The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

aidan

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby aidan » December 14th, 2020, 9:56 pm

Can anyone log onto tropical express portal? Don't know if I'm doing something wrong

Postby st7 » December 14th, 2020, 11:51 pm

yes, you are.. ur using tropical express

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 17th, 2020, 7:31 am

Websource sent out the following:

All shipments are now delayed

It is no understatement that the COVID-19 pandemic has severely affected our industry this year. Cargo shipments have slowed tremendously since April and they’ve almost ground to a halt this month.

Here are the specifics:

Miami receiving process

Social distancing requirements have reduced the number of personnel allowed to operate in the warehouse. While we’ve increased staff to attend to the expected additional cargo, their productivity is still hampered.

Delivery drivers (e.g. UPS, FedEx) have been dropping off their containers (yes, containers) of cargo, leaving our staff to offload before beginning our part. This added step significantly increases the time between delivery and final assignment of packages to your account.

This means that while our Miami staff are diligently processing everything, it’s taking much longer than usual - in this instance days as opposed to hours. The process is even longer for packages shipped via the US Postal Service (USPS).

We know the reassurance that our Miami package-receipt email brings, so we ask everyone's patience while we get everything processed.

Cargo Flights

The cargo airlines have temporarily stopped receiving additional shipments in Miami until they alleviate their backlog. As such, while our Miami warehouse continues to receive and process packages, we can only tender shipments as directed by the airline.

Shipments already tendered with a scheduled arrival date of December 16th are expected to be flown. However shipments with later dates are delayed in Miami until further notice.

Undeniably, this is the most critical single point of delay as it impacts items already received but not processed or tendered to the airline as yet.

Local Customs Clearance

Our local staff will continue to clear shipments that are being flown to Piarco, but this too has been slowed as we’ve seen since April this year.

We ask that the relevant invoice be uploaded for every package to aid Customs in the accurate examination of all shipments. Invalid or missing invoices significantly slows the process and can result in your item being bonded.

What’s the next step?

We know this is not welcome news. It’s unfortunately this year’s reality of the peak season congestion being exacerbated by the unprecedented disruption arising from COVID-19.

These circumstances are truly beyond our or anyone’s control.
All we can do is to ask for your understanding and patience as we work within the constraints of this situation.

Yes. That’s a big ask.

We know what this delay means…for the Christmas gifts, for the businesses whose customers are anxiously awaiting their items, for the students awaiting their laptops and everyone else who’s impacted.

Please rest assured that although your items are coming late this year, they are coming. We still have a huge task ahead, so we need your support.

Thank you for trusting us.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » December 17th, 2020, 7:44 am

Galvatron wrote:Unable to ship laptop to skybox address from Amazon. Has anyone experienced this?

Some products or discounts from amazon & other vendors are only for buyers resident in the USA.
If the skybox shipping address is listed in their system as a freight forwarder for export it will not allow certain products to be shipped .

Work around to the problem is:
1) use alternate skybox company
2 purchase identical product from alternate supplier
2) contact skybox company and ask them if they have an alternate physical address for this situation

P.s. my experience is this problem occurs frequently with aeropost which has a special address with amazon due to 0% state sales tax. My work around is to use Websource and pay sales tax.

Postby Chimera » December 17th, 2020, 8:03 am

Lol I get screwed there with about 100 samsung tabs with that websource scene.

Shipper delivered since like 7th December but websource didn't log it until yesterday. So it definitely not reaching until after Christmas or early january

Postby Spitfir3 » December 17th, 2020, 11:08 am

was hoping i'd get my gpu before xmas but it look like is next yr pls god for it

Postby redmanjp » December 17th, 2020, 11:37 am

i guess underneath plenty christmas trees will be bare this christmas! wow. my tree perhaps but that's only as noone decided to buy gifts this year including sharing amazon wish list which was done in previous years.

yet another issue is that couriers in the US are even more busy this christmas than previous years due to unprecedented online shopping due to covid, and even due to some of them prioritising vaccine shipments

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 17th, 2020, 2:31 pm

Got this from my courier (Foxx Eshopper).
So it look like pressure all around this year...

Service Alert
Amerijet Freight Receiving Hours – Miami, FL

December 15, 2020

Dear Valued Customers,

Amerijet has placed a temporary ban on cargo receiving starting tomorrow, Wednesday, December 16 to Saturday, December 19, 2020 with the exception of freight to San Juan, Puerto Rico (SJU) & the Virgin Islands, and San Salvador, El Salvador (SAL).

Exports delivered to Amerijet’s hub at the Miami International Airport for San Juan, Puerto Rico (SJU), the Virgin Islands, and San Salvador, El Salvador (SAL) will be received during normal receiving hours.

For all other export destinations, Miami exports will reopen on Saturday, December 19, 2020 at 2 pm to resume normal operations for freight receiving and reservations.

Miami Imports will remain open with daily pick up hours for U.S. imports from 8 am to 8 pm Mondays – Saturdays and from 8 am to 10 pm on Sundays.

All other Amerijet U.S. locations will be able to receive freight for transfers to the Miami hub with a planned delay to arrive in Miami on Friday, December 18, 2020.

For questions, please contact your local Amerijet office or email sales@amerijet.com.

Thank you for your continued support.

Customer Service
Amerijet International Airlines

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 17th, 2020, 4:12 pm

Wondering when websource will reach by me.
Have a package out for delivery since yesterday....

