Republic Online Banking

dogg

Re: Republic Online Banking

Postby dogg » November 27th, 2020, 3:42 pm

death365 wrote:i thought everyone get theres already an this is old news.... i got mines a week ago

it works like a normal bank card so far, no visa / local credit card option yet

Banking with Republic over 30 years (since I was a child) 2 accounts, a credit car.
I haven't received new cards.

dogg

Postby dogg » November 27th, 2020, 3:43 pm

double post
Last edited by dogg on November 27th, 2020, 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » November 27th, 2020, 4:58 pm

they sending it in the mail? i may have to change the mailing address they have on file

Postby *KRONIK* » November 27th, 2020, 5:48 pm

I only hear bout this yesterday when i got a comm error, man say "how you still have this old card? Yuh eh go fuh yuh new chip one?"

Postby 88sins » November 27th, 2020, 7:11 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I only hear bout this yesterday when i got a comm error, man say "how you still have this old card? Yuh eh go fuh yuh new chip one?"

Go for the new one? They mailing them out a good while now. Call them and let them know you never got one, they would send the new one to the address on file.
I now started using mine this week, had it on my desk for about 2 weeks. I like that you don't need to go in to input the PIN information on the new one, or memorize a PIN they randomly assigned.

Just use the new one with your same PIN, and that's that, new card active and old one immediately disabled. I checked to be sure, swiped the old one a few seconds after activating the new and it wouldn't work. Proceeded to cut the old card strip lengthwise in 3 and make plastic chillibibi with it all the same tho, dropped some of it in the yard, some in the office garbage, some home.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 27th, 2020, 8:34 pm

Now call a padna who works RBL
He say they NOW start that chip card thing
He say he not sure the distribution system is yet.
But he say i will get one....eventually
He say even bank staff havent gotten theirs yet

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 27th, 2020, 10:55 pm

meen get none either. now learning of this

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 28th, 2020, 3:02 am

dogg wrote:
death365 wrote:i thought everyone get theres already an this is old news.... i got mines a week ago

it works like a normal bank card so far, no visa / local credit card option yet

Banking with Republic over 30 years (since I was a child) 2 accounts, a credit car.
I haven't received new cards.
Same thing with me yes, but I know a couple ppl who get them one since 2 weeks ago.
Works as a visa debit card

team 394

Postby team 394 » November 28th, 2020, 6:55 am

redmanjp wrote:they sending it in the mail? i may have to change the mailing address they have on file

good luck with that, I did that earlier this year and mails still not coming to my address,

Postby 88sins » November 28th, 2020, 7:04 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Now call a padna who works RBL

Well if he says they now start, then I hadda be real special. ah feelin like a brand new shiny big fifty cents piece boi 8-)

Postby *KRONIK* » November 28th, 2020, 7:16 am

He says it most likely alphabetical,
Which would explain why you got yours already

I will hold a strain till mine reach
*KRONIK* wrote:Now call a padna who works RBL

Well if he says they now start, then I hadda be real special. ah feelin like a brand new shiny big fifty cents piece boi 8-)

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 28th, 2020, 8:41 am

You may want to consider adding some RFID scanning protection to your wallet as the cards also enabled for contactless transactions
Aluminum Foil Effectiveness Testing

DIY Protection

Postby 88sins » November 28th, 2020, 11:57 am

*KRONIK* wrote:He says it most likely alphabetical,
Which would explain why you got yours already

I will hold a strain till mine reach

Yuh cyah see a bubble and eh buss it eh :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 28th, 2020, 12:30 pm

0rb1tz wrote:republic bank new debit chip card will replace existing republic bank debit swipe card.

visa-debit.jpg

https://www.republictt.com/personal/rep ... dvisadebit

thank you.

Looks like this one has tap to pay as well?

Postby 88sins » November 28th, 2020, 5:34 pm

0rb1tz wrote:republic bank new debit chip card will replace existing republic bank debit swipe card.

visa-debit.jpg

thank you.

yup. but technically don't even have to tap. supposedly once it's within an inch distance from a tap to pay capable point of sale terminal unit it will work.

Not sure where in T&T uses that tho.

