Digicel Internet Thread

Re: Digicel 100 down 30 up fibre optic internet.

Postby Spitfir3 » August 16th, 2015, 12:40 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Anyone remembers how much they paid for installation for Digicel?

If they give a special free installation for residential customers I may actually give them a shot. Paid fee I won't bother cause there is tiny advantage gained in latency going full Fiber to the home as opposed to flow's fiber to the node using "last mile copper"

im just asking but isn't it currently only available for businesses and not residential folk?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 16th, 2015, 1:24 am

^ yes but wanted to know how much they charging for business connection right now. If they were to charge for residential it might be the same thing. Though I would expect residential would be free as part of a promotion.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 16th, 2015, 8:15 am

Caribnomad wrote:Sorry, I don't know how to do a tracert to a speedtest server. If you give me the IP address of the server in NY I will do the tracert.

bluesclues wrote:
Caribnomad wrote:Someone asked recently for a speedtest to a Foreign destination:

Here is a test from my 200/50 package, to Garden City, NY.

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4399855667

If you are a business owner, and your home is within the business fibre area, you can sign up for a circuit at home, but pay the same rates as your business location.

aye bro.. paste your traceroute info to that server nah. pls

thnx.

and yes the answer to ping concerns would be routes. tstt tends to reconfigure some long and inefficient routes alot. flow seems to use inefficient routes when theyre working on something and want to use the fastest routes for themselves, but later reassign the route once the work is done.

the search is always on for a faster route.

just did the speedtest. seems im getting the same 72ms to 90ms ping to florida and nyc. hadnt checked in a while i think flow gave me more efficient route since the last time i checked.

garden city server is attached to speednet.webair.com [174.137.129.148]
got an 88 ping and 15 hops to the server on tracert.

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 120 ms 21 ms 21 ms te-2-3.tt.cm02.columbustrinidad.com [200.1.111.1
61]
4 8 ms 9 ms 15 ms 200.1.107.70
5 9 ms 8 ms 15 ms xe-0-0-0.tt.edge01.columbustrinidad.com [200.1.1
11.20]
6 68 ms 65 ms 58 ms 63.245.6.125
7 60 ms 60 ms 61 ms xe-3-1-0.usa.nam-core02.columbus-networks.com [6
3.245.5.71]
8 60 ms 59 ms 61 ms 63.245.5.226
9 60 ms 90 ms 73 ms xe-1-0-0.usa.brx-teracore02.columbus-networks.co
m [63.245.5.106]
10 88 ms 87 ms 95 ms xe-8-2-2.mia12.ip4.gtt.net [77.67.77.65]
11 93 ms 95 ms 94 ms xe-1-1-3.nyc39.ip4.gtt.net [141.136.108.149]
12 105 ms 90 ms 91 ms webair-gw.ip4.gtt.net [199.229.230.206]
13 96 ms 90 ms 90 ms csc180.gsc.webair.net [173.239.0.26]
14 92 ms 92 ms 107 ms dsd120.gsc.webair.net [173.239.28.38]
15 91 ms 91 ms 92 ms speednet.webair.com [174.137.129.148]

would be interested to see if u have less hops. but it may be the same and your fibre speed gives u a slightly better ping than mine. i might try to hitch a ride on digcel route and see if it makes a difference.

speedtest runs on port 8080. just catch the connection to that port while running the speedtest via firewall or netstat and ull get the source server.

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » August 16th, 2015, 12:54 pm

Digicel fibre ping and tracert to the same server.

>ping 174.137.129.148

Pinging 174.137.129.148 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 174.137.129.148: bytes=32 time=76ms TTL=46

Ping statistics for 174.137.129.148:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 76ms, Maximum = 76ms, Average = 76ms

>tracert 174.137.129.148

Tracing route to speednet.webair.com [174.137.129.148]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 9 ms 2 ms 2 ms 179.60.215.1
3 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 179.60.213.1
4 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 179.60.213.9
5 3 ms 3 ms 3 ms 179.60.213.5
6 3 ms 2 ms 2 ms 200.7.90.88
7 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 172.22.145.27
8 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 172.22.145.28
9 3 ms 2 ms 2 ms 200.7.90.89
10 44 ms 43 ms 51 ms 173.225.255.53
11 41 ms 41 ms 41 ms 66.54.126.97
12 41 ms 41 ms 41 ms 66.54.126.96
13 47 ms 45 ms 45 ms xe-0-7-0-6.r05.miamfl02.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.2
50.198.157]
14 45 ms 45 ms 45 ms ae12.mia10.ip4.gtt.net [199.229.229.177]
15 75 ms 75 ms 75 ms xe-4-3-1.nyc39.ip4.gtt.net [89.149.128.206]
16 78 ms 78 ms 78 ms webair-gw.ip4.gtt.net [199.229.230.206]
17 75 ms 75 ms 75 ms csc180.gsc.webair.net [173.239.0.26]
18 79 ms 79 ms 79 ms dsd120.gsc.webair.net [173.239.28.38]
19 76 ms 75 ms 75 ms speednet.webair.com [174.137.129.148]

