Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

drchaos

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby drchaos » January 13th, 2020, 11:44 pm

Anyone ever bring in corals stashed in your suitcase?

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » January 14th, 2020, 1:50 am

drchaos wrote:Anyone ever bring in corals stashed in your suitcase?
Tried once and got through a couple years ago.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 14th, 2020, 10:55 pm

Nice thanks!
Getting into the Hobby! Tank ordered should be here in 2 to 3 months
Got a 142 gallon tank on a anodized aluminium cabinet with a 26 gallon sump all plumbings included. Sort of like a a red sea reefer XXL 625 but diff make. Low iron glass and Rimless.

This is gonna be a really slow build! don't wanna break the bank. Once everything goes well will fill up and start cycling by early May. Will do fish only for 8 to 12 months then look into going with easy LPS and SPS. Trying to do a tank with little to no water changes. Will need to get a kick ass skimmer, possibly a roller mat filter and a macro algae refugium section. Will probably need to manually add my trace elements.

Will document my journey, any advice you guys have will be most appreciated. Already went to check the Godfather (aka Raj) for his blessings. That guy is amazing ... but trying to reverse out of his yard is a freaking nightmare :cry: dig up the under body of meh car ... Thank god his son was there to help.

Zim

Postby Zim » January 15th, 2020, 10:21 am

Congrats man. Sweeet size u getting. U wud have to do water changes any which way. If have access to youtube, check DIY Fishkeeper

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 15th, 2020, 5:08 pm

Zim wrote:Congrats man. Sweeet size u getting. U wud have to do water changes any which way. If have access to youtube, check DIY Fishkeeper

Thanks!
SO if the skimmer is taking out the poop, and the nitrates and phosphates being removed by the algae, the roller mat cleaning the water and im adding the trace elements.
Whats the need to do water changes? Is there anything im missing?

will check it out!

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 13th, 2020, 4:17 pm

drchoas that is correct once nitrates and phosphates do not reach high u good.

Postby meccalli » February 13th, 2020, 4:37 pm

Skimmers do not remove nitrates. You would need to look at a refugium or some sort of absorbent. The tried and true, is water exchange.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 16th, 2020, 11:13 am

the tank will have 26 gallon sump. Filter sock section which leads into one chamber for skimmer and then Refugium section.

Where can I get macro algae for the refugium? Also should I do Skimmer before refugium or otherway around?

Lastly buy the Sand and rock by Raj or barrel it down from the states?

daron

Postby daron » April 14th, 2020, 12:41 pm

Building a complete aquarium any recommendations on person who can build, want to go salt water length 8 feet
Somting like the attached
323 8418
Thanks
F1XUNNZILE2OMP4.LARGE.jpeg

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 11th, 2020, 2:59 pm

good day, trying to put together a nano reef tank, atm looking around for stone salt etc, lights, sand , tank etc....any suggestions or recommendations?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 6th, 2020, 12:24 am

PHOTO-2020-07-03-12-54-12.jpg
Tank is here!!! took longer than expected due to Covid.

should be out of the box and plumbing set up over the course of the week.

will send pictures once it up!

So far have a icecap Gyre 4k powerhead, and a Jebao DCP 8000 return pump. Have a skimmer and fuge light on the way.

Looking at high quality chinese LED's so will make a decision over the next month or so.

nsingh_tt

Postby nsingh_tt » July 21st, 2020, 8:40 am

Morning....looking for engineering goby anyone know who has any for sale looking for 2.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 26th, 2020, 12:01 am

Tank is up! Thanks to the amazing folks at central glass!
Took myself and 4 other fellars with 4 suction cups to get the damn thing out of the box and onto the stand.

Skimmer on the way bubble magus curve A8
Return pump Jebao dcp 8000
Refugium light lumini 80 watt
Icecap 4K gyre pump
Chiller is a 1/4 hp Kryos

Raj organizing me up with reef saver rock and sand.

Lights still looking at options.
81AEC18E-B2DD-4B88-BCD1-D8BDB5EF672F.jpeg
8266DD9F-E48E-4728-A007-0229BA7CE5CB.jpeg

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 30th, 2020, 12:20 am

7A3A8B42-8BD5-467E-AA11-3BCE4612836B.jpeg

Rock work and sand in!
Didn’t use super glue as pieces locked into place and was very stable. Hope that gets stronger once coraline algae starts to grow in.

May alter slightly before I fill the tank up.

Now time to make a sheit tonne of RODI water.
Need to make around 160 gallons of water. Should take 3 to 5 days.

Using Aquaforest sea salt mix
$500 for 200 gallons
Gonna try and mix salt in the tank once I fill.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 22nd, 2020, 3:00 pm

Anyone knows where I can get a bottle of vibrant?

Trinisteve

Postby Trinisteve » October 12th, 2020, 12:09 pm

Hey, anyone here keeping local corals or tried? Specifically from Trinidad. I would like to what your success has been like and water parameters if available.

Trinisteve

Postby Trinisteve » October 12th, 2020, 12:33 pm

drchaos wrote:Getting into the Hobby!

How about trying a local only tank? I think we have some awesome specimens locally that would be a welcome change to the cookie cutter reefs (ie. same fish, same coral) posted about the internet.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 18th, 2020, 11:06 pm

I think it maybe illegal to extract local corals. Otherwise should be fine.

THe biodiversity of pacific reefs tend to way more than Caribbean reefs. That being said there Caribbean species in the hobby ..... zoanthids, Arrow crabs and rock flower anenomies.

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » March 13th, 2023, 10:51 am

Hey folk, I inherited an aquarium (36"x18"x18"). I was thinking about a FOWLR with a pair of clownfish. My questions are:
1. Do I absolutely need a sump?
2. The aquarium will be placed in a room with an AC that's only used at night (23C), Will that mess with the water temp thereby stressing out the fish?

Postby meccalli » March 14th, 2023, 2:43 pm

shaha87 wrote:Hey folk, I inherited an aquarium (36"x18"x18"). I was thinking about a FOWLR with a pair of clownfish. My questions are:
2. The aquarium will be placed in a room with an AC that's only used at night (23C), Will that mess with the water temp thereby stressing out the fish?

They'll be fine with the temps, but you can keep most saltwater fish with saltwater and a sponge filter, including clowns. They do however would prefer an anemone or structure to retreat into. You absolutely, do not need a sump.

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » April 30th, 2023, 5:20 pm

meccalli wrote:
shaha87 wrote:Hey folk, I inherited an aquarium (36"x18"x18"). I was thinking about a FOWLR with a pair of clownfish. My questions are:

They'll be fine with the temps, but you can keep most saltwater fish with saltwater and a sponge filter, including clowns. They do however would prefer an anemone or structure to retreat into. You absolutely, do not need a sump.

I’ll be going with an oversized HOB filter for now til I can do a small sump setup. Thank you for the answer. More than likely I’ll be keeping just a pair of clowns and maybe expand in the future.