2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

b18b_turbo

Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby b18b_turbo » February 26th, 2015, 10:35 am

AllTrac wrote: IT was a result of having a weak core and back.

correct. try deadlifting the same weight with your back arched, chin up, chest out starting from lowest squat position. if you cant make, do lighter weights with this same form to strengthen your back.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 26th, 2015, 10:37 am

What's the reasoning for such a suggestion?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » February 26th, 2015, 10:46 am

going under a smith machine is just going to have the same person try the same weight under a guided bar which can very easily cause damage. also, the weight is clearly too heavy, once form is compromised, the weight is too heavy. people like to go under the smith and lean back all their weight into the bar to carry up a heavy weight, this is a waste.....it cant compare to real squat form. strengthen the core and supporting muscles first. lower back is jus as important as leg muscles in a squat so strengthen that. im just stating what i have done personally and what worked for me, i do not recommend things that i have never tried and seen results.

good mornings and hyper extensions are also good, but my logic tells me that i cant really move much weight with those exercises so i would prefer to deadlift under very very strict form to hit those weaker back muscles and let them get a feel of the weight before i go throwing it up in my shoulder. having the weight in your hands with weak lower back is better than having the weight on your shoulders and squatting with a weak lower back; "better" is a relative term, none are good, just the "less risky" of the two evils.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 26th, 2015, 10:49 am

What about lowering the weight and increasing volume?

Fix form? Pushing hips too far back?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » February 26th, 2015, 10:55 am

Conrad wrote:What about lowering the weight and increasing volume?

Fix form? Pushing hips too far back?

lowering weight and increasing volume is the best thing ever. like 8 sets to failure, works AMAZING but i recommended the deadlift solution because people here just want to life heavy, lol. more volume in legs with managable weight to failure give LOTS more results.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 26th, 2015, 11:05 am

On your previous suggestion, how do you suggest best to build core strength?

I had probs getting into proper deadlift position before, my back used to round. Now I start the first rep good with following reps getting poorer and poorer.

Oh, I also have poor mobility, working on it.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » February 26th, 2015, 11:28 am

you fellas have any suggestions for strengthening the back muscles between my shoulder blades, I injured my upper back 5 years now, injury is between T3 and T5 of the thoracic area. Stronger muscles in that area will help to keep the bones from moving out of place easily.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » February 26th, 2015, 11:33 am

a good place to start as silly as it may sound is to fix posture 24 hours a day. when walking, always chest up, abs tight, and when sitting, this is most essential, dont slouch.

poorer and poorer form could also be that your lower back gets exhausted quickly.

for proper squat position and arched lower back i always tell people CHEST UP, CHIN UP, SHOULDERS BACK, descend slowly, stop at the base of the rep and pause for almost a second, then ascend to the top --> repeat

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 26th, 2015, 11:34 am

Thanks man.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » February 26th, 2015, 11:39 am

lost to all, in your case you really should get a professional educated recommendation from someone who knows what they are talking about. there are so many exercises you can do but for injuries as such there are two conditions:

1) certain exercises you can and cannot do
2) the ones you CAN do you have to do them WITHIN LIMITS (depending on your injury) as advised by a neurological specialist or a good physio

you can call Ravi Sinanan for any further info in needed 747-5297.

I had him come over and asses my dad who has bad spinal injury and thus far the therapy from the physio is working and he can how walk stronger and seeing more muscle tone. better be safe than sorry.

GoS

Postby GoS » February 26th, 2015, 12:50 pm

Fellas on mornings doing cardo but find i not sweating like on evening anything strange there

ninjaboost

Postby ninjaboost » February 26th, 2015, 2:47 pm

Jonathan_337, you got some really sound advice here bro!

One question tho! why do you choose to do low bar squats? I know it allows you to move more weight but it also places greater stress on the lower back. May be worth it to do high bar squats until the lower back gets stronger...

b18b_turbo, what do you recommend for calves? I really need them to grow

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 26th, 2015, 3:17 pm

Thanks for the responses guys! Really really appreciated. Thing is I don't rly do abs, I keep saying I'd start back and I just never got around to it. Do you all have any ab routine suggestions? I haven't done it in forever so.. Yeah haha.

@ninjaboost that was my main reason for choosing the low bar squat. For me it's more comfortable and everything as well and I just want to get more weight up. What confuses is me is that some days the weight pops up great, decent form everything. Up to 275lbs without wraps or anything goes up nicely. And other days my my legs would go straight up while my back refuses.

What I think I'll do is some light low bar squats but some intense reps then switch to high bar and get my core activated.. All belt less. So I'd add more volume to my leg days now.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 26th, 2015, 3:32 pm

Also I just read through canditos 6 week program.. Used it once and it worked great think I'll give it a shot again when my back feels like it ain't sore. By next week.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 26th, 2015, 3:36 pm

b18b_turbo wrote:going under a smith machine is just going to have the same person try the same weight under a guided bar which can very easily cause damage. also, the weight is clearly too heavy, once form is compromised, the weight is too heavy. people like to go under the smith and lean back all their weight into the bar to carry up a heavy weight, this is a waste.....it cant compare to real squat form. strengthen the core and supporting muscles first. lower back is jus as important as leg muscles in a squat so strengthen that. im just stating what i have done personally and what worked for me, i do not recommend things that i have never tried and seen results.

good mornings and hyper extensions are also good, but my logic tells me that i cant really move much weight with those exercises so i would prefer to deadlift under very very strict form to hit those weaker back muscles and let them get a feel of the weight before i go throwing it up in my shoulder. having the weight in your hands with weak lower back is better than having the weight on your shoulders and squatting with a weak lower back; "better" is a relative term, none are good, just the "less risky" of the two evils.

