Baby dies after head cut during C-section

Re: Baby dies after head cut during C-section

Postby desifemlove » June 21st, 2014, 5:56 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Are surgeries 100% incident free? He alone cannot shoulder the blame, the entire unit that was rostered for that shift has to face any action taken.

OK..so according to you, he above de law...de baby deserved to die...and he had some right to do what he did...

yuh argument ent making sense, if there's standards in place, then he should get charged if he accepts those standards...some spiritualistic moralising ent making sense....

Postby desifemlove » June 21st, 2014, 5:59 pm

pioneer wrote:The doctor should not be punished.

Next time force patients to sign disclaimer forms when they agree to have a c-section done.

c-section is routine....has been globally for decades as any good midwife or gynae doc can say, well anywhere....why the need for a disclaimer?

but meh, laws doh apply lol.....no wonder the country the state it in....

Postby desifemlove » June 21st, 2014, 6:31 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
prav316 wrote:And the Doc well enjoy himself in Mocha Carnival Sunday (the day after this happened) eh.

so he not human :roll:

he has a right to party...who'd be dopey enough to say he don't?

look...look, if yuh wanna justify he actions and say he ent deserve punishment...doh beat around be bush and be passive aggressive nah...be a man and say it...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 21st, 2014, 9:31 pm

desifemlove, you seem extremely upset......you on your periods?

Postby desifemlove » June 21st, 2014, 9:48 pm

no...you jus saying de doctor had a right to kill de baby..and ent got de balls to say it outright..

i tink he should be punished...you don't...fine, we agree to disagree. I just challenging your opinion, this is the point of this forum, ent? doh care either way though, doh need to....as said, you have your view, I does have mine..

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 21st, 2014, 9:56 pm

desifemlove wrote:no...you jus saying de doctor had a right to kill de baby..and ent got de balls to say it outright..

i tink he should be punished...you don't...fine, we agree to disagree. I just challenging your opinion, this is the point of this forum, ent? doh care either way though, doh need to....as said, you have your view, I does have mine..

Where did i say he had a right to kill the child, all i said is accidents do happen during surgeries and no i dont think he should be punished at the level that people are calling for.

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2014, 9:57 pm

who wouldn't be pissed if their job operated(no pun) with no evaluation methods,
customers having no recourse for questioning work done win lose or draw and
suddenly finding themselves open to investigation and possibility of lawsuits and losing their jobs.

compared to an airline pilot who also has responsibility of human lives and can lose job for procedural mistakes not related to flying skill
doctors here have it easy with practically zero accountability so far

Postby desifemlove » June 21st, 2014, 10:07 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:no...you jus saying de doctor had a right to kill de baby..and ent got de balls to say it outright..

Where did i say he had a right to kill the child, all i said is accidents do happen during surgeries and no i dont think he should be punished at the level that people are calling for.

err...i doh believe that, but there you go......we doh all share your morals, get with it.. :lol:

Postby De Dragon » June 22nd, 2014, 11:21 am

pugboy wrote:who wouldn't be pissed if their job operated(no pun) with no evaluation methods,
customers having no recourse for questioning work done win lose or draw and
suddenly finding themselves open to investigation and possibility of lawsuits and losing their jobs.

compared to an airline pilot who also has responsibility of human lives and can lose job for procedural mistakes not related to flying skill
doctors here have it easy with practically zero accountability so far

People defending this doctor seem not to have availed themselves of the contents of the report. The findings are that he was grossly negligent! This wasn't a patient dying of complications, but an ERROR.The committee found the injuries could only have been inflicted through said gross negligence.

Postby desifemlove » June 22nd, 2014, 12:05 pm

samos wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:Surely all yuh men does do all yuh job perfect. The fact is EVERYONE makes mistakes, no one is perfect. Such is life. Is unfortunate what happened. Clearly you all know nothing about the law with respect to medical negligence. The fact is things go wrong all the time. You cant get it right all the time. If all doctors were fired after something went wrong with a patient, guess what, there would be NO doctors working. You simply cannot fire a medical professional based solely on the outcome of a particular incident. The fact of the matter is that the working on a living person is very unpredictable and anything can happen anytime. But is shocking to hear people taking about this person as if he is a criminal and he did it on purpose. Is unfortunate and sad what took place, but it has already happened and is time to move on. The most that would come out of this is that the family would be compensated and the doctor suspended for a reasonable period with mandatory psychological counselling. The fact of the matter is, the next time this said doctor would be performing a C-section, he would be extra careful and double check and triple check everything before hand and to be honest, if he uses this as a learning experience he would be an even better surgeon than before.
ok lets say for example and engineering designed a bridge and his measurements were off.causing the bridge to collapse killing a lot of people what would u say then "such is life" let me get a little closer to home you went to the mechanic and he change your master cylinder for you brakes but didn't tighted It properly now you're going home with your family doing 100kmh looking for brakes can't find any crash and killed your entire family who is to blame?? The point is this de man not packing pallets or packing shelves in a grocery nor he was a trainee he's a highly trained and experienced specialist just like the engineering and the mechanic so there is no such thing as a learning experience when lives are at stake

