Re: GATE - Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses

Postby pioneer » October 6th, 2014, 5:34 pm

zoom rader wrote:Pios what are your views on dem Costaatt public servants.

From what I hear Cabinet put a freeze/hold on all new clerical (clerk, typists etc) and manipulative (driver, messenger, cleaner etc) appointments. So those who think they could barely pass CXC and expect ah permanent guvament wukk, think again. It have no wukk for dem anymore. Many people in the upcoming months will get send home cuz they would not be able to keep them on due to Cabinet's mandate. Those who determined to be clerks/drivers etc, would have to register with Ministry of Labor for short term employment.

It's the first phase in reforming the service. Clerk I-IV will no longer exist, the replacement positions would require a first degree from a recognized institution.

This is a good move, plenty free tertiary education and people not using it. It's time to get a return on the investment and cut off the waste. It's part of moving towards a technologically advanced and educated society. This 5 CXC ting would only be good for police and chips fryers.

PNM couldn't even think of that in 40 years.

It's good that they raised the bar. The public service even with non pnm governments had a habit of only employing PNM ppl into positions that they don't fit.
PNM made sure and created an entire PNM institution for PS and armed forces.
Slowly this is eroding away and better equal opportunities are coming on stream with a highly educated population.

It boils back down to slavery and pnm tribe, genetically they were made for hardwork/physical labour and nothing else. When slavery ended, best place to put them was the armed forces but they ended up with a surplus.

So pnm decided let's hide the shackles, shave and groom them and put them in top public service jobs and hope nobody realizes they dumb and cya do much.

I glad this government has the testicular fortitude to clamp down on it.

So all pnm tribe who writing cxc and feel they can flunk out, wait till 18 and mammy/tanty go link dem wid govt job...think again.

Postby redmanjp » October 7th, 2014, 4:57 pm

^unless pnm win next year

Postby Slartibartfast » October 7th, 2014, 9:16 pm

Is friday already? Pios how do I purchase a subscription to your rum talk? No comment on my views about it, it just sound like a good convo starter for happy hour

Joy4real

Postby Joy4real » December 19th, 2018, 8:07 am

desifemlove wrote:
chippy wrote:Well I dunno what to say again about GATE. *SMFH*
Just a warning to all GATE students:

If you received GATE funding and did not complete the program, you need to PAY DEM BACK!!

Just paid over $7000 in reimbursement fees!!

lolwut?

lolz....so my Income tax and NIS and ting does go towards you freaking

I was attending a specific university and when I visited the advisor about the nee means test I wasn't fully covered by gate. I had to pay the 25% well I still have to but I was onlyattendingas a freshman at the school for three months. The Dean didnt grant me a withdrawal because she wanted me to work and pay myfor tutiin every three months which would have been close to 10 thousand everydollars year. I DIDNT sign up for exams or fir the new semester. My question is your reimbursement does include interest and is it for a particular period of the degree or is it the balance for the entire degree?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 13th, 2020, 10:18 am

:agrue:
IMG-20201113-WA0023.jpg
IMG-20201113-WA0025.jpg
IMG-20201113-WA0024.jpg
IMG-20201113-WA0022.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » November 13th, 2020, 10:31 am

GATE should have always been for a max of 1 UG programme

Postby zoom rader » November 13th, 2020, 10:51 am

Red goverment have stolen young folk education.

This is aimed at non red Goverment supporters .

Very racist

Postby Dizzy28 » November 13th, 2020, 10:59 am

There is someone who spams all of CNC's tweets with conspiracy theories
ZR is it you?

Postby zoom rader » November 13th, 2020, 11:11 am

Dizzy28 wrote:There is someone who spams all of CNC's tweets with conspiracy theories
ZR is it you?
1% media houses is not credible news

Postby K74T » November 13th, 2020, 11:20 am

FB_IMG_1605280792790.jpeg
FB_IMG_1605280790635.jpeg
FB_IMG_1605280788095.jpeg

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2020, 11:29 am

pnm babies not affected.

Postby zoom rader » November 13th, 2020, 11:35 am

sMASH wrote:pnm babies not affected.
Yup it's aimed at one side of the population.

See how they sneaked in Carnival Studies under a diffent name

Postby pete » November 13th, 2020, 11:49 am

I don't see the issue. Dollar for dollar minimum up to $75k in household income seems more than adequate.

