Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Ripple - Cryptocurrency in T&T

Re: Bitcoins, Ethereum, Litecoin, Ripple Anyone?

Postby joker » August 13th, 2017, 11:26 am

pugboy wrote:$3950 all time high yet again
usual statistic, $100 bought in 2010 would be worth $131m now

I can't even begin to figure out how I would use that kind of money locally in a normal non72 lifestyle
So hear this nah ... u ever get to use the money that you accumulated ?

TheOne

Postby TheOne » September 4th, 2017, 2:32 pm

I currently own a few BTC's, bought them when I started this thread and the price at the time was 300usd. I have been monitoring the prices, while I don't intend to sell just yet, I am really not sure what is the process of selling them if I do decide.

Has anyone sold them locally for USD?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 4th, 2017, 10:44 pm

Don't sell if you don't absolutely have to!

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2017, 5:59 am

yeah, you did well to be patient, I was the opposite and sold out early

big correction dip yesterday

Pyol7

Postby Pyol7 » September 5th, 2017, 7:19 am

Any one in Trinidad made any real money with this????

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2017, 7:41 am

A certain 1% allegedly converted a lot of the 100m he got from the fancy jail by pinto rd to bitcoin from pp days
He opened a bitcoin company in Barbados the other day

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 5th, 2017, 7:48 am

TheOne wrote:I currently own a few BTC's, bought them when I started this thread and the price at the time was 300usd. I have been monitoring the prices, while I don't intend to sell just yet, I am really not sure what is the process of selling them if I do decide.

Has anyone sold them locally for USD?

There is a site called wirex where you can send your BTC, and you can get a virtual credit card for online purchases or a physical credit card which you have to pay for, and use it like normal. The credit card balance would be your BTC value in their account

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2017, 12:30 pm

Pyol7 wrote:Any one in Trinidad made any real money with this????

1 bitcoin was worth US$1500 in June and it's now worth US$4500
So yeah anyone who bought will now have more money than they started with and there are a lot of ppl in T&T who have bought bitcoin and other altcoins

Postby The_Honourable » September 14th, 2017, 8:39 pm

Hope men had their stop losses inside. Government and banks are on the attack. Talk circulating about money laundering and terrorism financing meaning laws and heavy oversight coming.

Bitcoin Crashes After Chinese Exchange Says It Will Halt Trading

Bitcoin fell for a fifth day, the longest losing streak in more than a year, after one of China’s largest online exchanges said it would stop handling trades by the end of the month amid a government crackdown on cryptocurrencies.

BTC China will immediately stop accepting new account registrations on its BTCChina Exchange, Chief Executive Bobby Lee said Thursday in a tweet. The decision was made after “carefully considering” the Sept. 4 announcement by Chinese regulators that outlawed initial coin offerings, he said.

The cryptocurrency has slumped as much as 27 percent since Sept. 7. It had risen more than four-fold this year amid greater acceptance of the blockchain technology that underpins the exchange method, global political uncertainty and increased interest in Asia.

China accounts for about 23 percent of bitcoin trades and is also home to many of the world’s biggest bitcoin miners, who use vast amounts of computing power to confirm transactions in the digital currency.

The communist nation plans to ban trading of bitcoin and other virtual currencies on domestic exchanges, Bloomberg News reported Monday. The ban will only apply to trading of cryptocurrencies on exchanges, according to people familiar with the matter, who asked not to be named because the information is private. Authorities don’t have plans to stop over-the-counter transactions, the people said.

Shanghai Financial Service Office has also ordered to close down bitcoin trading platforms in the city, China Business News reported, citing an unidentified person.

While Beijing’s motivation for the exchange ban is unclear, it comes amid a broad clampdown on financial risk in the run-up to a key Communist Party leadership reshuffle next month. Bitcoin’s surge has fueled concerns of a bubble, prompting skeptics from JPMorgan Chase & Co.’s Jamie Dimon to billionaire investor Howard Marks to warn of a looming crash.

Read more on how Wall Street views the surge in bitcoin

Matt Roszak, the chairman of Washington-based Chamber of Digital Commerce, an industry advocacy group, and an investor in BTC China, said he anticipates that the exchange will resume operations by the end of the year.

“That is the expectation based on months of discussions -— the timing of which may be impacted a bit with the ICO phenomenon,” Roszak said in an email. “China is preparing to provide licensure for less than a handful of exchanges as it grapples with the meteoric increase in cryptocurrency trading, and speculation on ICOs -— licensure and engagement with government will help propel this industry forward.”

Source: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... lt-trading

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 14th, 2017, 9:10 pm

BTC at $3400 right now and ETH at $238, still not too shabby for those who got in earlier.

HODL!

and buy more!!!

Mic

nicee

Postby Mic » October 17th, 2017, 7:46 pm

niceeee
Last edited by Mic on September 27th, 2018, 10:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Chimera » October 21st, 2017, 2:24 pm

https://www.rt.com/business/407357-bitc ... ew-record/

even if yuh had buy in at $3000 in september, would have been well worth it now ...6k plus

wtf

michaelm

Postby michaelm » October 31st, 2017, 6:40 am

What sites are you all using to buy crypto from Trinidad?