Good point. I start my deadlifts a bit high because I also get a bit more weight up in that manner.. Any other lower back strengthening exercise tips? Stiff leg deadlifts may be good I'm thinking.

What do you guys eat in between meals as snacks and stuff.. On an unrelated note.

Postby DVSTT » February 26th, 2015, 5:01 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
b18b_turbo wrote:going under a smith machine is just going to have the same person try the same weight under a guided bar which can very easily cause damage. also, the weight is clearly too heavy, once form is compromised, the weight is too heavy. people like to go under the smith and lean back all their weight into the bar to carry up a heavy weight, this is a waste.....it cant compare to real squat form. strengthen the core and supporting muscles first. lower back is jus as important as leg muscles in a squat so strengthen that. im just stating what i have done personally and what worked for me, i do not recommend things that i have never tried and seen results.

Good point. I start my deadlifts a bit high because I also get a bit more weight up in that manner.. Any other lower back strengthening exercise tips? Stiff leg deadlifts may be good I'm thinking.

What do you guys eat in between meals as snacks and stuff.. On an unrelated note.

Banana, oats. Cassava, sweet potato, tuna, whey, peanut butter, almonds. I live on that stuff. Also oranges and Portugal for vit c

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 26th, 2015, 5:06 pm

DVSTT wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:

Banana, oats. Cassava, sweet potato, tuna, whey, peanut butter, almonds. I live on that stuff. Also oranges and Portugal for vit c

I hate the taste of tuna but it's so cheap and and high in protein.. Other than forcing it down my throat.. Yall do anything to make the taste a little better?

konartis

Postby konartis » February 26th, 2015, 5:38 pm

squeeze a little lime in the tuna, eat with crix....

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 26th, 2015, 5:42 pm

Lime juice, mayonnaise, black pepper, garlic powder and some cayenne powder. Tuna paste ftw

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » February 26th, 2015, 5:53 pm

ninjaboost wrote:
b18b_turbo, what do you recommend for calves? I really need them to grow

calves require extra mind-muscle connection to work them properly and they burn like hell when you work em properly. the key is to get a full stretch and a FULL contraction (pause and squeeze each rep) from each angle to work the calf muscles in a holistic way. change heel positions to work the inner and outer heads as well.

i personally like calf 21s

1st set - 7 reps heel out 7 heel back then 7 heel in
2nd set - 7 x heel in, 7 x heel out, 7 x heel back
3rd set - 7 heel back, 7 heel in, 7 heel out
4th set - 7 heel back, 7 heel out, 7 heel in

very slow reps, controlled reps, squeeze and stretch. i see peole doing seated calves with 3 45s on either side, when i use proper form and the above method, i feel extreme burn with just ONE 45 plate one ONE side.

also doing calf presses on the hack squat machine , facing the passing is amazing!

i hope this helps

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » February 26th, 2015, 5:55 pm

did someone say sh1t machine...the lolz

Postby DVSTT » February 26th, 2015, 6:13 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:

I hate the taste of tuna but it's so cheap and and high in protein.. Other than forcing it down my throat.. Yall do anything to make the taste a little better?

Means to an end bruh.

konartis

Postby konartis » February 26th, 2015, 6:19 pm

how much for a blender bottle now? lost mines at the gym...facking thieves....lol, it was a massive joes i got as a gift to! stupes...

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » February 27th, 2015, 1:44 am

man teefin man jootah now yes......

Postby dougla_boy » February 27th, 2015, 7:30 am

DVSTT wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:

Means to an end bruh.

try track recipe....tuna and some chow chow...lil garlic and pepper and a lil lime....it does cut....

sardines is lash too....wit a lil lime an pepper

Postby AllTrac » February 27th, 2015, 8:29 am

wah kindda sufferer gym you going dan?
i forgot my phone on one of the machines, went home, came back and got it at the front desk

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » February 27th, 2015, 8:51 am

AllTrac wrote:havent deadlifted in over 1 1/2 years, decided to give it a go yesterday, warmed up well, worked my way up to 455, on the 3rd rep i got a one way ticket to snap city free of charge by bad form and being an arsehole to not know when to stop, my right lower back is in so much pain, cant even breathe properly. First 2 reps was good, as soon as i started to pull the 3rd rep i could of felt my lower back starting to round on mid pull, should of dropped it then but didnt, then I felt something like when you crack your knuckles, thats when i dropped it. Yep, my stop, snap city. Dont be as stupid as op. Know your limits.

Bruh!!! Didn't you know after coming from at least a 1 month break from lifting activity, you're supposed to take it light with gradual increases? Or it had girls in d gym?

Postby AllTrac » February 27th, 2015, 9:03 am

wasnt ah month break bro, it was a break from deadlifting, but always did back workouts.
I doh need to showoff my lifts for girls, my pr1ck big already :lol:

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » February 27th, 2015, 3:34 pm

Just curious but do any of y'all follow a routine? Been training on an off for the past year and i never really have a set routine i just improvise a jam sesh every time. Mostly i do upper/lower body split or full body every other day. Kinda bored of that, might start doing bro splits.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 27th, 2015, 3:52 pm

Ive had the most fun with
Pull
Push
Legs

With the respective primary movements being 5x3
Deadlifts
Bench press
Squats