Best MBA in Trinidad? Need help choosing

Re: Best MBA in Trinidad? Need help choosing

Postby zoom rader » February 19th, 2018, 7:18 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:what he said...^

and not bashing here eh....but I spoke to some HR personnel in a recruiting department and they stated that when they see qualifications from

SAMS
SITAL
COSTATT etc etc

they just put that application aside...UWI or Arthur Lok Jack or some international university is what they go for...shrugs shoulders..

as I said before...I'd stick to being bilingual or multilingual
Costatt is really a PNM thing for government work , or jobs for the boys.

Men need to think wisely where to educate

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 31st, 2019, 12:50 pm

Any info on the Oil and Gas MBA at stial, CTS or SHEL?
Thnaks.

Postby bluefete » October 31st, 2019, 1:12 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Any info on the Oil and Gas MBA at stial, CTS or SHEL?
Thnaks.

Call Imbutts and ask him.

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » October 31st, 2019, 1:29 pm

All MBA'S are a waste of time unless you have a solid foundation in a functional area at the undergrad level

Postby bluefete » October 31st, 2019, 1:57 pm

Ryan197912 wrote:All MBA'S are a waste of time unless you have a solid foundation in a functional area at the undergrad level

More than that: You should be able to use your MBA at a much higher level, in the workplace, in whatever field you are in.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » October 31st, 2019, 2:14 pm

Been through this entire thread and everyone who's saying that having a MBA's is a waste of time is providing misleading information.

Having an MBA is really based on where you are, where you want to be. It's meant to prepare you for greater exposure in upper to executive management.

IMO, if you're in an organization long enough in a supervisory to middle management, then a MBA will help you foster and develop your Leadership skills and promote strategic thinking.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 31st, 2019, 2:59 pm

Thanks guys, for the replys, you all were able to answer my questions with such clarity and intelligence.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 31st, 2019, 4:20 pm

thelem-again wrote:Been through this entire thread and everyone who's saying that having a MBA's is a waste of time is providing misleading information.

Having an MBA is really based on where you are, where you want to be. It's meant to prepare you for greater exposure in upper to executive management.

IMO, if you're in an organization long enough in a supervisory to middle management, then a MBA will help you foster and develop your Leadership skills and promote strategic thinking.

what you said is correct in a "perfect world" not in Trinidad...you know how much people have masters etc and working OJT or entry level jobs in some ministry collecting 6k a month...getting that dream job in Trinidad is based on who you know or who knows you or who yuh mammy and daddy link up with....it have real people within various bodies of Nat Sec with Masters and they had no other choice but to join a service because of the unavailability of jobs.

only a handful of people make use of their MBAs and MSCs etc etc

Postby The_Honourable » October 31st, 2019, 8:42 pm

Very true.

MBA is a waste of time if the main aim is to have your resume look good and you don't know what you want to do in the long term (specialize). You have to be ABSOLUTELY certain the chosen field is what you want to do... not what you feel to do, or "lemmeh try something and see". Once you made up your mind and figure out that an MBA will help achieve your purpose, it will be a big plus.

If you going for an MBA and have little to no experience, nobody will take you seriously. "Paper" have its place but you have to balance it with experience. I advise people that while you're doing or after finishing your bachelor's degree, work to get that experience. While doing that, sometimes change happens and you end up in a field you didn't plan too but end up liking it... and is better it happens before wasting time, money and energy on a masters you don't want anymore.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 5th, 2020, 9:35 am

Sniper, it appears you are still confused and undecided. Tell us what is your profession, current position and educational background. An MBA with oil and gas specialism is 20yrs late in this country but better be late than never.

Tell us what area you from? SITAL, CTS and SHEL are catering for almost the same kind of person just in different areas. What is important for you? Parking, admin assistance/customer service, lecturer support, study rooms, access to libraries and cost?

So much more things I can pull up. So, let’s get granular and we can help you decide if any of these 3 schools is a right fit for you or say another one like SAMs.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 5th, 2020, 12:35 pm

agent007 wrote:Sniper, it appears you are still confused and undecided. Tell us what is your profession, current position and educational background. An MBA with oil and gas specialism is 20yrs late in this country but better be late than never.

