TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

this is how we do it.......

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

User avatar
idlemind
punchin NOS
Posts: 3329
Joined: August 15th, 2005, 9:22 am
Location: (-(     )+)

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby idlemind » March 19th, 2013, 10:30 am

It may be suggesting the PBR if other Waze users are taking that route.
Every evening Waze wants to send me down Charlotte Street or another mystery street between Richmond and Wrightson road.

On another note I tried the Toco navigation with Waze this weekend.
It doesnt work as good as NavPhone does. Waze basically shows one main road all the way.
Il stick with my initial claim...Waze only good once you have net access, now even with simple navigation.

User avatar
wheelbarrow
Riding on 17's
Posts: 1336
Joined: September 26th, 2009, 3:53 pm
Location: 10.659216, -61.501744

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby wheelbarrow » March 19th, 2013, 10:53 am

jm3 wrote:
wheelbarrow wrote:Is there a way to stop Waze from suggesting the bus route as ah route. Whole morning Waze telling meh to pass there... :x

i will take a look at the turn permissions which areas was it telling you to turn onto it? could you do an error report if it does it again


I was leaving Piarco to head to SBCS Champs Fleurs and it told me to go up orange grove road and den shoot down the bus route.

When I passed orange grove and checked for alternative routes it told me again to go down the bus route.

Ah leaving Champs Fleurs now to go Arima now and it sending back up the bus route. :-?

User avatar
Duane 3NE 2NR
Admin
Posts: 22829
Joined: March 24th, 2003, 10:27 am
Location: T&T
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 19th, 2013, 11:41 am

idlemind wrote:It may be suggesting the PBR if other Waze users are taking that route.
Every evening Waze wants to send me down Charlotte Street or another mystery street between Richmond and Wrightson road.

On another note I tried the Toco navigation with Waze this weekend.
It doesnt work as good as NavPhone does. Waze basically shows one main road all the way.
Il stick with my initial claim...Waze only good once you have net access, now even with simple navigation.
"When crowd sourcing grows up, it becomes mass participation."

Waze will not get better if you don't use it. It's accuracy and effectiveness is based on the input of the users, so the more users using it more often and inputting data the better it will become.

User avatar
pete
3NE 2NR Moderator
Posts: 9735
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 1:19 pm
Location: Cruisin around in da GTi
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby pete » March 19th, 2013, 12:09 pm

Cept that a whole bunch of people using it in Maxis on the PBR :|

User avatar
Trini Hookah
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 15643
Joined: August 4th, 2009, 5:13 am
Location: Look at my post count, my post count is amazing.
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby Trini Hookah » March 19th, 2013, 12:11 pm

How does this consume data guys?

User avatar
Duane 3NE 2NR
Admin
Posts: 22829
Joined: March 24th, 2003, 10:27 am
Location: T&T
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 19th, 2013, 12:35 pm

^ it connects to the internet to get data that is being shared by other Waze users.

User avatar
DJ Q
punchin NOS
Posts: 3371
Joined: February 21st, 2007, 9:09 am
Location: Awesome

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby DJ Q » March 19th, 2013, 12:51 pm

pete wrote:Cept that a whole bunch of people using it in Maxis on the PBR :|


Needed to get points so I won't be a baby wazer anymore :(

User avatar
wheelbarrow
Riding on 17's
Posts: 1336
Joined: September 26th, 2009, 3:53 pm
Location: 10.659216, -61.501744

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby wheelbarrow » March 19th, 2013, 1:33 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:How does this consume data guys?

uploadfromtaptalk1363714324952.jpg

That's my usage from the 9th of this month till now.
I use mine every time I drive. And I'm on the road for most of my day.

User avatar
pete
3NE 2NR Moderator
Posts: 9735
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 1:19 pm
Location: Cruisin around in da GTi
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby pete » March 19th, 2013, 1:44 pm

I have used about 62MB with Waze in the past month. Maybe about 1.5MB/hr?

User avatar
rocknrolla
Riding on 18's
Posts: 1812
Joined: December 21st, 2010, 2:11 pm

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby rocknrolla » March 19th, 2013, 3:38 pm

pete wrote:I have used about 62MB with Waze in the past month. Maybe about 1.5MB/hr?


hmm thats better than i thought it would be.

User avatar
Trini Hookah
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 15643
Joined: August 4th, 2009, 5:13 am
Location: Look at my post count, my post count is amazing.
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby Trini Hookah » March 19th, 2013, 3:53 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:How does this consume data guys?

uploadfromtaptalk1363714324952.jpg

That's my usage from the 9th of this month till now.
I use mine every time I drive. And I'm on the road for most of my day.



pete wrote:I have used about 62MB with Waze in the past month. Maybe about 1.5MB/hr?

