VMCOTT opens 2M car wash in Union Hall South.

Chemical

VMCOTT opens 2M car wash in Union Hall South.

Postby Chemical » June 25th, 2014, 7:30 am

After years of unprofitability the Vehicle Management Corporation of T&T (Vmcott) is seeking to become financially viable with the opening of a $2 million fully automated car wash in San Fernando. Vmcott chairman Joe Pires, speaking at the formal opening of the new facility at Union Hall, Cross Crossing yesterday said the car wash is one of several initiatives aimed at turning the company around.

Pires said Vmcott had been created to service government and police vehicles “but we recognise that we have to cater for other consumers for it to become even more viable.” He said the company is hoping to triple its customer base through several new initiatives, including a gas station at its Beetham compound on the Priority Bus Route. “Within the next year we would have turned the company around and make it profitable. For the last five years Vmcott has not been profitable,” he said.

Pires said for two years the automated equipment for the car wash had been lying idle until a new board took over at Vmcott one year ago and made it a priority to have the facility up and running. “We feel satisfied that the facility will take us one step closer to where we want to be,” he said. After the formal ceremony, Pires told reporters the facility is “one of many prongs that we are attacking our sales and marketing with.” He said he was confident customers would be attracted to the car wash because of the reasonable prices.

“It is a fully automated system, it is quick system. It does everything, under wash, wash tires. It does what every single car wash does at a fraction of the cost,” he said. The facility operates 24 hours a day from Mondays to Sundays and will offer competitive prices ranging from $30 for a basic wash to $75 for a premium wash which takes just under ten minutes and includes polish and under carriage wash.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2014 ... m-car-wash

The equipment, which has a maximum height allowance of 84 inches, is a brushless system that will not scrape the vehicle’s paint. Additionally, the solution that is used in the wash is stain resistant, Vmcott acting CEO Ramesh Lackhan said the new facility was just one of the new innovations the public can look forward to from the company in the near future.

Well done for thinking outside the box !!!

Re: VMCOTT opens 2M car wash in Union Hall South.

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 25th, 2014, 7:56 am

what! nice!
i could picture some long lines over there soon!

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 25th, 2014, 8:13 am

Under carriage wash sweet .

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » June 25th, 2014, 8:16 am

Great initiative, i like this idea, left to be seen is the proactive maintenance to keep it up and running. From what i understand it is a bit pricey to maintain. Awaiting the reviews from users of this wash.

Postby SR » June 25th, 2014, 8:22 am

As long as they dont water down or replace the washing solution ......

Used a few in south florida and they actually do a decent job

Peakes has one that gets heavy use in cocorite

W2J

Postby W2J » June 25th, 2014, 8:32 am

^ peaks unit is not brushless, and does not underwash or polish.

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » June 25th, 2014, 8:37 am

never had the opportunity to use, but i will def try it and see it goes.

Postby javishm » June 25th, 2014, 9:38 am

Peakes one does a decent job

Would love to try this one

Postby j.o.e » June 25th, 2014, 9:47 am

Peakes own scratched up a family members car some years ago....willing to try this one if its brushless

Postby Chimera » June 25th, 2014, 9:54 am

ent peakes have a brushless option though?

antlind

Postby antlind » June 25th, 2014, 10:02 am

Used these types of touch less systems when I lived in Calgary. Unfortunately they do not get the cars really clean. There is always a light film on the car that can really only be taken off with a hand wash. It's good for NA winters where you want to get the car clean. However after using the touchless system one still has to hand wash before attempting to apply wax or polish. It's a lazy man wash.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 25th, 2014, 12:08 pm

j.o.e wrote:Peakes own scratched up a family members car some years ago....willing to try this one if its brushless

tell ure familee theres a big sign - No Renaults allowed!

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » June 25th, 2014, 3:41 pm

Eh boy dis soundin good ah go hv to swing tru dey

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 25th, 2014, 4:17 pm

W2J wrote:^ peaks unit is not brushless, and does not underwash or polish.
I think Peake's unit does underwash

the first spray that you drive past is on the floor spraying upwards

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 25th, 2014, 5:01 pm

Wasnt there a similar car wash near morvant junction? that used to work pretty well from what i remember.

Postby Team Loco » June 25th, 2014, 9:30 pm

I did a small study on openi g one of these in south.

