Making a back lit license plate. Would it be illegal?

Viresh05

Making a back lit license plate. Would it be illegal?

Postby Viresh05 » January 20th, 2015, 3:13 pm

Hey everyone. I've been doing some experiments with my car using LED strips and other LED applications and I had the idea to make a back lit LED license plate. How it would work is that it will still be visible on and off but in the night it would give a glow like a sign. From your experiences would that be illegal to have it back lit with white LEDs? Thank I would really appreciate the advice. :D

Re: Making a back lit license plate. Would it be illegal?

Postby cinco » January 20th, 2015, 3:25 pm

Viresh05 wrote:Hey everyone. I've been doing some experiments with my car using LED strips and other LED applications and I had the idea to make a back lit LED license plate. How it would work is that it will still be visible on and off but in the night it would give a glow like a sign. From your experiences would that be illegal to have it back lit with white LEDs? Thank I would really appreciate the advice. :D

I've seen a red band maxi with this since last year some time

Viresh05

Postby Viresh05 » January 20th, 2015, 3:48 pm

Oh cool so it would be illegal to some extent? I wanna save myself the trouble of making it if it is. :-\

Postby sliderz1 » January 20th, 2015, 3:52 pm

pull up infront the highway patrol

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 20th, 2015, 4:00 pm

sliderz1 wrote:pull up infront the highway patrol

simple 8-) 8-) 8-)

Postby cinco » January 20th, 2015, 4:10 pm

You should be fine
(ii) the identification mark may, at the option
of the owner, be constructed and used in a
manner which illuminates it by reflection,
transparency, translucency or otherwise.
If the identification mark is so constructed
and used, the letters and figures shall be
black on a white surface, and every letter
or figure shall be indelibly inscribed or so
attached to such surface that it cannot
readily be detached therefrom;

konartis

Postby konartis » January 20th, 2015, 4:27 pm

you could explore the offence of unauthorized light on a vehicle, try it and see how it goes, if u get a ticket for unauthorized lights, challenge it in court, post back here, you could be a test case....but it sounds pretty kool to do a licence plate like that tho

buckredan

Postby buckredan » January 20th, 2015, 5:18 pm

dude you need permission from licence office when altering any lights same way how you have to have permission for fog lights or leds on headlamps.

Postby cinco » January 20th, 2015, 5:20 pm

I miss the days when tuners could read

Postby SMc » January 20th, 2015, 5:34 pm

Check out the Envision diffuser films if you have access to them..I have seem them do some really clever stuff in the Lab, like when the LED's are off the backround is one colour and when on another colour....

Postby Redman » January 20th, 2015, 6:43 pm

black on a white surface,
and every letter

Doesnt the word shall limit the discretion??

Postby cinco » January 20th, 2015, 6:55 pm

Redman wrote:
black on a white surface,
and every letter

Doesnt the word shall limit the discretion??

The law is an a s s

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » January 20th, 2015, 7:41 pm

din you do any regulation ?

Postby RBphoto » January 22nd, 2015, 8:08 am

cinco wrote:I miss the days when tuners could read

When was this? *Nevahappen*

Postby DFC » January 22nd, 2015, 8:15 am

i dunno why cinco does ignore me so.

Postby Hook » January 23rd, 2015, 10:48 am

sinko eh hav time fuh nobodie

Postby Slartibartfast » January 23rd, 2015, 11:15 am

cinco wrote:I miss the days when tuners could read

TL:DR

Postby supercharged turbo » January 23rd, 2015, 11:17 am

Was thinking abt this awhile ago...in for info

Postby cinco » January 23rd, 2015, 12:10 pm

Hook wrote:sinko eh hav time fuh nobodie

Yew know it.
*runs hands tru yer luscious mane*