if so lemme kno

carluva

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby carluva » December 1st, 2018, 9:42 pm

tardissubie wrote:
X_Factor wrote:amazon has the anova for 64$
awesome price
That's the nano. Bought it gonna collect this week and the reviews look good. Will advise

Anyone know about the wood pellets?

Wood pellets for what? Smoking? What kinda smoker you using them in?

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 1st, 2018, 10:15 pm

Trying out the vege life again...made mean vege soups in crock pot......olive oil chopped garlic simmer with black pepper touch of golden ray grate potato pumpkin tomato carrots . Evap milk.....drizzle over mash potatoes

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » December 2nd, 2018, 12:17 am

carluva wrote:
tardissubie wrote:
X_Factor wrote:amazon has the anova for 64$
awesome price
That's the nano. Bought it gonna collect this week and the reviews look good. Will advise

Anyone know about the wood pellets?

Wood pellets for what? Smoking? What kinda smoker you using them in?
Wood pellets for smoking and/or fuel...have an experiment I want to try

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2018, 7:46 am

What size pellets you need ?
I have wood for smoking I can cut for you

carluva

Postby carluva » December 2nd, 2018, 9:17 am

^^^ better to use the wood chunks for fuel and smoking. If you are referring to the wood pellets i think you are, those are more life compressed wood shavings. Think like mdf board for smoking. They will burn fast and hot if placed on direct heat. Better to use the wood chunks or wood for smoking.

carluva

Postby carluva » December 2nd, 2018, 9:18 am

pugboy wrote:What size pellets you need ?
I have wood for smoking I can cut for you

What kind wood you have pugboy? You have extra that you can spare me?

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2018, 9:25 am

Plenty
Let me know how you want it cut

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » December 2nd, 2018, 10:04 am

Thing ready for seasoning
20181130_101556.jpeg

Postby X_Factor » December 2nd, 2018, 12:22 pm

what kinda meat is that?

Postby meccalli » December 2nd, 2018, 12:33 pm

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2018, 12:58 pm

Any local studies of local tattoo harboring the bacteria ?

carluva

Postby carluva » December 2nd, 2018, 1:08 pm

pugboy wrote:Plenty

What kind of wood?

Where can i get it?

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2018, 1:15 pm

orange and hickory
woodbrook,
needs to be cut though so let me know size

carluva wrote:

What kind of wood?

Where can i get it?

Postby meccalli » December 2nd, 2018, 1:27 pm

pugboy wrote:Any local studies of local tattoo harboring the bacteria ?

Not that I'm aware of, but it's not a stretch to imagine with the amount of wildlife that drifts across here from the mainland that at least a minority population of positive carriers are extant locally.

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » December 2nd, 2018, 1:49 pm

pugboy wrote:orange and hickory
woodbrook,

carluva wrote:

What kind of wood?

Where can i get it?
Looking more for that which went through the pelletizing process but thank you for the offer!

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2018, 2:45 pm

Unlikely to find locally as wood pellets tend to be made specifically for use in pellet smokers

tardissubie wrote:
pugboy wrote:orange and hickory
woodbrook,

carluva wrote:

What kind of wood?

Where can i get it?
Looking more for that which went through the pelletizing process but thank you for the offer!

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » December 4th, 2018, 12:39 am

X_Factor wrote:what kinda meat is that?
Rabbit, made a nice curry stew

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » December 4th, 2018, 12:39 am

Baby back ribs in an amaretto bbq sauce
20181203_190643.jpeg

Bandicoot

BBQ sauce

Postby Bandicoot » December 4th, 2018, 1:27 am

Looking for someone who knows how to make Max Grill barbecue sauce. If it wasn't for that sauce I wouldn't be so addicted. Anyone know how to make anything approaching that? At least halfway as good. I tired wasting ingredients on things that coming out barely edible from american websites. Rather eat the chicken dry.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 4th, 2018, 1:38 pm

I on a 50/50 matouks/hickory Kraft mix with fresh seasoning, a shot of rum, dash of bitters. Simmer with some Bayleaves in it. And some Caribbean flavors jerk seasoning..

I find it does lash.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 4th, 2018, 1:56 pm

I do a "raw" sauce that thickens more when baking/bbqing.

Seasonings/flavour depends on the meat and what I want to bring out.

Base sauce
Matouks ketchup, brown sugar, worcestershire sauce, a splash of yellow mustard, lime juice, grated ginger, finely minced onion, pimentos, maybe some green pepper.

Finel minced Green Seasonings are added to the base with ratios adjusted depending on meat.
Chadon beni, oregano, thyme, chives, rosemary, mint.

Then for some added sneaky flavours, i put a pinch or two of weird things to the batch - just to tickle the tastebuds and add some mystery. Not all at once! Garam Masala, Geera, Curry powder, cinnamon, fivespice etc

Bonus option. Add a splash of rum or red wine, depending on your flavour profile.

Now is when you'd add salt and black pepper to taste.

NO cooking necessary, it's usually thick AF and the brown sugar makes it sticky when cooked. Timing of the sauce is important. This sauce works best with low and slow cooking.

Postby De Dragon » December 4th, 2018, 2:03 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I do a "raw" sauce that thickens more when baking/bbqing.

