The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 8th, 2020, 9:46 pm

This is what Aeropost sent. I imagine its the same for all.

Aeropost is also taking stupidly long to clear packages. Items arrived since 27th November still "in transit" from Miami.

We also wish to advise you that customs has notified express operators/ cargo reporters they will be strictly adhering to the requirement for an invoice to accompany every shipment with effect from 1st December 2020. Failure to do so will result in customs bonding the packages and you will have to clear them yourselves at the Swissport Facility. Please help us to serve you better by complying with the customs requirement.

fireworks

Postby fireworks » December 9th, 2020, 6:36 am

If I try to ship a package of personal effects. How would you guys suggest I invoice it? I plan to ship using UPS or DHL. Been a while since I used my aeropost skybox. Most of the stuff is my used stuff I want to sent to Trinidad for relatives. A desktop computer will be in the package as well

carluva

Postby carluva » December 9th, 2020, 6:51 am

Corroborated for Aeropost.

I got the email this morning. See extract from same.

"We also wish to advise you that customs has notified express operators/ cargo reporters they will be strictly adhering to the requirement for an invoice to accompany every shipment with effect from 1st December 2020. Failure to do so will result in customs bonding the packages and you will have to clear them yourselves at the Swissport Facility. Please help us to serve you better by complying with the customs requirement."
Zedenka wrote:Hey Everyone,

I ship with WebSource. I heard from someone that if the invoice is not included/uploaded when the package reaches WebSource in Miami when it arrives in Trinidad you have to go Customs and clear it yourself.

Did anyone else hear this?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » December 9th, 2020, 9:47 am

Same for IBC, sent since November 30th.

Local Customs - MUST PRE-ALERT

One key requirement by Customs is that
an accurate invoice must be presented with every package.

Without an invoice to verify your item's value, Customs can follow a legally defined process to assign an appropriate value or may require the customer to visit the Customs facility in Piarco in-person to proceed with clearance.

Please note that given the current appointment system, this can result in a lengthy wait and additional fees.

Jetbox is also taking a very long time to process packages received in miami

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 9th, 2020, 11:50 am

Do you always have to use an invoice?
What happens if I order a sex toy?
Does this mean that my courier company will know what I'm ordering?
Seems like invasion of privacy.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 9th, 2020, 11:55 am

Yes
Basically

#iplayingfass

Yuh order a full 50shades kit or wah?
wtf wrote:Do you always have to use an invoice?
What happens if I order a sex toy?
Does this mean that my courier company will know what I'm ordering?
Seems like invasion of privacy.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 9th, 2020, 11:58 am

It in the cart...

Postby *KRONIK* » December 9th, 2020, 12:19 pm

Well boi.....

You, do you inno

Only websource ban them afaik
wtf wrote:It in the cart...

Postby Dave » December 9th, 2020, 12:24 pm

Aren't packages randomly opened by customs?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 9th, 2020, 1:16 pm

Will they seize my sex toys if found?
Dont want to lose my Investment.
Dave wrote:Aren't packages randomly opened by customs?

Postby Chimera » December 9th, 2020, 1:26 pm

yup

they will go through a manifest, pick a random 20 or 30 packages and open them. jam those people if they underdeclare or dont declare

if the skybox company paying their bribes then that wont happen

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 9th, 2020, 1:27 pm

How do you under declare?
Phone Surgeon wrote:

yup

they will go through a manifest, pick a random 20 or 30 packages and open them. jam those people if they underdeclare or dont declare

if the skybox company paying their bribes then that wont happen

originalbling

Postby originalbling » December 9th, 2020, 1:38 pm

^^ maybe have the supplier send you an invoice for "kitchen utensils" and hope they dont pull that for random inspection lol

wtf wrote:Will they seize my sex toys if found?
Dont want to lose my Investment.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 9th, 2020, 2:46 pm

If not locally, they are opened in miami and checked to match the invoice

Postby redmanjp » December 9th, 2020, 6:08 pm

hey anyone ever claimed back US tax paid for orders from Amazon?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=202074690

Tax Refunds on Freight Forward Exports from the United States
You can request a tax refund for purchases fulfilled by Amazon and delivered to a valid freight forwarding company.

To request a refund, use the following instructions:
Tax refunds can only be requested for shipments fulfilled by Amazon and delivered to a licensed customs broker or forwarding agent.
Supporting documentation must provide evidence your freight forwarded items shipped to a location outside of the United States.
What documentation is required?
Amazon requires copies of bill of lading or air way bills for items shipped by freight forwarder. Documents must display the location of delivery as evidence of their final destination. We do not accept Word documents, pictures of shipping labels, or mobile screenshots.

Where do I send my documentation?
Send scanned copies in PDF format along with the following information to tax-exempt@amazon.com:

Your order number (17 digits in this format: XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX).
If submitting a request for a tax refund on multiple orders, documentation will need to be provided for each order and clearly marked which order it pertains to.
Note: For orders placed with a seller that fulfills and ships its own inventory, you will need to contact the seller directly about your tax refund request by clicking on the name of the seller listed below the item you purchased in Your Account.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 9th, 2020, 7:43 pm

Just an example of the fackery that goes on.

Yuh askin for an invoice but then not using it so charging the cost of the item.

Now this is a preorder item, NOT available anywhere else for them to google it except the manufacturer so clearly they pull a value out they a$$.

Capture2.JPG

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (15.56 KiB) Viewed 2505 times

Capture3.JPG

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 9th, 2020, 8:41 pm

Somebody have to make ah money

Postby wagonrunner » December 10th, 2020, 10:47 am

Aeropost got two packages Dec 1st.
1 is available for pickup, the other still in transit.

Meanwhile Websource got a package Nov 27th, supposedly in country as the invoice was generated on the 7th, but no delivery so far.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » December 10th, 2020, 3:36 pm

Anyone know if Laptop/pc components tax off is only temporary?
Or will this be renewed for January?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 10th, 2020, 3:39 pm

Didn't know Components are non taxable.
Too my knowledge it's only the entire system.
novastar1 wrote:Anyone know if Laptop/pc components tax off is only temporary?

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » December 10th, 2020, 3:48 pm

wtf wrote:Didn't know Components are non taxable.

Any idea if it's a good idea to rush to buy a laptop now?

Or have they given any info what will happen in January?
I know they said up to Dec 31st "in the first instance"

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 10th, 2020, 5:39 pm

Doesn't matter if you buy now or January.
All taxes on laptops, tablets and electronic data devices are removed.
Cellphones to follow in January.
If you buy now you may get a laptop on a deal but it will take a while to reach Trinidad because its that time off year.
If you buy January you may get it earlier but miss out on a deal.
My advice is to buy one now although you may have to wait a little longer.
novastar1 wrote:

Postby adnj » December 10th, 2020, 5:48 pm

wtf wrote:Doesn't matter if you buy now or January.
All taxes on laptops, tablets and electronic data devices are removed.
Cellphones to follow in January.
If you buy now you may get a laptop on a deal but it will take a while to reach Trinidad because its that time off year.
If you buy January you may get it earlier but miss out on a deal.
My advice is to buy one now although you may have to wait a little longer.
novastar1 wrote:

You already missed Black Friday and Cyber Monday but some deals persist. New consumer electronics are launched in January at CES. Superseded models are cleared out in January also. Laptops with faster processors, better battery life, superior displays, more storage, and more RAM are already being rolled out.

There was no duty on laptops. There was only VAT. If you ship by sea, the most you would face is a 12.5% penalty from VAT.

As a general rule, consumer electronics only become less expensive. The longer you can wait, the better.
Last edited by adnj on December 10th, 2020, 5:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 11th, 2020, 9:25 am

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2020, 10:07 am

There use to be vat and opt on laptops.
Now there's absolutely no taxes. Until December 31

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 11th, 2020, 11:16 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:There use to be vat and opt on laptops.
Until December 31st?
I thought this was a permanent move?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » December 11th, 2020, 10:03 pm

wtf wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:There use to be vat and opt on laptops.
Until December 31st?
I thought this was a permanent move?

December 31 soldier like you don’t read papers owa ?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 13th, 2020, 5:50 pm

Here it is..For the 2nrs who feel they know more than everyone...
FB_IMG_1607896048102.jpeg

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » December 14th, 2020, 5:34 pm

Unable to ship laptop to skybox address from Amazon. Has anyone experienced this?

Postby paid_influencer » December 14th, 2020, 5:41 pm

Galvatron wrote:Unable to ship laptop to skybox address from Amazon. Has anyone experienced this?

yes, Amazon for some reason has decided to block some items from shipping to known freight forwarder (skybox) addresses. How or why they choose the particular items is not known.

the solution is to contact your skybox and ask if they have an alternate address, or order a different item (maybe even a variation of the same item), or buy from another website.