Help. Lost my car keys. What should i do?

Prototype-Tuner

Help. Lost my car keys. What should i do?

Postby Prototype-Tuner » August 12th, 2015, 11:59 pm

I lost my car keys for a nissan y11 ad wagon.

What should i do.

What do i need to get.

Bought a new ignition switch and got a new key.

But if ignition changed door locks will be different.

Dont have any alarm installed.

Is there anyway to get the new key i got with the ignition to lock the doors from outside?

If i install an alarm will the doors lock when alarm is pressed?

Please any help or info will be appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Help. Lost my car keys. What should i do?

Postby janfar » August 13th, 2015, 12:11 am

Take it to a good lock smith and they will synch everything.

Postby cinco » August 13th, 2015, 12:35 am

It's an ad wagon. Just get a next one

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 13th, 2015, 3:18 am

cinco wrote:It's an ad wagon. Just get a next one

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » August 13th, 2015, 4:04 am

Come on fellas be serious now. This happened to me with a BMW last year. Car couldn't move from work for days.

Lesson learnt: When you loose your key, just get a next one...:mrgreen:

There is a service offered where you show proof of owning the car, give your chassis # and boom you get a key cut and programmed to go home and use.

Since you have a wingroad it might not be so easy. You can install an alarm. Then just use the alarm to enter the car and the ignition key to start.

Second option would be to buy the complete lock set from a crash car or salvage scraped out car.

Creative

Postby Creative » August 13th, 2015, 5:50 am

janfar wrote:Take it to a good lock smith and they will synch everything.

This is possible, had the combinations on some foreign used door locks changed to match my ignition key. Theres's a guy somewhere to the eastern end of chin chin rd, cunupia that does this. can't remember the road nor the name of the place. You can also check Derek's Locksmith on the eastern main road, arouca.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 13th, 2015, 6:24 am

OP, cut a spare eh

sbocus

Postby sbocus » August 13th, 2015, 6:34 am

OP if u in or near south, go to Singh's Lock and key, cipero st, san fernando
they will sort you out

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » August 13th, 2015, 8:51 am

hey you can go to a lock smith and get all the locks to match the key from the ignition. (i went to Trincity Mall and they did it) But you would have to take out the locks for that.
Maybe if you go to a locksmith they would take it out and charge you on that basis.

I also have a GPS/Alarm system that would allow you to remote lock and unlock your car with your cellphone. With this if you ever lose your keys just have a copy hidden in the car and open it with your phone and you on the road again.

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » August 13th, 2015, 9:36 am

Creative wrote:
janfar wrote:Take it to a good lock smith and they will synch everything.

This is possible, had the combinations on some foreign used door locks changed to match my ignition key. Theres's a guy somewhere to the eastern end of chin chin rd, cunupia that does this. can't remember the road nor the name of the place. You can also check Derek's Locksmith on the eastern main road, arouca.

Cant remember the place in cunupia?

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » August 13th, 2015, 9:37 am

madman2961 wrote:hey you can go to a lock smith and get all the locks to match the key from the ignition. (i went to Trincity Mall and they did it) But you would have to take out the locks for that.
Maybe if you go to a locksmith they would take it out and charge you on that basis.

I also have a GPS/Alarm system that would allow you to remote lock and unlock your car with your cellphone. With this if you ever lose your keys just have a copy hidden in the car and open it with your phone and you on the road again.

The place is in trincity mall itself?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » August 13th, 2015, 9:47 am

delete
Last edited by STORM1234 on September 19th, 2018, 3:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » August 13th, 2015, 10:58 am

the locksmith on old tim in curepe is also good

Postby SMc » August 13th, 2015, 12:50 pm

Its a sign from above

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 13th, 2015, 3:05 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:the locksmith on old tim in curepe is also good

Sync my door lock by him. Had to carry the door lock.

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » August 13th, 2015, 3:15 pm

Prototype-Tuner wrote:
madman2961 wrote:hey you can go to a lock smith and get all the locks to match the key from the ignition. (i went to Trincity Mall and they did it) But you would have to take out the locks for that.

The place is in trincity mall itself?

yeah upstairs Charrans

Postby Ted_v2 » August 13th, 2015, 5:02 pm

Bess info.

wetfowl

Postby wetfowl » August 13th, 2015, 6:57 pm

Check rudd lock smith in pos had same issue with same type of vehicle , cost like $3,250. But it was no sweat came to my location and made spare key on the spot in bout 1 hr
Any how all the best bro :twisted:

Postby janfar » August 14th, 2015, 5:09 am

It have a fella in the mall on the Croisee. He did it for my corolla... Although my situation was a little different, it still involved removing the ignition and all the locks. Had everything back in order within a day.

aidan

Postby aidan » November 14th, 2015, 12:17 pm

In a similar situation. Only had one key and it got lost. Luckily the car is open and in the garage. Any recommendations? If I remove the door lock and take it to a locksmith will they be able to cut a key?

LeRobot

Postby LeRobot » November 14th, 2015, 12:34 pm

Kill yourself, you have failed us all.

Postby rollingstock » November 14th, 2015, 1:35 pm

LeRobot wrote:Kill yourself, you have failed us all.

Why yuh doh hush yuh cornt if you have nothing to say?

Yeah Aidan a key can be cut from the door lock but may not start the vehicle. What type of vehicle is it?

antlind

Postby antlind » November 14th, 2015, 1:40 pm

If your car has a chip embedded in the key then you have a problem on your hands. Changing the ignition switch may be the only solution.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 14th, 2015, 1:47 pm

You can get the key code and cut and reprogram the new key with a new transponder code

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2015, 2:13 pm

I lost my keys too. With the alarm remote. Using the spare keys right now.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » November 14th, 2015, 8:35 pm

Loosing your car keys is like loosing your child.

Postby K74T » November 14th, 2015, 8:38 pm

playerskrew wrote:Loosing your car keys is like loosing your child.

What about tightening? :|

aidan

Postby aidan » November 14th, 2015, 10:34 pm

LeRobot wrote:Kill yourself, you have failed us all.

Why yuh doh hush yuh cornt if you have nothing to say?

Yeah Aidan a key can be cut from the door lock but may not start the vehicle. What type of vehicle is it?

Thanks for the constructive input,it is a 2002 ford ranger xlt. vehicle was park down a while for some engine repairs and seems the mechanic lost the key

Postby rollingstock » November 14th, 2015, 10:41 pm

That's an easy vehicle, take out the ignition barrel and carry it to a locksmith, they'll make a key to work, it will unlock the doors also. Don't go busting out the steering lock to get it eh, it can be removed with some know-how

Postby rollingstock » November 15th, 2015, 1:26 am

For the guys with just one key and don't the added expense of getting another chipped key.