The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby M_2NR » January 16th, 2021, 12:17 pm

Arcmanov wrote:Was not charged VAT, OPT, or duties for a PC case, AIO and PSU, so it look like we good to go for PC parts being exempted as well.

The only issue is the lag time from order to delivery.
Your answer lies in Legal Notices 418 through 420 and act 30 of 2020. The effective date was January 1, 2021.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » January 16th, 2021, 12:24 pm

Yep, saw it, but people keep asking the same questions over and over.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » January 29th, 2021, 11:13 am

My interaction with a (certain skybox company owned by a members only store) rep today:

Me: good day, I noticed when I'm trying to order some pc parts both the extension and your website is giving me an abnormally high price. Has your system not been updated to reflect the exemptions that came into effect on Jan 1st?

Her: The exemption was only for Computer, Phones and tablets.

Me: No ma'am, phone accessories and computer parts/accessories were also made exempt.

Her: who told you that?

Me: My bill from CSF last week and the Remittance of Customs Duty Order 2020.

Her: oh.

*End of excerpt*

Now I have seen numerous posts of people ordering through (certain skybox company owned by a members only store) and not paying any fees other than shipping and handling. So my question is, is (certain skybox company owned by a members only store) trying to shaft the consumers who aren't aware of the changes?
Last edited by kerwinishere on January 29th, 2021, 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » January 29th, 2021, 11:47 am

Probably never updated their system to calculate prices.
But I guess its up to the consumer to accept their price, or know thats its wrong.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 29th, 2021, 12:46 pm

Why are you using:
kerwinishere wrote:My interaction with a (certain skybox company owned by a members only store) rep today:

When in the very next paragraph you said:
kerwinishere wrote:. . . Aeropost both the extension and your website. . .

You afraid to say PriceSmart and Aeropost?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 29th, 2021, 12:51 pm

Wtf is wrong with aeropost? Package reach in Trinidad since last Thursday and it still f"cking ain't freaking make it to customs yet.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » January 29th, 2021, 1:06 pm

Customs fault, they slow.
My package arrived last friday and now in store this morning.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » January 29th, 2021, 1:13 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Why are you using:
kerwinishere wrote:My interaction with a (certain skybox company owned by a members only store) rep today:

When in the very next paragraph you said:
kerwinishere wrote:. . . Aeropost both the extension and your website. . .

You afraid to say PriceSmart and Aeropost?
Edited it after as I realised it may be taken by some as a complaint

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » January 30th, 2021, 10:39 am

I received two packages in December, using TE with each package missing one item each. Also both packages were opened and re-sealed with scotch tape. The courier advised me to check with my supplier to confirm the items shipped and the shipping weights, the supplier confirmed all items I ordered were shipped, when I relayed this to the courier they basically said well the weight they receive is what was cleared so hard luck - So basically they can take anything out of any package and say "well that is what we get, check your supplier" and the customer has no recourse.

Any advice?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 30th, 2021, 11:57 am

A man now order 2 cast iron pot set with websource......
I feeling the pain already

Postby *KRONIK* » January 30th, 2021, 12:01 pm

Thats the thing...
Packages change so many hands
There is no real recourse....

You place yuh order online.
Item shipped
Gone with maybe 2 to 3 different persons in transit to miami
Its opened there at the skybox warehouse.
Shipped to trinidad
Re-opened by customs
Gone in the truck from swissport
Reach the skybox head office
Sent to delivery/pick-up

At any point along the way things could have disappear
AlliDr wrote:I received two packages in December, using TE with each package missing one item each. Also both packages were opened and re-sealed with scotch tape. The courier advised me to check with my supplier to confirm the items shipped and the shipping weights, the supplier confirmed all items I ordered were shipped, when I relayed this to the courier they basically said well the weight they receive is what was cleared so hard luck - So basically they can take anything out of any package and say "well that is what we get, check your supplier" and the customer has no recourse.

Any advice?

Postby Chimera » January 30th, 2021, 12:05 pm

AlliDr wrote:I received two packages in December, using TE with each package missing one item each. Also both packages were opened and re-sealed with scotch tape. The courier advised me to check with my supplier to confirm the items shipped and the shipping weights, the supplier confirmed all items I ordered were shipped, when I relayed this to the courier they basically said well the weight they receive is what was cleared so hard luck - So basically they can take anything out of any package and say "well that is what we get, check your supplier" and the customer has no recourse.