I've been looking places like coinmama and CEX.IO, already registered on both but a little sceptical to provide pics of both my ID and CC online... Anyone here doing that or using wire transfers instead? What other options are there from Trinidad?

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » October 31st, 2017, 7:13 am

michaelm wrote:What sites are you all using to buy crypto from Trinidad?

I've been looking places like coinmama and CEX.IO, already registered on both but a little sceptical to provide pics of both my ID and CC online... Anyone here doing that or using wire transfers instead? What other options are there from Trinidad?
I tried cex.io and poloniex, sent my is and bank statement and got verified on both. Loading account with credit card is not possible bring registered as from Trinidad, I could only load my account using bitcoin that I already had and trade between different crypto currencies.

I was able to successfully buy bitcoins from virwox.com, it was very easy and fast. They hold your very first bitcoin withdrawal transaction for 24hrs to prevent fraud, but all subsequent transactions are instant. They do limit you to $100 us per day and 3000us per month in bitcoin purchases, but that's only for the probation period.

Credit card transactions are also forbidden on this site, you must use PayPal.

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2017, 7:53 am

virworx taking 4% via paypal like most where funds terminate in credit card.

michaelm

Postby michaelm » October 31st, 2017, 9:46 pm

Ok thanks I'll give it a try... Virwox is down right now though

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2017, 5:32 am

Almost $7000
When to buy lol

I signed up with virwox
Sent the maximum $100 via PayPal
Now they say it is too little to buy anything

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 2nd, 2017, 6:48 am

pugboy wrote:Almost $7000
When to buy lol

I signed up with virwox

seeing it at $7142 this morning

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » November 2nd, 2017, 7:33 am

Inside![img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171102/b2da166fb584b15657c69dcb0a632d5c.jpg[/img]

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 2nd, 2017, 3:45 pm

Kronik wrote:
When to buy lol

I signed up with virwox

seeing it at $7142 this morning

back down to $6950 but holding

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » November 2nd, 2017, 3:51 pm

When to buy lol

I signed up with virwox
I think you're going about it wrong and not reading and understanding the site and it's TOS.

You need to convert that USD to SLL which is a currency that they use for online gaming.
Only then can you convert you're SLL to BTC or bitcoin.

Understanding is an important thing.

The first time I bought I used only $40USD.
The only minimum is 1mBTC or 0.001 BTC which is about $6USD

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2017, 5:07 pm

damn right i dont understand lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 2nd, 2017, 5:55 pm

Check coinmama.com to buy Bitcoin using your TT$ credit card.

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2017, 6:21 pm

fee of 5.5% plus 5%
10.5% correct ?

very likely there will be more of these exchanges opening up and taking a percentage off the top to make a lil something

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » November 4th, 2017, 12:08 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Check coinmama.com to buy Bitcoin using your TT$ credit card.
Thanks, it's cheaper than virwox!
[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171104/f03cea05393149cbb44711084ec464c4.jpg[/img]

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2017, 12:34 pm

used virwox.com
works well but you can only send a smallish amount until you are established and
they take 3.9% three times
once when you send money via paypal,
second when you buy sll and then when you buy bitcoin
basically every transaction is 3.9%

trinipunter

Postby trinipunter » November 6th, 2017, 10:45 am

pugboy wrote:used virwox.com
works well but you can only send a smallish amount until you are established and
they take 3.9% three times
once when you send money via paypal,
second when you buy sll and then when you buy bitcoin
basically every transaction is 3.9%

very accurate cheers

wall

Postby wall » November 7th, 2017, 11:37 am

Can anyone recommend a site for selling btc?

Postby Redman » November 7th, 2017, 12:26 pm

This would be interesting-decentralized clearing of energy-hmmmm

http://www.rigzone.com/news/bp_shell_le ... m=EM_NW_F1

Nov 6 (Reuters) - A consortium including energy companies BP and Royal Dutch Shell will develop a blockchain-based digital platform for energy commodities trading expected to start by end-2018, the group said on Monday.

Other members of the consortium include Norwegian oil firm Statoil, trading houses Gunvor, Koch Supply & Trading, and Mercuria, and banks ABN Amro, ING and Societe Generale.

Blockchain technology, which first emerged as the architecture underpinning cryptocurrency bitcoin, uses a shared database that updates itself in real-time and can process and settle transactions in minutes using computer algorithms, with no need for third-party verification.

Mercuria has been a vocal advocate of implementing blockchain technology to significantly cut costs in oil trading.

"Ideally, it would help to eliminate any confusion over ownership of a cargo and potentially help to make managing risk more exact if there are accurate timestamps to each part of the trade," said Edward Bell, commodities analyst at Dubai-based lender Emirates NBD PJSC.

Similar efforts for an energy trading platform have failed to take off, Bell said, but added this latest bid with backing from BP and Shell and the banks, "may have more success than if it were an independent party trying to convince oil and gas companies to make use of it."

The new venture is seeking regulatory approvals and would be run as an independent entity, the consortium said in a statement.

"The platform aims to reduce administrative operational risks and costs of physical energy trading, and improve the reliability and efficiency of back-end trading operations...," the statement said.

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » November 7th, 2017, 12:29 pm

[EDIT]
:-)