he trying to justify de death... :lol:

leave him be nah...it's his view...lol..

Postby De Dragon » June 22nd, 2014, 12:43 pm

desifemlove wrote:
samos wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:Surely all yuh men does do all yuh job perfect. The fact is EVERYONE makes mistakes, no one is perfect. Such is life. Is unfortunate what happened. Clearly you all know nothing about the law with respect to medical negligence. The fact is things go wrong all the time. You cant get it right all the time. If all doctors were fired after something went wrong with a patient, guess what, there would be NO doctors working. You simply cannot fire a medical professional based solely on the outcome of a particular incident. The fact of the matter is that the working on a living person is very unpredictable and anything can happen anytime. But is shocking to hear people taking about this person as if he is a criminal and he did it on purpose. Is unfortunate and sad what took place, but it has already happened and is time to move on. The most that would come out of this is that the family would be compensated and the doctor suspended for a reasonable period with mandatory psychological counselling. The fact of the matter is, the next time this said doctor would be performing a C-section, he would be extra careful and double check and triple check everything before hand and to be honest, if he uses this as a learning experience he would be an even better surgeon than before.
ok lets say for example and engineering designed a bridge and his measurements were off.causing the bridge to collapse killing a lot of people what would u say then "such is life" let me get a little closer to home you went to the mechanic and he change your master cylinder for you brakes but didn't tighted It properly now you're going home with your family doing 100kmh looking for brakes can't find any crash and killed your entire family who is to blame?? The point is this de man not packing pallets or packing shelves in a grocery nor he was a trainee he's a highly trained and experienced specialist just like the engineering and the mechanic so there is no such thing as a learning experience when lives are at stake

he trying to justify de death... :lol:

leave him be nah...it's his view...lol..

Chances are all those defending the negligence would not be so forgiving if it were their family/friend.

Postby desifemlove » June 22nd, 2014, 7:07 pm

nah..they can tink what they want...not my issue, i doh know them.....dey tink he had the right to kill de chile, meh...it takes all kinds..

Postby pioneer » June 22nd, 2014, 8:36 pm

I guess ollor was dey in de hospital to hear de doctor say nah boi tuh hell wid this I gon kill da chile oui.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 22nd, 2014, 11:27 pm

Don't be surprised when private doctors decide to charge 100k for delivering a baby

Postby 88sins » June 23rd, 2014, 5:02 am

src1983 wrote:Don't be surprised when private doctors decide to charge 100k for delivering a baby

& that is a next can of worms by itself. yuh eh wah open dat

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 23rd, 2014, 5:24 am

src1983 wrote:Don't be surprised when private doctors decide to charge 100k for delivering a baby

& that is a next can of worms by itself. yuh eh wah open dat

Not a can of worms, pretty simple the risk involved in the job

Postby 88sins » June 23rd, 2014, 7:01 am

risk to whom is the real question src.

in this country, doctors can & do get away with a lot of chit. there was one dr a while ago that was accused & convicted with the criminal offense for sexually molesting a pregnant patient at his el dorado office. said dr after his sentence returned to private practice & was allowed to do so by mbatt & the incident was kept quiet. said dr did it again, but the second time had the good sense to leave the country b4 he was arrested/charged with the second offense. he returned several yrs later, & has never reopened his clinic.
& this is 1 example, it have others I know of.

Also in the private in T&T sector surgeons fees are extremely variable. I've seen some doctors charge 20K for a straight forward appendectomy that had no complications, while others with similar & sometimes more experience & capabilites charge 8-10K.
So one has to wonder, who sets the schedule for these fees? is there a schedule? Or do they charge whatever they feel to according to the procedure? And if there isn't a schedule why is no politician challenging this systemic abuse of the public by the private health sector.