Seasonings/flavour depends on the meat and what I want to bring out.

Base sauce
Matouks ketchup, brown sugar, worcestershire sauce, a splash of yellow mustard, lime juice, grated ginger, finely minced onion, pimentos, maybe some green pepper.

Finel minced Green Seasonings are added to the base with ratios adjusted depending on meat.
Chadon beni, oregano, thyme, chives, rosemary, mint.

Then for some added sneaky flavours, i put a pinch or two of weird things to the batch - just to tickle the tastebuds and add some mystery. Not all at once! Garam Masala, Geera, Curry powder, cinnamon, fivespice etc

Bonus option. Add a splash of rum or red wine, depending on your flavour profile.

Now is when you'd add salt and black pepper to taste.

NO cooking necessary, it's usually thick AF and the brown sugar makes it sticky when cooked. Timing of the sauce is important. This sauce works best with low and slow cooking.

Like yuh peep at meh sauce! :lol: :lol:
Only thing is added to base sauce is a Stag, or two, sesame oil and bitters :wink:

Postby meccalli » December 4th, 2018, 7:50 pm

KENTUCKYBBQSAUCE
INGREDIENT QUANTITY
Ketchup (Hei nz brand) 300g
Cider vinegar 60g
Brown sugar 50g
Molasses 30g
Pineapple juice (fresh) 30g
Bourbon (Wild Turkey) 25g
Bacon fat 8g
Worcestershire sauce 5g
Unsalted butter 8g
Bourbon (Wi ld Turkey) 20g
Lemon juice to taste
Salt to taste
SCALING
100%
20%
17%
10 %
10%
8.5%
2.7%
2%
2.7%
6.7%
Yie lds300g
PROCEDURE
CD Mix in heavy-bottom pot.
0 Simmer, st irrin g frequently to prevent sticking,
until reduced to 300 g, about 15 min.
® Blend into warm mixture until fully emulsified.
@) Season sauce, and refrigerate.

NORTH CAROLINA (EASTERN REGION)
BBQSAUCE Yields250g
INGREDIENT QUANTITY
Cider vinegar 200g
Distilled white vinegar 200g
Maple syrup 30g
Chili flakes lOg
Black pepper, ground 3g
Sugar 5g
Salt to taste
We like our BBQ sauce spicy, and the
North Carolina sauce has a definite kick
to it. For a milder flavor, reduce the chi li
flakes and black pepper by half.
SCALING PROCEDURE
100% CD Mix in heavy-bottom pot.
100% 0 Simmer, stirring frequently to prevent sticking,
15.5% until reduced to 250 g, about 20 min.
5%
1.5%
3%
® Season sauce, and refrigerate.

2 of the simpler bbq sauces from modernist cuisine.
Personally as a rule, I like honey, molasses , mustard, and lime juice as my elements to tweak in any sauce.

Postby shogun » December 4th, 2018, 7:55 pm

Mmmm Ribs.

Gonna take a swipe at that sauce as well. Now trying to hone meh grilling skills.

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » December 7th, 2018, 3:43 pm

You guys have a preferred place for meats? Fresh/frozen?

carluva

Postby carluva » December 7th, 2018, 5:04 pm

I buy halal. So my options are a bit limited for choice cuts.

I buy fresh goat at Tarouba.

Chicken varies, sometimes fresh from a depot or chilled from the supermarket.

Fish is fresh from a fishman. Shrimps too. Sometimes if I want big shrimp and plenty i will go the the wholesale fish depot at 4am on a saturday. Tend to get good deals.

Only eat lamb leg, so i will buy that in grocery, bone in or boneless. Will cook whole. Sometimes ask the grocery to cut for stew or curry. Dont like lamb chops from shoulder as they too fatty. If i want chops, will have a whole leg sliced into chops.

Turkey, frozen.

Pork i dont consume.

Beef is usually frozen or chilled from grocery and whatever choice cuts (steak, ribs etc) i can get halal at grocery.

I know blooms sells a wide variety of choice cuts, but does anyone know if they have halal as well? That would be perfect for me.

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » December 8th, 2018, 3:17 am

They have some halal options and couple years ago were the best pricewise but not sure if prices are still the best

Postby *KRONIK* » December 8th, 2018, 7:35 am

carluva wrote:I buy halal. So my options are a bit limited for choice cuts.

I buy fresh goat at Tarouba.

Chicken varies, sometimes fresh from a depot or chilled from the supermarket.

Fish is fresh from a fishman. Shrimps too. Sometimes if I want big shrimp and plenty i will go the the wholesale fish depot at 4am on a saturday. Tend to get good deals.

Only eat lamb leg, so i will buy that in grocery, bone in or boneless. Will cook whole. Sometimes ask the grocery to cut for stew or curry. Dont like lamb chops from shoulder as they too fatty. If i want chops, will have a whole leg sliced into chops.

Turkey, frozen.

Pork i dont consume.

Beef is usually frozen or chilled from grocery and whatever choice cuts (steak, ribs etc) i can get halal at grocery.

I know blooms sells a wide variety of choice cuts, but does anyone know if they have halal as well? That would be perfect for me.
Same situation with me
Halal choices are limited.

Blooms does have halal stuff sometimes
They does advertise it on FB.

Check yuh pm