Postby zoom rader » November 13th, 2020, 11:57 am

pete wrote:I don't see the issue. Dollar for dollar minimum up to $75k in household income seems more than adequate.
It's well thought out to eliminate a certain percentage of the population.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 13th, 2020, 11:59 am

pete wrote:I don't see the issue. Dollar for dollar minimum up to $75k in household income seems more than adequate.

Everything seems solid in this except the Bursary portion.
This is Trinidad where there are people receiving subsidized houses whilst already owning houses. Who is to say the equivalent doesn't happen in disbursing bursaries i.e. undeserving people get it?

Once a human element is added to allow for judgmental calls nepotism/favouritism sets in.

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2020, 12:43 pm

it was noted for the last election that the unc strongholds, the more rural areas had the highest amount of poverty in the country.

in a country with a contracted economy and exploded unemployment, cutting back education assistance facilities will negatively affect the poorer communities more i.e. the unc strongholds.

death365

Postby death365 » November 13th, 2020, 4:31 pm

Ent we (collectively) vote for that.... Patos rolling in he grave now...

Postby zoom rader » November 13th, 2020, 9:29 pm

sMASH wrote:it was noted for the last election that the unc strongholds, the more rural areas had the highest amount of poverty in the country.

in a country with a contracted economy and exploded unemployment, cutting back education assistance facilities will negatively affect the poorer communities more i.e. the unc strongholds.
Where did that report come from and by whom or agency.

Hwells

Postby Hwells » November 13th, 2020, 9:39 pm

sMASH wrote:it was noted for the last election that the unc strongholds, the more rural areas had the highest amount of poverty in the country.

Agency: TMTOTA (Trinituner Men Talking Out They Ass).
Report Date: September 7, 2020.

Postby paid_influencer » November 13th, 2020, 9:46 pm

https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 1708745610

- Students already in possession of undergraduate or postgraduate qualifications regardless of whether or not they were beneficiaries of the GATE programme, will not be able to access GATE funding.

I think this part unfair. Is like they punishing you for getting a qualification even if you paid for it yourself without any GATE funding.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 13th, 2020, 10:09 pm

Hwells wrote:

I saw that info circulating on Facebook and apparently it was data was the 90s, the funny part was that it showed Lavantille region being slightly below Penal Debe. However, in the updated 2010 or 2012 update. Penal Debe was now the second or third richest while Laventille San Juan region was at the same level as it was in 90s

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » November 13th, 2020, 10:40 pm

I heard that cavehill and mona under pressure when their governments did the same. Oh well St. Augustine time to feel the pain

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2020, 10:48 pm

Hwells wrote:

nu-uhhh, fassbook. when u tell them that u see mostly pnm areas that have long line up for covid hand outs, they shot back that is the unc strong holds, specifically penal/siparia that has the highest poverty level.

Postby gastly369 » November 13th, 2020, 10:50 pm

*inserts take bull meme

Postby zoom rader » November 13th, 2020, 11:02 pm

sMASH wrote:
Hwells wrote:

nu-uhhh, fassbook. when u tell them that u see mostly pnm areas that have long line up for covid hand outs, they shot back that is the unc strong holds, specifically penal/siparia that has the highest poverty level.
Basically these red Goverment supporters on FB are full of 5hit .

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2020, 11:30 pm

at least half of the bloggers does live america. peddling and pushing pnm propaganda and not living under it... boiiiiiiiii.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 14th, 2020, 12:02 am

sMASH wrote:
Hwells wrote:

Pnm ppl doh suffer. Places such as sea lots and beetham have range rovers and bimmas. Don't get tie up. Check Down south for poverty if ya really want to see poverty. Some of alluh have less money than ppl in beetham and sea lots. Study THAT

Postby sMASH » November 14th, 2020, 12:05 am

^^schooled, yo.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 14th, 2020, 12:13 am

sMASH wrote:^^schooled, yo.

Watch meh...have certain men "living" in those areas who when the night come sleeping in places like one woodbrook, la fontaine,Bayshore etc.

Men living like proper big shot whilst alluh coming on a forum talking sh*t abt suffering. Them doh suffer.

Trust what I am telling you. The poorest set of ppl in Trinidad is poor unc supporters. Them dirt poor.

Hwells

Postby Hwells » November 14th, 2020, 12:18 am

meanwhile whats the point of finding out who is the poorest yellow or red?

me aint hearing nuthing about venes being the poorest though, in the 1 year dey here how dey manage that? sarcastic question though