Best prepaid credit card...which to get?

Postby desifemlove » June 10th, 2014, 9:32 pm

I have an FCB one, but is RBL one any good?

Re: Bess prepaid credit card...which to get?

Postby zoom rader » June 10th, 2014, 9:34 pm

Since RBL was sold their services have become crap.

Postby mero » June 10th, 2014, 9:50 pm

Rbl is visa and fc is MasterCard. They're pretty much the same. Visa is more widely accepted though and I believe its easier to receive payments on visa card.

Fcb's card service is way better though

trinibourbon

Postby trinibourbon » June 11th, 2014, 1:21 am

FCB is in local currency...slightly more with the transaction fees and you have to basically load it on the card, and then pay the conversion fee. Even with online banking....the funds take some time to be available on the card. Even when done before the stipulated cut off time...it still takes more than a day in my experience to be available.

The RBL has the advantage in my view that once tied to your RBL account, you can transfer the funds from your account and available more or less immediately.

Postby javishm » June 11th, 2014, 1:29 am

Had a RBL VTM card but it expired never went back to get a new one

dont mind trying the FCB one

Postby Slartibartfast » June 11th, 2014, 11:49 am

I use the Republic Bank VTM card. With sms banking I could text a transfer request and get US$ on in in about 30 seconds. It don't get much better than that The service is normally down between 12am and 2am for maintenance

shiva_0001

Postby shiva_0001 » June 11th, 2014, 1:59 pm

The VTM from republic bank is the best, online banking allows you to transfer from your savings to vtm almost instantly...with fcb it takes a while to go in and you can receive money on paypal which cannot be done with mastercard.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 11th, 2014, 3:49 pm

You can also use the RBL VISA TM card to receive payments from PayPal (if someone pays you via PayPal or you sell something on eBay etc). Currently in T&T you cannot receive funds from PayPal on a MasterCard card.

Postby supercharged turbo » June 11th, 2014, 4:33 pm

Republic VTM

Postby Spitfir3 » June 11th, 2014, 5:12 pm

i use republic vtm, never had a problem and once i top up the card the money is pretty much ready to use the same day

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 12th, 2014, 12:51 am

tsk tsk poor guys cant get normal credit cards, dem feels

Postby Slartibartfast » June 12th, 2014, 8:15 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:tsk tsk poor guys cant get normal credit cards, dem feels

Some guys don't want to get normal credit cards. Even when the bank keeps offering them.

Postby desifemlove » June 12th, 2014, 9:44 am

I can and have in the past...

But i detest normal credit cards....cos they allow people to spend without limit....i can manage my spending better and not get pressure from banks about late payments....This is what caused the Great Recession ent...

sooo...yeah breds, financial prudence means i cyah afford no normal credit card....lol....nice attempt to read my intent...

Postby mero » June 12th, 2014, 10:10 am

Man feel yuh reach when u get a credit card oui.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 12th, 2014, 10:34 am

desifemlove wrote:

I can and have in the past...

But i detest normal credit cards....cos they allow people to spend without limit....i can manage my spending better and not get pressure from banks about late payments....This is what caused the Great Recession ent...

sooo...yeah breds, financial prudence means i cyah afford no normal credit card....lol....nice attempt to read my intent...

Keep it up... Don't go bankrupt :grin:

Postby desifemlove » June 12th, 2014, 2:35 pm

Keep up what? jus saying you and faglal are dopes, das all..

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 12th, 2014, 3:43 pm

Me? :oops: I now post

CBharath

Postby CBharath » October 10th, 2014, 1:52 pm

rbtt have a version of this ?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 10th, 2014, 6:27 pm

CBharath wrote:rbtt have a version of this ?

You would think they would have the latest and best seeing that they are a Canadian subsidiary but alas no......

rambo88

Postby rambo88 » October 10th, 2014, 8:11 pm

Wat are the requirements to get d prepaid visa card from republic bank

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 10th, 2014, 9:15 pm

rambo88 wrote:Wat are the requirements to get d prepaid visa card from republic bank
It's the VISA TravelMoney card from Republic Bank. it is actually a VISA Electron debit card.
It works great for PayPal, Amazon, Netflix and lots of other online services.
The card is in US currency even if you put TT$ on it.
The card has a pin number so you can use it at any ATM with an Electron logo on it anywhere in the world.
Ask them to put your skybox address as your secondary address so you will have a US address on the card.

You will need to take two valid forms of national ID, a recent utility bill on your name, job letter (signed original, not a copy), pay slip and US$10.

Take adequate time off cause it takes over 2 hours.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » October 10th, 2014, 9:21 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You can also use the RBL VISA TM card to receive payments from PayPal (if someone pays you via PayPal or you sell something on eBay etc). Currently in T&T you cannot receive funds from PayPal on a MasterCard card.

So if you need a refund from something you purchased?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 10th, 2014, 11:13 pm

Cross Blood wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You can also use the RBL VISA TM card to receive payments from PayPal (if someone pays you via PayPal or you sell something on eBay etc). Currently in T&T you cannot receive funds from PayPal on a MasterCard card.

So if you need a refund from something you purchased?
It will go back to your PayPal balance I believe or they may put it back on your mastercard as that is a charge back, not a withdrawal.

What I was referring to specifically are funds you receive on PayPal from items or services that you sell and use PayPal as a payment method. People pay you and the funds are collected by PayPal. You can then withdraw those funds to your VISA card, not a MasterCard.

rambo88

Postby rambo88 » October 10th, 2014, 11:55 pm

"You will need to take two valid forms of national ID, a recent utility bill on your name, job letter (signed original, not a copy), pay slip and US$10.
Take adequate time off cause it takes over 2 hours.[/quote]"

Well I am self employed so I dont have job letter and I dont pay any bills:-|

syncrod

Postby syncrod » October 11th, 2014, 12:13 am

Swear an affidavit to that effect

Postby SMc » October 11th, 2014, 2:40 am

kerwinishere wrote:Me? :oops: I now post

Anyway is it possible to have a prepaid credit card..isnt a what you need just a debit card? :|

I dunno these things I onlt use my CC for gas/work related stuff which I claim back anyway :(

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » October 11th, 2014, 8:53 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It will go back to your PayPal balance I believe or they may put it back on your mastercard as that is a charge back, not a withdrawal.

What I was referring to specifically are funds you receive on PayPal from items or services that you sell and use PayPal as a payment method. People pay you and the funds are collected by PayPal. You can then withdraw those funds to your VISA card, not a MasterCard.

I totally understand what you are saying. I was just wondering because a few times I had to receive refunds on paypal through my Mastercard. I believe they refund it to the Mastercard. My PayPal balance don't increase when I receive a refund. Thanks for clarifying though.

RhymePaladin

Postby RhymePaladin » October 11th, 2014, 8:57 am

rambo88 wrote:"You will need to take two valid forms of national ID, a recent utility bill on your name, job letter (signed original, not a copy), pay slip and US$10.
Take adequate time off cause it takes over 2 hours.
"

Well I am self employed so I dont have job letter and I dont pay any bills:-|[/quote]

yeah so what does one who cant get a job letter do? :|

rambo88

Postby rambo88 » October 11th, 2014, 9:07 am

All I want is just a card and skybox so I can buy stuff from the net. Nothing to fancy.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » October 16th, 2014, 3:47 pm

You could let the skybox company order it for you.... At an extra cost ofc