Official New Born Baby Thread

jaithon

Re: Offical New Born Baby Thread

Postby jaithon » July 13th, 2018, 8:22 pm

X_Factor wrote:whats the advantage of using those gentlease /lactose reduced/free types?

could it not do more harm than good later on as the child grows and creating lactose sensitive kids/adults

The advantage is, your baby wont be severely affected by gripe, as boys are more prone to it, also its easier to digest, as babies hve very sensitive & volatile stomachs.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 13th, 2018, 8:56 pm

Theoretically it should help with colic but my daughter still has a lot of gas even with using this.
Even with gripe water and simethicone drops. It's just a phase that they have to pass thru.

jaithon

Postby jaithon » July 13th, 2018, 9:32 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Theoretically it should help with colic but my daughter still has a lot of gas even with using this.
Even with gripe water and simethicone drops. It's just a phase that they have to pass thru.

Use heng oil, 2drops in her tea & she is gonna belchout the gas

air wick

Offical New Born Baby Thread

Postby air wick » July 14th, 2018, 2:30 am

We switched to gentlease approximately one month after birth after using the regular enfamil, it didn’t work instantly to reduce colic but after a week or so the colic was significantly reduced to now it’s no longer there at 4 mths

Postby Dizzy28 » July 14th, 2018, 8:48 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:What's the cost like at brydens per case of enfamil? How does it come? Small tin, big tin, the reusable plastic container? I usually buy the 2pk box refill for $210 at my supermarket!
You'll get all those variations there are they are the distributor. Somebody may better answer the cost.

Postby X_Factor » July 14th, 2018, 5:35 pm

colic doesnt last forever..yeah it is a lil stressful but we all went through that phase when we were kids
should have just rally through rather than the possibility of creating a lactose sensitive person

Nexus

Postby Nexus » July 14th, 2018, 5:49 pm

Nice thread.
Baby boy now 16 weeks, that gripe thing is reaaal stress, was bad up to about the second month. We used gentle ease as well, to be honest none of those gripe waters work. The only thing that seem to help was to keep the warm, especially their tummy in the evening and if the gripe start wet and microwave a rag to warm (not hot!), Put it in a Ziploc and wrap in a blanket around the tummy; seemed to sooth him to.
Hold a strain, it doh last for long

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » July 14th, 2018, 6:50 pm

goalpost wrote:One of the best days of my life was when my little ones got too old for Enfamil. Real dollars spent.

Forget Enfagrow after 1 years, it was/is Klim for it.

True dat, was 6-8 tins at a time in PriceSmart. Along with the Pampers diapers and wipes, was a small fortune even then (8-10 years ago).

I waiting for the day I using 8 tins a month after 1 1/2 years she not drinking the klim and well food she’s so so with it. Can’t wait for it to be over so I get that money back lol

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » July 14th, 2018, 6:52 pm

And well pampers that’s another thing we use little movers that’s 500 a month

Postby X_Factor » July 14th, 2018, 7:37 pm

another thing is those gerber baby food
ppl actually give that crap to their kids?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 14th, 2018, 8:41 pm

X_Factor wrote:colic doesnt last forever..yeah it is a lil stressful but we all went through that phase when we were kids
should have just rally through rather than the possibility of creating a lactose sensitive person

A little stressful? It's heartwrenching to hold your tiny human while they're bawling ceaselessly and there isn't much you can do about it. You're right, we experienced it, but I don't think I could ever get used to it and my daughter didn't even get much gripe.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » July 15th, 2018, 12:45 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
X_Factor wrote:colic doesnt last forever..yeah it is a lil stressful but we all went through that phase when we were kids

A little stressful? It's heartwrenching to hold your tiny human while they're bawling ceaselessly and there isn't much you can do about it. You're right, we experienced it, but I don't think I could ever get used to it and my daughter didn't even get much gripe.
Girls dont get it as bad as boys! I used ovul and kolic and both worked great! I gave my son ovul from birth and didnt wait until he started griping to give him. I used to give him the recommended dose for the day which was 0.5ml every 6hrs. I hardly had much issue with the gripe because of this.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » July 15th, 2018, 12:50 pm

So my son will be 6 months Tuesday, looking to start him on solids besides nestum! Any suggestions? My cousin makes a great homemade yogurt and with a dash of honey, tastes great....would like to give him just a little spoonful each day!