That's much less than what I thought it would be, would give it a go soon on 4G. :D

User avatar
DJ Q
punchin NOS
Posts: 3371
Joined: February 21st, 2007, 9:09 am
Location: Awesome

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby DJ Q » March 20th, 2013, 6:58 am

Ok so this morning it kept trying to send me down the priority...
Will edit some routes.

User avatar
pete
3NE 2NR Moderator
Posts: 9735
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 1:19 pm
Location: Cruisin around in da GTi
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby pete » March 20th, 2013, 7:20 am

"Foggy weather" on the Beetham this morning.
:lol:

User avatar
yudhistre
Street 2NR
Posts: 35
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 12:11 pm
Location: Central

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby yudhistre » March 20th, 2013, 9:27 pm

Have to stop them youths from playing with Waze on the Bus route.. it messing up the system. Waze servers recording time from Arima to POS faster than time on the highway, so naturally it will recognize that route as faster and will direct all users accordingly.. Wonder if it has a restricted access route in the editor?

User avatar
jm3
12 pounds of Boost
Posts: 2288
Joined: April 22nd, 2007, 6:40 pm
Location: inside

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby jm3 » March 20th, 2013, 10:20 pm

yudhistre wrote:Have to stop them youths from playing with Waze on the Bus route.. it messing up the system. Waze servers recording time from Arima to POS faster than time on the highway, so naturally it will recognize that route as faster and will direct all users accordingly.. Wonder if it has a restricted access route in the editor?

i will fix it soon.

just checked it over all the pbr segments are private roads as they should be so i don't know why its still sending you on there.
Last edited by jm3 on March 20th, 2013, 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DrunkenMaster16
Trying to catch PATCH AND VEGA
Posts: 6243
Joined: February 15th, 2004, 11:19 pm
Location: Bush, Beach, Swamp..Repeat.
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 20th, 2013, 10:26 pm

Dl'ed and running well but on my blackberry i can't seem to access nor join groups.

User avatar
Duane 3NE 2NR
Admin
Posts: 22829
Joined: March 24th, 2003, 10:27 am
Location: T&T
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 20th, 2013, 11:24 pm

Works well on real smartphones.

User avatar
Trini Hookah
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 15643
Joined: August 4th, 2009, 5:13 am
Location: Look at my post count, my post count is amazing.
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby Trini Hookah » March 20th, 2013, 11:34 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Works well on real smartphones.

+1 oh snapz

Sig worthy

User avatar
src1983
18 pounds of Boost
Posts: 2356
Joined: February 17th, 2009, 11:09 am
Location: Somewhere

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby src1983 » March 21st, 2013, 7:49 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Works well on real smartphones.



I saw what u did there......


Lol!!!!

User avatar
DRam
Street 2NR
Posts: 34
Joined: March 17th, 2010, 3:04 pm

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby DRam » April 3rd, 2013, 7:57 pm

Using app on iOS 6 for about 3 days. Great, but points not showing. Any suggestions?

User avatar
DRam
Street 2NR
Posts: 34
Joined: March 17th, 2010, 3:04 pm

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby DRam » April 3rd, 2013, 10:38 pm

Got my points when I reinstalled app. Thanks Duane!

User avatar
DVSTT
Trying to catch PATCH AND VEGA
Posts: 6752
Joined: November 28th, 2011, 9:11 pm

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby DVSTT » April 4th, 2013, 9:28 am

idlemind wrote:It may be suggesting the PBR if other Waze users are taking that route.
Every evening Waze wants to send me down Charlotte Street or another mystery street between Richmond and Wrightson road.

On another note I tried the Toco navigation with Waze this weekend.
It doesnt work as good as NavPhone does. Waze basically shows one main road all the way.
Il stick with my initial claim...Waze only good once you have net access, now even with simple navigation.


Will check out Navphone. Is it free?
Went down mayaro and was not able to track the route with Waze as the maps for that area did not load until I got to the house and connected to wifi. Will I need wifi to load maps on navphone?

M_2NR
not Admin
Posts: 7246
Joined: December 18th, 2008, 9:46 pm

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby M_2NR » April 4th, 2013, 10:20 am

DVSTT wrote:
idlemind wrote:It may be suggesting the PBR if other Waze users are taking that route.
Every evening Waze wants to send me down Charlotte Street or another mystery street between Richmond and Wrightson road.

