***The Official 2021 Formula 1 season thread***

Re: ***The Official 2020 Formula 1 season thread***

Postby Monk BANzai » December 2nd, 2020, 1:46 pm

Postby Ben_spanna » December 2nd, 2020, 2:48 pm

They had to replace Hamilton with someone, cant let anyone who has COVID race for the team.......

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 3rd, 2020, 11:46 pm

Why Russel is the choice to replace Hamilton for this race

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 4th, 2020, 1:40 pm

Russell tops First Practice. Excellent start. New car, new track, beats Bottas and Verstappen. Great start.

Postby Monk BANzai » December 4th, 2020, 3:05 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Why Russel is the choice to replace Hamilton for this race

scroll up yer nitwit....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2020, 3:08 pm

^ was reposting for emphasis lol

Russel fastest in Free Practice 2 also
11513983-b253-49ce-9986-d62ff4581b91.jpg

Postby teems1 » December 4th, 2020, 4:05 pm

Bottas had his fastest time deleted due to breaching track limits on turn 8.

He was outside by a thin margin. He's doing what he is supposed to these sessions and is testing the limits of the car on the track.

Come tomorrow for quali he'll be competing at the top.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 4th, 2020, 4:13 pm

... and fluffing the launch at lights out.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2020, 8:29 pm

2020 Sakhir Grand Prix: FP2 Highlights

Postby Monk BANzai » December 4th, 2020, 9:02 pm

teems1 wrote:Bottas had his fastest time deleted due to breaching track limits on turn 8.

He was outside by a thin margin. He's doing what he is supposed to these sessions and is testing the limits of the car on the track.

Come tomorrow for quali he'll be competing at the top.

I think the world would love to see Russell make a podium... but he's had next to zero experience dealing with defending a charging Max who will be looking for a first place...

I see him more fighting for 3rd, 4th or 5th with Albon and Checko while Max battles Bottas, That's assuming Sainz or Ricciardo doesn't slip through.

Either way its a glorious weekend for the lanky bastard.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 5th, 2020, 2:03 pm

Russell a couple hundredths off Bottas in his first weekend in the car...pretty much ends any debate about it not being the car.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 5th, 2020, 2:04 pm

Bottas on pole at Sakhir just ahead of George (0.026 seconds)

Postby Monk BANzai » December 5th, 2020, 2:16 pm

worksux101 wrote:Russell a couple hundredths off Bottas in his first weekend in the car...pretty much ends any debate about it not being the car.

my prev comments hold.. Russell has a lot to learn to drive that car fast in traffic..

Screenshot 2020-12-05 at 2.09.52 PM.png

Postby MG Man » December 5th, 2020, 2:45 pm

worksux101 wrote:Russell a couple hundredths off Bottas in his first weekend in the car...pretty much ends any debate about it not being the car.

Yeah let’s totally discount Russel as a driver with any shred of talent or history of wins and such

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 5th, 2020, 2:45 pm

Traffic doesn't matter much when you're always in the first couple rows and your engine allows you easily past anyone with DRS on a straight

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 5th, 2020, 2:48 pm

Yeah let’s totally discount Russel as a driver with any shred of talent or history of wins and such

More than half of the grid has the achievements he's had coming into f1. Be real, a guy in his 2nd year of f1 in his 2nd day in a new car can out qualify max and the rest of the field.

Postby bluefete » December 6th, 2020, 3:13 pm

I smell sabotage by Mercedes on Russell.

Sakhir Grand Prix: Sergio Perez claims maiden win as Mercedes error costs George Russell

https://www.bbc.com/sport/formula1/55209835

Sergio Perez wins for first time EVER after Lewis Hamilton's replacement George Russell suffers puncture having led Sakhir Grand Prix by eight seconds before pit-stop clanger

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/formu ... hrain.html

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 6th, 2020, 7:28 pm

2020 Sakhir Grand Prix: Race Highlights

Postby MG Man » December 7th, 2020, 8:16 am

worksux101 wrote:

More than half of the grid has the achievements he's had coming into f1. Be real, a guy in his 2nd year of f1 in his 2nd day in a new car can out qualify max and the rest of the field.

I mis-read your post...my bad
I agree...80% car, and there are 5, maybe 7 drivers on the grid who would be multiple WC in that car
Funny how when Seb had his 4, it was 'all car' but now it isn't

Postby Ben_spanna » December 7th, 2020, 8:29 am

worksux101 wrote:Traffic doesn't matter much when you're always in the first couple rows and your engine allows you easily past anyone with DRS on a straight

Exactly why Hamilton is the current Champion... hes is nowhere the greatest , hes just lucky to be the driver for mercedes... if MAx were in a merc, he would be unstoppable, if Vettel had landed the seat at mercedes years ago straight after being world champion 4 years in a row he would now have been the 10 year reigning Champion....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2020, 9:02 am

IMO
It’s man and machine. The race is as much against drivers as it is against engineers, sponsors, pit crews, principals, the entire team. The best then are the ones with the right combination to be on top. It takes the right combination of all these things to see 7 championships and 95 race wins.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2020, 9:09 am

LOL

f85912fa-75f8-4615-a43c-e995671f1302.jpg

Postby pete » December 7th, 2020, 10:35 am

Might not have been a race win but it was an AMAZING way to see how George would handle several situations in one weekend.