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » December 17th, 2020, 4:15 pm

Some amerijet staff contracted covid so they closing the office until saturday. That is very bad timing :/

Postby redmanjp » December 17th, 2020, 4:16 pm

Wondering when websource will reach by me.

i haven't gotten an alert from them as yet about a shipment that was supposed to reach them in miami 2 days ago - with all those delays i can't even hope for my package by the first week in January :lol:

websource staff also don't seem to wear masks at all- won't be surprised if several of them get infected and have to quarantine, causing even more delay :roll:

Postby *KRONIK* » December 17th, 2020, 5:30 pm

The "toy" reach or wah?
wtf wrote:Wondering when websource will reach by me.

Clipwings

Postby Clipwings » December 18th, 2020, 1:31 pm

No Transexpress again for me. Their local partners Trincargo/Trinebox are charging TT20.50 handling fee for every package - so when Amazon ship your 1 order if 5 packages that's an additional 100+ for Trincargo - excluding Taxes and duties. I am looking for a new Skybox. Not to mention, they recently start overcharging you duties and taxes, I personally recalculate every package before accepting it from them and have seen instances where I was overcharged TT60.00 and more. Once I brought it to their attention, they will of course adjust to the correct charges...but what if I did not ?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 18th, 2020, 4:53 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:The "toy" reach or wah?
Yea. My 1 pound toy costing 61.75 to clear using websource.
Wondering if this is a fair price..

Postby paid_influencer » December 18th, 2020, 7:02 pm

wtf wrote:

boss, people putting their lives in danger to ship that toy to you. Be grateful the service running at all.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » December 18th, 2020, 9:06 pm

That is very good, 1lb stuff I ship cost 90 - 120
wtf wrote:

Postby bluefete » December 19th, 2020, 2:49 am

Laptop came in:

Aeropost charges:

Weight - 5.940lbs

Freight: $163.88
Warranty/Returns: $10.20
Service charge: $16.98

Total to clear - $191.06

I could really get used to this. LOL.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 19th, 2020, 7:07 am

Tropical MC.
pay 350 to collect a 100US dash cam.

wifey pay 530 to collect 3 pieces of clothing which cost 1000TT

they rel doing some KAKA now

Postby *KRONIK* » December 19th, 2020, 7:08 am

wtf wrote:

well i guess we aint seeing you online for a while again.....

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2020, 8:02 am

its pretty bad in miami/fl

lot of workers like truck drivers ketching covid

all the delivery companies suffering staff shortages which escalating into problems for the courier companies

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2020, 8:03 am

tropical doh grease they officers or wha ?
its xmas yuh know
a single bottle scotch dont cut it again

*KRONIK* wrote:Tropical MC.
pay 350 to collect a 100US dash cam.

wifey pay 530 to collect 3 pieces of clothing which cost 1000TT

they rel doing some KAKA now

Postby Chimera » December 19th, 2020, 8:20 am

lol websource just log my tablets

it arriving in trinidad 25th december

so i eh getting that until january

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 19th, 2020, 8:43 am

bluefete wrote:Laptop came in:

Aeropost charges:

Weight - 5.940lbs

Freight: $163.88
Warranty/Returns: $10.20
Service charge: $16.98

Total to clear - $191.06

I could really get used to this. LOL.
Not a bad price considering it's a 6lbs laptop..

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 19th, 2020, 9:23 am

2 iPhones 12 256 GB ezone 3k a piece
IMG_6381.JPG

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2020, 9:39 am

impsbert smiling

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 19th, 2020, 9:50 am

computercentral wrote:2 iPhones 12 256 GB ezone 3k a piece
IMG_6381.JPG
Daylight Robbery..

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 19th, 2020, 10:15 am

wtf wrote:
computercentral wrote:2 iPhones 12 256 GB ezone 3k a piece IMG_6381.JPG
Daylight Robbery..

I can see a complaint of the taxes wrong. We're they?

Otherwise you buy iPhone and didn't expect to get taxed?

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » December 19th, 2020, 10:27 am

Clipwings wrote:No Transexpress again for me. Their local partners Trincargo/Trinebox are charging TT20.50 handling fee for every package - so when Amazon ship your 1 order if 5 packages that's an additional 100+ for Trincargo - excluding Taxes and duties. I am looking for a new Skybox. Not to mention, they recently start overcharging you duties and taxes, I personally recalculate every package before accepting it from them and have seen instances where I was overcharged TT60.00 and more. Once I brought it to their attention, they will of course adjust to the correct charges...but what if I did not ?

Can’t do anything now
For the future .
1) Use a service who consolidates packages( Jsl speed pack provides these services a few years ago)
2) select amazon day delivery or “deliver in fewer boxes”. This will add a few days to your order

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2020, 10:55 am

those figures correct

$1k usd x 7 x 1.2 x 1.125 x 1.07
about $9k tt

not me and anything worth 10k in my pocket

Strugglerzinc wrote:
wtf wrote:
Daylight Robbery..

I can see a complaint of the taxes wrong. We're they?

Otherwise you buy iPhone and didn't expect to get taxed?

Postby bluefete » December 19th, 2020, 1:39 pm

Why yuh didn't wait until January?

BTW - Is 2 iPhone 12 you said, eh, not one. Isn't that the latest model?

Those figures look reasonable at current rates.

How much does 1 iPhone 12 sell for?

Edit: Just saw a 256Gb selling for TT$15,700.00

You get off real good with taxes and duties.