Accident by Movie Towne exit.. anybody have pics?

Re: Accident by Movie Towne exit.. anybody have pics?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 26th, 2014, 11:42 pm

Woman dies in crane crash

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Wom ... 38001.html

The 32-year-old daughter of Roy Rique, a senior public servant attached to the Office of the Prime Minister, was killed on Thursday night in a vehicular accident along the Audrey Jeffers Highway.
According to police reports, at about 8 p.m. 32-year-old Stacy Rique of Broome Street, Diego Martin, had just completed a business meeting at the Marriott Hotel, and was proceeding in a northerly direction in her red Toyota Corolla motor vehicle.
In the vehicle was her friend, Ashelle Waddell, 36, of Warren Street, Woodbrook, who had attended the meeting with her.
It was reported that as Rique was crossing the traffic lights west of the Hasely Crawford Stadium, she came into contact with a heavy-duty multi lift crane driven by Rodney Bissoondath, which was heading in a westerly direction.
The crane, police said, hit the vehicle from the right, and the impact trapped the two friends inside.
The police and emergency health services were notified but the officers were unable to safely remove the two friends and Fire Service officials were called for assistance.
Rique however died at the scene.
Waddell, who was sitting in the front passenger seat, sustained severe injuries to the head and upper body and was rushed to the Port of Spain General Hospital for treatment.
Bissoondath of St John’s Trace, Claxton Bay reportedly escaped the incident unhurt.
Police said he was employed with Junior Sammy who is also the owner of the heavy equipment.
Rique, police said, was employed at the Hyatt Regency Hotel.
Corporal Telesford of the St James Police Station is continuing investigations.
Assistant Commissioner of Police Wayne Dick who was among those who visited the scene has pleaded with motorists and commuters to always exercise caution on the country’s roadways.
“To me you must always exercise caution. Even if you see the light as green, you should still move cautiously and treat the light as red as you can never anticipate the actions of other vehicles or persons on the roadways. I say this because one life lost on our nation’s roadways, is one life too many. So to the motoring public let me say again, please, please exercise caution on the roads,” ACP Dick said.

70 people have died in motor vehicular accidents so far in 2014

Communications manager at the Office of the Prime Minister, Dennis McComie, extended condolences to Rique and his family following the post-Cabinet news conference yesterday
“On behalf of the Prime Minister, Government and all good citizens we should like to extend our sincere condolences to his family and to Roy particularly for this very sad loss. We are prayerfully supporting him all the way through,”McComie said.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » June 27th, 2014, 12:51 am

“To me you must always exercise caution. Even if you see the light as green, you should still move cautiously and treat the light as red as you can never anticipate the actions of other vehicles or persons on the roadways. I say this because one life lost on our nation’s roadways, is one life too many. So to the motoring public let me say again, please, please exercise caution on the roads,” ACP Dick said.

Oh, so this gives them the right?

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 27th, 2014, 3:16 am

What nonsense he talking ,his name speaks it all "dick" i see another court matter ,suing the state.
Did Mr Rodney Bissoondath had dui test done ? because most truck / crane drivers are drinkers.
She had the Green light , did this matter already discuss police going ahead on red lights with siren ,was this rely an emergency .

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » June 27th, 2014, 5:05 am

Ah man say, (not me eh) dis govahment give Junyah Sammie de country!

Postby RASC » June 27th, 2014, 5:29 am

antlind wrote:Why is it that police cars always have their blue lights activated? Shouldn't that only be used in the event of an emergency? I could never understand this practice.

It has been proven to reduce crime of up to 30% in a study some years back.
This is lights WITHOUT siren on I'm referring to.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 27th, 2014, 5:53 am

While some may see ACP Dick's statement as nonsensical he is quite correct, one of the reasons why I ignore any cunny behind blowing up their horn and flashing headlights when the light turns green. Too often when lights change we see maniacs who don't have right of way speeding through like nothing wrong

antlind

Postby antlind » June 27th, 2014, 7:00 am

RASC wrote:
antlind wrote:Why is it that police cars always have their blue lights activated? Shouldn't that only be used in the event of an emergency? I could never understand this practice.

It has been proven to reduce crime of up to 30% in a study some years back.
This is lights WITHOUT siren on I'm referring to.