He got to:
1. Do a regular race start from P2
2. Safety car restart from the lead
3. Control the pace from the lead
4. Passing cars on track without incidents (including his teammate in the same car)

All with a seat that wasn't fitting properly and having to wear shoes that were too small.

He could not have had a better way to show what he's capable of and he's DEFINITELY shown how good he is.

Postby MG Man » December 7th, 2020, 10:59 am

anybody check on banzai? he ok?
Not seeing much F1 internet forum content that he can cut and paste to reinforce his point

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2020, 11:29 am

^ ditto

https://www.gpblog.com/en/news/74400/ma ... dhabi.html

I kinda hoping Abu Dhabi blocks Hamilton from racing just so Russel gets another chance

Postby pete » December 7th, 2020, 11:48 am

Based on the symptomatic cases we had in Trinidad and our earlier requirement that people test -ve before they were released from hospital, I don't think he will have a -ve PCR result so soon. Look at Ian Alleyne who was testing positive after a whole month (and who claimed he only had very mild symptoms at first).

Will Buxton who also had COVID says that he had brain fog complications long after he recovered as well. Lewis is quite a bit older than Lance and Sergio so may have a more severe experience. It's really unfortunate that someone he trusted enough to be in close contact with him didn't take the necessary precautions to avoid getting it and then went ahead and exposed him.

If he isn't fit to drive hopefully Williams will be ok with George doing another race with Mercedes and if he does get the opportunity I hope they can make whatever adjustments they need for George to fit in the car more comfortably.

Postby Monk BANzai » December 7th, 2020, 6:39 pm

MG Man wrote:anybody check on banzai? he ok?
Not seeing much F1 internet forum content that he can cut and paste to reinforce his point

lol...you seem upset... things shallow these days. COVID making cut and paste a challenge. Yuh shud join the Whatsapp group and drink the chessbunn like so many..no wait... yuh doh talk to half of dem fellas in dey..,crap...lol

Exactly why Hamilton is the current Champion... hes is nowhere the greatest , hes just lucky to be the driver for mercedes... if MAx were in a merc, he would be unstoppable, if Vettel had landed the seat at mercedes years ago straight after being world champion 4 years in a row he would now have been the 10 year reigning Champion....

Andre? is that yewww? lol.

Kinda disagree on Vettel. Vettel like Bottas now...heavily inconsistent since 2018. Level talk about "the best car" why the other manufacturers doh simply step up the way Honda been helping Redbull (Redbull allyuh save up allyuh pennies and buy out Honda's Property for 2022 nuh)? ohhh right... shucks..requires some R&D and money to go with it...like how Ferarri did years ago with Schumi...before Merc decided to join the fray.

*braces for the "oh Ferrari didnt have a winning/front row car back then blah blah black sheep diatribe. But Hamilcrei has been notoriously quiet since.

at the end of it all..we ALL wanted Russell to win like how the world wanted Obama to win in 2008. Checo is deserving of it and hahahahahahahahahaa now everyone is watching the lil mexican like "ferk...our racism is still showing huh... no drive for the brown boy in 2021"....

Bout "Copy and paste" ...stop holding on to old school concepts and policies on what determines "who is the greatest"...

oh how i wish Porsche and Audi were in F1 (the way they pwned LMP1/WEC and said..yawwnnn we've had enough). Put. In. The. Work. Dominate. Dont be a beyotch becuz you cant win.

*goes to look for midget porn.

*sidebar. ya'll need to keep an eye on F2 and Mazepin. Aggressive as ferk (mna collect two 5 second penalties weekend for blocking like Max.. im sure Max was blushing in erotics pleasure. ... the future is interesting when he gets his chance.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 7th, 2020, 8:03 pm

worksux101 wrote:

I mis-read your post...my bad
I agree...80% car, and there are 5, maybe 7 drivers on the grid who would be multiple WC in that car
Funny how when Seb had his 4, it was 'all car' but now it isn't

The ironic thing is, if we go by the 'all car' theory, Seb is significantly better than most recent champions, by virtue of his teammate never coming second in the championship and winning two of the closest titles in the last decade.

Agreed about the others...max, seb, leC, ricc, Perez and russell maybe

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 7th, 2020, 8:16 pm

pete wrote:Might not have been a race win but it was an AMAZING way to see how George would handle several situations in one weekend.

He got to:
1. Do a regular race start from P2
2. Safety car restart from the lead
3. Control the pace from the lead
4. Passing cars on track without incidents (including his teammate in the same car)

All with a seat that wasn't fitting properly and having to wear shoes that were too small.

He could not have had a better way to show what he's capable of and he's DEFINITELY shown how good he is.

Spot on. It was always clear Russell is very very quick - the question has always been can he race with the best, as in the williams he's always looked sketchy around other cars...in the absence of a strong teammate for reference and a shoddy aero package, noone could tell until now how he'd do, given his tendency to spin or slide once anywhere near someone's wake.

Fun personal experience...I did a Karting race with him in London a few years ago...was his second time on the track...I knew it like the back of my hand...in a 20 lap race he beat me by over 30 seconds...I came 2nd, sirotkin's (yall remember him?) cousin came 3rd. Russell lapped everyone else.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 7th, 2020, 8:47 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:
worksux101 wrote:Traffic doesn't matter much when you're always in the first couple rows and your engine allows you easily past anyone with DRS on a straight

Unpopular opinion maybe, and I don't like the guy's attitude at all...but on raw pace, I think Max may be one of the fastest ever. Agreed with u fully