Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby bluefete » December 19th, 2020, 3:24 pm

This is not Skybox, per se, but I thought it could fit here:

BEWARE: THIS COULD BE PROPAGANDA NEWS AS PER 'PAID INFLUENCER'S COMMENTS BELOW

Concerned Citizens of Gasparillo

Trinidad Street News, [19.12.20 07:09]

A number of major Container Shipping Lines ex South Florida (Miami) announced today, that effective 17th January 2021, ALL freight collect payments being made in Trinidad will have to be paid in US DOLLARS. They are no longer accepting TT$.

What does this mean??

This means that on top of the problems importers face to get US$ to purchase from the commercial banks to pay suppliers, they now have to pay the freight (which you normally pay in TT$) in US$.

If you dont pay the US$, you DO NOT GET YOUR CARGO.

Eventually, the shipping lines will ask all exporters to pay fo freight prepaid exports (which they normally pay in TT$) to ALSO be paid in US$.... Well.... that will kill the export drive as well.

I somewhat understand the shipping line position, as they too are not getting US$ to remit to their USA Headquarters to settle their account.....BUT.......

The black market price for US$ will now "officially" go up to TT$10:US$1

Small importers will disappear / fold up.....

Small freight forwarding companies will close their doors......

There will be fewer importers and consequently less (freight) containers coming into Trinidad.

The freight rate per container will increase....to cover the cost of moving less containers on the same vessels from Florida to Trinidad.

Small shipping lines will be gobbled up by bigger shipping lines and monopoly will be created.

Trucking companies will close down....

More unemployment

So what is the upside? (I ask tongue in cheek)

Reduced congestion at the seaports and airport to clear cargo

Reduced delays in customs

Less trucks on the road

Less traffic on the road

We will buy more local...... pay $20 for a julie mango

Would be interested to hear from the various Chambers of Commerce, TTMA, AMCHAM.... The banks....the Government....
Anyone who gives a damn.

Be prepared..... COVID-19.... part 2....

https://www.facebook.com/Concerned.citizens.gasparillo/
Last edited by bluefete on December 19th, 2020, 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » December 19th, 2020, 3:52 pm

^ lol. dais UNC propaganda. there is no US$ shortage. Shipping lines and importers can simply go to the bank and purchase USD at 6.79 to 1. Businesses can also use their credit cards to pay for all US$ invoices.

that is just the local rip off artists finding a new excuse to raise prices. 10: 1 the man say :roll:

Postby mero » December 19th, 2020, 4:09 pm

Collected some bookshelf speakers from laparkan.

Got it on black Friday sale for 300usd

30lbs.
Shipping Cost-$1700.

Not bad I think .. didn't bother sending an invoice to them.

Postby paid_influencer » December 19th, 2020, 4:26 pm

bluefete wrote:This is not Skybox, per se, but I thought it could fit here:

BEWARE: THIS COULD BE PROPAGANDA NEWS AS PER 'PAID INFLUENCER'S COMMENTS BELOW

Concerned Citizens of Gasparillo

since my name on this, I will say I've seen the following:

- Some freight forwarders raising rates (but this is Peak Season anyway).
- Some freight forwarders using arbitrarily higher USD:TTD exchange rates
- Shipping agents advising of capacity restrictions due to COVID19 and other issues

But nothing saying that US$ payment is mandatory. If anyone has a direct source to support the Gasparillo people, lewwe know.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 19th, 2020, 4:28 pm

mero wrote:Collected some bookshelf speakers from laparkan.

30lbs.
Shipping Cost-$1700.

Any pictures? Looking to buy a bookshelf myself.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 19th, 2020, 4:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:^ lol. dais UNC propaganda. there is no US$ shortage. Shipping lines and importers can simply go to the bank and purchase USD at 6.79 to 1. Businesses can also use their credit cards to pay for all US$ invoices.

that is just the local rip off artists finding a new excuse to raise prices. 10: 1 the man say :roll:
Really?Bank selling US dollars so easily?
Last time I checked it was a queue system based on importance...

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 19th, 2020, 4:37 pm

wtf wrote:

30lbs.
Shipping Cost-$1700.

