Official New Born Baby Thread

carluva

Re: Official New Born Baby Thread

Postby carluva » April 5th, 2021, 11:06 am

I have one. Tried it and buss.

Looking to get rid of it. Willing to give you. What area you located?
PapaC wrote:Hey anybody ever tried balance bikes for toddlers?
Ever seen any locally or is to skybox it in?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » April 6th, 2021, 6:48 am

carluva wrote:I have one. Tried it and buss.

Looking to get rid of it. Willing to give you. What area you located?
PapaC wrote:Hey anybody ever tried balance bikes for toddlers?
Ever seen any locally or is to skybox it in?

PM Sent

jsali

Postby jsali » April 6th, 2021, 9:46 am

Joshie23 wrote::cry:
:cry:
Peeps with three car seats (one forward facing but may be able to shift to booster soon, one rear facing but may be able to shift to forward facing soon and..a definite rear facing..for a while..)
Can it be done with a five seater? Or is minivan-land or seven seater SUV the next step?

Asking for a friend. :cry:

Hey, look into this forward facing. The width is adjustable. Cheaper to buy these seats than a whole cyar :lol:

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 12th, 2021, 12:50 pm

jsali wrote:
Joshie23 wrote::cry:
:cry:
Peeps with three car seats (one forward facing but may be able to shift to booster soon, one rear facing but may be able to shift to forward facing soon and..a definite rear facing..for a while..)
Can it be done with a five seater? Or is minivan-land or seven seater SUV the next step?

Asking for a friend. :cry:

Hey, look into this forward facing. The width is adjustable. Cheaper to buy these seats than a whole cyar :lol:

Thanks man. Pretty fruitful discussion between carluva and I involving something similar, but it seems like the whole cyar will still have to be changed..lols...with that said..

Joshie23 wrote:Peeps with three car seats (one forward facing but may be able to shift to booster soon, one rear facing but may be able to shift to forward facing soon and..a definite rear facing..for a while..)

Bumping this..what vehicles have we locally, that are able to fit a combination of rear facing and forward facing seats in a row, or seven seaters that are safety conscious and reliable? Can't buy a new Ertiga or XL-7 in 2021 with two airbags :roll:

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 17th, 2021, 12:16 am

IMG_3904.JPG
IMG_3904.JPG (58.83 KiB) Viewed 2821 times

This is a good read for new parents.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 20th, 2021, 8:44 pm

Hey folks,

The Mrs. has again stated she wants to have our baby in the public hospital, but I'm wary with the COVID numbers rising and what not; granted she's never had a bad experience with the people at SFGH (the environment on the Labour Ward or any part of the old hospital is a different story so one can understand my apprehension) :? I know prenatal clinic is on the new wing in SFGH, but I'm still considering private; for both pre-natal and delivery.

The general hospital tends to 'coast' if they don't have your prenatal Doctor's visit notes and you're sent to them if complication arises in delivery with the nursing home, which we all know, its either you're shipped straight to the public hospital, or it's c-section and she dreads that more than anything..

So, with that said, what do delivery prices look like these days?

P.S. Babies eh, not Amazon or DHL. :lol:
P.P.S. South based OBGYNs preferred please.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 20th, 2021, 9:58 pm

The cost in a private institution depends on several factors.

Private room or shared room?

Normal delivery or scheduled induced normal delivery?

Normal delivery or planned C-section?

Normal delivery vs emergency C-section is another complication.

A few years ago, at a private institution North of the Caroni, a scheduled induced normal delivery in a private room cost $15k. C-section was about $40k.

If this is not the first kid and there is a history of C-section with the older kid(s), then there is likely no choice. It'll have to be C-section plus maybe two to three nights at the institution.

If this is not the first kid and the older kid(s) were normal delivery, it's very likely this will be a normal delivery and you can be out same day or overnight (depending on time of birth)

So for a C-section at private, it's easily $40k. Normal should be easily $15k. These prices may be more as well depending on the institution and the obstetrician.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 20th, 2021, 11:22 pm

Memory a little hazy but IIRC, GVMC gave us a quote for $36k. Lowest we got is a birthing place in pos side named mamatoto for $15k.

Call around, but essentially, don't let the price be an issue. Whatever it is, once both parents, especially the mother to be is comfortable, that is the main thing. All the best.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 20th, 2021, 11:39 pm

1) Emergency C-Section Delivery
2) St. Augustine Private Hospital
3) Private Room
4) Two day stay
5) Total bill (doctor + hospital) was just over $39k

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » April 21st, 2021, 1:54 pm

At SAPH in September last year, total cost for normal delivery was just under $24k, including overnight stay.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 21st, 2021, 6:40 pm

Thanks for the replies and advice folks.

It'll more than likely be a normal delivery again.