Postby X_Factor » July 15th, 2018, 1:16 pm

honey should not be given to a child under 1 year old
honey can have botulism spores

and avoid the rice based cereals until the child is a bit older, its linked to have a higher arsenic levels compared to other grains

as for solids at that time i gave my son , boiled potato,sweet potato, green fig, eddoes, yam, carrots, pawpaw, avocadom pumpkin

Postby Dizzy28 » July 15th, 2018, 2:51 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:So my son will be 6 months Tuesday, looking to start him on solids besides nestum! Any suggestions? My cousin makes a great homemade yogurt and with a dash of honey, tastes great....would like to give him just a little spoonful each day!
My sons first solids were either the pre made Gerber - cream corn or squash and or homemade potato sweet, potato mashes. The Gerber phase was only for a few months though as he quickly lost the taste for it. As stated before both our pediatricians advised against honey due to its possible risks more so for pollen which could cause allergic reactions.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » July 15th, 2018, 4:52 pm

No honey, got it!! Thanks fellas

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2018, 9:46 pm

X_Factor wrote:honey should not be given to a child under 1 year old
honey can have botulism spores

and avoid the rice based cereals until the child is a bit older, its linked to have a higher arsenic levels compared to other grains

as for solids at that time i gave my son , boiled potato,sweet potato, green fig, eddoes, yam, carrots, pawpaw, avocadom pumpkin

Yup these worked well for all 3 of our kids

toscati

Postby toscati » July 18th, 2018, 12:18 pm

And fruits - bananas, pawpaw, watermelon, mango.
If you don't mind the mess, set your little one down on some old newspapers and let them have fun.
Or, you can puree them in the blender to make a smoothie and feed them yourself

toscati

Postby toscati » July 18th, 2018, 12:21 pm

Or just crush them with a good old spoon or fork

Nexus

Postby Nexus » September 3rd, 2018, 9:16 pm

Hey,
Anyone knows if diaper genie refills sold anywhere down here?
Thanks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 3rd, 2018, 10:19 pm

Nexus wrote:Hey,
Thanks

Gopaul Lands Baby Store
http://toyandbaby.gopaulands.com/site/p ... ie&search=

And the baby store in Santa Maria Plaza, Mucurapo Rd. POS

And Grand Bazaar baby store next to Wonderful World

Postby teems1 » September 3rd, 2018, 11:30 pm

Has anyone who was supposed to register their newborn in South Quay but now has to do elsewhere due to the earthquake done so as yet?

I'm thinking San Fernando might be an easier option than Arima due to easier parking.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » September 3rd, 2018, 11:37 pm

Nexus wrote:Hey,
Thanks

Gopaul Lands Baby Store
http://toyandbaby.gopaulands.com/site/p ... ie&search=

And the baby store in Santa Maria Plaza, Mucurapo Rd. POS

And Grand Bazaar baby store next to Wonderful World

Thanks a lot man!

Joey_nm

Re: Official New Born Baby Thread

Postby Joey_nm » October 19th, 2018, 5:27 am

Good morning! Looking for good quality Local cold pressed coconut oil for toddlers. I got in the past from someone in Manzanilla but the person passed away recently.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 19th, 2018, 12:28 pm

Joey_nm wrote:Good morning! Looking for good quality Local cold pressed coconut oil for toddlers. I got in the past from someone in Manzanilla but the person passed away recently.
I used to get from an old WASA retiree in Blanchisseuse. Not sure if he still does it as he was going blind. Mr. Lequay.

Postby X_Factor » October 19th, 2018, 2:45 pm

not sure if u in the vicinity but farmers market in macoya has on sunday mornings

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 7th, 2019, 9:50 am

4E5AC331-D6F8-4B9F-B4E4-10245BA3E8B4.jpeg

ANybody ever see this formula locally?

Postby A172 » March 1st, 2019, 4:46 pm

using this
buy them at 4 per box & two boxes an order, ~$300 per container, lasts about 6 weeks as he's on solids now

trying to keep his nutrition as clean as possible so this is working good

GUEST_a11b7ddb-14ca-49d2-8c86-ac5d8b128b5d.jpeg
GUEST_a11b7ddb-14ca-49d2-8c86-ac5d8b128b5d.jpeg (40.1 KiB) Viewed 7258 times

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » July 14th, 2019, 1:30 pm

Fellas, I am urgently requesting a pediatrician that’s available in the west.

Postby toyolink » July 14th, 2019, 5:03 pm

trinitachi wrote:Fellas, I am urgently requesting a pediatrician that’s available in the west.

Try Dr. Girod 682-3176.
If emergency e.g allergic reaction head to a hospital.