What's the best brand of bearings

davymaraj

What's the best brand of bearings

Postby davymaraj » October 2nd, 2015, 7:24 am

Anyone knows which are the best brand of bearings to use in the front spindle of a car. I changed one but it did not last, even tried foreign used but it also didn't last long started making heavy noise again. The parts places can't give a good recommendation either. Info will be greatly appreciated.

Re: What's the best brand of bearings

Postby Ted_v2 » October 2nd, 2015, 7:29 am

Skf

davymaraj

Postby davymaraj » October 2nd, 2015, 7:30 am

Thanks.

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » October 2nd, 2015, 8:28 am

KOYO and NTN make most OEM bearings

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 2nd, 2015, 8:30 am

Timken as well

Postby janfar » October 2nd, 2015, 8:38 am

SKF are as good as OEM. FAG is also good but probably you wont find them so easily.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » October 2nd, 2015, 1:39 pm

newsun

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 2nd, 2015, 2:24 pm

looking to buy some for your muffler ?

Sundar

Postby Sundar » October 2nd, 2015, 2:34 pm

OP you sure there's not another issue causing the bearing to fail so quickly?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » October 2nd, 2015, 5:24 pm

Sundar wrote:OP you sure there's not another issue causing the bearing to fail so quickly?

After three years of owning a F.U car the front bearings needed changing. I used KOYO.....it lasted about one year.....I ended up changing bearings annually using KOYO.

My conclusion is the shop used air gun for everything. What if they over torque that axle nut...won't it put more strain on the bearing?

What about if an inexperienced mechanic/trainee press in the bearing improperly? ...... causing improper wear.

I know many people with the same model car as mine and they don't change bearings so often....

I changed shop and the new mechanic said i shouldn't keep using the same spindle as it may pick up some play causing premature wear.....

I would sure like to try SKF though......

Postby RBphoto » October 2nd, 2015, 8:28 pm

Is it ball bearing or roller bearing and for what? Wheel? Transmission?? Roller bearings are tightened with a specific pre-load. which is usually determined by a set of spacers. Ball bearings should not be affected by over-tightening.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 4th, 2015, 6:42 am

axles nuts has a torque spec. usually about 105 ft-pound

Postby sliderz1 » October 5th, 2015, 11:52 am

janfar wrote:SKF are as good as OEM. FAG is also good but probably you wont find them so easily.

Enduro also