No water from Jan 14th-24th ** Affected Areas Posted **

playerskrew

No water from Jan 14th-24th ** Affected Areas Posted **

Postby playerskrew » January 7th, 2013, 7:27 pm

Heard some ppl saying they saw it in the papers or something to that extent...
January 15th-24th no water in San Fernando area anybody else hear anything about this ??
Just got this email...
001.jpg

002.jpg

003.jpg

004.jpg
Last edited by playerskrew on January 10th, 2013, 11:54 am, edited 4 times in total.

veedubtt

Re: No water from 15th-24th in San'do ???

Postby veedubtt » January 7th, 2013, 7:35 pm

i heard the desal plant will be down around that time.

Postby Gem_in_i » January 7th, 2013, 7:36 pm

It was in newspapers abt 2wks ago.
Not just San Fernando but a few other areas were listed.

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2013, 7:39 pm

I heard it's from the 1st-foreverth OP, the end is near.

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2013, 7:41 pm

One really has to wonder how de arse a country rich in fresh water reserves of good quality and surrounded with brackish water could suffer a water shortage.
This place in a mess yes.

Thankfully some genius connect our line to another nearby one that never seems to run dry so I have my fingers crossed that I wont be affected.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 7th, 2013, 7:42 pm

catch rain water from now :|

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2013, 7:48 pm

nervewrecker wrote:One really has to wonder how de arse a country rich in fresh water reserves of good quality and surrounded with brackish water could suffer a water shortage.

Thankfully some genius connect our line to another nearby one that never seems to run dry so I have my fingers crossed that I wont be affected.

notaffected

Move to the developed parts of the island

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2013, 7:52 pm

nervewrecker wrote:One really has to wonder how de arse a country rich in fresh water reserves of good quality and surrounded with brackish water could suffer a water shortage.

notaffected
Move to the developed parts of the island

next "drought" I will hear you sing a next song :mrgreen:

Once nobody divert water from that line I will sing your same song "notaffected" :lol:

In all fairness you "notaffected" ones waste a lot of water and cost taxpayers quite a pretty penny to exploit our saline / brackish water reserves to fill the void :|

Russellgold

Postby Russellgold » January 7th, 2013, 8:03 pm

som say ,its gona be out fuh 2weeks in san'do side

Re: No water from Jan 15th-24th in San'do ???

Postby 1UZFE » January 7th, 2013, 9:21 pm

Problems like these dont exist in the West..

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » January 7th, 2013, 9:48 pm

Sabriel wrote:Price of water tanks gon be affected...

Already affected. Since this morning...

Postby black start » January 7th, 2013, 11:40 pm

Russellgold wrote:som say ,its gona be out fuh 2weeks in san'do side

rumours be spreading

Postby turbosingh » January 8th, 2013, 6:51 am

Currently Hardwares are almost out of tanks!

Postby hydroep » January 8th, 2013, 7:18 am

LOL...The supply will be rationed, not "out"...:lol:

People does panic for nothing yes.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 8th, 2013, 10:00 am

Notaffected

price of a 400 gallon tank went up to 630ish from 499 tho

Postby nemisis » January 8th, 2013, 10:12 am

If you now buying a tank and living south then you deserve to get your eye dig out! It's years now wasa playing d arse with people water supply most persons should have two tanks in their yards already.

Postby nervewrecker » January 8th, 2013, 11:35 am

thelem wrote:

1. Not all water is good water. e.g Most Well water has too much of a high iron content making it un-treatable.

Im pretty sure the costs of RO exceed that of aeration, precipitation, coagulation and filtration.

2. And also DESAL provides a good percentage of the country's water. If its down, its obvious that the central to southern parts of the country would be affected.

3. Most if not all areas south and central even north will be affected. It was in the papers,

4. People exaggerating. Its not a matter of no water. Its just a change in schedules.

Yea desal puts quite a bit into the grid but at what cost? Should our freshwater reserves (surface) be maintained we might not have had to turn to desalination on such a large scale. Nobody is saying a few package plants can be located here and there to surface some rural areas that the caroni treatment plant and whatever groundwater reserves can service.

There are countries so far inland and some without any groundwater reserves and they manage fine. Whats our problem?
If out distro system was a proper network, not ridden with leaks and people didnt waste so much there might not be so much panic and worrying.

