Re: 6 fire stations closed down

Postby Slartibartfast » March 11th, 2015, 9:46 am

DVSTT wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Have a set of blue strobes in my cart about a week now waiting to buy.I seeing all kinda different vehicles with blue lights running down the shoulder in de morning.

You need a letter to use them.

Link we nah

That like the fog light letter?

Just get one and I makin letter for evee bodi. 50 cents a copy.

Postby Habit7 » May 8th, 2015, 10:25 am

15 new vehicles but none to fight fires

Published: Thursday, May 7, 2015

Acting Chief Fire Officer Roosevelt Bruce, left, during the blessing of his official vehicle at yesterday's ceremony at Fire Services headquarters, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain. PHOTO: JEFF MAYERS

The Fire Services yesterday added 15 new vehicles to its fleet, including a luxury Lexus sedan and high-end SUVs, none of which are needed to douse flames.

These vehicles, which cost $4,030,647, were bought from Southern Sales by the Ministry of National Security.

They come fully equipped with MP3 players, USBs, air-conditioning and GPS. 

However, with all these luxuries, the service is grappling with the need for fire-fighting equipment at several fire stations across T&T.

Yesterday, president of the Fire Services Association Leo Ramkissoon criticised the acquisition of the vehicles. 

He said: “We are awaiting to see how those recently-commissioned vehicles are going to improve the Fire Services’ ability to respond to emergencies, fire calls and flooding. 

“We have been calling for fire-fighting units to do the jobs. There are several units that are not working and defective,” said Ramkissoon in a telephone interview.

He said there were no working fire appliances at the Belmont, Woodbrook and Chaguaramas Fire Stations and the tender at the Santa Cruz Fire Station did not pass a vehicle inspection.

He said that Belmont Fire Station was located in a crucial area that covered the Port-of-Spain General Hospital, Port-of-Spain, the President’s residence, the Belmont community, St Ann’s, the Diplomatic Centre and Laventille. 

Ramkissoon said members of the association were not invited to attend the event and stood at the nearby building listening to the speeches at the handing- over ceremony.

Acting Chief Fire Officer Roosevelt Bruce said the utility vehicles were bought instead of the fire tenders because they were easier to acquire. 

He said specialised fire-fighting equipment had to be imported and took months to acquire.

He added: “We have vehicles at the stations and some are in need of repairs and we are repairing them now.

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-05-07 ... ight-fires

I hope that superior a/c units in those luxury vehicles counter the latent heat of fires as the officers watch on.

Postby Redman » May 8th, 2015, 10:42 am

Acting Chief Fire Officer Roosevelt Bruce said the utility vehicles were bought instead of the fire tenders because they were easier to acquire.

well sheeeeit

I thought procurement was based on NEED -not ease of acquisition.

I know for a fact that the Fire Service,MONS,TTPS,Ministry of Health have all been offered relevant BEST IN CLASS technology that will cost effectively solve broad based problems and improve service delivery and NOTHING is done because the right people have a not involved and have a vested interest in maintaining the status quo remaining.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 8th, 2015, 10:44 am

Steups. Nice to see my tax dollars going to good use

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 8th, 2015, 10:52 am

pioneer wrote:No fuel for the fire trucks but it have fuel for the dmax, hilux, prado and jeep etc.

k

This is true just look at even the Army they have more Prado and fancy expensive luxury SUV now than actual Jeeps. Why do they need all these million dollar fancy SUV?

And then cry wolf how the government never give them enough money. When in reality decisions are made that goes like this

Person A: Lets pay our bills shall we?

Person B: STFU and GTFO with that nonsense what you feel we is? fcking Canadians? everybody hadda eat ah food here.

Person C to Z: What about me? I wa eat ah food too.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 8th, 2015, 10:55 am

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Postby pioneer » May 9th, 2015, 1:33 am

If Bruce gave that explanation he should immediately resign.

Wastage yet again.

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2015, 5:33 am

in all them ministries, the drivers who deliver documents and such does drive prado
of course the past excuse was it was Patrick who buy them for the summit

Lance

Postby Lance » May 9th, 2015, 6:06 am

pioneer wrote:If Bruce gave that explanation he should immediately resign.

Wastage yet again.

I literally read his comments 5 times to make sure I wasn't going insane.

Banana Republic

Postby Morpheus » May 9th, 2015, 10:26 am

Same here....

"Say what?"