Attack of Samsung gadget spam

Postby pioneer » July 20th, 2013, 10:04 pm

Saw this some weeks back, thought I'd post it now.

It deserves its own thread.

http://money.cnn.com/2013/06/24/technol ... index.html

Attack of Galaxy S4 gadget spam

When the Galaxy S4 launched in April, Samsung sold one version of its flagship smartphone. Two months later, there are five S4 devices on store shelves.

There's the self-explanatory Galaxy S4 Mini. Then there's the Galaxy S4 Zoom, which marries a smartphone with a full functioning point-and-shoot camera. Samsung released the waterproof and dustproof Galaxy S4 Active. And let's not forget the Galaxy S4 Mega, which strangely offers a massive 6.3-inch display -- only with fewer pixels than the original Galaxy S4. (None have yet been announced for U.S. markets, but the prospect doesn't seem far fetched, either.)

Despite all these spinoff phones sharing the same branding, the Galaxy S4 Active is the only "S4" that bears any resemblance -- inside or outside -- to the original Galaxy S4. The Mini and the Zoom have very different designs, processors, displays, and cameras, and they feature varying amounts of storage and RAM. They're hardly the same phone at all.

From a pure hardware perspective, there's no logical concept or idea that really links these phones together aside from being Samsung products.

But from a business perspective, it all makes sense.

The Galaxy S brand sells. It is a trusted, established name among all consumers -- not just the nerds. And in the world of Google's (GOOG, Fortune 500) Android operating system, brands are ultimately more important than the hardware itself. It's not unlike picking a car.

That's why Samsung is making a smart decision to cram as many products as it can under the wildly successful S4 umbrella.

Samsung is learning from its early mistakes: When the first generation of the Galaxy S was released to each major American carrier, it carried a different name and external design, despite the fact that each was built on the same internal components. That "variety" strategy was good for sales, but it was an incoherent vision for building Samsung's reputation.

And so it began unifying. By the time the Galaxy S II came around, there were still multiple versions, but they all carried the same name and same general specs. Last year it added the Galaxy S III mini to the lineup as an experiment. Apparently, it worked well enough to warrant even more spinoffs this year.

Samsung could have given each of its new phones a different name, spending millions of dollars on marketing. Or it could lean on what it knows to be successful.

Branding has always been important for Samsung, because it's a company that thrives on gadget spam. Every year, the company releases dozens of its generally excellent televisions, cameras and computers, but aside from four or five models that provide unique features, each one is only slightly different from the next.

It's a cynical approach, perhaps. But at the end of the day, the end goal is to make money. And if the products are strong, who really cares what they're called?

Then again, if Samsung misfires and waters down its brand with sub par products, it could matter a lot.

Re: Attack of Samsung gadget spam

Postby pioneer » July 20th, 2013, 10:22 pm

pete wrote:Not only Samsung. There's also lg, sony, motorola and all the other generic Android devices.

How many different Lumia 800's are there?

How many different HTC One's are there?

Apple has one iPhone, current model being the 5. There is no iPhone 5 Zoom, no iPhone 5 Active (waterproof), no iPhone 5 Mini, no iPhone 5 Mega. There is ONE iPhone 5. There was one iPhone, one iPhone 3G/S, one iPhone 4/S.

Current model replacing the previous.

Apple never brought out 4 different iPhones out at the same time and tell you hey, if you want one with an awesome camera buy model X, if you want a bigger screen buy model Y, if you want stereo output buy model Z etc etc you get my drift.

Why can't Samsung release ONE phone and be content? Are they lost and confused?

Postby pete » July 20th, 2013, 10:40 pm

Different business models I guess. Why you so upset about how Samsung makes their money? What I would say is that consumers should try to stick with the phones that are more popular as they get better support both in software and accessories. Like right now I'm waiting for some lg optimus 4x cases as they have none in trinidad.

Postby javishm » July 21st, 2013, 12:38 am

money making thing

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 21st, 2013, 12:52 am

And don't forget there are two different kinds of Galaxy S3 & S4s themselves. I'm not talking about the S4 XYZ, the S4 Blah Blah & S4 Blah Blah Blah. I mean S3 and S4 period.

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2013, 1:46 am

pete wrote:Different business models I guess. Why you so upset about how Samsung makes their money? What I would say is that consumers should try to stick with the phones that are more popular as they get better support both in software and accessories. Like right now I'm waiting for some lg optimus 4x cases as they have none in trinidad.

umm hmmm

Postby pete » July 21st, 2013, 2:04 am

Will have 6 to sell one they reach. Pink blue and red.

Postby Stephon. » July 21st, 2013, 11:21 am

Ok then

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2013, 12:49 pm

Let's not even start on how many tablet pc's they have

Postby tr1ad » July 21st, 2013, 12:51 pm

jelly brah?

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2013, 1:00 pm

Join the Apple Master Race.