Tell us what area you from? SITAL, CTS and SHEL are catering for almost the same kind of person just in different areas. What is important for you? Parking, admin assistance/customer service, lecturer support, study rooms, access to libraries and cost?

So much more things I can pull up. So, let’s get granular and we can help you decide if any of these 3 schools is a right fit for you or say another one like SAMs.

Hey , you nailed it here "dmin assistance/customer service, lecturer support, study rooms, access to libraries and cost?"

Thanks,

agent007

Best MBA in Trinidad? Need help choosing

Postby agent007 » January 5th, 2020, 1:09 pm

I still cannot add value to your concerns without having a proper background on yourself and what you truly expect. So to be broad, let me summarize it as this from a T&T viewpoint:

Most highly ranked MBA available: HWU - SBCS
Best indigenous MBA: ALJGSB
Most affordable MBA: UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL
Best MBA facilities: ARU - SAM
Most parking: ALJGSB
Best lecturer to student support: ARU - SAM
Best library: ALJGSB
Best customer service: UoB - CTS
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement locally: ALJGSB
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement regionally and internationally: HWU - SBCS

If you like exams then HWU - SBCS.
If you like a combination of coursework and exams then ARU - SAM.
If you like coursework - UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL

Cramming for exams is typical and some can leave HWU - SBCS without a clue as to what they’ve done. I’m talking about retention of what was learnt. Getting the opportunity to makeup marks via exam from coursework or vice versa is important for some also and that means ARU - SAM would be your practical choice. If you just like to type, and do a lot of it, then the UoB trio would be your choice.

I like the practicality and contemporary topics offered by UoB. I like the array of options available via HWU and I like the intensity of ALJGSB. Lastly, I like the ARU approach as it’s the most mind friendly one of this bunch.

Concerning the USC MBA, I guess if you have an allegiance to the SDA church then maybe that’s the one for you but I can’t go any further.

Costs subject to confirmation:

ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA
Figure includes programme costs, student services fees and registration fees.

SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA
Figures include tuition, registration and university fees.

SAM:
$81,071.
Figure include tuition, executive support (optional), registration, thesis and university fees.

CTS:
$44,774.
Figure includes tuition, registration and university fees. A discount of $6,000. will be given to specially qualified attendees of the free information session.

Good luck.
Last edited by agent007 on January 5th, 2020, 1:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 5th, 2020, 1:44 pm

Excellent reviews.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 5th, 2020, 6:09 pm

agent007 wrote:I still cannot add value to your concerns without having a proper background on yourself and what you truly expect. So to be broad, let me summarize it as this from a T&T viewpoint:

Most appreciated MBA for career advancement regionally and internationally: HWU - SBCS

Cramming for exams is typical and some can leave HWU - SBCS without a clue as to what they’ve done. I’m talking about retention of what was learnt. Getting the opportunity to makeup marks via exam from coursework or vice versa is important for some also and that means ARU - SAM would be your practical choice. If you just like to type, and do a lot of it, then the UoB trio would be your choice.

I like the practicality and contemporary topics offered by UoB. I like the array of options available via HWU and I like the intensity of ALJGSB. Lastly, I like the ARU approach as it’s the most mind friendly one of this bunch.

Concerning the USC MBA, I guess if you have an allegiance to the SDA church then maybe that’s the one for you but I can’t go any further.

ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA

SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA

SAM:
$81,071.
Figure include tuition, executive support (optional), registration, thesis and university fees.

CTS:
$44,774.
Figure includes tuition, registration and university fees. A discount of $6,000. will be given to specially qualified attendees of the free information session.

Good luck.

Outside of the dollar figures, are these your own opinions or some survey you did?

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 5th, 2020, 9:26 pm

I’m a current and former stakeholder of all mentioned. I know all the facilities well and have information packets. Based on what I mentioned, it’s actually facts coupled with my opinions.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 5th, 2020, 10:56 pm

agent007 wrote:I’m a current and former stakeholder of all mentioned. I know all the facilities well and have information packets. Based on what I mentioned, it’s actually facts coupled with my opinions.

