14 days sick leave in Trinidad Attention

john_smith8076

14 days sick leave in Trinidad Attention

Postby john_smith8076 » January 30th, 2014, 12:16 am

It's the law in Trinidad after 6 months of being employed u can get 14 sick days a year right?

Can an employer discipline u for excessive calling off if u don't use all 14 ?

What does Trinidad law say is excessive calling off provide links please?
Is excessive 4 times in 3 month period ?

Re: 14 days sick leave in Trinidad Attention

Postby bluesteel29 » January 30th, 2014, 12:29 am

casual days n sick days r 2 different tings eh sadis

Postby X2 » January 30th, 2014, 1:56 am

Sick leave is a benefit, not an entitlement. If you are permanent, you may normally get sick days as available but excessive absenteeism can be determined by the employer... dr note may be required after 2 consecutive days.

Also... you can be on contract for almost 1yr before being made permanent... so it depends on your situation... probation or contract?

Postby janfar » January 30th, 2014, 2:16 am

Ppl really think sick days is given???? Sick days are exactly that.

Doest NIS start paying you 80% of your salary after 14days of sick leave?

Postby joker » January 30th, 2014, 5:45 am

john_smith8076 wrote:It's the law in Trinidad after 6 months of being employed u can get 14 sick days a year right?

Can an employer discipline u for excessive calling off if u don't use all 14 ?

What does Trinidad law say is excessive calling off provide links please?
Is excessive 4 times in 3 month period ?

That is not excessive.
The employer can do what they want but wen it reaches industrial court they shiver.
And if they take action against u... that is within your provisions... that is Constructive dismissal.

Excessive is in EXCESS OF YOUR ALLOTED DAYS!

Postby ronsin1 » January 30th, 2014, 5:51 am

my boss told me I am not allowed to get sick since that I have never called in sick

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 30th, 2014, 7:35 am

OP there is precedent set by the Industrial court.
If you are absent for more than a certain percent for the month (except for vacation) it is frowned upon (i think its either 10 or 20).

notwithstanding that, using approximately 1 day a month sick leave leaves room for your actions to be interpreted as abuse of said leave and will not auger well for you when situations like merit pay increases, bonuses and promotions, and special training opportunities are concerened.

just my 2c..

Postby Dizzy28 » January 30th, 2014, 8:38 am

You are entitled to 0 days Sick Leave according to the law. Your employer pays 2/3 of your NIS contribution for the reason that if you get sick you can make a claim to NIS and get back something. Any place that has a preset number of sick days does so as a benefit and not because of any legislative framework.

Gencon Ltd

Postby Gencon Ltd » January 30th, 2014, 8:44 am

^^ that

Postby pete » January 30th, 2014, 8:52 am

Where I worked before you were entitled to 10 days for the year. However, any days after the first 5 you were supposed to bring in a medical from a doctor. Nobody really took it on but it was in the policy.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 30th, 2014, 8:54 am

OP was all you sick days a Monday or Friday?

It's not excessive, but I think you should elaborate more

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » January 30th, 2014, 9:08 am

Dizzy28 wrote:You are entitled to 0 days Sick Leave according to the law. Your employer pays 2/3 of your NIS contribution for the reason that if you get sick you can make a claim to NIS and get back something. Any place that has a preset number of sick days does so as a benefit and not because of any legislative framework.

This, and in the case of unionised environments unless the collective bargaining agreement provides otherwise

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 30th, 2014, 9:36 am

We livin in a polluted country where...

Vehicles are "allowed" to produce black smoke on the roads - trucks, vans, cars, even PTSC Buses..
Trucks are "allowed" to leave their trays un-covered so that the sand, dust, garbage, escape and enter other vehicles..
Industries are "allowed" to dump "toxic smellin" liquid waste into the drains and rivers...
Disease carrying Vagrants are "allowed" to live on the city streets as they touch and grab individuals (especially women) as the attempt to go to work..
Disease carrying Vagrants are "allowed" to defecate on the city streets/pavements and environs as they please in plain public sight...
Disease carrying Flood Waters are "allowed" to cover most major parts of the Capital City with the slightest rainfall - as rats etc scamper in stores and public bldgs to escape the water...
Drains and Waste Waterways are "allowed" to clog and backup as the Corporations clean where they want to clean - contributing to flooding in other parts of the country..
Mini Garbage Dumps are "allowed" to exist in various communities - until it makes the "UReport" and only then something is done about it...
A Landfill is "allowed" to remain in existence next to the Capital City...
Burning of the Landfill is "allowed" every night where a thick smog covers the entire highway and city..
Aside from the above and many other pollutants...

NOW.... the Beetham Lanfill is "allowed" to burn during the day - smoking out public bldgs and tax-paying citizens with toxic fumes that are "10 times over the limit".

And employers want to talk about ONLY a mere 14 days sick leave...

Postby javishm » January 30th, 2014, 9:41 am

Details are required

Postby Sky » January 30th, 2014, 10:18 am

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ wrote:We livin in a polluted country where...