Postby DFC » July 21st, 2013, 1:15 pm

S4 > iphone 5

deal with it,

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2013, 1:47 pm

DFC wrote:S4 > iphone 5

deal with it,

Yeah it's definitely bigger

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » July 21st, 2013, 2:11 pm

deal with it,

you can use the iphone with 1 hand, you get amazing tech support from apple, iphone also has a way better built design and quality, glalaxy s4 is all plastic which was disappointing when i got mine n then gave it away

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2013, 2:14 pm

How come almost every objective opinion of the S3/S4 is that is feels like a cheap flimsy piece of plastic?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » July 21st, 2013, 2:19 pm

the entire phone is plastic, sure there is a removable battery but the plastic in the box it came in feels more sturdy tbh op

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2013, 2:22 pm

Buh ent it ha gorilla glass?

Dai ah big fleck

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 21st, 2013, 2:36 pm

samsung users wrote :
"ent d phone does end up in a otterbox/uag/ case anyway"

Postby pete » July 21st, 2013, 2:46 pm

I'm using my s2 with my left hand alone to type this. Not sure what you guys are talking about.

Postby pioneer » July 21st, 2013, 3:56 pm

All that to say you have big hands?

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 21st, 2013, 4:49 pm

pimptacular wrote:

deal with it,

you can use the iphone with 1 hand, you get amazing tech support from apple, iphone also has a way better built design and quality, glalaxy s4 is all plastic which was disappointing when i got mine n then gave it away

Apple support called me to sort out a setup issue I was having on my end, in comparison Samsung took up to two days to reply to emails when I tried to claim my warranty.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » July 21st, 2013, 7:59 pm

Apple markets their brand of phones called iphone, be it iphone, iphone 3G, iphone 3Gs, iphone 4, iphone 4S and now the iphone 5, maybe there will be an iphone 5S soon but its the same as Samsing marketing their phones under the Galaxy S line, theres the Galaxy S, the Galaxy S2 and so forth, Understand now?

Oh BTW Samsung Galaxy S3 > Apple iphone 5 iphone 6 iphone 7 and iphone 8
Yeah I know I said S3, just imagine how many generations of iphones are yet to come to be on par with the S4.

Now the ipad was released in April 2010 and the ipad4 was released in 2012 so thats 2 generations of ipads per year or 4 generations of ipads in just 2 years (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPad)
Now samsung has had 1 tab released per year according to -http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samsung_Galaxy_Tab so if you look at it all Apple is doing is having you fanboys fatten their pockets twice annually just to say "i'm an apple person".
sounds kinds gay to me,, just sayin

Postby DFC » July 22nd, 2013, 12:17 am

I'm sure pios have to charge his i5 every 3 hours.

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » July 22nd, 2013, 7:06 am

Lol I own am s3, s2, iPhone 4s and 5.

slowly getting to hate Android and.samsung slowly everyday

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 8:08 am

nismoid wrote:Apple markets their brand of phones called iphone, be it iphone, iphone 3G, iphone 3Gs, iphone 4, iphone 4S and now the iphone 5, maybe there will be an iphone 5S soon but its the same as Samsing marketing their phones under the Galaxy S line, theres the Galaxy S, the Galaxy S2 and so forth, Understand now?

Oh BTW Samsung Galaxy S3 > Apple iphone 5 iphone 6 iphone 7 and iphone 8
Yeah I know I said S3, just imagine how many generations of iphones are yet to come to be on par with the S4.

Now the ipad was released in April 2010 and the ipad4 was released in 2012 so thats 2 generations of ipads per year or 4 generations of ipads in just 2 years (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPad)
Now samsung has had 1 tab released per year according to -http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samsung_Galaxy_Tab so if you look at it all Apple is doing is having you fanboys fatten their pockets twice annually just to say "i'm an apple person".

lolwut?

Samsung devices running 2010 software...twenty-ten...(2013 - 3)

Why it is samsung tries to copy Apple so much?

Postby noshownogo » July 22nd, 2013, 8:35 am

Careful that "copy" argument doesn't come back to bite Apple fans.

From what I'm hearing in the rumour mill, Apple are looking at larger iPads and iPhones as well as cheaper plastic versions of the latter.

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 8:41 am

Will still be the iPad and iPhone.

No Y, S, S4, Zoom, Active, Mega, Extra-Mega, Super-Duper Mega etc etc etc

Postby pete » July 22nd, 2013, 8:43 am

Android 4.04 was released in March 2012 and most Samsung devices should be using that at least. If they're not it's because their specs are too low. (not enough RAM, too slow a processor, not enough internal storage space)

All the new ones have enough to run 4.1.2 and I don't see any reason why they're not going to be able to get updates for the next couple years. That said, not many apps aren't supported in older AOS versions. My galaxy player on 2.3.4 has all the apps that I use regularly on my 4.1.2 phones.

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 9:25 am

Where do android people get apps?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 22nd, 2013, 9:34 am

nismoid wrote:..... so if you look at it all Apple is doing is having you fanboys fatten their pockets twice annually just to say "i'm an apple person".

Aye well said man.