Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby Chimera » January 4th, 2021, 5:30 pm

Sounding like that driver come to make a special type of delivery for your mom
7.20 pm u saying u know
redmanjp wrote:apparently dem websource delivery drivers wukking overtime- one pull up 7:20pm on Saturday at my house, not for me but for my mom. i still waiting on my cctv camera weeks now

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 4th, 2021, 6:39 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Sounding like that driver come to make a special type of delivery for your mom
7.20 pm u saying u know
redmanjp wrote:apparently dem websource delivery drivers wukking overtime- one pull up 7:20pm on Saturday at my house, not for me but for my mom. i still waiting on my cctv camera weeks now
Same thing I saying. Websource delivered a package to me Saturday and driver say the latest they does deliver is until 5pm..

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2021, 6:42 pm

u thinking aloud :shock:

Phone Surgeon wrote:Sounding like that driver come to make a special type of delivery for your mom
7.20 pm u saying u know

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 4th, 2021, 9:13 pm

intelMAX wrote:Did anyone order a phone from apple.com and ship it to Websource recently?

currently have one in transit....but with Aeropost.

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » January 4th, 2021, 9:59 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
intelMAX wrote:Did anyone order a phone from apple.com and ship it to Websource recently?

Okay cool, looking to order one soon. I'll see how it goes.

Postby S_2NR » January 4th, 2021, 10:01 pm

the tax breaks were finalised?

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » January 5th, 2021, 8:52 am

S_2NR wrote:

the tax breaks were finalised?

Copied from CSF Couriers Limited Facebook Page.

Exciting news! We are happy to advise that effective January 1st, 2021, amendments to the legislation exempting taxes on mobile and digital equipment as well as cell phones have been implemented.
In the recent National Budget Speech, the Honourable Minister of Finance indicated that in order to facilitate technological transformation in the country, tax exemptions would be provided on equipment for digitisation. This means that exemptions would go beyond laptops and tablets and would now include these devices.
Please note in order for you to be able to access these exemptions the date of your CSF invoice must be January 1st, 2021 and after. Anything dated December 2020 would not be eligible for these exemptions regardless of if you collect or pay for the item in January 2021.
For more information on what types of equipment has an exemption, you can check out the Legal Notice here http://news.gov.tt/.../Legal%20Notice%2 ... 420%20of... and/or contact anyone in our helpful Customer Support Team.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » January 6th, 2021, 10:58 pm

Lady_S wrote:Does anyone know if they are also removing VAT from computer parts? Or does anyone have a breakdown of what items they mean by "mobile and digital equipment, cell phones, software and accessories"?
Unfortunately, there's still no firm confirmation on this from anyone. I asked my courier (Foxx) via email and they replied...

"Your email was received, however Customs has not officially informed couriers/importers of these changes, we are still awaiting a directive from them in order to proceed.
Please note for computer parts and accessories there are no Custom duties however you will still have to pay OPT tax and VAT as these are parts thereof and not a complete product as a laptop or Tablet.

Once Customs have finalized these changes we will update all accordingly.
Thank you."

...so according to Foxx, that's a 'no'.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » January 7th, 2021, 8:46 am

Just received a router that had no tax/duties/opt, only paid freight.

Postby Dave » January 7th, 2021, 9:23 am

Not bad!
Encouraging

daron

Postby daron » January 7th, 2021, 11:18 am

paid 193.00 to clear to dog shampoo for 32us
ibc express
i personally found it to be to expensive.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » January 7th, 2021, 4:29 pm

Zalos wrote:Just received a router that had no tax/duties/opt, only paid freight.
So Foxx copy of the legal memo on the slow starship from Beta Quadrant or wha...or dey jus on s#1t?

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2021, 5:24 pm

seabox have a bunch of stuff for me to collect tomorrow
no vaseline required
seems the skybox companies are where the customs officers sharpen their teeth and send the junior officers by sea cargo.
#nogoatmouth

Postby Dave » January 7th, 2021, 7:45 pm

See they are not shipping items from Miami for a bit due to Covid among the staff there.

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2021, 8:29 pm

covid pretty bad over there
spoke to a person working for pas cargo over there

it is very very common for workers falling sick and missing days with covid
esp amongst the type of workers who in wide circulation contact with other persons
eg cargo truck delivery guys

Dave wrote:See they are not shipping items from Miami for a bit due to Covid among the staff there.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 7th, 2021, 9:46 pm

pugboy wrote:seabox have a bunch of stuff for me to collect tomorrow
no vaseline required
seems the skybox companies are where the customs officers sharpen their teeth and send the junior officers by sea cargo.
#nogoatmouth

This is seaboxtt? How is the current experience/timeframe?