Vehicles are "allowed" to produce black smoke on the roads - trucks, vans, cars, even PTSC Buses..
Trucks are "allowed" to leave their trays un-covered so that the sand, dust, garbage, escape and enter other vehicles..
Industries are "allowed" to dump "toxic smellin" liquid waste into the drains and rivers...
Disease carrying Vagrants are "allowed" to live on the city streets as they touch and grab individuals (especially women) as the attempt to go to work..
Disease carrying Vagrants are "allowed" to defecate on the city streets/pavements and environs as they please in plain public sight...
Disease carrying Flood Waters are "allowed" to cover most major parts of the Capital City with the slightest rainfall - as rats etc scamper in stores and public bldgs to escape the water...
Drains and Waste Waterways are "allowed" to clog and backup as the Corporations clean where they want to clean - contributing to flooding in other parts of the country..
Mini Garbage Dumps are "allowed" to exist in various communities - until it makes the "UReport" and only then something is done about it...
Burning of the Landfill is "allowed" every night where a thick smog covers the entire highway and city..

NOW.... the Beetham Lanfill is "allowed" to burn during the day - smoking out public bldgs and tax-paying citizens with toxic fumes that are "10 times over the limit".

You "allowed" to stay home and skin Rooster without a job if you want.
China has one of the worst atmospheric conditions in terms of clean air, yet they have one of the highest, if not THE highest production and export rate in the world.
Take vitamins and live a healthier lifestyle, then 14 days will be more than enough, unless you contract something serious.

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 30th, 2014, 10:26 am

Sky wrote:

You "allowed" to stay home and skin Rooster without a job if you want.
China has one of the worst atmospheric conditions in terms of clean air, yet they have one of the highest, if not THE highest production and export rate in the world.
Take vitamins and live a healthier lifestyle, then 14 days will be more than enough, unless you contract something serious.

Well... what I go tell you..
Just continue to compare our country's environment to other countries that are worse for us to "feel better".
Rather than stand up against it!

This is why this place only going downhill... because people like allyuh go just keep operating like zombies and doing the same thing everyday no matter if people literally start pelting sheit in ur face.
Leh we just say... "it hav places worse than here!"

Developed Country Status.... here we come!

IYMC

Postby Sky » January 30th, 2014, 10:29 am

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ wrote:Well... what I go tell you..
Just continue to compare our country to something worse for us to "feel better".

This is why we will only get worse here... because people like allyuh go just keep operating like zombies and doing the same thing everyday no matter if people literally start pelting sheit in ur face.

IYMC

And because of people like you, our country accepts mediocrity and wastage. Seriously, 14 days sick for the year? This isn't about being a zombie. This is about taking pride in what you do and doing it well. But maybe you don't know what that means. You sounding like you working with Pioneer :lol:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 30th, 2014, 10:52 am

Trucks are "allowed" to leave their trays un-covered so that the sand, dust, garbage, escape and enter other vehicles....................................................................................................... "10 times over the limit".

Yes. Why not?
Because one thing is bad, we should adjust everything to suit that problem?
Deal with problems incrementally, instead of saying.."well, we have pollution, so we should give people more sick leave"

You have a problem with pollution here, then do something about it. There is no shortcut. Things dont happen overnight. Work at it, be part of the solution.
otherwise, there are other countries that are less polluted, with greener practices.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » January 30th, 2014, 11:03 am

14 Sick, 14 Casual Master race reporting in lol

Postby goalpost » January 30th, 2014, 11:22 am

My company has the benefit of 20 sick days and 5 casual. Its amazing how many employees get sick for exactly 20 days for the year and have emergencies for exactly 5.

I on my 2nd sick day for 2014

Postby cinco » January 30th, 2014, 11:28 am

what about the 16 public holidays we have in trinidad?
what about the 4 three day weekends this year?
steups
allyuh so shud get a wuk elsewhere in d world and come back

Postby Hook » January 30th, 2014, 11:35 am

14 sick, 14 casual and accumulating 28 days vacation per year up to a maximum of 90 with provision for accumulating in excess of 90 days checking in here. How y'all doin?

OP, you employed in the government service?

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 30th, 2014, 11:37 am

Sky wrote:
Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ wrote:Well... what I go tell you..
Just continue to compare our country to something worse for us to "feel better".

This is why we will only get worse here... because people like allyuh go just keep operating like zombies and doing the same thing everyday no matter if people literally start pelting sheit in ur face.

IYMC

And because of people like you, our country accepts mediocrity and wastage. Seriously, 14 days sick for the year? This isn't about being a zombie. This is about taking pride in what you do and doing it well. But maybe you don't know what that means. You sounding like you working with Pioneer :lol:

Ok... so look at "productivity" over the tax-paying citizens health?
What is productivity... when citizens dying from disease, cancer etc.
People who neva smoke ah cigarette in dey life dying from lung cancer and related diseases..
Which vitamins u cud recommend to prevent dat?
Or how bout the Beetham Lanfill, the POS Vagrants, citizens forced to play "hopscotch" over fresh raw sheit, just to go to work..
Gettin sick from these tings are the employees fault?

