.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

EmilioA

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby EmilioA » September 8th, 2015, 11:31 am

Habit7 wrote:HHB was the closest http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-09- ... voured-win but Nigel Henry get knocked down a few notches in terms of respect in my view.

Ent Nigel say 18 seats sure for each party but 5 too close to call.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 8th, 2015, 11:34 am

PariaMan wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:
intern wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:
intern wrote:Just when you think they can't get any cruder, they do. I don't know what kinds of people are on UNC's FB. These people are crazy.

yup the diehard ones are pretty crazy but so are the pnm ones and they do in fact hate indian
the only race Trinidadians dez bend over for is the white people

So you are saying I hate Indians because I supported the PNM? Is that it? After all the corrupt things done by the outgoing UNC administration, you still cannot see any other possible reason for me supporting the PNM. This kind of idiocy is why you have no understanding.

no moron what i meant was for every racist ufc fanboy there is a racist pnm fanboy i wasn't generalizing all pnm supporters but the way you talk you make it seem as though pnm is clean as a whistle

i like how quick yuh jump on the defensive though yuh antsy oar 8-)

Actually you are wrong PNM voters will swing if motivated enough. Recall 33-3 for the NAR

UNC voters are sheep and will not change their voting patterns despite whatever is shovelled on them.

It might take generations before this blind loyalty is no more!

Despite the huge unpopularity of Manning in 2010 there was a "We vex but still voting PNM" campaign and the PNM still managed to gain 40% of the votes cast. Your broad brush of UNC voters being sheep also applies to PNM as well. The PNM just happens to have slightly less sheep!!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 8th, 2015, 11:41 am

Not slightly less .A whole lot less . Recall 33 - 3 for the NAR.

UNC in the foreseeable future will always have 18 guaranteed seats.

There are vast hordes of UNC sheep.

That is just the reality.

Hopefully the the great grand children of current UNC voters will see the light.

For me I have always voted out parties who I do not consider up to scratch.

This started with the PNM in 1986.

Personal question can you ever vote for anyone but UNC

Postby Dizzy28 » September 8th, 2015, 11:50 am

33-3 happened one time. Not quite enough to claim its a pattern.
Lemme add some numbers to your argument i.e. PNM votes in each election for the past 5 elections
2010 - 284,244
2007 - 299,885
2002 - 298,629
2001 - 251,283
2000 - 267,608

UNC/PP
2010 - 430,711
2007 - 202,528
2002 - 273,028
2001 - 270,464
2000 - 298,729

Both sides seem to have an unwavering core with the PNM moreso given the fact that in 2007 when the COP came on the scene the UNC had a marked decrease In support whereas the PNM actually had an increase.
Why do you fail to see there are red sheep, yellow sheep, blue sheep, green sheep!!

And yes I have voted for parties/individuals other than UNC.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 8th, 2015, 11:59 am

Thats two times pal 2010 (430000)

and 1986.

It is clear that if things are bad enough a vast majority PNM will in fact shift.

UNC will always have that 18 seats.

That is a fact.

A population of sheep will get a government of Wolves.

That is what the discerning third force of voters have done to allow the country to escape from

Postby AllTrac » September 8th, 2015, 12:16 pm

lawd 322 pages? dont have time to read all that just tell me from what page yard fowl ah kick up

Postby Habit7 » September 8th, 2015, 12:16 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Habit7 wrote:HHB was the closest http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-09- ... voured-win but Nigel Henry get knocked down a few notches in terms of respect in my view.