On another note I tried the Toco navigation with Waze this weekend.
It doesnt work as good as NavPhone does. Waze basically shows one main road all the way.
Il stick with my initial claim...Waze only good once you have net access, now even with simple navigation.


Will check out Navphone. Is it free?
Went down mayaro and was not able to track the route with Waze as the maps for that area did not load until I got to the house and connected to wifi. Will I need wifi to load maps on navphone?
no it's not. And no you don't need wifi to load the navfone map data

User avatar
DJ Q
punchin NOS
Posts: 3371
Joined: February 21st, 2007, 9:09 am
Location: Awesome

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby DJ Q » April 5th, 2013, 2:39 pm

Went to point fortin community center last night and pulled up Waze.

It went "lolwut"

User avatar
2WNBoost
Chronic TriniTuner
Posts: 652
Joined: July 27th, 2012, 7:37 am

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby 2WNBoost » April 5th, 2013, 3:13 pm

Waze helped avoid the standstill highway traffic from the Barataria/Beetham accident this morning.
Main Road and Side streets FTW

User avatar
pete
3NE 2NR Moderator
Posts: 9735
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 1:19 pm
Location: Cruisin around in da GTi
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby pete » April 5th, 2013, 3:21 pm

Same here.. cut through Champs Fleurs Aranguez to Barataria and was just on the flyover for maybe 10 minutes. It actually took the time Waze said it would take from Grand Bazaar to POS (37minutes) and the highway estimation was over an hour.

User avatar
2WNBoost
Chronic TriniTuner
Posts: 652
Joined: July 27th, 2012, 7:37 am

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby 2WNBoost » April 5th, 2013, 11:35 pm

M_2NR wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
idlemind wrote:It doesnt work as good as NavPhone does. Waze basically shows one main road all the way.
Il stick with my initial claim...Waze only good once you have net access, now even with simple navigation.


Will check out Navphone. Is it free?
no it's not. And no you don't need wifi to load the navfone map data

If you're looking to get NavFone and are on IOS look elsewhere $49.99. Read for yourself.
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/navfone-trinidad-tobago-gps/id440117394?mt=8
NavFone.png

The Android version is cheaper $26.81 but still outdated.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sg.agis.caribbean&feature=more_from_developer#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEwMiwiY29tLnNnLmFnaXMuY2FyaWJiZWFuIl0.

User avatar
DVSTT
Trying to catch PATCH AND VEGA
Posts: 6752
Joined: November 28th, 2011, 9:11 pm

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby DVSTT » April 6th, 2013, 12:37 am

2WNBoost wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
idlemind wrote:It doesnt work as good as NavPhone does. Waze basically shows one main road all the way.
Il stick with my initial claim...Waze only good once you have net access, now even with simple navigation.


Will check out Navphone. Is it free?
no it's not. And no you don't need wifi to load the navfone map data

If you're looking to get NavFone and are on IOS look elsewhere $49.99. Read for yourself.
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/navfone-trinidad-tobago-gps/id440117394?mt=8
NavFone.png

The Android version is cheaper $26.81 but still outdated.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sg.agis.caribbean&feature=more_from_developer#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEwMiwiY29tLnNnLmFnaXMuY2FyaWJiZWFuIl0.


Wonder if I can download it off a torrent or something?

Quick question about Waze though, how do I get the ability to add in points on the map. For instance the recreational ground in my area is plotted but not named. Is there a way I can name it on the map for all users?

User avatar
tr1ad
2NR phototakerouter
Posts: 10965
Joined: October 23rd, 2006, 1:02 pm
Location: Is ah ranking ting
Contact:

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby tr1ad » April 15th, 2013, 1:04 pm

made a couple runs to galeota over the past few weeks, i gather it will be able to map a route from pos to galeota now

User avatar
rocknrolla
Riding on 18's
Posts: 1812
Joined: December 21st, 2010, 2:11 pm

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby rocknrolla » April 23rd, 2013, 7:35 pm

thanks to waze this afternoon for saying there was no traffic on the main road coming out of pos. i couldnt believe it, but watching the traffic on the highway i say let me give it a shot.. and wow.. no traffic. straight flow up to barataria then i cut thru el soccorro to the highway. pos to arima in 1hr during drive time. amazing!

Advertisement

Return to “Ole talk and more Ole talk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: De Dragon, death365, demented, Dizzy28, pete, Rovin, shake d livin wake d dead, SMc and 162 guests