Best way to keep moss from growing on concrete?

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2015, 10:46 am

Have a few threads I saw about how to remove it and finding info online on how to remove moss / fungi / algae etc but nothing to keep it from growing.
As of late it has become a nuisance and im looking for a solution. Is there any sealer of some sort that will retard the growth or keep it from growing?

thanks.

STORM1234

Re: Best way to keep moss from growing on concrete?

Postby STORM1234 » November 16th, 2015, 11:00 am

muriatic acid is epic for removing existing moss, talk to rory pholourie man he may advise better.

Postby RBphoto » November 16th, 2015, 11:51 am

Dunno if that acid is the same thing a slye, but I just sprinkle lye diluted in water and it comes out clean.

Postby MG Man » November 16th, 2015, 11:55 am

that not toxic?

Postby Chimera » November 16th, 2015, 11:58 am

Ent they does use chlorine powder as well

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 16th, 2015, 12:07 pm

Best i can suggest is painting the surface with a waterproofing paint and put a moss deterrent the paint. It might work

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2015, 12:37 pm

MG Man wrote:that not toxic?

I not sure of that acid is the same as lye but as mg man said, that's a concern of mine.

There are paints that are moss resistant? Please tell me more about these and where I can get it. Don't mind using it especially if it's clear.

I know about the chlorine powder as well but can't find it around my home town. Is it safe to use in a semi enclosed area?

Thanks for the replies so far.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Last edited by nervewrecker on November 16th, 2015, 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » November 16th, 2015, 12:38 pm

keeping the moisture from settling on it or around it. tends to happen where greenery such as plants are around. latex paint might work.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » November 16th, 2015, 12:38 pm

keeping the moisture from settling on it or around it. tends to happen where greenery such as plants are around. latex paint might work.

Fire11

Postby Fire11 » November 16th, 2015, 12:58 pm

i use chlorine powder all around my yard, it keeps it clean but you have to follow up every couple weeks once you have water settling .

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 16th, 2015, 1:01 pm

Where do you get this to buy ?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 16th, 2015, 1:02 pm

Most hardware has the chlorine powder

Postby j.o.e » November 16th, 2015, 1:47 pm

Or pool supply shops. They have the better quality one.

Postby MG Man » November 16th, 2015, 1:49 pm

how do you apply the chlorine powder? Is it mixed with water at some specific ratio, or just sprinkled?

Postby j.o.e » November 16th, 2015, 4:01 pm

Late evening or night soak down area ... Sprinkle powder , dampen area of necessary to help powder break down. Leave overnight. Wash off after 24hrs or so. Can dampen concrete following day to give it more time to work. That's my method.
The one sold in pool shops are bigger more crystalline particles rather than the powdery stuff at hardwares ..... So it breaks down over night and seems more concentrated.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 16th, 2015, 4:26 pm

Clean the moss with any commercially available cleaner, I use household bleach, and then seal the concrete surface. You should contact SCL (Trinidad) Limited (675-5555) to find out what concrete sealants they have which will prevent the growth of moss and will still have good traction at the surface.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 16th, 2015, 4:45 pm

Mix household bleach and water in a 1:3 ratio and spray on with a cheap 2 gall spraycan.
After initial treatment, it may require reapplication every couple months in the rainy season.

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2015, 7:20 pm

Thanks for all of the replies so far and thanks for the info Rory.

Postby Gladiator » November 16th, 2015, 8:09 pm

Sherwin Williams has a clear concrete sealer. Also they have concrete stains... both would keep moss off.

Postby gastly369 » November 16th, 2015, 8:22 pm

http://www.sherwin-williams.com/homeown ... rproofers/

some men doing it with glitter etc
looks awesome uncle did his yard

Postby toyolink » November 16th, 2015, 8:29 pm

Unfortunately, I have come to the conclusion that there is no product designed to stop moss and algae growth on concrete surfaces.
The above having been said there are numerous methods to control and clean build-ups.
Everything used only works for a time, so property owners with concrete paved surfaces are doomed to continuous maintenance activities.
BTW, be very careful with the chlorine granules solution since they release free chlorine to atmosphere and can quietly create problems for individuals with respiratory challenges.

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2015, 8:29 pm

I have a pal working Sherwin Williams, will ask him about this stuff.

toyolink wrote:Unfortunately, I have come to the conclusion that there is no product designed to stop moss and algae growth on concrete surfaces.
The above having been said there are numerous methods to control and clean build-ups.
Everything used only works for a time, so property owners with concrete paved surfaces are doomed to continuous maintenance activities.
BTW, be very careful with the chlorine granules solution since they release free chlorine to atmosphere and can quietly create problems for individuals with respiratory challenges.

Among other stuff.

Postby pugboy » November 17th, 2015, 6:31 am

in future try and have proper grade and make sure the handmixed concrete
is properly mixed and not like soup or it becomes a weak and porous mix like
what you see on on many local citcy corp constructed sidewalks

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 17th, 2015, 9:21 am

rip out the concrete and put grass pavers

boom shiggy

car

Postby car » November 17th, 2015, 9:49 am

A concrete sealer that is solvent based will work. Eg superseal b26.
But the conditions are to be ideal for it to work effectively. Eg proper slope, smooth finish(power float),moisture barrier under slab, levels of shade / sunlight the area gets all contribute to the moss build up.
Biocidal solution is what the paint shop sells but I don't see much of a difference of the result.
According to the conditions above there are different types of moss that will grow.eg it the front of my house that gets sun only from 3-6 pm has a brown colored moss that is easily cleans with a pressure washed. On the side of the house that gets sun for more hours there is a black moss and is real pain to clean. Twice as much effort to clean that the brown moss.

beetee

Postby beetee » November 17th, 2015, 9:57 am

hey nerve,

i have a large concrete yard. moss is an ongoing problem for me.

i buy chlorine powder from ramlagan hardware in couva for $10 a pound.
sprinkle it on wet yard and leave overnight.

It cuts most of the moss, then u can spray it off with a pressure washer or hose.

Bleach also works if you can't find chlorine powder.

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2015, 10:01 am

This is just an edge of the concrete under where the roof falls. rain blows in when it falls, about 2.5 - 3 feet in width. Have green black and brown.
Concrete is in fact porous and rough.

York

Postby York » November 17th, 2015, 10:25 am

tile it or paint it! there are paint products for concrete but u need to look at total cost as opposed to tiling say.

lye is caustic sodium hydroxide. muriatic acid can't be mixed with it, there will be a violent reaction. the lye or chlorine granule or bleach is best to cut moss for a time.

Postby cinco » November 17th, 2015, 10:31 am

Plant grass

York

Postby York » November 17th, 2015, 11:41 am

nervewrecker wrote:This is just an edge of the concrete under where the roof falls. rain blows in when it falls, about 2.5 - 3 feet in width. Have green black and brown.
Concrete is in fact porous and rough.

keep the water off the concrete, extend yuh roof or install an awning or buy the artificial turf for $13/sq ft!