Creation vs Evolution debate tonight on NBC

Re: Creation vs Evolution debate tonight on NBC

Postby desifemlove » February 5th, 2014, 9:19 am

lol.. Ent the Bible written by the Romans to control their society? Who says it was or IS NOW the "complete and true" word of God? I suspect of religion, it's a tool to control man, but then who knows what God wants? A priest saying "so, so, so, so.." is just what his church tell him or her to say.

And to answer the other guy earlier a dope is an idiot. The woman Prof. Dawkins interviewed is an idiot, on many levels. Science is not philosophy and relies on hard evidence not verbal logic. It's not like stating subjective morality or why social equality is better than oligarchy. Is just her arguments were laughable. yes, evolution has been used to justify inhumanity, but so has the Bible. it was used to justify slavery, did she know that or heard of the curse of Ham? it was used to justify oppression of women (something she should identify with for obvious reasons), and many other tings.

The thing with scriptural interpretation is that it's subjective. Which thing in life is not? If we today say slavery is wrong, how come people living in 1750 or whenever said it was good, cos de Bible say so and God is perfect and infallible, so His word goes? Why do most Muslims say terrorism justified by the Quran is wrong, but Al Qaeda say it good? Why do some Hindus in India say God ordains the caste system, and others don't? Even if God exists, who say we can know what he/she/it truly wants or demands of us? I keep an open mind in all things, but then creationism has sheit evidence to support it, whilst evolution has a stack of such.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 5th, 2014, 9:23 am

V8 Boys wrote:In every aspect of life today, there is chaos....ppl don't want to live by rules...they don't want someone TELLING them doh park there, don't throw out your garbage on the road, don't talk while you're eating, etc....and when someone with some MORALS comes along and tells it like it is....CUSS words have to fly, or label what we old ppl saying as toots.
Quite right!

The UN has demanded that the Vatican "immediately remove" all clergy who are known or suspected child abusers, in a report released on Wednesday.

Postby desifemlove » February 5th, 2014, 9:45 am

Rainman wrote:Do i believe in a higher power? yes
Does evolution make sense to me scientifically? Yes
Do i give a sheit which is which? No
Why? Because everyone is entitled to their opinion and should practice whichever makes them feel comfortable.

If you want to pray to a cow, goat, monkey, cobra...do it, it's your right.
If you want to pray to a cave dwelling pedophile...do it, it's your right.
If you want to pray to zombie Jesus, do it...it's your right.
If you want to pray to a 500lb chinese man who teaches self control...do it, it's your right.
If you believe in the flying spaghetti monster............you get the point

Only don't try to shovel your sh!t in the faces of people who don't agree with your particular flavor of belief (this is done by both creationists and atheists) and then criticize/laugh at them when they don't agree.

exactly, iz a free world.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 5th, 2014, 9:52 am

this is evolution
IMG-20131219-WA000.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2014, 10:10 am

Ignis hit the nail on the head dey.
Ched can lock now.

Postby shogun » February 5th, 2014, 3:25 pm

RBphoto wrote:I had posted the debate to my timeline on FB and looks like someone reported it as offensive. People dread these days with their stupidity :|

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » February 5th, 2014, 4:08 pm

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 5th, 2014, 4:28 pm

All theists are 99% atheists ... Just denounce 1 more God and you're free...

ModMania

Postby ModMania » February 6th, 2014, 9:18 am

I havent spoken much in this thread if at all....but reading some of these comments, I am no longer wondering why society is the way it is.....

I will mix spirituallity and evolution here. Not religion. Since the begining of time, civilizations have always believed In a higher being, why should we question that now? For one to being to understand that we are not here by chance, one must first understand who they are spiritually, one must tune in to nature and their roll in it, see how everything works hand in hand, see the equal and opposite reactions, understand full potentials and capabilites, most of the time this can only be achieved in solitued. The next part is to understand that words have power, the bible says God created us in his image and likeness. What we put out into the universe is what we get, speak positive, think positive and positivity will follow. When we speak, we are actually emitting energy into the universe to bring what we have spoken. If we look at the world around us for example terrorism, everyone is anti-terrorism, but why not be pro peace?

Evolution is happening all the time, but for evolution to even work, an organism first needed to exit. Think of God just as yourself except 10000000000000 times greater, he spoke according to the bible, let there be light and there was light. So with that principle, just as we can speak and make things happen. So did he. Scientist have proven that when we have a thought or feeling we emmit energy frequencies, that energy goes out into the universe to bring to us what we have asked for.