Trace complete.
>

just did the speedtest. seems im getting the same 72ms to 90ms ping to florida and nyc.
hadnt checked in a while i think flow gave me more efficient route since the last time i checked.

garden city server is attached to speednet.webair.com [174.137.129.148]
got an 88 ping and 15 hops to the server on tracert.

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 120 ms 21 ms 21 ms te-2-3.tt.cm02.columbustrinidad.com [200.1.111.161]
4 8 ms 9 ms 15 ms 200.1.107.70
5 9 ms 8 ms 15 ms xe-0-0-0.tt.edge01.columbustrinidad.com [200.1.111.20]
6 68 ms 65 ms 58 ms 63.245.6.125
7 60 ms 60 ms 61 ms xe-3-1-0.usa.nam-core02.columbus-networks.com [63.245.5.71]
8 60 ms 59 ms 61 ms 63.245.5.226
9 60 ms 90 ms 73 ms xe-1-0-0.usa.brx-teracore02.columbus-networks.com [63.245.5.106]
10 88 ms 87 ms 95 ms xe-8-2-2.mia12.ip4.gtt.net [77.67.77.65]
11 93 ms 95 ms 94 ms xe-1-1-3.nyc39.ip4.gtt.net [141.136.108.149]
12 105 ms 90 ms 91 ms webair-gw.ip4.gtt.net [199.229.230.206]
13 96 ms 90 ms 90 ms csc180.gsc.webair.net [173.239.0.26]
14 92 ms 92 ms 107 ms dsd120.gsc.webair.net [173.239.28.38]
15 91 ms 91 ms 92 ms speednet.webair.com [174.137.129.148]

would be interested to see if u have less hops. but it may be the same and your fibre speed gives u a slightly better ping than mine. i might try to hitch a ride on digcel route and see if it makes a difference.

speedtest runs on port 8080. just catch the connection to that port while running the speedtest via firewall or netstat and ull get the source server.[/quote]

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 16th, 2015, 1:52 pm

now that Digicel is back to using their old lines and the kick em jenny thing is over can anyone here do a ping test for me please

ping effectic.com

and tell me what you get.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 16th, 2015, 8:10 pm

in the end im not sure it really matters. afaik we are all connected tthru columbus comm. which is a subsidiary of opus net who supplies the lines to cable and wirless. lol so tstt digicel and flow on pretty much the same links with flow being big boss with digicel

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » August 16th, 2015, 9:35 pm

Not quite right.

Cable & Wireless own ECFS.
Columbus Networks owns EC-Link and ARCOS and CFX (Colombia-Florida Express).
Digicel owns Southern Caribbean Fibre.

Carriers often have second routes, or additional capacity on other cables.

The international carriers operate mutual restoration plans. Nobody wants to see a country crippled by a cable outage, and though they may be competitive in the domestic markets, throwing insults at each other and undermining each others adverts and pricing, in the international business they are all very close allies.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 16th, 2015, 11:33 pm

Caribnomad wrote:Not quite right.

Cable & Wireless own ECFS.
Columbus Networks owns EC-Link and ARCOS and CFX (Colombia-Florida Express).
Digicel owns Southern Caribbean Fibre.

Carriers often have second routes, or additional capacity on other cables.

The international carriers operate mutual restoration plans. Nobody wants to see a country crippled by a cable outage, and though they may be competitive in the domestic markets, throwing insults at each other and undermining each others adverts and pricing, in the international business they are all very close allies.

k but isnt it opus/octopus networks that actually lay the fibre links across the sea for southern caribbean. i remember reading that in a news report. tstt thus is now running on those fibre links. as i understood it basically.. both tstt and columbus are connected to the north and europe via those lines. and i think opus owns cable and wireless or something like that. this is me scraping my memory here.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 16th, 2015, 11:42 pm

Well whatever it may be what I know for sure TSTT gets 166ms pings to Miami and Flow gets 57 while Digicel gets around 50.

And just imagine TSTT using these same lines is not like it passing through some real weird rebel controller area of South America where bandwidth is kidnapped and sheit.

