Need some help with Insurance matter

Postby Slartibartfast » November 4th, 2014, 9:55 am

Below is the quick version of the story

- Man hit me while I was on the major road and he was coming out a minor road
- We made the police report and the officer told me that he stated I was right in the report
- I made the claim to his insurance (could not make it through mine for "reasons")
- Everything got approved, repair cost got "adjusted" insurance ready to pay
BUT...

- The fella that bounce me didn't come in to make a report to his insurance.
- They called him he said he sold the car and he not coming in to make the report (99% sure he lying but the issue is that he not making the report)
NOW...

The insurance company saying they can't proceed until he comes in to make the report (which he is not going to do) so they may be unable to pay me.

Now this sounds like bull$h!t to me because the fella had valid insurance at the time of the accident. Anyway I could get them to pay me without getting a lawyer?

Re: Need some help with Insurance matter

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 4th, 2014, 10:13 am

get lawyer - he was covered at the time of the accident, no?

Postby crazybalhead » November 4th, 2014, 10:16 am

Your insurance may have to prosecute his insurance to recover funds. If you did not go through your insurance, then the only option may be a civil suit, which means talk to a lawyer.

These kinds of cases usually handled by "just graduated" so, mowt likely you can get a free conference to start the process, or at least see what your options are.

And, if it hasn't been said enough, the insurance company always wins.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 4th, 2014, 10:20 am

You can ask your insurance for advice. Even without a report by the offending party to his/her insurance there is a way. ...I just can't remember right now how it's done or how much legal work is involved

I also think the offending party has 2 weeks to make said report to insurance.
Last edited by kamakazi on November 4th, 2014, 10:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 4th, 2014, 10:22 am

Thanks for the replies guys. Will try out some of those options this afternoon.

link

Postby link » November 6th, 2014, 5:29 pm

go back to the police station & make another report that culprit refused to honor original agreement to engage in insurance settlement.
Get a baliff to seize car from 'new' owner pending insurance settlement. This latter action will force culprit to settle because 'new' owner will now be on his case...more trouble now....
rgds

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » November 6th, 2014, 6:24 pm

Let the insurance company you are claiming from,,simply apply for a police report and let their legal department decide liability...from this point it would be cool for them to pay..let them issue the non report letter to their insured just for record keeping...BUT let them get the police report and send to their legal department...their client selling he car have nun to do with you...a responsible company will deal with your claim ( once their insured liable of course) and cancel his policy one time or call fraud squad on he a$$$

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 6th, 2014, 8:54 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Your insurance may have to prosecute his insurance to recover funds. If you did not go through your insurance, then the only option may be a civil suit, which means talk to a lawyer.

These kinds of cases usually handled by "just graduated" so, mowt likely you can get a free conference to start the process, or at least see what your options are.

And, if it hasn't been said enough, the insurance company always wins.

Truth spoken here.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 6th, 2014, 9:41 pm

Scene. Their insurance company say the send people to investigate why he didnt come in yet. I feel I'll go the police route for myself and see where that gets me

orangefox

Postby orangefox » November 6th, 2014, 11:46 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Scene. Their insurance company say the send people to investigate why he didnt come in yet. I feel I'll go the police route for myself and see where that gets me

Hoss Man Police doe care one sheit !
They go run you out of the Police Station ..
You may loose your virginity there also ..

Allow the insurance company to do the work.

What insurance company you dealing with Hoss ?

Postby shogun » November 7th, 2014, 12:08 am

Some people are sh!t oui... i swear.

Oh! and what VexXx Dogg said.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 7th, 2014, 6:13 am

It's Nagico the guy was insured with. If the guy had made the report already I would have gotten paid by now. They have actually been pretty reasonable so far. Just this last issue.

buckredan

Postby buckredan » November 7th, 2014, 7:29 pm

if you are fully comprehensive you should of file a claim with your insurance they would of repair your vehicle and file a claim with his insurance.

Postby UML » November 7th, 2014, 7:36 pm

yea i thinking this requires police involvement because i think the reason for making the report is to ensure that one party does not duck the other.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 7th, 2014, 11:50 pm

Nah I was third party. It's a cheap car that I was getting ready to sell to upgrade.