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2021, 9:52 pm

it’s 2 weeks or so

i have no problems waiting
and their service is good

they have a $25 processing fee which means the smallest item will end up around $60-70
even with zero opt

Strugglerzinc wrote:
pugboy wrote:seabox have a bunch of stuff for me to collect tomorrow
no vaseline required
#nogoatmouth

This is seaboxtt? How is the current experience/timeframe?

car

Postby car » January 8th, 2021, 10:53 am

We good to go with cell phones.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » January 9th, 2021, 3:14 pm

car wrote:Image

We good to go with cell phones.
Bess!

Postby st7 » January 9th, 2021, 4:31 pm

what would the Oculus Quest 2 fall under? anyone ever shipped one or similar VR hardware in?

car

Postby car » January 11th, 2021, 9:49 pm

st7 wrote:what would the Oculus Quest 2 fall under? anyone ever shipped one or similar VR hardware in?

This may fall under gaming consoles and the likes of it.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » January 13th, 2021, 2:56 pm

Was not charged VAT, OPT, or duties for a PC case, AIO and PSU, so it look like we good to go for PC parts being exempted as well.

The only issue is the lag time from order to delivery.

Postby Chimera » January 13th, 2021, 3:24 pm

paid $130 last night to clear $40k in phones

GREAT IS THE PNM
GREAT IS IMBERT
GREAT IS ROWLEY

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2021, 3:27 pm

That sounding light in weight

4 phones ?

Phone Surgeon wrote:paid $130 last night to clear $40k in phones

GREAT IS THE PNM
GREAT IS IMBERT
GREAT IS ROWLEY

Postby Gladiator » January 13th, 2021, 3:52 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:paid $130 last night to clear $40k in phones

GREAT IS THE PNM
GREAT IS IMBERT
GREAT IS ROWLEY

Aye, delete this post nah.... the spies in here gonna report you and just now you would have to prove you going to school to get a tax break...LOL

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2021, 5:02 pm

Anybody know offhand what is the duty on foodstuff, eg finished products ?

Postby Chimera » January 13th, 2021, 5:16 pm

4 lbs 8 phones

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » January 15th, 2021, 8:33 pm

So hear nah, I seeing everybody posting their 0% tax phone receipts.

But what is the situation with these skybox, allour paying in TTD normal?
I thought they send out some notice about how they could only pay in USD.

Enlighten me nah, because I don't want to spend the USD them Vene giving me.

pugboy wrote:Anybody know offhand what is the duty on foodstuff, eg finished products ?

The closest thing I could find was 20% +12.5% on customs website but that only say food supplements, not even a snack.

Postby paid_influencer » January 15th, 2021, 8:46 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:So hear nah, I seeing everybody posting their 0% tax phone receipts.

But what is the situation with these skybox, allour paying in TTD normal?
I thought they send out some notice about how they could only pay in USD.

Enlighten me nah, because I don't want to spend the USD them Vene giving me.

pugboy wrote:Anybody know offhand what is the duty on foodstuff, eg finished products ?

The closest thing I could find was 20% +12.5% on customs website but that only say food supplements, not even a snack.

One air cargo line (AmeriJet) started requiring payment in USD about 2 years ago. The loss of that line reduced air freight capacity and increased shipment times from usually 1-2 days after reaching Miami to about 4-7 days. (Yes, there was a time when you could order something on Monday and get it in your hands by Wednesday).

IIRC, most skybox companies shifted to state-owned Caribbean Airlines, which still accepts TTD, but has a less frequent cargo schedule.

The sea-freight issue is another thing entirely that hasn't hit yet. Gonna be interesting because the USD-only cargo lines are 90% of the capacity. Hopefully the PNM government makes behind-closed-door-deals with some party-favored providers to give them the forex and we can all ship with these providers.

edit: when I type it out, this sounds banana-republic level bad. but here we are
Last edited by paid_influencer on January 15th, 2021, 9:02 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2021, 8:47 pm

Lol thats for container shipping that you have to pay in usd

Skyboxes are local companies and have to take their payment in tt.