Man say bookshelf SPEAKERS dan.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 19th, 2020, 4:41 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
wtf wrote:

30lbs.
Shipping Cost-$1700.

Man say bookshelf SPEAKERS dan.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 19th, 2020, 4:54 pm

$160 to clear 6lb laptop

Postby Chimera » December 19th, 2020, 5:35 pm

Thats legal taxes you pay for those iphones. Ezone properly declares everything

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 19th, 2020, 6:53 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Thats legal taxes you pay for those iphones. Ezone properly declares everything
. But first time I got the correct taxes just saying
B3690D7D-0D71-4E75-B2B2-220E9F4D6A36.jpg
paid 2200$ for this

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 19th, 2020, 6:54 pm

computercentral wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Thats legal taxes you pay for those iphones. Ezone properly declares everything
. But first time I got the correct taxes just saying
B3690D7D-0D71-4E75-B2B2-220E9F4D6A36.jpg
paid 2200$ for this

PS5

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 19th, 2020, 7:18 pm

All my laptops delivered to web source since Dec7th. Only acknowledged that they received it in Miami on December 17th. Real madness. Changing shipper next month.

Postby Chimera » December 19th, 2020, 7:36 pm

toyota2nr wrote:All my laptops delivered to web source since Dec7th. Only acknowledged that they received it in Miami on December 17th. Real madness. Changing shipper next month.

That isn't websource fault completely.
Remember websource is probably the biggest freight forwarder for Trinidad. Amazon and other shippers dropping off container loads of goods at websource parking lot and marking as delivered. Last year websource would just double or triple up on staff and everything would have moved smooth. Now with covid they have dred regulations. Half the amount of staff. Men can't even be too close on the conveyor line. Sanitizing hands every 10 or 20 minutes....

Logistics much much more difficult

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 19th, 2020, 7:55 pm

Websource delivered my toy today on time as stated..
Best Service among other couriers in Trinidad.
Cheapest price also.
Delivered in front of house. What you want better than that..
IMG_20201219_133143.jpeg

Postby paid_influencer » December 21st, 2020, 6:36 pm

Guardian had a small article on the ocean shipping issue today. Seaboard Marine and King Ocean are the two shipping lines that have stopped accepting the TT$.

Trinidad Freight Payment Policy Effective January 17, 2021
December 18, 2020

Seaboard Marine wishes to advise our valued customers that effective January 17, 2021, we have adopted a policy requiring all freight charges paid in Trinidad to be done in U.S. dollars. The continued difficulty of converting Trinidad & Tobago dollars into U.S. dollars has made adoption of this policy necessary and is applicable on all charges listed on Carrier’s bills of lading.

As always, we thank you for your continued support.

https://www.seaboardmarine.com/customer ... y-17-2021/

As far as I know, the other shipping lines servicing South Florida (CMA-CGM, Crowley, Tropical) have not made similar announcements (yet).

ruskie

Postby ruskie » December 21st, 2020, 8:24 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Guardian had a small article on the ocean shipping issue today. Seaboard Marine and King Ocean are the two shipping lines that have stopped accepting the TT$.

December 18, 2020

Seaboard Marine wishes to advise our valued customers that effective January 17, 2021, we have adopted a policy requiring all freight charges paid in Trinidad to be done in U.S. dollars. The continued difficulty of converting Trinidad & Tobago dollars into U.S. dollars has made adoption of this policy necessary and is applicable on all charges listed on Carrier’s bills of lading.

As far as I know, the other shipping lines servicing South Florida (CMA-CGM, Crowley, Tropical) have not made similar announcements (yet).
Isn't that illegal?

Postby adnj » December 22nd, 2020, 8:10 am

ruskie wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:Guardian had a small article on the ocean shipping issue today. Seaboard Marine and King Ocean are the two shipping lines that have stopped accepting the TT$.

December 18, 2020

Isn't that illegal?
Outside of a trade pact or treaty between member nations, international traders and shippers can require settlement payment in any currency or form that they deem appropriate.

Postby teems1 » December 22nd, 2020, 12:01 pm

Anyone ever brought in descaling solution for coffee makers via Skybox? Also is there someone who brings it in locally or a decent alternative?