Calling around, so far the prices mentioned are close..around $22k inclusive for normal delivery, $40k for c-section.

Her first two visits thus far were with Dr. Peter Morris in Vistabella, so I'm considering Victoria Nursing Home..

carluva

Postby carluva » April 21st, 2021, 7:24 pm

If doing the delivery privately it may make sense to have it at the institution that the obstetrician is affiliated with.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 21st, 2021, 9:40 pm

Medical associates hovering from 19k to 38k(emergency c section). This also covers the pediatrician fees

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 21st, 2021, 9:44 pm

R.P.J wrote:Quick Question

Can anyone recommend a midwife or someone who rubs women belly after they make baby.
Thanks

If you serious, pm me. My grandfather's sister does that. Highly recommended and well known in Grande

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 22nd, 2021, 8:01 am

carluva wrote:If doing the delivery privately it may make sense to have it at the institution that the obstetrician is affiliated with.

Yeah, definitely. That's why I'm thinking about Dr. Morris..he's at Victoria Nursing Home. I also got a stellar review from a colleague on Dr. Reiaz Mohammed at GVMC, so we'll see how it goes with Dr. Morris.

Thanks again for the responses folks.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 1st, 2022, 9:36 pm

What brand of diapers do you all use overnight for a toddler (17 months)?

The pampers swaddlers don’t seem to be able to handle the volume of urine over a 10 to 12 hour period and the pampers baby dry just don’t fit properly like the swaddlers and have leakage issues.

Postby X_Factor » January 2nd, 2022, 8:14 am

the only other option is the huggies
or change the diaper once between that period

Postby Dave » January 2nd, 2022, 8:20 am

That period between changes does seem like a long interval.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 3rd, 2022, 7:14 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:What brand of diapers do you all use overnight for a toddler (17 months)?

The pampers swaddlers don’t seem to be able to handle the volume of urine over a 10 to 12 hour period and the pampers baby dry just don’t fit properly like the swaddlers and have leakage issues.

Just after that stage/age my older two went from Stage 6 in Huggies to Pull-Ups, for two reasons mainly: 1) potty training and 2) leakage issues.

I feel like these days we're either getting some inferior Huggies locally though, or their QA/QC has taken a nosedive and well, a few hours or so after slapping the first Pampers (Baby Dry, iirc) out of the box on my second kiddo, we were again reminded why we don't use Pampers...absolute failure.

The Pull-Ups are worth a try bud.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » May 6th, 2022, 10:46 am

Just a little reminder please make appointment to have your baby register because it's not like before.

Appointment link is here
https://appointments.gov.tt/organizations/view/3

Location Level 3 Teaching Hospital

After You Make Appointment In Birth paper office to get physical birth paper

Real Stress Post Covid Public Service Stress

Postby Dave » May 6th, 2022, 12:38 pm

I saw on ABC news this morning there is a shortage of some baby milk. Is the local market affected?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 6th, 2022, 1:20 pm

Dave wrote:I saw on ABC news this morning there is a shortage of some baby milk. Is the local market affected?

https://www.webmd.com/baby/news/2022050 ... ting-worse

"Inflation, supply chain shortages, and product recalls have brought an unprecedented amount of volatility to the category, and we expect to continue to see baby formula as one of the most affected categories in the market,” he said.

The shortage comes after Abbott Nutrition voluntarily recalled in mid-February select batches of Similac, Alimentum and EleCare formulas manufactured in Sturgis, Michigan. The recall was expanded in late February to include one lot of Similac PM 60/40.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/money/sh ... 525498002/

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » May 8th, 2022, 10:17 pm

The distributor for Enfamil has very low stock. So yep global supply chain issues

smallgirl

Postby smallgirl » February 22nd, 2023, 2:06 am

How long to give newborn lime bud? I made a thermos full... :roll:

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 22nd, 2023, 8:59 am

smallgirl wrote:How long to give newborn lime bud? I made a thermos full... :roll:

What you giving them limebud for?
Gas?

Newborns should not be given water until they over 6m.
Talk to a GP first.

If you feeding them formula, try the Gentle Ease by Emfamil, or adding some Ovol drops to their formula/ milk. it worked for us, but of course all children are different and you want a doctor's advice out the gate.

smallgirl

Postby smallgirl » February 22nd, 2023, 8:26 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
smallgirl wrote:How long to give newborn lime bud? I made a thermos full... :roll:

What you giving them limebud for?
Gas?

Newborns should not be given water until they over 6m.
Talk to a GP first.

If you feeding them formula, try the Gentle Ease by Emfamil, or adding some Ovol drops to their formula/ milk. it worked for us, but of course all children are different and you want a doctor's advice out the gate.

Yeh gas...
No using the lime bud water to make the formula

I eh sure ovol workin na...