Not saying you're wrong, but most seem to be your personal opinion...
Also, the UWI has an MSc Management and MSc Leadership & Strategic Management.

agent007 wrote:I still cannot add value to your concerns without having a proper background on yourself and what you truly expect. So to be broad, let me summarize it as this from a T&T viewpoint:

Most highly ranked MBA available: HWU - SBCS #personal-opinion
Best indigenous MBA: ALJGSB #dubious (you mean "local"?)
Most affordable MBA: UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL #objective
Best MBA facilities: ARU - SAM #personal-opinion
Most parking: ALJGSB #objective
Best lecturer to student support: ARU - SAM #personal-opinion
Best library: ALJGSB #dubious (what is "best library"?)
Best customer service: UoB - CTS #personal-opinion
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement locally: ALJGSB #personal-opinion
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement regionally and internationally: HWU - SBCS #personal-opinion

If you like exams then HWU - SBCS. #personal-opinion
If you like a combination of coursework and exams then ARU - SAM. #personal-opinion
If you like coursework - UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL #personal-opinion

ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA

SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA

SAM:
$81,071.

CTS:
$44,774.

Good luck.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 5th, 2020, 11:25 pm

The HWU available through SBCS is the #1 ranked MBA locally. Check the 4 top University rankings listing on the web and out of the UK based degrees, HWU is in fact #1 and I highly doubt ALJGSB can top them from a worldwide perspective.
https://www.hw.ac.uk/study/why/our-rankings.htm

Also, we only have 2 indigenous ie. locally created MBA programmes. The one from ALJGSB and the other from USC. Based on general feedback, the ALJGSB seems to be the local #1.

SAMs offer personal one to one sessions between lecturer and student for support on assignments etc. Though this is an optional additional payment (included in my figures above), no other institution offers this as an option. Keeping in mind, formal conversations or Q&As with a lecturer is not considered as "support".

The ALJGSB/UWI library for which students have full access to is unmatched by the other institutions.

The customer service part was determined on the ACTT rankings 2016 and 2017 (applied to the institutions mentioned here) where I assumed student support was from an admin perspective and not a course/module/lecturer perspective.

Let's be real on something here, it has been mentioned many times before, local employers have a bias for locally derived degrees vs those from the distance learning route. So much so that, our govt is proposing or has proposed that external UoL LLB degrees would no longer be accepted by the HWLS. I know this is an entirely different course of study but I have observed this trend.

Lastly, in the international stage, if 2 candidates are applying for a position, the employer would most likely choose the candidate with the degree backed by a higher ranking institution. That's why employers head hunt students long before they graduate from institutions like Yale, Harvard, MIT, Stanford, Caltech, Oxford, Cambridge, Kings College etc etc. ALJGSB vs HWU to me (all things being equal) is a clear choice towards the latter.

Of course I am open to correction since this thread is all about informing future students on where they should consider to pursue their MBA.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 6th, 2020, 1:42 am

FrankChag wrote:
agent007 wrote:I’m a current and former stakeholder of all mentioned. I know all the facilities well and have information packets. Based on what I mentioned, it’s actually facts coupled with my opinions.

Not saying you're wrong, but most seem to be your personal opinion...
Also, the UWI has an MSc Management and MSc Leadership & Strategic Management.

Most highly ranked MBA available: HWU - SBCS #personal-opinion
Best indigenous MBA: ALJGSB #dubious (you mean "local"?)
Most affordable MBA: UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL #objective
Best MBA facilities: ARU - SAM #personal-opinion
Most parking: ALJGSB #objective
Best lecturer to student support: ARU - SAM #personal-opinion
Best library: ALJGSB #dubious (what is "best library"?)
Best customer service: UoB - CTS #personal-opinion
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement locally: ALJGSB #personal-opinion
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement regionally and internationally: HWU - SBCS #personal-opinion

If you like exams then HWU - SBCS. #personal-opinion
If you like a combination of coursework and exams then ARU - SAM. #personal-opinion
If you like coursework - UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL #personal-opinion

ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA

SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA

SAM:
$81,071.

