road accidents is relative to the amount of people who paid for their license. :|

Possible, but the importation of Tiidas is the main cause.

Burn a Tiida, save a life.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » November 22nd, 2015, 7:41 pm

On the day of my exam the usual officer wasn't there. The substitute officer told the group I know some of you handle your business with the other officers and he not in that, if you want to reschedule come collect you stuff. About 5 of us did the exam that day out of about 11 people.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 22nd, 2015, 9:17 pm

bossmann wrote:On the day of my exam the usual officer wasn't there. The substitute officer told the group I know some of you handle your business with the other officers and he not in that, if you want to reschedule come collect you stuff. About 5 of us did the exam that day out of about 11 people.

Similar experience
Back then one officer did all the odd numbers and another did all the even;
One didn't show up so one officer had to do all; he was pissed. He told everyone up front that if you all came with the intention of paying .... Don't bother

Postby stev » November 22nd, 2015, 9:56 pm

A172 wrote:lol@ doing sumn

op reality is u a nobody in dah whole scenario so u cyar do 1 mc
tell dem doh pay and do d test normal

actually...this pretty much what I was expecting :lol:

Seeker

Postby Seeker » November 23rd, 2015, 7:30 am

I remember when I first went to see an instructor at san f'do licensing, he told me I have two options
- I could pay him $500 now and he could my permit without taking any test or do it the 'long' (right)
way.

I choose the long way. This was in 1986.

telfer

Postby telfer » November 23rd, 2015, 8:09 am

It will never stop dem to dam nasty
Imagine I gone for heavy T and de man fail me for not bringing de truck to the center of the road to make a right ....mind u this was in pville where de friggin road narrow

Postby zoom rader » November 23rd, 2015, 8:11 am

Seeker wrote:I remember when I first went to see an instructor at san f'do licensing, he told me I have two options
- I could pay him $500 now and he could my permit without taking any test or do it the 'long' (right)
way.

That's a lot of cash in 86, that's when sort taxi drop was $2

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 23rd, 2015, 8:16 am

Seeker wrote:I remember when I first went to see an instructor at san f'do licensing, he told me I have two options
way.

$500 for it in 1986, and in 2015 is the same amount (according to OP).

Inflation doh affect dem? :?

Postby j.o.e » November 23rd, 2015, 8:27 am

dredman1 wrote:
way.

$500 for it in 1986, and in 2015 is the same amount (according to OP).

Inflation doh affect dem? :?

Yea but think about if only 5 people bribe a day
$2500/day
$12,500/week
$50,000/month

Dem fellas don't need a salary

Postby The_Honourable » November 23rd, 2015, 8:52 am

If I remember correctly, you must pass the 3 point turn (yard test) since pretty much everybody would be witnessing that, so if yuh fail... hard luck. Once you pass that, then you go for the road test which would be easy once you pay the facilitation fee. Yuh might just have to drive around a bend and come back in the yard.

Postby nervewrecker » November 23rd, 2015, 9:04 am

Is $1k now, all you have to do is show up, get in the car and make a spin around the corner.
$1200 for manual and auto.
Choose your day, time, all paper work handled etc.