Then perhaps these cars with their lights on should focus on patrolling high crime areas as a priority. Let's put the results of that study to the test. I drive north south every day only to see these patrol cars parked on the shoulder or between trees off the highway with their lights on. The most annoying thing is to have them drive up the highway at 50mph with their lights flashing slowing down all traffic. Anyway, forgive my rant. I just drove up the highway stuck behind one of these cars for a minute with their bright blue lights. Blinded me early in the morning.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 27th, 2014, 7:19 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Woman dies in crane crash

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Wom ... 38001.html

The 32-year-old daughter of Roy Rique, a senior public servant attached to the Office of the Prime Minister, was killed on Thursday night in a vehicular accident along the Audrey Jeffers Highway.
According to police reports, at about 8 p.m. 32-year-old Stacy Rique of Broome Street, Diego Martin, had just completed a business meeting at the Marriott Hotel, and was proceeding in a northerly direction in her red Toyota Corolla motor vehicle.
In the vehicle was her friend, Ashelle Waddell, 36, of Warren Street, Woodbrook, who had attended the meeting with her.
It was reported that as Rique was crossing the traffic lights west of the Hasely Crawford Stadium, she came into contact with a heavy-duty multi lift crane driven by Rodney Bissoondath, which was heading in a westerly direction.
The crane, police said, hit the vehicle from the right, and the impact trapped the two friends inside.
The police and emergency health services were notified but the officers were unable to safely remove the two friends and Fire Service officials were called for assistance.
Rique however died at the scene.
Waddell, who was sitting in the front passenger seat, sustained severe injuries to the head and upper body and was rushed to the Port of Spain General Hospital for treatment.
Bissoondath of St John’s Trace, Claxton Bay reportedly escaped the incident unhurt.
Police said he was employed with Junior Sammy who is also the owner of the heavy equipment.
Rique, police said, was employed at the Hyatt Regency Hotel.
Corporal Telesford of the St James Police Station is continuing investigations.
Assistant Commissioner of Police Wayne Dick who was among those who visited the scene has pleaded with motorists and commuters to always exercise caution on the country’s roadways.

70 people have died in motor vehicular accidents so far in 2014

Communications manager at the Office of the Prime Minister, Dennis McComie, extended condolences to Rique and his family following the post-Cabinet news conference yesterday
“On behalf of the Prime Minister, Government and all good citizens we should like to extend our sincere condolences to his family and to Roy particularly for this very sad loss. We are prayerfully supporting him all the way through,”McComie said.

How about reprogramming ALL traffic lights on the nations roadways so that when a LIght turns RED, the opposing traffic lights have a 5-9 second delay before turning Green?
Maybe that can work rather than warning the general public to drive better at traffic lights?

Postby Chimera » June 27th, 2014, 9:05 am

antlind wrote:The most annoying thing is to have them drive up the highway at 50mph with their lights flashing slowing down all traffic. .

that's the speed limit though

and you can overtake them you know...you doh hadda be fraid and stick up behind them lollll

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » June 27th, 2014, 3:31 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:While some may see ACP Dick's statement as nonsensical he is quite correct, one of the reasons why I ignore any cunny behind blowing up their horn and flashing headlights when the light turns green. Too often when lights change we see maniacs who don't have right of way speeding through like nothing wrong

Can understand that. It's a valid point. But not to the situation. I'm sure there wasn't a police car to the front of the crane. There supposed to be an escort vehicle ahead, that must remain by the lights to alert all to stop and let the vehicle being escorted pass. The vehicle behind takes over foward, leaving the vehicle by rhe lights to take the six. Just like how they do it when transporting prisoners at major intersections when going against the light or traffic.

Too many times I'm on the highway watching officers escort heavy machinery and equipment dangerously.

But, what was the emergency with the multilift crane to have to go through a red light especially at night time? Night time driving is totally different from the day you know.

Driver of the crane couldn't stop? Or veer away? Another six million passing to Junior Sammy to neglect a life?

Postby cinco » June 27th, 2014, 3:38 pm

Soo everyone blamin d crane driver. But how fast dem crane does move? What was she doin that she didnt see the escort (if there was one) far less to see a huge crane like that moving at 20??? Mph?

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » June 27th, 2014, 3:43 pm

cinco wrote:Soo everyone blamin d crane driver. But how fast dem crane does move? What was she doin that she didnt see the escort (if there was one) far less to see a huge crane like that moving at 20??? Mph?

That crane driver is one of Sammy's best, with that aside. For a crane to come to a sudden and complete stop when moving is impossible.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 27th, 2014, 5:17 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:
cinco wrote:Soo everyone blamin d crane driver. But how fast dem crane does move? What was she doin that she didnt see the escort (if there was one) far less to see a huge crane like that moving at 20??? Mph?

That crane driver is one of Sammy's best, with that aside. For a crane to come to a sudden and complete stop when moving is impossible.