Aari

Postby Aari » August 17th, 2015, 12:17 am

Spitfir3 wrote:they should introduce this for residential folk as well..guess they're making enough money as it is

Ftth is coming soon

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 17th, 2015, 1:04 am

My friend from freeport has Flow internet and its utter sheit.

It disconnects 13 times an hour literally

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 17th, 2015, 1:50 am

the modem or his virus ridden computers with rootkits and botnets installed causing flow to throttle him? lol

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 17th, 2015, 9:04 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:My friend from freeport has Flow internet and its utter sheit.

It disconnects 13 times an hour literally

Did he check to see if his neighbour has the same problem?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 17th, 2015, 11:11 pm

^ doubt he has to check for that, his friend in St Augustine has the same issue and I notice I also have a similar issue. Flow internet will disconnect but you will not know it has happened, web pages just won't load and it may turn to dial up speeds.

A simple reset on the modem button brings everything back to normal or if you wait a minute it returns to normal. I am pretty sure 99% of flow customers suffer from this issue, but a lot don't know it or won't admit it. It can be annoying but atleast for me anyways it only happens 10% of the time. Still a significant number but its not bad because I can still stream my 1080P youtube as opposed to TSTT which never disconnects but can't stream more than 144p

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 18th, 2015, 3:01 am

sounds like u all sharing the same flash drive lol

Postby Spitfir3 » August 18th, 2015, 10:47 am

that disconnect problem happens during peak hours with TSTT as well

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 19th, 2015, 3:41 am

Airlink net going strong. 5mb at the price u'd pay for a 2mb from blink
Last edited by INHUMAN on August 19th, 2015, 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rainman » August 19th, 2015, 6:51 am

INHUMAN wrote:Airlink net going strong. 5gb at the price u'd pay for a 2gb from blink

Gigabit internet?!?!?! ZOMG

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » September 3rd, 2015, 11:24 am

Rainman wrote:
INHUMAN wrote:Airlink net going strong. 5gb at the price u'd pay for a 2gb from blink

Gigabit internet?!?!?! ZOMG

I think that was a typo rainman. Supposed to be Mb.

Does your 5Mb airlink connection allow buffer-free streaming of HD content from Netflix and other online sources inhuman?

simplec

Postby simplec » September 25th, 2015, 11:45 am

when is digicel lunching this fibre optic internet, it`s been about 4 months they completed the whole of tobago

Postby teems1 » September 25th, 2015, 12:01 pm

simplec wrote:when is digicel lunching this fibre optic internet, it`s been about 4 months they completed the whole of tobago

rumour was after elections they'll go live starting in the west and expanding outwards month byy month...

not sure if they've done the initial launch yet...

Postby gastly369 » September 25th, 2015, 12:28 pm

They testing the service ATM "mostly or only digicel employees have the service" and cables are being install also think they reached Diego side not sure

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » September 27th, 2015, 7:50 pm

Bluesclues and Caribnomad, see below:
http://www.submarinecablemap.com/

napster16

Postby napster16 » September 28th, 2015, 1:14 am

snatman wrote:I got the sales pitch for it recently. Business only. Anyone has experience with this? Price comparable to Flow rates.

I had it in Port of Spain. Got lucky at the time to be the only customer on that pole and the speed was actually more than 100 MBPS +. Quality is world-class IMO. Would recommend 100%

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 28th, 2015, 10:19 am

simplec wrote:when is digicel lunching this fibre optic internet, it`s been about 4 months they completed the whole of tobago

I know fibre is good for you but... anywaaayyyyyyyy

No they didn't as they were still running lines all in Crown Point a couple weeks or so ago.

Pretty sure they have to test and make sure all the kinks in the system are ironed out before they can start doing so... I assume by December or January... basing off a neighbor who had the blink setup testing for a few months before they launched with a customer on the other side of the street.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 3rd, 2015, 3:02 am

I am a bit disappointed, thought I could get this internet before the end of the year but seeing how things going it may be next year or even further away.

Really need to get rid of my flow connection but going back to Blink is another fail.

Postby K74T » October 3rd, 2015, 7:18 am

Maybe the internet simply just isn't for you.

Postby mero » October 3rd, 2015, 8:08 am

Lol ent. ED ent you make $150 a week but paying $200 a month on unreliable Internet. The universe is trying to tell you something bro

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 3rd, 2015, 1:23 pm

dais true, ah trying to escape technology for d longest while. Ah was so close till I found Arma 3, steups...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 3:07 pm

Wooo Weee Digicel infront my house, they testing the network.

Contractor say its coming Q1 2016. These fellas have table and umbrella to do their fiber work yes.