I know Nespresso and Keurigs machines eventually need to descale.

It is basically citric acid which is used to descale the heating element in coffee makers.

https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EcoDecalk-Eco-Friendly-Universal-Descaling/dp/B008YETL18

Postby redmanjp » December 22nd, 2020, 4:11 pm

now received an alert for web source for a camera which was delivered by amazon on the 15th- estimated date is the 28th but possibly a 2-3 day delay. in short i might get it in d new year

Postby Chimera » December 22nd, 2020, 4:26 pm

these shipping delays are going to kill alot of businesses this christmas

i have about 900 phones and 100 tabs stuck along the supply chain between suppliers in miami and shippers and local customs....
that all were suppose to be here since last week.

alot of those items were suppose to come for customers for christmas....so nuff flabbergastery

Postby nemisis » December 22nd, 2020, 4:35 pm

Think that bad i have some orders placed since early November , between items going on back order, shipments being broken up and a supposed hack from one of the middle suppliers almost all of the December stock hasn't arrived as yet. Hard to miss your best sale window of the year like this

carluva

Postby carluva » December 23rd, 2020, 7:28 am

I sent some in a barrel a few years ago. I still have a few bottles. Would you like one to use until you get yours?

I have also used vinegar in my Keurig in the past, but a mild solution. Then flushed out the unit with fresh water about three tank fulls.
teems1 wrote:Anyone ever brought in descaling solution for coffee makers via Skybox? Also is there someone who brings it in locally or a decent alternative?

It is basically citric acid which is used to descale the heating element in coffee makers.

https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EcoDecalk-Eco-Friendly-Universal-Descaling/dp/B008YETL18

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » December 23rd, 2020, 10:32 am

It's a bit disappointing that i paid extra on amazon to expedite shipping to miami so my wife's gift can get here before christmas and it still didn't reach even though it reached websource miami 1 week before the cutoff date. I'll have to go shopping for another gift locally to give my wife on christmas yes lol

Postby teems1 » December 23rd, 2020, 1:37 pm

carluva wrote:I sent some in a barrel a few years ago. I still have a few bottles. Would you like one to use until you get yours?

I have also used vinegar in my Keurig in the past, but a mild solution. Then flushed out the unit with fresh water about three tank fulls.
teems1 wrote:Anyone ever brought in descaling solution for coffee makers via Skybox? Also is there someone who brings it in locally or a decent alternative?

Thanks for the offer but I should be good for the next 2 months.

I used the 1 packet that came with the machine. I just wanted to know if importing it via Skybox was an issue due it being an acid.

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » December 23rd, 2020, 9:31 pm

Allyuh, which skybox to go with at the moment ? Didn't renew my tropical express membership based on the horror stories in this thread.

Oh and btw, Ebay shoppers, allyuh getting invoices?

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » December 23rd, 2020, 10:12 pm

ChristianRD wrote:Allyuh, which skybox to go with at the moment ? Didn't renew my tropical express membership based on the horror stories in this thread.

With IBC years now. They always provide excellent service.

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » December 24th, 2020, 1:18 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:these shipping delays are going to kill alot of businesses this christmas

i have about 900 phones and 100 tabs stuck along the supply chain between suppliers in miami and shippers and local customs....
that all were suppose to be here since last week.

alot of those items were suppose to come for customers for christmas....so nuff flabbergastery

This can actually work in your favour, seeing that you wont have to pay custom duties on phones from Jan1

sickbad

Postby sickbad » December 24th, 2020, 3:18 am

Musical Doc wrote:It's a bit disappointing that i paid extra on amazon to expedite shipping to miami so my wife's gift can get here before christmas and it still didn't reach even though it reached websource miami 1 week before the cutoff date. I'll have to go shopping for another gift locally to give my wife on christmas yes lol

mmmm why not: wrap invoice and image of item to wife as "pre-alert" .. let us know how it goes

NR8

Postby NR8 » December 24th, 2020, 8:34 am

ChristianRD wrote:Allyuh, which skybox to go with at the moment ? Didn't renew my tropical express membership based on the horror stories in this thread.

I using SeaBox and Ezone these days based on the type of item. Both moving a lil slower than usual but so is everyone else it seems.