CTS:
$44,774.

Good luck.

Frank, it seems as though you're just as 'opinionated' as 007, (whose review was excellent, by the way) but he offered some logic and insight into why he said what he said (which is the purpose of the thread), however you just opposed his review without providing any background info of your own. :? How about strengthening your argument and offer some 'facts' and experiences of your own?

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 6th, 2020, 3:52 am

Joshie23 wrote: Frank, it seems as though you're just as 'opinionated' as 007, (whose review was excellent, by the way) but he offered some logic and insight into why he said what he said (which is the purpose of the thread), however you just opposed his review without providing any background info of your own. :? How about strengthening your argument and offer some 'facts' and experiences of your own?

Sigh... you should read more about personal opinions vs objective facts.
I think crash course has a series on media literacy you might want to chk out also.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 6th, 2020, 5:05 am

ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA

SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA

SAM:
$81,071.

CTS:
$44,774.

Good luck.

Dam, you're good! Excellent info.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 6th, 2020, 5:10 am

the amount ah people running down that strategic leadership thing from UWI is mind blowing....and these people manage to be more chupid after they complete the program...

my 2 cents....MBA and masters etc etc in this country is a WOFT....unless you planning on teaching or you are already well poised in a company and up for promotion which requires a higher level of education (then by all means)....other than that, save that money and invest in something...

there are thousands of people with masters and their salary aint cross 10k yet..if you want to do a masters just for the sake of saying "I have ah masters" then fix up....unless you or your family are well known and you can score a good job, suck salt with yuh masters

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » January 6th, 2020, 5:54 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the amount ah people running down that strategic leadership thing from UWI is mind blowing....and these people manage to be more chupid after they complete the program...

my 2 cents....MBA and masters etc etc in this country is a WOFT....unless you planning on teaching or you are already well poised in a company and up for promotion which requires a higher level of education (then by all means)....other than that, save that money and invest in something...

there are thousands of people with masters and their salary aint cross 10k yet..if you want to do a masters just for the sake of saying "I have ah masters" then fix up....unless you or your family are well known and you can score a good job, suck salt with yuh masters
Good advise.The days of having a degree or masters and getting a good job are gone. There are open scholarships winners with degrees from top international universities struggling to get a job. People should treat education like an investment and ensure they can get a ROI before pursuing.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 6th, 2020, 6:30 am

Another piece of my 2 cents...I have been in conversations with mangers and hr people...when hiring they tend to look for graduates from arthur lok jack first because according to them, ALJ is more recognised and not watered down like

Sams
Sital
Sbcs etc

All this sheit about masters in a year blah blah

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 6th, 2020, 8:05 am

FrankChag wrote:
Joshie23 wrote: Frank, it seems as though you're just as 'opinionated' as 007, (whose review was excellent, by the way) but he offered some logic and insight into why he said what he said (which is the purpose of the thread), however you just opposed his review without providing any background info of your own. :? How about strengthening your argument and offer some 'facts' and experiences of your own?

I think crash course has a series on media literacy you might want to chk out also.

So you don't have any facts to debunk 007 or corroborate your own argument...lol. Thanks for your time, I guess.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 6th, 2020, 9:05 am

Joshie23 wrote:
FrankChag wrote:

So you don't have any facts to debunk 007 or corroborate your own argument...lol. Thanks for your time, I guess.

You must not have read when I said to the goodly gentleman/gentlelady "agent007"...
FrankChag wrote:Not saying you're wrong, but most seem to be your personal opinion...

You seem also not to be understanding that it's (scientifically) "okay" to challenge someone on the internet when they give their personal opinion on a matter. The goodly gentleman/gentlelady seemed to understand that and responded accordingly in a respectful way, pretty much indicating that he had based his statements on some objective facts, and that he is perhaps more informed on the matter than the rest of us.. which is also fine (ref. the delphi method).

