Bandits stealing stick shift

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2015, 5:50 am

Are most bandits capable of driving manual vehicles ?
what are the stats ?

Lance

Re: Bandits stealing stick shift

Postby Lance » August 1st, 2015, 5:57 am

Very interesting question. I've been wondering about this as well.

unmannerly

Postby unmannerly » August 1st, 2015, 6:59 am

For real.... I sure some of them don't even possess a license

Postby j.o.e » August 1st, 2015, 7:30 am

Bandits will steal whatever there is demand for in terms of parts or vehicles ..... Manual isn't rocket science and it can be learned by someone who isn't even legally registered to drive.
I suspect however the low demand for manual vehicles may be more of a deterrent than the bandit's driving ability.
One friend I know had his manual Mazda stolen tho.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 1st, 2015, 7:49 am

j.o.e wrote:Bandits will steal whatever there is demand for in terms of parts or vehicles ..... Manual isn't rocket science and it can be learned by someone who isn't even legally registered to drive.
I suspect however the low demand for manual vehicles may be more of a deterrent than the bandit's driving ability.
One friend I know had his manual Mazda stolen tho.

Not sure your logic holds up though.

As you said, the vehicles are sold mainly for parts. Aside from the manual transmission, the vehicles are pretty much the same and can be parted and sold in exactly the same manner.

Postby j.o.e » August 1st, 2015, 7:53 am

^^^^^ Hence bandits will steal a manual vehicle if there is demand for the box...... no use going thru the hassle of stealing a manual for generic parts if there are 10 other available autos. Bandits now steal specific vehicles almost on order. The other day an Xtrail GT was stolen....specifically for the SR20-VET.

Postby j.o.e » August 1st, 2015, 7:54 am

j.o.e wrote:^^^^^ Hence bandits will steal a manual vehicle if there is demand for the box...... no use going thru the hassle of stealing a manual for generic parts if there are 10 other available autos. Bandits now steal specific vehicles almost on order. The other day an Xtrail GT was stolen....specifically for the SR20-VET.

Also with newer vehicles engines and different transmissions don't mate as easily....if a bandit wants a manual vehicle parts... he's taking yours.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 1st, 2015, 10:17 am

Hmm. Xtrail vet with a p11 with box...

Postby skylinechild » August 1st, 2015, 12:44 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Hmm. Xtrail vet IN a p11 with box...

correction....the SR20VET is the SAME engine...just a different crossmember an mounts...
easy to transfer to into a non equpped P11.

but why run down an steal a Xtrail for the VET when you gettin the VET from other cars...P11...u14...etc

unless they get ah order for a FULL xtrail...VET for one customer - doors to another customer - windscreen for another - supsension an brakes another customer...interior to another....

WOW WTF..thats a whole car right there... :lol:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 1st, 2015, 12:50 pm

^iirc the VET only came factory in the GT

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 1st, 2015, 1:11 pm

question, if yuh make yuh car look like sheit, bandit go still teef it?

like dent up panels, covered with dirt, garbage in car... that sorta thing

Postby SMc » August 1st, 2015, 1:58 pm

Driving a manual car really that difficult for the general population? so much that there is surprise that bandits can too..

Postby black start » August 1st, 2015, 2:06 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:question, if yuh make yuh car look like sheit, bandit go still teef it?

Hoss you exposing my anti theft secret Dan....

#neverinCAFchedcrewcheckingin

Also the ve and vet different....

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » August 1st, 2015, 3:05 pm

Xtrail parts expensive. That whole vehicle scrappin and selling for good money right down to the chassis. Bamboo have quite a few stolen goods also.

Postby SMc » August 1st, 2015, 3:09 pm

Do they? Where?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 1st, 2015, 3:24 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:^iirc the VET only came factory in the GT

What he said. There's no other vet. Vet came stock in the gt xtrail only.

So you hadda get it from a gt or build it yourself

Postby skylinechild » August 1st, 2015, 3:34 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:

correct but my question is WHY steal an xtrail for the VET...
when other cars come with VET..p11 / u14....etc....
it would be easier to steal another car that comes equipped with the VET if the bandit wants to steal a car with a VET.......unless the bandit gets a specific order for a xtrail GT and is able to disassemble it complete and parts it off...

but VET is VET....

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 1st, 2015, 6:17 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:

it would be easier to steal another car that comes equipped with the VET if the bandit wants to steal a car with a VET.......unless the bandit gets a specific order for a xtrail GT and is able to disassemble it complete and parts it off...

but VET is VET....

:?

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Goolie

Postby Goolie » August 1st, 2015, 6:41 pm

not to stray off topic eh, but no p11 or u14 ever came with a VET.

Postby Morpheus » August 1st, 2015, 6:42 pm

Yeah those VETs are swaps...

Postby black start » August 1st, 2015, 7:10 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:

but VET is VET....

Only vehicle ever came vet was d xtrail Dan...

All others is ve

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 1st, 2015, 7:36 pm

black start wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:question, if yuh make yuh car look like sheit, bandit go still teef it?

Hoss you exposing my anti theft secret Dan....

#neverinCAFchedcrewcheckingin

Also the ve and vet different....

lol srs thing doh

If a car looking like the owner neglects it, would they assume the parts not working good and not steal it?

Postby black start » August 1st, 2015, 10:28 pm

I honestly feel it is a deterrent which works well with being a sufferer but most men need to look fresh nuh....

Postby Morpheus » August 2nd, 2015, 12:20 am

Man I know some shake down looking cars get swiped eh. Doh put it past them...

Postby supercharged turbo » August 2nd, 2015, 5:22 pm

Skoda is anti-theft?

Postby black start » August 2nd, 2015, 5:29 pm

Peugeot is antitheft