Postby 88sins » November 29th, 2020, 2:23 pm

seeing sumn new
Now see they charging $0.75 for each time you make a w/d @ the atm. They never did that before, or at least I didn't notice it. Not even an announcement of the change.

So they charging at the atm and the counter now. Like somebody liming with & taking ideas from RBC management now.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 29th, 2020, 5:12 pm

^^ They are trying to get T&T to move forward and embrace technology by performing cashless transactions through Point of Sale or online.
Like it or not COVID also pushing us to embrace technology.
There should be no fees on cashless depending on your account type.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 30th, 2020, 6:41 am

Re trying to go cash less , banks in Trinidad and Tobago are only driven by profits for shareholders. Services to assist account holder are not for most.

Look at all the charges and fee structure it never benefits an average person.

4 days holding cheques tell me when the cut that shift to 24 hours or less and match service structure to interest , then we may be going somewhere.
Can you scan a cheque and have it credited to the given account?

2WNBoost

Republic Online Banking

Postby 2WNBoost » November 30th, 2020, 7:32 am

^^ That’s the point.
Why include paper as part of the process?
You can do online interbank transfers, same day before 12:00 noon and next after 12:00 noon.
Think digital.

death365

Postby death365 » November 30th, 2020, 8:28 am

i tried and do an online top up via digicel and it was declined, hopefully the local online part come into effect soon

squirrel

Postby squirrel » November 30th, 2020, 9:17 am

88sins wrote:seeing sumn new
Now see they charging $0.75 for each time you make a w/d @ the atm. They never did that before, or at least I didn't notice it. Not even an announcement of the change.

So they charging at the atm and the counter now. Like somebody liming with & taking ideas from RBC management now.

Republic Bank has been charging $0.75 for ABM withdrawals for as long as I can remember - listed in transactions as "ABM withdrawal service charge".

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2020, 9:23 am

visa-debit.jpg

thank you.

yup. but technically don't even have to tap. supposedly once it's within an inch distance from a tap to pay capable point of sale terminal unit it will work.

Some point of sale (LINX) machines say “Insert, tap or swipe your card”
Don’t know if it’s activated though.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 30th, 2020, 9:34 am

visa-debit.jpg

thank you.

Some point of sale (LINX) machines say “Insert, tap or swipe your card”
Don’t know if it’s activated though.

I could have sworn I read on this forum in one of the many threads on banking that Starbucks is the only local company that uses the tap to pay on the machines.
Never seen it happen though.

Postby 88sins » November 30th, 2020, 9:37 am

squirrel wrote:
88sins wrote:seeing sumn new

Republic Bank has been charging $0.75 for ABM withdrawals for as long as I can remember - listed in transactions as "ABM withdrawal service charge".

:oops:
Never noticed that before.
But then again I don't use atms often, and when I need cash I would usually just swipe at the pos terminal at the office.

I suppose I should start going through my statements instead of just looking at the end balances.

Postby redmanjp » November 30th, 2020, 9:57 am

^ whether or not there is a charge probably depends on what type of account it is.

2WNBoost

Republic Online Banking

Postby 2WNBoost » November 30th, 2020, 10:19 am

I think the terminals from Scotia and FCB have contactless enabled.
The RBL card limit is set to $300 for contactless

Postby redmanjp » November 30th, 2020, 10:40 am

2WNBoost wrote:I think the terminals from Scotia and FCB have contactless enabled.
The RBL card limit is set to $300 for contactless

Why so low? Security concerns around contactless?

2WNBoost

Republic Online Banking

Postby 2WNBoost » November 30th, 2020, 11:01 am

I guess, in case you butt swipe or skimming.
Anything above will require a PIN.
That’s why the foil in your wallet may be a cheap option to consider.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » December 1st, 2020, 7:24 am

the normal savings plus from RBL is the worse, they actually charge for withdrawals even if they occur online *for free*.
Anyone ever tried to receive funds or buy stuff online using these RBL Visa Debit Cards?

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » December 1st, 2020, 7:26 am

With the savings plus account, u can withdraw up to 3 times in 6 months I believe. After 3 times then they charge
daxt0r wrote:the normal savings plus from RBL is the worse, they actually charge for withdrawals even if they occur online *for free*.
Anyone ever tried to receive funds or buy stuff online using these RBL Visa Debit Cards?