Take from this whatever you like. But in conclusion both evolution and creation work hand in hand

Postby Sky » February 6th, 2014, 10:41 am

ModMania wrote: Since the begining of time, civilizations have always believed In a higher being, why should we question that now?

I think the most logical reason for this that most likely, early scientists actually created religion.
The curiosity and quest for knowledge in human nature knows no bounds. And the unexplained breeds fear. Back then, something could not be explained, therefore God. Back then there were a lot of things that could not be explained.
Why do I think so? The greatest minds today are making the same "error" They can't see something, but only evidence, therefore dark matter or anti matter.
It's the best they can do. Just like back then.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 26th, 2014, 7:48 pm

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 27th, 2014, 10:49 am

image.jpg

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2014, 10:55 am

believe in a christian god, five billion people go to hell
believe in a muslim god, five billion people go to hell
believe in no god, nobody goes to hell

Postby redmanjp » February 27th, 2014, 2:21 pm

playerskrew wrote:
image.jpg

not in her case :|

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 27th, 2014, 3:01 pm

What I don't understand is how can this even be a debate?

So we are debating if creation is viable in this day and age?

Why are we debating if 2+2 = 22 is viable in this day and age. I say NO

2+2 = 4. There is no debate about this. Why would anyone even believe the world was created 6000 years ago? thats like believing 5+5 is really 1 million and scientists is up to some conspiracy when they say 5+5 = 10.

Bill Nye however is a disappointment. We needed someone like Richard Dawkins to deal with
Ken Ham. And the best part is Ken Ham said Bill Nye is not a scientist he only has a Masters Degree in Mechanical Engineering from MIT HAHAHAHAH

Yes only a Msc in Mechanical Engineering. ONLY

And hear Ken Ham brag about how he used to teach Science to elementary school children.

I think Bill Nye was dotish for even having this discussion in the first place. There is no discussion about this we can't change 2+2 from 4 to 1 million. No matter what you do 2+2 is 4.

According to Richard Dawkins, believing that the earth is 6000 years old is like believing the width of North America is 8 yards. If you did a conversion thats the gravity by how much you are off.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 27th, 2014, 5:01 pm

You are correct effectic .... Shame shame on bill nye.... Everyone knows the priest rabbi pundits imam all have doctorates to their name.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 28th, 2014, 1:17 am

Yes ent what a shame, not going for that PHD, only a Masters in Engineering from the most prestigious technological institute on the planet. ONLY eh. Boy Ken Ham really is a prime example of how retarded some people can become after years of indoctrination.

When I tell people that Dr Joseph Goebbels was a genius, they does beat up they chest and say you wrong he was a monster. Yet Goebbles learned his propaganda from the bible. Dr Goebbels once said if you tell a lie to the people long enough sooner or later they will start believing the lie even yourself.
The man was brilliant he knew it all to well the real purpose of scripture.

Scripture provides simple answers to the uneducated. Thats why so many people follow it and swallow it up hook, line and sinker.

You don't need to understand anything to understand scripture. How hard is it to answer every question in the universe as "Some dude in the sky did it"

Remember when people taught the earth was flat? people asked how did you know this and he said the dude in the sky told him and spoke to him in his dreams thats how he knows this. So the bible was created and that is what was put in it.

Its very very easy to know if there is a god.

If god is real and he spoke to some man to write a book then the book would have been filled with Quantum Mechanics, equations and physics to the highest degree.

The kind that Stephen Hawkins could only dream off understanding.

The bible has not 1 basic scientific equation, not 1 basic mathematical equation. Yet we are supposed to believe god is the creator of everything and he don't even know basic Mathematics or Physics?

Scripture represents the time it was written in and the age it was written in had no science. Hence why it has no science its a book designed to fool the masses and keep them in check.

Teaching creation in schools especially science classes is as Richard Dawkins said a betrayal of Education.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on February 28th, 2014, 1:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby stev » February 28th, 2014, 1:21 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:The bible has not 1 basic scientific equation, not 1 basic mathematical equation.]

not yet.....give it a year or two....im sure someone wud find an equation in there...

by the way....u guys think Neil DrGrasse Tyson (Carl Sagan's protege) would have been better for the debate than Bill Nye?...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 28th, 2014, 1:28 am

^ possibly but none of them is a match for Richard Dawkin. He was the ideal man for the debate.

This was by far Dawkin's best speech. He literally destroyed the pope and proved how the bible and the catholic church told Hitler to exterminate the Jews.

LOL at the Pope's penis is an essential tool for pastoral duties ROFL

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » February 28th, 2014, 11:01 am

all this debate as to, how we got here..
Assumptions and theories..
But at the end of it all, we are here...make the best of the time we got..