Any advice?

most skybox companies charge an insurance for this

you would see it on your bill

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » January 30th, 2021, 1:10 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
most skybox companies charge an insurance for this

you would see it on your bill

I pointed this out to them/inquired about it........no response.

Postby paid_influencer » January 30th, 2021, 3:37 pm

I had that happen before. The verification went like this:

supplier has a document with the weight and number of boxes sent with their inland shipper (FedEx, UPS, Trucking company, etc), which the skybox company has to confirm for receipt. If you get a Fedex/UPS/DHL tracking number, you can get the weight and # of boxes from the web tracking. If the supplier used a trucking company, they would have a copy of the delivery receipt.

If this weight/# of boxes matches what you got here, then the supplier is to blame.
If it is different to what shipped and cleared here, well you have a case for insurance.

cutting open and re-taping all boxes is standard for skyboxen, to verify nothing hazardous is being transported.

Postby redmanjp » January 30th, 2021, 3:43 pm

just ordered something from amazon and paid from my gift card balance- the invoice grand total shows $0 as the balance was minused from the subtotal . how customs dealing with that? i doh suppose i cud declare $0 :mrgreen:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 30th, 2021, 10:08 pm

redmanjp wrote:just ordered something from amazon and paid from my gift card balance- the invoice grand total shows $0 as the balance was minused from the subtotal . how customs dealing with that? i doh suppose i cud declare $0 :mrgreen:

bai declare the original price of the item oui. Cause then they'd put what dey want :cry:

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 8th, 2021, 12:12 am

redmanjp wrote:just ordered something from amazon and paid from my gift card balance- the invoice grand total shows $0 as the balance was minused from the subtotal . how customs dealing with that? i doh suppose i cud declare $0 :mrgreen:

Use items price on the invoice

francis1979

The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby francis1979 » February 8th, 2021, 12:13 am

What is duty and vat on residential led bulbs

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 8th, 2021, 4:17 pm

Anyone use the websource mobile app to pay an invoice as yet? I noticed they said payments would be in US so just wondering what kind of conversion rate they're using...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 8th, 2021, 4:22 pm

Swisha wrote:Anyone use the websource mobile app to pay an invoice as yet? I noticed they said payments would be in US so just wondering what kind of conversion rate they're using...

USD scarce to get how web source could do we that at this time given that situation. That is madness!

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2021, 4:38 pm

I've used the app. Its charging in us.just like if you did a Amazon or ebay transaction so it should be 6.8

You have the option to pay in US if you want to benefit from shorter lines and longer opening hours.
I went at 430.pm to.collect.some.packages on Saturday. Normally they close at 1. So that worked out great for me as I always go pick up.my.packages

Postby paid_influencer » February 8th, 2021, 6:35 pm

DMan7 wrote:
Swisha wrote:Anyone use the websource mobile app to pay an invoice as yet? I noticed they said payments would be in US so just wondering what kind of conversion rate they're using...

USD scarce to get how web source could do we that at this time given that situation. That is madness!

just use your credit card. the same way you buying on amazon and ebay in USD

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 8th, 2021, 6:37 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

I prefer to save my scarce USD to buy things on that site and just pay in TTD to websource. This is awful what web source is doing.

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2021, 6:38 pm

shipping times eh normalizing at all yes

Postby paid_influencer » February 8th, 2021, 6:46 pm

francis1979 wrote:What is duty and vat on residential led bulbs

supposedly it tax free, but who knows. I have some coming, might be about 2 weeks via skybox to clear though

:drinking:

https://www.looptt.com/content/budget-2 ... -led-bulbs

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 8th, 2021, 6:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

I know but websource provides an invoice in TT. So when you pay the US amount on the app and convert that amount to TT, is it coming up to the same amount or more that was stated on the invoice?

Postby paid_influencer » February 8th, 2021, 6:51 pm

DMan7 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

I prefer to save my scarce USD to buy things on that site and just pay in TTD to websource. This is awful what web source is doing.

it's paid via a credit card, which you can pay with TTD at the bank, not so?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 8th, 2021, 6:53 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

it's paid via a credit card, which you can pay with TTD at the bank, not so?

I don't use credit card I use visa debit card with a limit on how much USD can be put on the card per month.

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2021, 6:55 pm

then just continue paying with TT . you dont HAVE to pay in usd. theres an option and added benefits of doing it

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2021, 6:58 pm

Conversion works out to 6.81
Screenshot_20210208-185730_Web%20Source.jpeg