Ent Nigel say 18 seats sure for each party but 5 too close to call.
Yeah but 18-18 is an easy call. To be a good pollster you have to be able to predict the outcome. At least HHB pointed the marginals to PNM

Postby rfari » September 8th, 2015, 12:28 pm

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » September 8th, 2015, 12:30 pm

PariaMan wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:
intern wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:
intern wrote:Just when you think they can't get any cruder, they do. I don't know what kinds of people are on UNC's FB. These people are crazy.

yup the diehard ones are pretty crazy but so are the pnm ones and they do in fact hate indian

So you are saying I hate Indians because I supported the PNM? Is that it? After all the corrupt things done by the outgoing UNC administration, you still cannot see any other possible reason for me supporting the PNM. This kind of idiocy is why you have no understanding.

no moron what i meant was for every racist ufc fanboy there is a racist pnm fanboy i wasn't generalizing all pnm supporters but the way you talk you make it seem as though pnm is clean as a whistle

Actually you are wrong PNM voters will swing if motivated enough. Recall 33-3 for the NAR

UNC voters are sheep and will not change their voting patterns despite whatever is shovelled on them.

well said pariaman but UNC does make their followers look like dunce

Postby AllTrac » September 8th, 2015, 12:36 pm

rfari wrote:Image

when did they stop doing this?

Postby rfari » September 8th, 2015, 12:43 pm

AllTrac wrote:

when did they stop doing this?

Apparently since 2010

Postby j.o.e » September 8th, 2015, 12:49 pm

ZR thought Sando East was a marginal and Ashaki Scott (COP) had a chance?

Postby desifemlove » September 8th, 2015, 12:52 pm

in the past, did mudders used to sniff glue whilst pregnant?

Postby desifemlove » September 8th, 2015, 12:55 pm

PariaMan wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:
intern wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:

Despite the huge unpopularity of Manning in 2010 there was a "We vex but still voting PNM" campaign and the PNM still managed to gain 40% of the votes cast. Your broad brush of UNC voters being sheep also applies to PNM as well. The PNM just happens to have slightly less sheep!!
sheep who does say cos UNC got more votes, you should ah won election? You got more votes cos the candidate winning margins in the UNC areas was higher. Singh got 18,000, Ms. Gopeesingh and Dr. Moonilal high too.

Postby desifemlove » September 8th, 2015, 12:58 pm

York wrote:the race of races was won. well said rowley. sounded really mature.

just hope yuh better than manning cause i cant forget all the nonsense calda hart, waste we money projects from the last pnm...

we now getting service and drugs from the public health sector, in comparison to the past, so keep improving and lowering taxes too. cheers!

lulz..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 8th, 2015, 1:11 pm

some of my thoughts

1) VAT reduced to 12% almost immediately with the new budget, removed completely from more items.
3) Super Gasoline raised $0.25 in 2016 budget
3) Dollar devalues to $7:1 by Q2 2016
4) Super/Diesel increased by another $0.25 in subsequent Budgets till 2020

Comment.

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2015, 1:17 pm

Manning had his chances and made messes at the end. Panday had chances and made messes at the end. Kamla had a chance and her wolf pack made a mess of her term.

Rowley has a chance now. The PNM slate is a bit different from the manning era. Rowley also has a very hard term with little revenue.
Go forth, you have the fore.

Rowley's victory speech was overall impressive... So was Kamla's.

But one undertone stood out to me. It was about his efforts towards patriotism. I don't believe in patriotism, its just a wider version of a tribe.
What stood out was the words he used to describe his future actions. He didn't want to instill a sense of patriotism from early, by modfying th school curriculum.

All the same, I wish Rowley success, bcause successful governing would mean the country would benefit.

I mean, we don't want to go down he same road as Greece

Postby Habit7 » September 8th, 2015, 1:20 pm

I look forward to the UNC supporters seeing the last 5 years as a golden age in T&T, where everything was perfect and we got the best governance ever.

But now that Dr. Rowley is PM and the UNC supporters are preaching doom and gloom of taxes, crime and job losses, isnt that an indictment on the last administration. Rowley aint even get a ride in PM1 yet but everybody knows he has harsh decisions to make because of our economy. Maybe if UNC/PP didn't increase expenditure with new revenue resources, run 5 deficit budgets and lowered our credit rating, Dr. Rowley probably could have continue the PP freeness.

