Skyline007

Tiida hatch or Subaru hatch

Postby Skyline007 » November 3rd, 2014, 9:59 am

Tiida hatch or Subaru hatch RORO??
Which would you buy:
In terms of availability of parts, problems, maintenance, appearance, transmission issues etc
To be used as a daily driver. Thanks in advance.

Re: Tiida hatch or Subaru hatch

Postby tr1ad » November 3rd, 2014, 10:03 am

parts available for both, and are easy to maintain...

and use super (no mater what people say), we have a few in work from the day massy sold them and they use super normal

it's all up to you and your budget

Postby DFC » November 3rd, 2014, 10:07 am

Subaru GH3.

Bess ride.

Postby Les Bain » November 3rd, 2014, 10:26 am

One real fast, good looking and sporty and the other is a Subaru.

Hard choice.

air wick

Postby air wick » November 3rd, 2014, 10:45 am

Subaru hands down... GH2 or GH3 it don't matter as those cars are NA

but btw these use the EL15 and not the EJ16 big difference DOHC vs SOHC...

the GH has lots more pep than the TS... and can't be classed with no Tiida... :lol:

Skyline007

Postby Skyline007 » November 3rd, 2014, 11:18 am

NICE Good info...Well to me they are both similar in price range, I know tiida parts would be easy to get at any auto parts store not sure about the subaru, the tiida more likely to get target to steal, the subaru engine and tranny parts might be difficult to source as i plan to keep the car a good while and the tiida tranny and engines are readily available in the bamboo and the subaru looks nicer!! This decision is so hard!! LOL

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 3rd, 2014, 11:21 am

tr1ad wrote:parts available for both, and are easy to maintain...

and use super (no mater what people say), we have a few in work from the day massy sold them and they use super normal

it's all up to you and your budget

+1

Safety with the subaru is a major +

Tiida's not a bad option, but there seems to be a stigma with owning one...

air wick

Postby air wick » November 3rd, 2014, 11:29 am

Skyline007 wrote:NICE Good info...Well to me they are both similar in price range, I know tiida parts would be easy to get at any auto parts store not sure about the subaru, the tiida more likely to get target to steal, the subaru engine and tranny parts might be difficult to source as i plan to keep the car a good while and the tiida tranny and engines are readily available in the bamboo and the subaru looks nicer!! This decision is so hard!! LOL

Don't be fooled with the misconception of parts hard to find for Subaru. Yes it make be a bit more in most cases but they last long. eBay also got a wide range of OEM parts. I have owned 3 Subarus in total, got 2 now and one is a GH2 Hatch going on 120,000 KMs and more and I haven't changed any major part.

i do preventative maintenance and change parts before it fail... eg. water pump timing belt radiator plugs etc. was swapped out with aftermarket performance parts at 85,000km the car runs on the highway from south to north everyday and absolutely no problems...

Postby Ted_v2 » November 3rd, 2014, 11:33 am

Take a look at a tiida suspension setup.

Subaru all the way

Postby sliderz1 » November 3rd, 2014, 11:42 am

whichever chosen get a proper anti theft system

Postby skylinechild » November 3rd, 2014, 12:13 pm

Les Bain wrote:One real fast, good looking and sporty and the other is a Tiida.

Hard choice.

corrected cause i saw u made a mistake :lol:

air wick wrote:Subaru hands down... GH2 or GH3 it don't matter as those cars are NA

but btw these use the EL15 and not the EJ16 big difference DOHC vs SOHC...

the GH has lots more pep than the TS... and can't be classed with no Tiida... :lol:

true...you know what the TS on the subaru stand for...?? Too Slow :lol: the tiida...even slower :lol:

air wick wrote:
Skyline007 wrote:NICE Good info...Well to me they are both similar in price range, I know tiida parts would be easy to get at any auto parts store not sure about the subaru, the tiida more likely to get target to steal, the subaru engine and tranny parts might be difficult to source as i plan to keep the car a good while and the tiida tranny and engines are readily available in the bamboo and the subaru looks nicer!! This decision is so hard!! LOL

Don't be fooled with the misconception of parts hard to find for Subaru. Yes it make be a bit more in most cases but they last long. eBay also got a wide range of OEM parts. I have owned 3 Subarus in total, got 2 now and one is a GH2 Hatch going on 120,000 KMs and more and I haven't changed any major part.

i do preventative maintenance and change parts before it fail... eg. water pump timing belt radiator plugs etc. was swapped out with aftermarket performance parts at 85,000km the car runs on the highway from south to north everyday and absolutely no problems...

you dont even need to go as far as ebay lots of ppl advertise original genuine Subaru parts and even aftermarket...right here on tuner...check them out...3 core crossflow aluminum radiators perrin rad hoses OEM water pump poly bushings...etc...

