Groovemaster

WTK - Dimmable LED Downlights

Postby Groovemaster » July 13th, 2015, 8:03 am

http://postimg.org/image/iwesi8hqz/
http://postimg.org/image/hin5mxihn/

Hi Tuners, i bought these LED lights from Lighthouse who told me they are dimmable. However, when connected to a dimmer home they cause the breaker to "hum" and flicker.
Advise please....

Re: WTK - Dimmable LED Downlights

Postby MG Man » July 13th, 2015, 8:22 am

u tried asking the vendor?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » July 13th, 2015, 8:38 am

The woman in lighthouse said they are dimmable. I bought it a while back but now installing them

Postby MG Man » July 13th, 2015, 8:45 am

I'd still give them a call first, and explain the problem to them, and hear what their response would be

Postby 88sins » July 13th, 2015, 8:54 am

what size & rating is d breaker on the circuit?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » July 13th, 2015, 9:01 am

I guess i would call them....
15A breaker

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2015, 9:16 am

That sounds like an overloaded breaker. Yuh sure nothing else on that circuit? A certified electrician install that?

Postby RBphoto » July 13th, 2015, 9:59 am

The breaker is defective. Replace the Breaker and try again. An overloaded breaker will trip, not hum. Also, there is the possibility that you are using it with a conventional dimmer. LED's are not infinitely dimmable. Like Fluorescent dimmables, you cannot dim it very low (depending on whether you are using a PWM or voltage regulation method). Ask Lighthouse whether there is a special dimmer for the unit. Mind posting the brand and model number for me?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2015, 10:54 am

You also want to isolate that circuit. Depending on the dimmer switch, the LEDs can flicker if there is other things on the circuit.

I have dimmable LED down lighters in my office with a Lutron dimmer switch. At first the LEDs were on the same circuit as a fluorescent fixture (on a different switch obviously) and the LEDs would flicker continuously. We put the LEDs on a circuit by themselves and it worked properly.

Postby MG Man » July 13th, 2015, 11:00 am

all dat tuh say yuh have ah fluorescent fixture?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2015, 11:29 am

MG Man wrote:all dat tuh say yuh have ah fluorescent fixture?
no since yesterday i want to use the word "isolate"

Postby MG Man » July 13th, 2015, 11:33 am

MG Man wrote:all dat tuh say yuh have ah fluorescent fixture?
no since yesterday i want to use the word "isolate"

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » July 13th, 2015, 11:58 am

The dimmer switch/potentiometer is "T&J" from Modern Elect. I'll get the model of the bulb later. The led's are on a separate breaker and switch. The only thing i find odd is the electrician put 12 on one switch....I believe the Inspectorate allows nine per switch......???

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » July 13th, 2015, 12:02 pm

Sooooo......They not dimmable....called lighthouse. I specifically asked if they were before I purchased...paid $85 per bulb and now found out the dimmable is $185.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2015, 12:03 pm

Groovemaster wrote:The dimmer switch/potentiometer is "T&J" from Modern Elect. I'll get the model of the bulb later. The led's are on a separate breaker and switch. The only thing i find odd is the electrician put 12 on one switch....I believe the Inspectorate allows nine per switch......???
depends on the wattage. A LED can be 5 watts each vs incandescent or halogen that can be 50 watts each.

What is the wattage of each LED? It will be written on the bulb.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » July 13th, 2015, 12:13 pm

Each bulb is 3W

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2015, 12:59 pm

Groovemaster wrote:Each bulb is 3W
so that whole circuit is 36w. A single regular incandescent bulb is 60w, some are 100w. You safe there

Postby MG Man » July 13th, 2015, 1:09 pm

Groovemaster wrote:Sooooo......They not dimmable....called lighthouse. I specifically asked if they were before I purchased...paid $85 per bulb and now found out the dimmable is $185.

that's messed up :-/
If u remember who the rep is, you could shove the bill down his throat and at least salvage some feel-good vibes

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » July 13th, 2015, 1:13 pm

^^^ nah ...I guess I would put them on a switch and make the lights in the chandelier dimmable

Thanks for the info guys

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2015, 2:14 pm

Groovemaster wrote:^^^ nah ...I guess I would put them on a switch and make the lights in the chandelier dimmable

Thanks for the info guys
what is the brand of the bulb?

Postby RBphoto » July 13th, 2015, 2:40 pm

Just saying.. not energy efficient, but tungsten is the most variable dimmable, flicker free lighting technology there is. The orange glow is a lot less harsh on the eyes at night than anything else. Still change that breaker though. That noise kinda suspect.

Postby MG Man » July 13th, 2015, 2:45 pm

yeah buh sometimes you need that harsh white glow to suit your decor

Postby RBphoto » July 13th, 2015, 2:54 pm

MG Man wrote:yeah buh sometimes you need that harsh white glow to suit your decor

Sometimes, you just need:

Postby MG Man » July 13th, 2015, 2:57 pm

a man after my own <3

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2015, 4:06 pm

RBphoto wrote:Just saying.. not energy efficient, but tungsten is the most variable dimmable, flicker free lighting technology there is. The orange glow is a lot less harsh on the eyes at night than anything else. Still change that breaker though. That noise kinda suspect.
LED's can be any colour temperature

There are warm white, daylight etc
Some LEDs let you switch between 3200K and 5600K

Postby RBphoto » July 13th, 2015, 4:11 pm

RBphoto wrote:Just saying.. not energy efficient, but tungsten is the most variable dimmable, flicker free lighting technology there is. The orange glow is a lot less harsh on the eyes at night than anything else. Still change that breaker though. That noise kinda suspect.

That is correct about the fixed color ones. The color temperature of LED's are not infinitely variable though, as the chemical composition of the substrate is what affects affects color. Those shifting ones are really expensive and are not flicker free. They use PWM to vary how much different colored LED's contribute to overall color by switching them at high frequency.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2015, 4:14 pm

RBphoto wrote:

That is correct about the fixed color ones. Those shifting ones are really expensive though and are not flicker free. They use PWM to vary how much different colored LED's contribute to overall color by switching them at high frequency.
yup but that's like complaining that your TV or computer monitor or tablet or phone flickers. The frequency is high enough that it wont matter

anyway the switching ones are for specific use, not really for downlighters.

Postby RBphoto » July 13th, 2015, 4:18 pm

RBphoto wrote:

That is correct about the fixed color ones. Those shifting ones are really expensive though and are not flicker free. They use PWM to vary how much different colored LED's contribute to overall color by switching them at high frequency.
yup but that's like complaining that your TV or computer monitor or tablet or phone flickers. The frequency is high enough that it wont matter

I hate my flickering cellphone screen :| I really hate downlighters except for task and work areas. I love hanging lights and uplighters for the diffuse glow they give.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2015, 4:23 pm

RBphoto wrote:

I hate my flickering cellphone screen :| I really hate downlighters except for task and work areas. I love hanging lights and uplighters for the diffuse glow they give.
I'm surprised you actually like electricity! I'm impressed! I always thought you were a kerosene lamp kinda guy :lol:

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » July 13th, 2015, 4:28 pm

LE[REGISTERED SIGN] 6.5W Dimmable MR16 GU10 LED Bulbs, 50W Halogen Bulbs Equivalent, UL Listed, 360lm, 25° Beam Angle, Warm White, 3000K, Recessed Lighting, Track Lighting, Spotlight, LED Light Bulbs, Pack of 10 Units https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IXG3O3S/re ... Pvb2ZS6AD4

Order your own. These places tend to be wayyyyy over priced.