Look at what I highlighted earlier...
Are you saying that all those things don't exist?
Or are you saying that we should just stay mum bout it and just continue with our stereotype lifestyle?
If you get the "virus" once... the least avg workin days u home is (5)..
The odda day we had H1N1 all over the place, spreading by nasty vagrants, garbage heaps, sheit flies…. how much days people had to take for that?
And what about the ever present Dengue caused by clogged drains, flooding?
Got Vitamins for these?.... Share the info!

Go to work through the endless pollutants... work hard...go back home through the endless pollutants… live amongst the endless pollutants…. attend work sick... spread the virus and bacteria... Just get the job done…

Stay quiet… doh take yuh sick leave…. doh talk bout the issues… blame yourself… praise the authorities… compare ourselves to a lower, more polluted…. Just to say: “we in a beta place!”
Well ah guess dyes why allyuh so does call here “Paradise”… cause it still hav “worst off” countries!

Look at what going on right now with that Beetham Smoke...
We office filled with smog till yuh tasting it on yuh tongue!
But the employers saying, if u want to leave u hadda apply for a "sick day" and get a medical certificate!
So wok until yuh get sick.... then get a sick leave... stay home and suffer!

You just sounding like one of dem "slave workin" employers who just concerned with what is being done and not how or under what conditions it is being done.
Dyes why we hav Unions to deal with men like allyuh!
Last edited by Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ on January 30th, 2014, 11:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2014, 11:40 am

Hook wrote:14 sick, 14 casual and accumulating 28 days vacation per year up to a maximum of 90 with provision for accumulating in excess of 90 days checking in here. How y'all doin?

This is progress

Postby Sky » January 30th, 2014, 11:44 am

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ wrote:Ok... so look at "productivity" over the tax-paying citizens health?
What is productivity... when citizens dying from disease, cancer etc.
People who neva smoke ah cigarette in dey life dying from lung cancer and related diseases..
Which vitamins u cud recommend to prevent dat?
Or how bout the Beetham Lanfill, the POS Vagrants, citizens forced to play "hopscotch" over fresh raw sheit, just to go to work..
Gettin sick from these tings are the employees fault?

Look at what I highlighted earlier...
Are you saying that all those things don't exist?
Or are you saying that we should just stay mum bout it and just continue with our stereotype lifestyle?
If you get the "virus" once... the least avg workin days u home is (5)..
The odda day we had H1N1 all over the place, spreading by nasty vagrants, garbage heaps, sheit flies…. how much days people had to take for that?
And what about the ever present Dengue caused by clogged drains, flooding?
Got Vitamins for these?.... Share the info!

Go to work through the endless pollutants... work hard...go back home through the endless pollutants… live amongst the endless pollutants…. attend work sick... spread the virus and bacteria... Just get the job done…

Stay quiet… doh take yuh sick leave…. doh talk bout the issues… blame yourself… praise the authorities… compare ourselves to a lower, more polluted…. Just to say: “we in a beta place!”
Well ah guess dyes why allyuh so does call here “Paradise”… cause it still hav “worst off” countries!

Look at what going on right now with that Beetham Smoke...
We office filled with smog till yuh tasting it on yuh tongue!
But the employers saying, if u want to leave u hadda apply for a "sick day" and get a medical certificate!
So wok until yuh get sick.... then get a sick leave... stay home and suffer!

You just sounding like one of dem "slave workin" employers who just concerned with what is being done and not how or under what conditions it is being done.
Dyes why we hav Unions to deal with men like allyuh!

Well someone failed the food and nutrition section of home ec :lol:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 30th, 2014, 11:57 am

Man posting with an agenda.

Postby Hook » January 30th, 2014, 11:58 am

Hook wrote:14 sick, 14 casual and accumulating 28 days vacation per year up to a maximum of 90 with provision for accumulating in excess of 90 days checking in here. How y'all doin?

This is progress

Absofrikkinlutely! I could account for my work on a daily basis and I take leave only when necessary. There are branches of the government service who sit on their thumbs all day (whenever they show up to work) and things like leave, increments, appraisals and appointments are left to lag.
But I operate within the framework of the civil service act and I get my sheit done.

Postby cinco » January 30th, 2014, 11:58 am

rodfarva wrote:Man posting with an agenda.

remember the days when a man agenda was to get sum poo-c?
now these men posting one packahass

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » January 30th, 2014, 12:08 pm

21 sick days a year where I work....if i take 2 sick days for the year is plenty....people here(d women nah) abuse the sick days, they max out all and then complain bout bonus and merit increase they get afterwards...

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 30th, 2014, 12:12 pm

cinco wrote:
rodfarva wrote:Man posting with an agenda.

remember the days when a man agenda was to get sum poo-c?
now these men posting one packahass

:lol: ENT
poo-c have pollution too...why they eh deal with that?
Environmentally friendly poo-c...win for all