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2015, 1:30 pm

Wait, kiss bread increased? I stopped buying bread a while now.
Fuel priceing should be made real, but slowly.
Vat should not be decreased because the government still needs money. It should not be increased because it gonna drive inflation in an upward spiral.

Ye government needs to get revenue. Any upset in revenue collection from citizens gonna drive inflation up. The problem is if they do things too hard and too fast it gonna spiral upwards and out of control.
We will be the Zimbabwe of the western hemisphere.

Taxation increases, subsidy reduction need to be paced very cautiously.

For the off roaders; we are descending a slippery slope. We can't go too fast nor too slowly, all actions need to be made cautiously.

Rowley has a difficult time ahead. And for the country not to descend into chaos, everybody needs to chip in.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 8th, 2015, 1:33 pm

PariaMan wrote:Thats two times pal 2010 (430000)

and 1986.

It is clear that if things are bad enough a vast majority PNM will in fact shift.

UNC will always have that 18 seats.

That is a fact.

A population of sheep will get a government of Wolves.

That is what the discerning third force of voters have done to allow the country to escape from

Are we not discussing sheep?

Despite 2010 being the UNC/PP zenith the PNM still got 285,000 votes and experienced a minor 5% overall drop in votes from 2007. Therefore it is safe to say the PNM also has sheep.

My beef is not with who win and who loses, but in fairness you cannot label one party's followers as sheep and not the other.

A system of seats does not place a significance on the actual number of voters. You keep referring to 1986....how much votes did the PNM actually get in comparison to the total votes cast?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 8th, 2015, 1:35 pm

Bezman wrote:some of my thoughts

1) VAT reduced to 12% almost immediately with the new budget, removed completely from more items.

Comment.

Remove the control on fuel pricing all together.
Bring land tax. Dissolve large estates that aren't contributing to the GDP.
Reduction in VAT and Duties, stronger enforcement by tax related agencies.
Remove age limit on motor vehicles but strongly enforce the monitoring of road worthiness.

A fully dedicated arm of the police force equipped to monitor high profile persons of interest in society wrt source of income/funding of political parties etc.

Government contracts that run significantly over budget should result in the penalising of the said contractor with the ability for the AG to 'lift the veil' and go behind private assets to settle the bill.

Continue developing our local tertiary education system (send high achievers abroad to return to T&T and benefit US) not just doling out free education.

Disband local government, at least the present iteration.

Setup proper sports academies not after school clubs.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 8th, 2015, 1:39 pm

There are three tribes in Trinidad --PNM, UNC and "usually I dont vote but once a generation I go vote for NAR or PP"

This rounds the UNC mistakenly though the third tribe was actually UNC and so was shocked when they returned to not voting.

Postby pete » September 8th, 2015, 1:41 pm

Bezman wrote:some of my thoughts

Comment.

So long for a devaluation? Hoping to get a vacation in before it happens. Next month. :|

Daran

Postby Daran » September 8th, 2015, 1:45 pm

anyone have the full breakdown of results?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 8th, 2015, 1:46 pm

Daran wrote:anyone have the full breakdown of results?

EBC ent release it yet. Check tom papers

Postby rollingstock » September 8th, 2015, 2:06 pm

Now that she gone how to get that bye bye Kamla song out of my head?

Postby rfari » September 8th, 2015, 2:08 pm

rollingstock wrote:Now that she gone how to get that bye bye Kamla song out of my head?

Dais a ched by itself. Srs

Postby rfari » September 8th, 2015, 2:09 pm

What Ollur saying for house speaker and senate president? Ralph maraj? And one of the previous independent senators,?

Postby Habit7 » September 8th, 2015, 2:11 pm

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » September 8th, 2015, 2:12 pm

I didn't vote PNM, but i'm more than willing to give Rowley a fair chance to prove himself..

Hand on deck ..