The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 26th, 2010, 10:32 am

pretty cool man... i wonder wen this will become available to the public... how long have you had these maps?

Postby SUPAstarr » April 26th, 2010, 10:43 am

no clue boi, this link was added to our servers about 8months ago

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » April 26th, 2010, 10:47 am

wow alot of long ass post to read here anyhow the google maps work fine on my blackberry most of the time it's dead on...IPHONE SUCKS A$$ :lol: :lol: :lol: Duane doh ban meh :mrgreen:

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 26th, 2010, 10:57 am

eekipoo wrote:wow alot of long ass post to read here anyhow the google maps work fine on my blackberry most of the time it's dead on...IPHONE SUCKS A$$ :lol: :lol: :lol: Duane doh ban meh :mrgreen:

you are talking about satellite view arent you? because this is a problem with the google map database itself not the iphone so every google map publicly available has this error.. evn on maps.google.com... if you read the long ass posts you will see we are talkin bout the road map bein misaligned... can you show us a picture of what you mean

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 26th, 2010, 1:07 pm

does anyone know how i can concert a map.img file to a map.db file to work in xgps on the iphone?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 27th, 2010, 2:35 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:this is one of our personal trackin devices the co sticks to me. Usually google gives the options you see in my screen shot of MAP SATELLITE HYBRID, what ever link or piece of codin that was added to our software gave us the second MAP choice at the end of the top right menu

IVE FOUND IT..... YAY... Now just time to figure out how to point my gps aplication on my iphone to use this server instead... no clue how im goin to do that.. will post the link later for your pleasures... heres a teaser... as you can see its the same data as SUPAstars map except i put it in hybrid mode... Image

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 27th, 2010, 2:37 pm

WOW i even seein NAPA there...lol

Postby SUPAstarr » April 27th, 2010, 2:45 pm

how yuh find eeeet

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 27th, 2010, 3:01 pm

with determination...

Postby SUPAstarr » April 27th, 2010, 3:09 pm

yuh bastard :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: PEEEE EMMMMMMM

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 27th, 2010, 3:15 pm

lol.... i will... just playin around with it a little first ;)... pretty cool.. but yes its unfinished... doesnt have street names for my area :( looking into addin the names atm.. will pm later tonight as after work i gots rugby...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 27th, 2010, 3:40 pm

does anyone no of a program to download maps from a specific site.. i think i came across one recently but cant remember it

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 27th, 2010, 3:56 pm

OMG even has sum directions.. although i must say who ever made the directions went up the road by the stadium for no reason.. lol

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 27th, 2010, 3:57 pm

infact i now see wat they did.. who ever did it obviously didnt mark that road comin out of movie town as a one way (as it is isnt it) so it maped it as going through there instead of usin the long a** traffic lights.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 28th, 2010, 8:17 am

ok people.. the map is basically a user edited map from google that allows us all to add whatever we want an then its moderated an added if found to be accurate.. id like all of you to help in coompletting this map.. im adding my neighbourhoods details right now.. itll take some time but we will beable to get it done if we all work on it. its worth it people.. it eevn has directions to places u think it wont have (ie. like from rampanalgas to granville) lol thats a LONGGG route.. please every one chip in.. even add your businesses, sports clubc, parks, bars, clubs, churches schools ANYTHING you want you can add.. you can even hlp in moderating for you people who wanna be like duane ;) the site is www.google.com/mapmaker have fun.. im enquiring about being able to use this map on other devices... of course u can jus navigate to this site with your phone (but i tried it an its very buggy) in safari on the iphone.. ill try it on opera wen i get a chance...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 28th, 2010, 1:33 pm

myself an SRASC have been working hold day adding lots of info to the map.. if youll no of any one ways, places of interests, schools, just about anything, please add it, or ask us to add it an explain where it is so we can get these maps complted, u can even add ur house address so in the future directions to that address can be made within google maps.

Postby SUPAstarr » April 28th, 2010, 1:38 pm

If you kno how long ago i submitted our company, im glad to finally see it on the map, good to see their updatin progress is movin along finally. i didnt kno it was this map we were using all de time though :oops:

aidan

Postby aidan » April 28th, 2010, 2:00 pm

bump. lodged complaint!

aidan

Postby aidan » April 28th, 2010, 2:07 pm

zscrugby, how to go about adding stuff to the map? and where will it be viewable? I currently using mGmaps on a S60 nokia, and download google maps from http://www.mapcacher.com/ to use offline. but i get the same misaligned problem, however is good enough to get an idea of the roads. u gots an aliged map?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 28th, 2010, 2:44 pm

just go on the google.com/mapmaker site and follow the instructions to add stuff.. and SUPAstar i was approving alot of info on the map today so maybe i approved urs aswell. and i must say SRASC added ALOT of info to the map.. hope to see other follow.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » April 28th, 2010, 2:49 pm

this is a nice projoct for us to work on, i did some stuff the other dau on it and i must say i like it...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 28th, 2010, 2:53 pm

kes_vtec wrote:this is a nice projoct for us to work on, i did some stuff the other dau on it and i must say i like it...

i agree.. this is my new hobby and will be adding as much info as i can.. i have just contacted a few people who manage a few sites that allow for downloading of maps and asked them if they can add this map data to there site.. im awaiting a response.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 28th, 2010, 2:58 pm

dont forget to do some moderating aswell as your info has to be aproved by someone else in order to be added, a tip will be to add trinidad as a neighbourhood and u cud just see all the moderations that have to be done an you can go through it an moderate. i saw a few that were added since 2008 an were pending approval still..so yea dont just add without moderating.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 28th, 2010, 3:06 pm

if possible also.. who ever is doin some editing can you let us no wat ur user name is in the mapmaker so we could just no who is adding wat? thnks,, im zscrugby over there aswell

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 28th, 2010, 3:46 pm

zscrugby wrote:ill try it on opera wen i get a chance...

One of Opera for the iPhone's downfalls is rendering pages & Map Maker is no different. You're better off doing this on your desktop/laptop/netbook.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 29th, 2010, 10:27 am

i believe i found a way to download the maps.. cant try now tho cause im at work.. hope it works..but the next problem will be how to convert it to what ever format we need it to be.. the xgps app i use uses a .db file. thatll be the last hurdle to get over once the download works. any other formats i shud look in to? who needs wat formats...

aidan

Postby aidan » April 29th, 2010, 8:38 pm

zscrugby,is there a java based xgps?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » April 29th, 2010, 8:43 pm

No clue. Guna try to download tge map in a few mins

zcrugby

Re: Google Maps *HELPING T&T OUT*

Postby zcrugby » May 25th, 2010, 8:12 am

still workin on this ppl.. we have mad LOTS of progress filling out the maps im still lookin for a way to use these maps. SUPAstar do you see the updates on the system you use?

Re: Google Maps *HELPING T&T OUT*

Postby SUPAstarr » May 25th, 2010, 8:20 am

Yea i have actually, especially in North Western end, a lot details have been verified and added, an im glad to see it, but the remote areas is where it is needed most. Also there is a big error in maraval, where the road splits to head to maracas, they messed that whole bit up, morne coc rd should be a major rd headin over the valley an the north coast road is way off what they hav, i'll post screen shots from my trackin