The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

SRASC

Re: Google Maps *HELPING T&T OUT*

Postby SRASC » September 5th, 2010, 11:28 am

I've noticed that Google is using the data from the Map Maker maps nowadays. Unfortunately they are still using the same > 3 year old image data & probably as a result, the same misaligned road data.

Postby SUPAstarr » September 5th, 2010, 12:32 pm

yup, its pretty frustratin

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 12th, 2010, 11:06 pm

Hmph...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » November 12th, 2010, 11:38 pm

Google like they slowly but surely takin us off d map

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » November 13th, 2010, 1:20 am

sad. hate on how the road prints a some degrees off mark too

Postby SUPAstarr » December 19th, 2010, 5:41 pm

those white bits are missin tiles of the image, its bein updated, very slow process tho

Postby M_2NR » January 18th, 2011, 1:07 am

trinidad gain some size oui. :|

Google real effing up yes... and bing not any better :(

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 27th, 2011, 9:26 am

Maybe we need to flood them with reports again yes.

Postby M_2NR » January 27th, 2011, 3:46 pm

stueps... we not big enough for them yes

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 27th, 2011, 6:36 pm

^^thaz probably why they making us bigger

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 29th, 2011, 10:44 am

well at least that problem is solved.

Remember you can add to the local database at http://mapmaker.google.com

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 29th, 2011, 3:46 pm

Noice!

Postby Stephon. » January 29th, 2011, 3:57 pm

Nice, more people needs to get onto this, at least google maps on our devices wont be totally useless.

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » January 29th, 2011, 4:05 pm

yea they installed a new google earth plugin everytime you go to maps but the road tracing still off by some degrees

Postby M_2NR » January 29th, 2011, 4:40 pm

i using z's map in xgps... but mayaro was in a mess... i guess when i bored ill sort there out...

rossi

Postby rossi » January 29th, 2011, 8:17 pm

So I checked out http://mapmaker.google.com
What about adding names to roads?? I know about adding a road but what if the road is there and it doesn't have a name?

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2011, 2:28 pm

well... add it :| if you know the name of the road put it... if not... load up the old google maps and check it?
;)

rossi

Postby rossi » January 30th, 2011, 4:45 pm

that's the thing. The roads are already there..unnamed. I just wanted to know how to name them and the edit function not very helpful.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 31st, 2011, 10:15 am

For the record, since this thread/Map Maker input started the data has been added into the primary Google Maps/Earth database. Unfortunately the almost 4 year old, cloud covered imagery & misaligned road data still is there with no immediate signs of changing.
Google has made a new app that informs you when an imagery update is done in an area of interest. Check it out here:
http://followyourworld.appspot.com/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 1st, 2011, 3:32 pm

From the Google Earth Sightseer Newsletter (February 2011) (obviously late since its March)

So what kind of "High Resolution Satellite Update" did Trinidad & Tobago receive?

I'm not making that up. Wow.

Here's the imagery update file (to use with Google Earth).

And the wait continues...

Postby SUPAstarr » March 1st, 2011, 3:43 pm

i have notice that in google earth somtimes at the bottom you can see a difference in the date on the image when you get closer down, the closer photos are more recently dated

Postby M_2NR » March 1st, 2011, 3:53 pm

SRASC wrote:For the record, since this thread/Map Maker input started the data has been added into the primary Google Maps/Earth database. Unfortunately the almost 4 year old, cloud covered imagery & misaligned road data still is there with no immediate signs of changing.
Google has made a new app that informs you when an imagery update is done in an area of interest. Check it out here:

thanks for this... just did POS.

and :rofl: @ that update. I bet that's for certain boats passing there... :shock:

out of the whole of Trinidad... THERE?!

In case anyone want to see the post... its here

side note: SRASC... apparently they left the find function out of 3GS' :(

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » March 1st, 2011, 7:00 pm

Being the person who started this thread... Y didnt i get notifications that all these ppl left messages here? I havent gotten a notification about this thread for very long. My xgps mas i posted a while back has long bbeen outdated and i would love to update them but i cant remember the program i used to download them.. Also im a mac user now an it was a windows program.. Goin to do some research tonight to see what i coudl do. Any one else have ideas?

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » March 2nd, 2011, 12:58 am

SUPAstarr...bess I put some data in google, what you say?

Postby SUPAstarr » March 2nd, 2011, 8:35 am

DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET, google will have to pay yuh when yuh done

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2011, 2:40 pm

i tried to add Boundary Extension Rd. in San Juan in order to add my workplace but its giving an error

Failed to create feature
Error - this line overlaps with an existing Road. Please zoom in or draw longer lines

EDIT: OK I used the Find near this point option & the markers for the roads appeared- added a couple names - Boundary Ext. Rd, Ramlochan St. and Abdool-Ghany St. so someone can approve them

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2011, 4:42 pm

im using gmapmaker -it was going good for a few hrs but this morning is like it stick at whatever % each connection was at- is it because google ban me for dloading too much maps- im dloading road map & satellite data

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 10th, 2011, 9:09 pm

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » May 11th, 2011, 5:50 am

not cool!

Oh, Zcrugby, how do you propose the handling of uploading the changes in roadway in the el soccorro/aranguez/grand bazar area?

I was thinking of using my GPS plotter and doing some driving around to trace the roads ( I have the time to kill - I'm on vacation) and then uploading to the mapmaker with your help.

Let me know your thoughts...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 11th, 2011, 10:15 am

Its been a while since I last checked out Google Map Maker. In the time since though Google contacted me & zcrugby (as far as we know) about our work done so far. I'd like to think others also got contacted.
Anyway a reason why I sort of stalled was because of my own limited knowledge of locations of places, etc in certain areas but mostly cloud cover in the places I do still want/have to map. Now looking it over & there are at least 112 edits to be reviewed/approved.
I think its that time again that we may have to send another barrage complaints to Google about updating the imagery. As we know, and saxman642 noted in part, since the last update in 2007/2008 the Trinidad road network has changed quite a bit on the east/west corridor.
This link will lead you directly to where you have to post your report. (Updated first post in this thread)

Just a reminder: Don't forget that Google has an app that informs you of changes in areas of your choosing as far as imagery updates. Can find that here

Also when mapping a building/location, use the appropriate tools to mark the area of the building rather than just the point, as shown here
(A Google rep may or may not request that you do so anyway so its just a time saver)