Clipping dog ears...thoughts?

Rush

Clipping dog ears...thoughts?

Postby Rush » July 17th, 2012, 1:05 am

Trying to decide whether or not to get my new puppy's ears clipped.
Breed is a mastiff or pitbull, not sure which as yet.

Looking on the internet there are a few reasons to clip them:
1.) Cosmetic - dogs tend to look more aggressive and therefore more intimidating to intruders.
2.)Ears are less prone to infection.
3.)Less likely for ears to be harmed if there are other aggressive / jealous dogs around.

And the only one main reason I can find not to is:
1) Ears are 'limbs' that dogs use to express themselves...to show happiness, sadness, fear etc.

I wanted to clip them..but I am having second thoughts...
whats your opinion...?

Re: Clipping dog ears...thoughts?

Postby maj. tom » July 17th, 2012, 1:42 am

Clip off your earlobes nah.

A few reasons:
-you will look more aggressive.
-be less prone to ear infection.
-less likely for it to be ripped out in a fight.

Postby Bizzare » July 17th, 2012, 2:28 am

maj. tom wrote:Clip off your earlobes nah.

A few reasons:

only thing is humans

don't need to appear aggressive; they don't guard against strangers
don't come into contact with bacteria as much as a dog would
less likely to get into a fight where their ears are in danger

My dog got away 2 nights ago and got attacked by strays, came back with his ear half torn off btw.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 17th, 2012, 2:39 am

Don't do it...it's cruel and it makes no sense. They look better with their ears not cropped anyway :)

Sorry to hear about what happened to your dog BTW Bizzare :(

How will it be less prone to infections with cropped ears? The purpose for it lapping over is to cover and protect the inner ear from dust,water etc. What you think is gonna happen when it's cropped???

Postby S_2NR » July 17th, 2012, 2:50 am

dont do that unnecessary sheit to ur dog, would u like someone to clip ur ears?

but at the end of d day, its ur dog so do whatever u want.

Postby Bizzare » July 17th, 2012, 2:52 am

Of course we wont want our ears clipped. We're human and it's not normal...... but some humans have the tip of their penis clipped though, right? same thing....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 17th, 2012, 4:00 am

:shock: :shock:

Postby Team Loco » July 17th, 2012, 7:02 am

Its a bit old fashioned and many people don't do it again. Save some money and leave the doggy the way he was born

Postby mero » July 17th, 2012, 8:33 am

Team Loco wrote:Its a bit old fashioned and many people don't do it again. Save some money and leave the doggy the way he was born

Bizzare wrote:Of course we wont want our ears clipped. We're human and it's not normal...... but some humans have the tip of their penis clipped though, right? same thing....

kual

Postby kual » July 17th, 2012, 8:34 am

cut off you lolo and put it in your bolo and see how that would feel. keep us updated.. but seriously, dont cut it.

Postby r3iXmann » July 17th, 2012, 8:35 am

Team Loco wrote:Its a bit old fashioned and many people don't do it again. Save some money and leave the doggy the way he was born

and it's illegal in Europe etc

leave the dog alone :x

Postby Hook » July 17th, 2012, 9:04 am

:lol: people still use the "clip your ears nuh" argument...wow...

Postby wagonrunner » July 17th, 2012, 9:14 am

Hook wrote::lol: people still use the "clip your ears nuh" argument...wow...

Can't fault them if they apparently share the same design . :|

Postby Bizzare » July 17th, 2012, 9:14 am

some of them with that argument gonna cut off the foreskin on dey son piggy anyway.......

Postby Hook » July 17th, 2012, 6:45 pm

^^^ and for the same reasons too :roll:

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 17th, 2012, 9:02 pm

Postby rollingstock » July 17th, 2012, 9:26 pm

Clipping ears tastefully and professionally, can understand that to a point, but...........cutting of tails is just stoopid!

For certain breeds i actually prefer it

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 17th, 2012, 10:14 pm

Personally I will never clip my dogs ears or cut his tail. He was born that way and so he shall remain. If you want to clip the ears its your dog, do what ever. Just do it professionally if you choose to.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 17th, 2012, 10:45 pm

A few reasons:

:D :D

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 17th, 2012, 11:25 pm

My step mother had the hots for Mr. Spock of Star Trek. So she decided to crop my ears when I was young to look like his own. She tried the same method as what she saw the vet do with our Doberman Pinscher, Shaniqua. So despite me looking like an idiot for most of my life, the cropping of my ears by my step mother hurt like hell.

I will never put a dog through pain like that, despite an anesthetic being used in the initial operation. That sheit is painful.

Postby rollingstock » July 17th, 2012, 11:27 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

My step mother had the hots for Mr. Spock of Star Trek. So she decided to crop my ears when I was young to look like his own. She tried the same method as what she saw the vet do with our Doberman Pinscher, Shaniqua. So despite me looking like an idiot for most of my life, the cropping of my ears by my step mother hurt like hell.

I will never put a dog through pain like that, despite an anesthetic being used in the initial operation. That sheit is painful.

Lies! Yuh ears not cropped :?

Pre

Postby Pre » July 17th, 2012, 11:50 pm

Bizzare wrote:

A few reasons:

only thing is humans

don't need to appear aggressive; they don't guard against strangers
don't come into contact with bacteria as much as a dog would
less likely to get into a fight where their ears are in danger

My dog got away 2 nights ago and got attacked by strays, came back with his ear half torn off btw.

You should run into Mike Tyson and then say that. Leave d doggie ears alone

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 18th, 2012, 6:31 am

I was against ear cutting, but my pit got ear infections every month. I would sit and clean all the time

If the infection goes undetected, it could lead to brain and spine damage.

So whilst I was against cutting, I have seen first hand what could happen. This is specific to pitbulls though. :s

My rotts never had an ear infection. So consult your local vet and hear what he has to say.

Postby RBphoto » July 18th, 2012, 1:05 pm

Circumcision was meant for desert peoples who had no water for personal hygene. It was useful to them. It is a babaric procedure in our modern age. It is for lazy mothers who have no time to clean their children properly.

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2012, 1:09 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Circumcision was meant for desert peoples who had no water for personal hygene. It was useful to them. It is a babaric procedure in our modern age. It is for lazy mothers who have no time to clean their children properly.

lolwhut?
everybody knows circumcision is when you take a boat and sail around the world

Postby RBphoto » July 18th, 2012, 1:17 pm

^^^Only when a Jew does it.

Postby X2 » July 18th, 2012, 5:30 pm

Clipping of ears is not a nice thing to do for a dog... the benefits can be argued, but it's not necessary for any breed afaik. For those that don't or can't take the time to check out your dogs ears once a month (to prevent problems)... then you are probably not in the correct time of your life to keep a dog !

Cutting of tails are for specific breeds and typically is best for health of those breeds where the tail's weight tends to cause spine damage over time (it is medically recommended).

Postby Bizzare » July 18th, 2012, 5:34 pm

Why is clipping the ears "not a nice thing to do for a dog" but cutting their tail short seems acceptable? Aren't both done for similar reasons?

Postby RBphoto » July 18th, 2012, 5:38 pm

^^^big breed dogs tend to get hip problems. Not nice to see a big old dog have to hop with its two rear legs straight out because pain from articulating at the hip is too much :(

Remember, many dogs did not evolve out of natural selection in the wild, but out of selected breeding for certain traits. Some of their traits might be better served with some modification, especially here in our climate.

Postby sharkman121 » July 18th, 2012, 5:42 pm

So arent all dogs ears susceptible to infection? why is it only these certain aggressive breeds are cut.