Insurance in the event of An accident

Postby TRAE » September 25th, 2013, 12:38 pm

can you say which insurance is taking a vehicle fully comprehensive when a claim has just been settled? My vehicle is mortgaged so it needs to go comprehensive

Re: Insurance in the event of An accident

Postby pete » September 25th, 2013, 12:42 pm

Did the insurance company you were with before say they're not giving you insurance again?

Postby TRAE » September 25th, 2013, 1:53 pm

nah they said that they only going 3rd party with me

Postby j.o.e » September 25th, 2013, 2:35 pm

Banker's

Postby TRAE » September 25th, 2013, 3:20 pm

calling them now

Postby wagonrunner » September 25th, 2013, 3:22 pm

TRAE wrote:nah they said that they only going 3rd party with me

who was it? and what are their reasons?

Postby TRAE » September 25th, 2013, 3:25 pm

what the fack- they said 9,000 with my no claim of 30%

wagonrunner, that was colfire-- their claim procedure is b@lls, if the cost to fix the vehicle is near to what they would spend they would just write it off, and say you can sell the wreck to make up the rest of the money.

so basically the vehicle is lets say 100k, and the damage is only 30k to fix- they would say the wreck is worth 70k and give you 30k and write it off

thats my damage

Postby wagonrunner » September 25th, 2013, 3:51 pm

a write off is the fastest method of getting your vehicle fixed once you have a competent honest garage (beats the haggling of costs of parts and labor)
thing is even after a write off you can usually go back full comprehensive after it's repaired, with a valuators report on road worthiness and value, as long as the vehicle is within the ten years or so age bracket.

so trying to figure out why they said you have to go third party.

Postby TRAE » September 25th, 2013, 3:55 pm

well i wish someone can explain that to me as well

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » September 25th, 2013, 4:39 pm

insurance is a rip off..
even when you fully comprehensive they always want to tell you where to go and what damage you can claim for on your vehicle.
Gulf Insurance is the worst, even if you right in the accident you will wait months to get your money.
I am with Guardian General now... No accident so i cant say anything about them but they supposed to be reputable.

Postby cinco » September 25th, 2013, 6:01 pm

TRAE wrote:well i wish someone can explain that to me as well

Whats your age?
age of the vehicle?
Cost insured?

Postby j.o.e » September 25th, 2013, 7:03 pm

Take my stupid advice I've seen it happen over and over....get Insurance from a reputable company up front regardless of the cost...going cheap in the beginning will cause you headache later.... Guardian General is more expensive but they come through when there is a claim.

Postby wagonrunner » September 25th, 2013, 9:09 pm

i've had my issues with colfire in the best, but in this instance, where have they not come through?
did they not give the insurer funds to effect repair?

Postby TRAE » September 25th, 2013, 9:32 pm

I'm 29 and vehicle is 5 years old. Just don't agree with how they tell you what's the outcome before anything else

TriP

Postby TriP » September 25th, 2013, 9:56 pm

weyyyy sar plenty money to fix ..i does always say them hi lux or low lux like paper metal

Postby wagonrunner » September 25th, 2013, 11:09 pm

TRAE wrote:I'm 29 and vehicle is 5 years old. Just don't agree with how they tell you what's the outcome before anything else

the outcome is you are getting a check that should cover your damages. (you should get a slightly better costing, since it's you doing it.) Tell the garage you getting 5-7k less. Though hope the garage eh have anybody on tuner.
And you are back to where you started.

I don't understand what's the problem with writing off the car.
At 29 and with a five year old vehicle, unless there was some earlier discrepancy or things real change, I don't see the problem with them allowing to take out another full comp policy on it.
Which is why they should have stated something wrt that. Which is what i keep asking, but have not yet heard.

Where wagon r? he should be able to shed some light here.

Postby wagon r » September 25th, 2013, 11:14 pm

...I have no light...but I will ask my buddy in claims next to me his take on it.

TRAE...D-MAX..??/ send me the vehicle number....

Postby javishm » September 26th, 2013, 12:10 am

cjsplayboy wrote:insurance is a rip off..

Postby cinco » September 26th, 2013, 7:51 am

I find the no.fully comp odd also unless they are writing the vehicle off hence they wont offer fully comp.

Postby pete » September 26th, 2013, 8:17 am

Seems strange that Colfire wouldn't want to try and recover the 30k they've paid out. If the vehicle is fixed and valued at the same 100k, Colfire gonna charge around 18k for fully comp without discounts.

Postby TRAE » September 26th, 2013, 8:22 am

jed-- they say its being written off because they are prepared to pay the sum proposed by the adjuster, so if the adjuster says that the wreck is worth 60k and its all of a sudden depreciated in one year to 100k from 120k, then they would only pay the 40k, and if i want to get back the 100k just sell the wreck for 60k.

if that makes sense, issue is that i told them that i would fix it myself and they still insisted that if the adjuster says that it would take more than a certain amount to fix, then i cannot fix it for lower than that and they would still write it off

Postby TRAE » September 26th, 2013, 8:24 am

pete wrote:Seems strange that Colfire wouldn't want to try and recover the 30k they've paid out. If the vehicle is fixed and valued at the same 100k, Colfire gonna charge around 18k for fully comp without discounts.

the policy that i have had accident forgiveness, which means that they would only take one year discounts off, as its my first accident so i will still have 30% discounts

Postby pete » September 26th, 2013, 8:36 am

Is there an option to tell them "no, you sell the wreck and give me all the money"? Would you be able to pay off the loan and still have enough for a downpayment on something else?

Postby wagonrunner » September 26th, 2013, 11:52 am

cinco wrote:I find the no.fully comp odd also unless they are writing the vehicle off hence they wont offer fully comp.
write offs can be reinsured full comp, and have been already. It is simply the fastest way to get the vehicle repaired. The write off is simply the cancelling of the insurance policy, and paying out the repair value. It's not like yuh license plate no longer valid. What you have to do after is reapply for a new policy, and the below says how to do it.
wagonrunner wrote:a write off is the fastest method of getting your vehicle fixed once you have a competent honest garage (beats the haggling of costs of parts and labor)
thing is even after a write off you can usually go back full comprehensive after it's repaired, with a valuators report on road worthiness and value, as long as the vehicle is within the ten years or so age bracket.

As for it not being able to be reinsured Full comp, I believe there is something else not being said.
Last edited by wagonrunner on September 26th, 2013, 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

s.jaski

Postby s.jaski » September 26th, 2013, 11:54 am

Am 22 yrs of age my car is on its way from japan wats a good insurance company to go with

Postby TRAE » September 27th, 2013, 10:48 am

cinco wrote:I find the no.fully comp odd also unless they are writing the vehicle off hence they wont offer fully comp.
write offs can be reinsured full comp, and have been already. It is simply the fastest way to get the vehicle repaired. The write off is simply the cancelling of the insurance policy, and paying out the repair value. It's not like yuh license plate no longer valid. What you have to do after is reapply for a new policy, and the below says how to do it.
wagonrunner wrote:a write off is the fastest method of getting your vehicle fixed once you have a competent honest garage (beats the haggling of costs of parts and labor)

As for it not being able to be reinsured Full comp, I believe there is something else not being said.

wish i coulda tell you what they're not telling me---- they just said that they would not go fully comp

Postby wagonrunner » September 27th, 2013, 11:49 am

and when you asked why, they said.........................?

and if you didn't ask why, ask them to put it in writing please.

Postby pete » September 27th, 2013, 12:01 pm

You said $9k with 30% discount, that's for 3rd party?