Postby De Dragon » January 8th, 2013, 11:48 am

Desal was conceptualized as a means to provide water to the Point lisas Industrial Estate and free up the existing supply to the country. Their being down means that some of the normal supply will be diverted to the Estate.

kemraj

Postby kemraj » January 8th, 2013, 9:08 pm

From a topic on my site i taught it was only for the area of Tabaquite but i now seeing its all over, btw Tabaquite will be affected for 3 weeks. This is bull sheit. http://www.trinifans.com/wasa-cutting-w ... t3215.html

Postby TRAE » January 8th, 2013, 9:29 pm

dem go wait till rainy season done to do this sh!t... wdmc does really be going on jed---- i hadda run out and buy flapping tank now

kemraj

Postby kemraj » January 8th, 2013, 9:38 pm

I don't mind 1 week but 3 stinking weeks, how they doing this is it 2-3 weeks completely without water or at intervals?

Postby TRAE » January 8th, 2013, 9:46 pm

meh cousin say it go be more like 9 days and yuh might get water once or twice

GoS

Postby GoS » January 8th, 2013, 9:51 pm

how would i live my car would actually be dirty noooooooooooo " goes to buy all the tank by sws"

kemraj

Postby kemraj » January 8th, 2013, 9:58 pm

If wasa used to fix all their leaks when people report them in a timely manner and not weeks then i would understand this but they are telling people to take this time to learn to conserve water is hog wash.

Postby pioneer » January 9th, 2013, 12:32 am

woah kemraj

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 9th, 2013, 12:42 am

Just a heads up prices (factory) are set to raise on tanks..

Well rotoplastics tanks.

kevcam

Postby kevcam » January 9th, 2013, 10:14 am

Water woes across T'dad

10-day shutdown of desal plants from January 15

SEVERAL areas across the country will be left without a steady supply of pipe-borne water as a result of the shutdown of two major desalination plants later this month.

Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA) head of corporate communications Ellen Lewis said yesterday maintenance works are expected to be carried out on the Navet and Caroni desalination plants, hence the reason for the shutdown.

The shutdown will take place from January 15 to 24. A press release from WASA stated the shutdown was also part of WASA's Regional Dry Season Plan.

The plan will involve "re-allocation of supply from the Caroni Water Treatment Plant, managed diversion of supplies from other production facilities to supplement supply to certain areas of North, Central and South Trinidad, introduction of temporary supply schedules, system of storage at critical service reservoirs, increase in level of water trucking, leak management and system upgrades".

WASA has asked that consumers reduce water consumption, address leakage problems, and have a back-up supply of water.

Areas to be affected in South-East Trinidad will include St Julien, Hindustan, St Mary's, Buen Intento, Piparo, Mayo, Tableland, Malgretoute, Princes Town, Rio Claro, Brickfield, Tabaquite, Ben Lomond and Williamsville.

In the South-Western district, Cocoyea, Corinth, Ste Madeleine, Barrackpore, Rochard Road, Rock Road, Reform, Mon Stewart, Penal, Debe, La Fortune, Woodland, Gulf View, La Romaine, Phillipine, Palmiste, Duncan Village, Rousillac, La Brea, Vance River, Square Deal, Sobo, Vessigney, Union, Siparia, Erin, Robert Hill, Avocat, Fyzabad, Thick Village will be affected.

In the South-Central zone, water supply will be interrupted in Caroni, St Helena, Cunupia, Felicity, Las Lomas, Chaguanas, Carapichaima, Claxton Bay, Marabella, Gasparillo, Vistabella, Tarouba, San Fernando.

And in the North, Champs Fleurs, Santa Cruz, Cascade and Morvant will be inconvenienced.

Truck-borne water will be supplied to these areas during this period.

The desalination plants are owned by the Desalination Company of Trinidad and Tobago Limited (DESALCOTT).

Attempts to contact DESALCOTT yesterday were futile.

Anyone wishing to get in contact with WASA can call 800-4420 or 800-4426

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Wat ... 05041.html

Postby nervewrecker » January 9th, 2013, 3:53 pm

dragon and thelem missed my point completely.

anyways, pressure to buss line here. All 7 tanks filled....

Postby Ted_v2 » January 9th, 2013, 5:25 pm

nervewrecker wrote:dragon and thelem missed my point completely.

I know who I coming by for some water when mines finished

4 tanks here

Postby De Dragon » January 9th, 2013, 9:11 pm

nervewrecker wrote:dragon and thelem missed my point completely.

What point was that?