Let me say I personally know more than a few dr's. I have had a surgeon tell me he would provide an anesthetist for a procedure, & the anesthetist's fee would be 12K. After calling around, I found there were others with more than 10+- years more experience in the field than the one the surgeon recommended, that charged up to 5K less than the one he referred. Needless to say, I asked an old friend in that field if he'd be available on the day of my procedure, & when I told the surgeon of my arrangements he was none too pleased about that for some reason (I have my suspicions why).

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 23rd, 2014, 7:25 am

I totally understand what you are saying, but you are taking the view as if the doctor intentionally wanted to cut the child

The human body ain't no car engine, some viruses and ailments affects ppl in different ways.

Look at it this way, I didn't see the full report, but I read somewhere here that the senior doctor wasn't present (need clarification)

Now you on call, you a baby delivery doctor (I not a medical man) the senior missing, the baby coming. Seeing it's a C-Section most likely she have complications. He maybe had no choice to start the procedure.

Let's say he waited and the woman and baby died due to the complications.

Headline "DOCTOR ON CALL, FAILS TO SAVE MOTHER AND CHILD"

The risk they face is that they stand to lose everything when something goes wrong.

It's not like my job when I could just reverse an entry.

That being said I know personally of doctors that did crap, and have evidence to prove such.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 23rd, 2014, 7:34 am

A sure fire way to fix this

GoPro cameras on everyone inside the theatre

Postby 88sins » June 23rd, 2014, 9:36 am

digital footage can be easily "lost" conveniently.

best mechanism to prevent this kinda crap is to set an example that gross negligence will no longer be tolerated, & the penalties for such will be severe, such as loss of license, incarceration. As well as putting things in place where John Public can sue those culpable for significant punitive damages as an individual, not just sue the state

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 23rd, 2014, 9:44 am

88sins wrote:digital footage can be easily "lost" conveniently.

best mechanism to prevent this kinda crap is to set an example that gross negligence will no longer be tolerated, & the penalties for such will be severe, such as loss of license, incarceration. As well as putting things in place where John Public can sue those culpable for significant punitive damages as an individual, not just sue the state

Link to full report?

With consequences like that 200k to deliver a baby via C-Section

Another good idea, let people start paying for health care using NIS or some facility as insurance

bignog

Postby bignog » June 23rd, 2014, 9:46 am

8million...................look at rush to do c section

Postby De Dragon » June 24th, 2014, 12:22 am

src1983 wrote:I totally understand what you are saying, but you are taking the view as if the doctor intentionally wanted to cut the child

The human body ain't no car engine, some viruses and ailments affects ppl in different ways.

Look at it this way, I didn't see the full report, but I read somewhere here that the senior doctor wasn't present (need clarification)

Now you on call, you a baby delivery doctor (I not a medical man) the senior missing, the baby coming. Seeing it's a C-Section most likely she have complications. He maybe had no choice to start the procedure.

The risk they face is that they stand to lose everything when something goes wrong.

That being said I know personally of doctors that did crap, and have evidence to prove such.

Intent would have made it murder. The fact is, a child died because someone was negligent. Do you suggest that we just shrug our shoulders and ask what's for lunch?

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 24th, 2014, 7:01 am

src1983 wrote:I totally understand what you are saying, but you are taking the view as if the doctor intentionally wanted to cut the child

Intent would have made it murder. The fact is, a child died because someone was negligent. Do you suggest that we just shrug our shoulders and ask what's for lunch?

Where did I say he should get off? I didn't read the report so I can't say he was negligent

Postby 16 cycles » June 24th, 2014, 7:17 am

bignog wrote:8million...................look at rush to do c section

8.0 or 0.8m?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/AG- ... 38231.html

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 24th, 2014, 7:27 am

How many of you in here would Carry their wife to this SAME doctor and have him deliver YOUR child after all has been said and done?

Postby pugboy » June 24th, 2014, 7:31 am

depends if he was at a carnival party whilst being on call
and if the head consultant would show up when called if there were any complications later on

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 24th, 2014, 7:57 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:How many of you in here would Carry their wife to this SAME doctor and have him deliver YOUR child after all has been said and done?

Not me I had my share of doctor problems

trichards80

Postby trichards80 » June 24th, 2014, 9:02 am

Zuuuuuuuz7uuuuudffg g

Postby Slartibartfast » June 24th, 2014, 10:22 am

I say boycott is the only answer. Errybody just stop having children... that would show them.