But its not raj proof. The liability is there. Vehicles with aftermarket accessories cannot enter. There goes all south hilux with stuck on chrome trims. Dont talk for cars with tie strap bumper etc. I cant see that car wash working out

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 25th, 2014, 10:01 pm

Bucket a water and some breeze. Costing less than 40 and I doing it myself.

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » June 25th, 2014, 10:32 pm

Team Loco wrote:I did a small study on openi g one of these in south.

But its not raj proof. The liability is there. Vehicles with aftermarket accessories cannot enter. There goes all south hilux with stuck on chrome trims. Dont talk for cars with tie strap bumper etc. I cant see that car wash working out

x2. i was thinking about trying the underwash and then remembered my shields have tie straps :oops: :oops:

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » June 25th, 2014, 10:48 pm

Nice... Will try this out soon!

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » June 26th, 2014, 9:02 am

I went to find out/try it out yesterday
the guards have no idea when they opening to the public.
they say keep checking back

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » June 26th, 2014, 9:11 am

mitch1980 wrote:I went to find out/try it out yesterday

:lol: :lol: :lol: .... Looks like meh b12 cya wash dey yes... Ah go hadda buy ah range... :roll:

bignog

Postby bignog » June 26th, 2014, 9:32 am

This system is for them sawatee who does buy luxury cars/SUV an keep it original to the bone.....to drive tru before they go ruby Tuesdays .......it's a fact not hating just a fact

link

Postby link » June 27th, 2014, 2:56 am

bignog wrote:This system is for them sawatee who does buy luxury cars/SUV an keep it original to the bone.....to drive tru before they go ruby Tuesdays .......it's a fact not hating just a fact

soo....u prefer to siddong on a bench & leh man dash a few bucket-a-wata on yr car by d side of d road ??

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2014, 3:05 am

mitch1980 wrote:I went to find out/try it out yesterday

why? whats your rush to get your car washed by a machine?

i take my time and wash my vehicles on a weekend. after im done i know its up to my standard (no missed spots, swirl marks, etc).
for a automotive website im suprised more people arent washing their own cars.

Postby RASC » June 27th, 2014, 5:32 am

^^^Time?

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2014, 6:36 am

whats a lil two hours on a saturday/sunday evening to look after your car man.
i know people who would carry their car to wash and sit down and watch some stranger wash it. so time isnt the issue for them. to each their own i guess.

bignog

Postby bignog » June 27th, 2014, 7:11 am

S_2NR wrote:whats a lil two hours on a saturday/sunday evening to look after your car man.
i know people who would carry their car to wash and sit down and watch some stranger wash it. so time isnt the issue for them. to each their own i guess.

It does sound better to gloat " ah carry meh car tuh wash " .......dem Chinese go start washing cars jus now dey capitalizing on wasteful trini mentality ..........when yuh shop in dey grocery an yuh collect yuh money an leave the one an five cent yuh ever see the look on dey face ........" Dem trini is counts boi ".........to elaborate more a few years ago India gas price rose by one cent an the ppl light up gas tankers an gas stations in protest ........in Trinidad if it rise by ten dollars ............we go rather laugh at the neighbor who can't fill his tank ..........hope I eh hurt allyuh with UWI accent :fist:

Postby Chimera » June 27th, 2014, 8:48 am

bignog wrote:ow dey capitalizing on wasteful trini mentality ..........when yuh shop in dey grocery an yuh collect yuh money an leave the one an five cent yuh ever see the look on dey face ....

interesting point
there's a new chinese grocery near to me, next to Idrees/Pastor Cuffie Boat

a day i was there, this guy came in to buy a busta which was listed at $4.97 i think
so he pay $5 and waiting for his change

chinese cashier say "no change, only 3 cents"
man ask her if every day she guh do him that , how the price is $4.97
chinese cashier open the cash drawer which was full of one cents and hand him one,then take out about 5 more and throw it on the counter and tell him he too cheap :S

on another note, i stop washing my car months now, easier to go pay a $40 and let ppl wash it, they actually wash it better than I do, could just sit down and play game or read a book while they doing it

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 27th, 2014, 9:10 am

S_2NR wrote:i take my time and wash my vehicles on a weekend. after im done i know its up to my standard (no missed spots, swirl marks, etc).

This is the way to go. The only thing I'll pay for is an engine wash

Postby Redman » June 27th, 2014, 9:12 am

I thought people entitled to spend their money on what they want-I do both-depending on my time.

Its a service that is being provided-like KFC,tax consultants, etc-