Postby nervewrecker » November 3rd, 2014, 12:23 pm

Tiida parts NOT too cheap.

Scooby parts are pretty easy to find now if you know where to look. As someone said a lot of parts retail right here on tuner. From my research scooby parts seem to be durable, cars seem to be durable and i'd feel comfortable driving a car knowing if I get in an accident I stand a good chance of leaving without major damages.

And them scoobs just sexy, sexy as hell.

Postby RBphoto » November 3rd, 2014, 12:28 pm

Subaru parts are actually cheaper than Tiida parts. Tiida from Massey can only run on premium.

Postby nervewrecker » November 3rd, 2014, 12:36 pm

Postby tr1ad » November 3rd, 2014, 12:38 pm

RBphoto wrote:Subaru parts are actually cheaper than Tiida parts. Tiida from Massey can only run on premium.

so all dem PCA/PCK we ha is poor people ting?

Postby sliderz1 » November 3rd, 2014, 12:47 pm

stueps HR15/16 forever bunin super

Postby RBphoto » November 3rd, 2014, 2:10 pm

tr1ad wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Subaru parts are actually cheaper than Tiida parts. Tiida from Massey can only run on premium.

so all dem PCA/PCK we ha is poor people ting?

I drive a Peugeot... unaffected.

Postby RBphoto » November 3rd, 2014, 2:22 pm

By the way, are we comparing foreign used or new? Because with both those vehicles, you may have a better warranty with a RORO dealer.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » November 3rd, 2014, 5:22 pm

Tida ?

Ba ! Hahahahahaha !

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 3rd, 2014, 6:18 pm

Subaru 1.5 hatch vs nissan tiida hatch

Timing belt and about 3 tensioners have to be changed vs a chain tensioner probably

Multilink rear suspension vs torsion beam rear suspension. Multilink requires more bushings as they are more complicated by design. Might cost more initially but as to the longevity I can't say.

AWD vs FWD. Awd is more complicated vs the fwd and will require more servicing

Fuel consumption might be higher in the scooby because of weight and transmission losses but that weight probably indicates it is safer in an accident

I have heard some horror stories about the tiida cvt. The plain 4 Speed auto might be more reliable
Tiida is also more heavily favoured by thieves. I think the cvt tiida might out pace the 1.5 scooby hatch.

Scooby has a much better look.

I would actually pick the scooby. It is safer in my opinion and looks better. ... Just need to get the servicing out of the way early. Cheaper to get my hands dirty

rockey

Postby rockey » November 3rd, 2014, 6:27 pm

Go with the mazda hatch :D u won't be disappointed

air wick

Postby air wick » November 3rd, 2014, 6:27 pm

avg. fuel consumption for Subaru hatch with spirited driving n stop n go traffic is 8.0 km per liters

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 3rd, 2014, 6:36 pm

Les Bain wrote:One real fast, good looking and sporty and the other is a Subaru.

Hard choice.

hoss hahahahahahahaha

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 3rd, 2014, 6:39 pm

btw tiida > gh3

Postby RBphoto » November 3rd, 2014, 7:10 pm

orangefox wrote:Tida ?

Ba ! Hahahahahaha !

This also is true.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 3rd, 2014, 7:26 pm

@RBphoto
What Peugeot you have that still on the road.

@air wick
What is the best and the worst fuel consumption you got from the 1.5

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » November 3rd, 2014, 7:53 pm

i had one GH3 , was surprised that it used alot of gas for a small car , but they are fairly easy to maintain, dont have the temperature gauge though

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 3rd, 2014, 8:57 pm

It just needs a touch more (service and fuel) than other vehicles cause it has more to move/turn
E.g
Rear diff
Rear driveshaft
Rear axles

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » November 3rd, 2014, 10:35 pm

kamakazi wrote:It just needs a touch more (service and fuel) than other vehicles cause it has more to move/turn
E.g
Rear diff
Rear driveshaft
Rear axles

The girlfriend bought a RORO Impreza hatch a three weeks ago. Turns out its front wheel drive so less maintenance.
Also, I got 475kms and the fuel light didn't even come on and took $115 to fill back up which i think is good considering how spirited I was driving it. She filled it exactly two weeks ago and its just gotten to half tank.
Driving in it doesn't feel like I'm driving a cheap Japanese car

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 3rd, 2014, 10:44 pm

That 2wd definitely changes things....engine is still a chore, but you have less drivetrain losses as well as no rear drivetrain to service. ..:smile: