Living with Cancer... my pain, trials, and learning to cope.

V8 Boys

Living with Cancer... my pain, trials, and learning to cope.

Postby V8 Boys » September 29th, 2013, 10:56 pm

Hi, my name is Clifford Tardieu and this is my story.

I have been battling a disease that, takes the lives of millions around the globe. It is fast becoming an everyday thing to hear of some friend or family member who has it...or may have lost their battle with it.

It is extremely difficult for many to talk about it, and very few families know how to cope with it...what to do, say or how to comfort someone with cancer.

I have been fighting it for 2 years now and thought by sharing my experiences, some may take comfort or may have some of their questions answered.

I will try to add a little to this thread every night as long as I can or have the time and energy to.
302116_595007593861701_2143173916_n.jpg
625524_10150279768944981_1268642623_n.jpg
Last edited by V8 Boys on September 30th, 2013, 6:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

drop ho

Re: Living with Cancer... my pain, trials, and learning to c

Postby drop ho » September 29th, 2013, 11:01 pm

What book is that you're reading though?

Postby rfari » September 29th, 2013, 11:09 pm

Damn.
How did u develop it? Lifestyle?

eel7

Postby eel7 » September 29th, 2013, 11:30 pm

Stay strong bro. Nice thread.

Postby Team Loco » September 29th, 2013, 11:31 pm

Tell your story clifford.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 29th, 2013, 11:36 pm

Team Loco wrote:Tell your story clifford.
Ditto.

Postby sliderz1 » September 29th, 2013, 11:47 pm

well done on 2 yrs

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » September 29th, 2013, 11:55 pm

In October 2011, my wife and I were sitting across from each other, and she looked at my neck, and said "what's that bump there?".

That painless, insignificant little bump, got bigger as the weeks passed, from the size of a dove's egg, to the size of a small child's fist.

It was just a month later that I felt that we should go see a doctor....we went to a good friend in Couva, and when he saw the lump...he went "what's that?" It had no color, and he called in another doc, who also went: "what is that?"....they begin to look intently at it, almost not wanting to touch it....and they called in a specialists who said: "I think you should go get an ultra-sound, that may be a hematoma" (blood clot)

The ultra sound revealed nothing and the doctors said it is probably a hematoma caused by me hitting myself...3 weeks later, it got bigger, then the pains I was living with...started to intensify.
( I would later make the connection between the pain I was getting in my lower back for years...to the diagnosis I would soon receive)

After another week, one of the best Hematologists in the Caribbean Dr Waveney Charles, saw me and said I was over doing it, and thought it was also a hematoma...but sent me to do a CT Scan....

I was fortunate to get the scan in a week, and went home by my mom to wait for the report to be read to us over the phone.
The hours, seemed like days. At 3.30pm, my wife called, and my mom answered...I stood behind her watching, listening....

Her head went down, then she looked up into the ceiling: "my God Jehovah" was all I heard... She turned to me and I hugged her, and she started to cry..."don't worry son, we'll get thru this, Jehovah will get us thru this"

The word CANCER would never sound the same again. (I will explain this later) The "lump" in my neck wasn't the only one...I had 8...in my lower back, near my kidneys and my aortic valve, pelvic area and abdomen.

The time it took for my wife to tell my mom the news was 8 seconds and in those 8seconds, my entire life changed. I will never be able to explain the emotions we all felt that day, or the drive I took to pick up my wife from work....emptiness I guess, might be the right words...

The next two weeks took us to several Doctors, each one with his idea for treatment.

It was decided to remove the lump in my neck, so as to determine what type of cancer it was and at what stage it was.
Operating on me up to that time was always a no no...because I was born with a rare blood disorder that causes me to bleed uncontrollably if cut, or in this case operated on. We agonising whether to try a "fine-needle aspiration" to extract a sample of the lump in my neck, but it was decided it would be more risky than actually removing the lump altogether.

Dr Capildeo said that the needle would go into the lump fine, but on coming out....the pressure of the blood FOLLOWING the needle out of the hole, would cause a "volcano" effect, and that the hole would close up, causing me to bleed internally.

Enter the 3 men...Doctors..who have saved me, thus far...Dr Malcolm Samuel -kidney transplant surgeon, Dr Kavi Capildeo - Hematologist/Oncologist and Dr Hess Benjamin...my attending Doctor at NRC (National Radiotherapy Center).

to be continued tonight
Last edited by V8 Boys on October 1st, 2013, 9:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby rfari » September 30th, 2013, 12:00 am

f*q. How old are you?

Postby Morpheus » September 30th, 2013, 12:01 am

Wow. Sad but interesting. I wish you all the absolute best...may God guide you all through this.

Postby DVSTT » September 30th, 2013, 12:03 am

Team Loco wrote:Tell your story clifford.
Ditto.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » September 30th, 2013, 12:07 am

Stay strong my friend. I battled Lymphoma myself. I've been in remission for about 12 years.
Which reminds me, I need to have my yearly scans done soon.
Keep us updated and feel free to pm button at any time

Postby shogun » September 30th, 2013, 12:36 am

Keep up the fight Clifford. Brave of you to share, actually.

Hope you remain cancer free, man.

Toyopet wrote:Stay strong my friend. I battled Lymphoma myself. I've been in remission for about 12 years.

You learn things about people orn here everyday...

Well done man.

Breeds

Postby Breeds » September 30th, 2013, 1:33 am

Keep u in my prayers bro....Stay strong!

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 30th, 2013, 4:48 am

Those apples are coated with some sort of waxy substance.Try lightly scraping one with a fingernail and you'll realize what you're eating when you eat apples.Who knows what else those foreign fruits are treated with before they get over here and why it takes so long for them to go bad but I'm sure it's not healthy for the human body.I'd try as much as possible to stick to local fruit that haven't been chemically treated.Store bought bananas aren't better either since they're ripened with chemicals as well.
Wish you all the best.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » September 30th, 2013, 5:07 am

V8 Boys wrote:Hi, my name is Clifford Tardieu, and this is my story.

I have been battling a disease that, takes the lives of millions around the globe. It is fast becoming an everyday thing to hear of some friend or family member who has it...or may have lost their battle with it.

It is extremely difficult for many to talk about it, and very few families know how to cope with it...what to do, say or how to comfort someone with cancer.

I have been fighting it for 2 years now and thought by sharing my experiences, some may take comfort or may have some of their questions answered.

I will try to add a little to this thread every night as long as I can or have the time and energy to.
302116_595007593861701_2143173916_n.jpg
625524_10150279768944981_1268642623_n.jpg

My mother has also been going through this 2 years now, first round of chemo failed after 8 months. Her lump was misdiagnosed by almost every ENT in trinidad.

Second type of drug so far has showed remarkable results, whereas the first 8 cycles left residual nodes this one showed 0.
She is stage 4.

Really rough on some people , keep up the good fight.
Dr Charles is one of he nicest most experienced and confident physicans I have ever met.

Postby dougla_boy » September 30th, 2013, 7:24 am

i am enjoying your story......my brother's friend lost his leg not too long ago from cancer, was playing in the yard and hit his foot, next thing, he in hospital, with a swollen foot, they thought his bone was broken, when they did an xray and mri scan, his whole femur eat away from the cancer......

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » September 30th, 2013, 7:50 am

stay strong bro, and thanks for bringing it real.

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2013, 8:06 am

Thanks for sharing. I hope that you make a full recovery.

Postby AllTrac » September 30th, 2013, 8:07 am

wow, is there a history of it in your family?

dpresident

Postby dpresident » September 30th, 2013, 8:30 am

Hi Clifford, do not lose hope. It is never over until God says it is. No one could understand the pain or trauma that a cancer patient undergoes. I was diagnosed with cancer in the last stage six years ago and was given one month o live. I am still here, both my doctors here and in the states label me the miracle man. Hey contact me we can share our experience.

Postby AllTrac » September 30th, 2013, 8:52 am

really puts things into perspective huh?

Postby Damien » September 30th, 2013, 9:15 am

Stay strong bro !!!

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 30th, 2013, 9:16 am

Looking forward to the rest of your story. May it be an inspiration to all.

subscribed.

Postby turbosingh » September 30th, 2013, 9:20 am

Hmn i know the pain a stress your family is going true,my uncle had a cancer in his lungs an every 2weeks the doctors had to take out 2litres off water from his lungs.Over 2million dollars spent in medication but prayer conquered everything now he is cancer free!Keep strong.
Last edited by turbosingh on October 3rd, 2013, 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » September 30th, 2013, 9:43 am

turbosingh wrote:Hmn i know the pain a stress your family is going true,my uncle had a cancer in his lungs an every 2weeks the doctors had to take out 2litres off water from his lungs.Over 2million dollars spent in medication but pray concured everything now he is cancer free!Keep strong.

Pray=prayer?
Concured=conquered?

Good news on uncle though.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 30th, 2013, 9:47 am

Thank you for sharing OP, stay strong in your fight!

Postby 1UZFE » September 30th, 2013, 9:53 am

Wow. Hope by d grace of god something could be done bro..

Postby javishm » September 30th, 2013, 9:54 am

stay strong man....and keep up the fight...

hope to hear more of the story soon

Cid

Postby Cid » September 30th, 2013, 9:56 am

wow ,
thank you for sharing......keep us updated