Sammy's best? All Sammy drivers is road hog and BUGWAANAAS

Postby cinco » June 27th, 2014, 6:07 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:

HOW DO YOU NOT SEE A CRANE???? That is my question

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 27th, 2014, 6:08 pm

It was dark :oops:

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » June 27th, 2014, 6:22 pm

cinco wrote:
Dj_Bee wrote:

HOW DO YOU NOT SEE A CRANE???? That is my question

Same thing I was thinking, and how it was dark even better to e the blinding lights from the police and equipment

Postby nervewrecker » June 27th, 2014, 6:49 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:

I didnt wanna say it.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » June 27th, 2014, 6:50 pm

kerwinishere wrote:
Dj_Bee wrote:

Sammy's best? All Sammy drivers is road hog and BUGWAANAAS

Regarding that road hog talk, which would be safer and more realistic? You with a light weight vehicle to pull aside and let the truck pass, or for an extra heavy vehicle Pull aside for you to pass...

Also, there are always some ignorant and utterly stupid drivers out there, be it light or heavy weight vehicles who drive like aholes who do not give any right of way, even to the police.

Postby cinco » June 27th, 2014, 8:05 pm

kerwinishere wrote:It was dark :oops:

The crane white...

Postby Chimera » June 27th, 2014, 8:23 pm

cinco wrote:

The crane white...

Please dont bring race into this

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 27th, 2014, 8:32 pm

solution: tell JS to buy future heavy machinery from M. Rampersad/ Maska 0X

Postby tr1ad » June 27th, 2014, 8:50 pm

The crane in question cannot go faster than 20mph, there was an escort vehicle in front and behind with 2 motorcycle officers

Marct

Postby Marct » June 27th, 2014, 8:59 pm

tr1ad wrote:The crane in question cannot go faster than 20mph, there was an escort vehicle in front and behind with 2 motorcycle officers

motorcycle officers are not part of that escort after 6 for you information

Postby tr1ad » June 27th, 2014, 9:02 pm

For this yes, they paid additional to have them

Postby Chimera » June 27th, 2014, 9:02 pm

cinco wrote:

The crane white...

Please dont bring race into this

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 27th, 2014, 9:08 pm

F=MA.
Sorry and RIP, but the laws of physics dictate that even at a slow speed, sudden stopping for a red light would have been difficult, which is probably why the cops allowed the truck to run the red.

very unfortunate for the young lady, but if a big truck heading my way - I eh playing the 'who have right of way' game nah.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » June 27th, 2014, 9:19 pm

Honestly felt that she didn't even look in the direction of the truck. .just saw a green light and went for it. .. probably having a convo with her friend and glimpse the green and proceeded. .. nonetheless rip.

Postby Team Loco » June 27th, 2014, 9:30 pm

So nobody ever exit from movietowne at those lights. Its clearly a blindspot area. With the raised jersey barriers and the angle of your car there is very little oncoming traffic you can see. Especially at night

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 27th, 2014, 9:36 pm

a lot of people are letting emotions cloud their posts as well as just posting oh its JS so they need to pay.

heard on a radio talk show that a witness said the car just saw green and went for it even tho there were police right after the lights. The police stopped all traffic and began to proceed but the young lady apparently did not see the police nor the crane. could have been distracted talking etc.

sad a life was lost but as a precaution, even if a light is green, especially at night, i slow down to ensure nothing is coming. Now if there is flowing traffic i would proceed as normal BUT minor to major you should always ensure it is clear.

RIP miss..

eltoro

Postby eltoro » June 27th, 2014, 10:46 pm

Very sad to know that this innocent lady has lost her life. The traffic branch of the police service responsible for providing the escort of these over-sized units need to take some blame here. The police escorts usually makes a hustle of these jobs by trying to complete in 2-3 hours, $2000 per escort. They will speed ahead with their sirens and light at speed fay beyond the legal and technically safe speeds for the over-sized cargo or cranes. Traffic branch officers daily put people lives at risk by doing so since they have no appreciation of basic physics and engineering. I have had to pull off the narrow road in Manzan due to police and truck doing about 70mph. I have also seen cranes being escorted down the highway at 50 MPH whereas their tyres and brakes are not designed for such highway speed. I always stress to drivers needing escorts to not to try and 'keep up' with the police but to ensure public safety, proper load securement and respect of the speed limits. Lucky most of the drivers I have had to work around are very experienced and carry vehicle monitors.
These Traffic Management police need some appreciation training in the basics of these equipment, proper securing of equipment and establishment of standards for doing these moves.