What is not fine is when some idiot (who clearly went to sital or shel), doesnt understand the first thing about the different between facts and opinions.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 6th, 2020, 9:27 am

neilsingh100 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the amount ah people running down that strategic leadership thing from UWI is mind blowing....and these people manage to be more chupid after they complete the program...

Good advise.The days of having a degree or masters and getting a good job are gone. There are open scholarships winners with degrees from top international universities struggling to get a job. People should treat education like an investment and ensure they can get a ROI before pursuing.

My 2c...

In my dad's days, having a M.Sc. was instant job.
Nowadays, some companies require a "Masters" for Management/Senior Management (or at least "a definite asset").
They of course don't say what kind of Masters (MBA, MSc, MPhil... all the M's ALJGSB has...)

It should be noted that the MBA was created for technical folks who had their first degree in something else (like BS Computing), and who didn't know the first thing about managing people or a business or a department, and needed a post-grad degree to get into 'management'. That puts folks with a BSc in Management/Administration (BBA, etc) in a weird situation, because most MBAs (US/UK/Can MBAs NOT included) are just 'watered down' BSc Management degrees, and have not risen to the level of "Masters" of anything (like HW and that Australian MBA thing). But they get away with it, and some companies hiring staff don't even know the difference between an MBA and an MSc and ACCA.

They even have the 'mature route' for people who 'have expereince' but cant complete a proper sentence, and coasting their way through project work and exams. Its amazing how watered down everything is now because of some of these cheap watered-down, correspondence "MBAs".

I have to admit though, I am biased towards some of the Lok Jack "Masters"... just the sexy names alone...

Masters HRM
Masters Internal Strategic Marketing
Masters Business Development and Innovation
Masters SME Management
Masters Internal Business
Masters Information Systems & Technology Management
MBA International Trade
MBA Sustainable Energy

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 6th, 2020, 10:07 am

Better to learn another language than do a masters

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 6th, 2020, 10:45 am

FrankChag wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
FrankChag wrote:

You must not have read when I said to the goodly gentleman/gentlelady "agent007"...
FrankChag wrote:Not saying you're wrong, but most seem to be your personal opinion...

You seem also not to be understanding that it's (scientifically) "okay" to challenge someone on the internet when they give their personal opinion on a matter. The goodly gentleman/gentlelady seemed to understand that and responded accordingly in a respectful way, pretty much indicating that he had based his statements on some objective facts, and that he is perhaps more informed on the matter than the rest of us.. which is also fine (ref. the delphi method).

What is not fine is when some idiot (who clearly went to sital or shel), doesnt understand the first thing about the different between facts and opinions.

Lots of fancy words. I'm preparing for an MBA either with ALJ or HW through SBCS as well, idiot. 007 made some points, you seemed to disagree, so I asked for your factual information to say otherwise, as I'm here to gather information. I called you out because it seemed like you just posted to 'fight dong di man', as opposed to presenting constructive criticism/feedback and/or your own personal experiences to add to the thread. That's all. Do you have experience(s) to counter or add to what 007 said or not..simple English. Sheesh.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 6th, 2020, 11:24 am

Thanks for the feedback guys. Honestly all have unique pros and cons. It all boils down to what your priorities are. For established people, they may not need those expensive ones. For those not so established but really want to spruce up their resume then going all the way out with HWU and ALJGSB might be a good option for you.

It's never a bad decision to improve your academic skills whether it brings forth immediate financial returns for you or not. Education is power. Go for it.

death365

Postby death365 » January 6th, 2020, 11:58 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Another piece of my 2 cents...I have been in conversations with mangers and hr people...when hiring they tend to look for graduates from arthur lok jack first because according to them, ALJ is more recognised and not watered down like

Sams
Sital
Sbcs etc

All this sheit about masters in a year blah blah

ah sorry but yuh wong. i can honestly tell u where i work; in both permanent and contract positions - the check list just says a degree or masters or what ever . no considerations with respect to where and level aka 1st or 2nd class.