Need some advice on a Prelude.

Postby rollingstock » May 8th, 2012, 9:05 am

Guys thinking of buying a Lude to be used as a daily driver.

However i have no experience with this vehicle.

Basically is it expensive to maintain? Is it fuel efficient? Super or premium?
Are parts difficult to source or very expensive?

Car has a F22 engine (not sure if f22a or b) (pbb series)

Always loved the look of these cars, need some replies soon, both my VRG's are down, one currently having a full vr4 conversion done and my daily driver (gdi) is having an engine overhaul, doing most of the work myself and time is an issue so i need something to get me around.

*edit* posted on the Honda forum but really need some advice soon, want to buy this today, positive or negative feedback appreciated.

Re: Need some advice on a Prelude.

Postby r3iXmann » May 8th, 2012, 9:19 am

Which prelude? I had a 92-96. Very nice car, parts are easy to find if u know where to look and which models can be substituted from other models. The tank is huge (60l) and I used to use premium at first but it ran fine on super after I cleaned out the fuel system

Postby sliderz1 » May 8th, 2012, 9:30 am

havent seen any come into the garage, so i hope they're holding out fiine.

Postby AllTrac » May 8th, 2012, 9:30 am

boy use de TTPS everest nah

Postby black start » May 8th, 2012, 9:49 am

how cum you no buy no b14 boidanboi?b14 is the bess bess car in the whole world sai. :|

ED will not be pleased.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » May 8th, 2012, 10:09 am

nice cars. had a cousin with one. the f22 engine is much more economical that the h22 but you wont have the same pep in yuh step if you foot heavy. i think you should pm reix for more info. he had his for a good while and is a good person in terms of knowledge and experience with this car

Postby sliderz1 » May 8th, 2012, 10:16 am

throw up pics of that VR4 project nah.......or pm me

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » May 8th, 2012, 10:51 am

r3iXmann wrote:Which prelude? I had a 92-96. Very nice car, parts are easy to find if u know where to look and which models can be substituted from other models. The tank is huge (60l) and I used to use premium at first but it ran fine on super after I cleaned out the fuel system

^^^ this..... started typing then I realised I was just repeating what he said :lol:

I had a BA8 with the stock F22b, only real downsides were the fact that it had a really shiddy turning radius (no 4wheel steering) and the performance of the F22 was a bit disappointing, bearing in mind it will outrun a VRG. Other than that its a really nice car.

Parts and maintenance were never an issue, dont know how it would compare to a VRG but costwise maintenance was just slightly more expensive than a CK4 lancer. I ran super and fuel consumption was around 28mpg at best IIRC.

Im actually considering buying another one (sold the one in my sig), but this time it will have to be a manual H22a with 4ws.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » May 8th, 2012, 11:01 am

AllTrac wrote:boy use de TTPS everest nah

Postby rollingstock » May 8th, 2012, 11:08 am

reix this model

Always loved the look of these cars. The performance doesn't matter, want it to be an everyday beater, have the other vehicles for speed if needed.

trac using a Navarra right now but people show up at my door wanting to make reports wtf is up wid that?

Postby r3iXmann » May 8th, 2012, 11:09 am

yeah that's the one i had..really great car

though if i could get my hands on a 97-01 model,i'd make a touring car out of it :mrgreen:

Postby dougla_boy » May 8th, 2012, 11:15 am

lovely cars meng.....love them.....and as mod-with-dog-smoking-a-pipe and the other dude said......

Postby rollingstock » May 8th, 2012, 1:59 pm

sliderz1 wrote:throw up pics of that VR4 project nah.......or pm me

Sorry no pics, car basically completed just have a problem with launching. From a rolling launch no probs but from standstill it just bogs down, tcs and ayc light up like a christmas tree then it launches. Suspect an electrical gremlin.
Will give it a check as soon as time permits, then to garage for paint and new upholstery.

Might put it up for sale, not sure yet.

Postby dougla_boy » May 8th, 2012, 2:20 pm

sliderz1 wrote:throw up pics of that VR4 project nah.......or pm me

Sorry no pics, car basically completed just have a problem with launching. From a rolling launch no probs but from standstill it just bogs down, tcs and ayc light up like a christmas tree then it launches. Suspect an electrical gremlin.
Will give it a check as soon as time permits, then to garage for paint and new upholstery.

Might put it up for sale, not sure yet.

4 wheel drive, manual 5 fwd right? asking cuz i eh know na :oops: :oops:

Postby 1UZFE » May 8th, 2012, 2:25 pm

The prelude was always nice but now there are almost 20yrs so the maintenance might be kinda high as with hondas. would prefer the h22 though..

Postby rollingstock » May 8th, 2012, 2:27 pm

@ dougla boy
Yep 4wd, car originally came 4g94 with 4wd so conversion was easier.
Tiptronic, original invecs 2 tranny, got the engine and tranny complete with everything for conversion for a steal, may go 5fwd if i'm keeping it.

Postby crazybalhead » May 8th, 2012, 2:29 pm

If it bogs down when launching, yuh need mor Arrrpeeemmmss.

Postby rollingstock » May 8th, 2012, 2:30 pm

crazybalhead wrote:If it bogs down when launching, yuh need mor Arrrpeeemmmss.

Hence i'm going Honda ;)

vtec just kicked een yo *brahhhhhppppppppppp* :lol:

Postby rollingstock » May 8th, 2012, 2:38 pm

1UZFE wrote:The prelude was always nice but now there are almost 20yrs so the maintenance might be kinda high as with hondas. would prefer the h22 though..

Not really concerned about the cost of maintenance, my issue is with the availability of parts which will affect down time, but in the same breath not looking for something that is overly expensive to maintain.

The age is not an issue, been driving the gdi galant daily for 8 yrs, no real issues, but recently a friend had a problem with her galant with fuel delivery, went to a mechanic who made her buy new plugs, coil packs, fuel filter, intank fuel pump.

Took the car from her and it turned out to the high pressure pump, lent her mines as my car is down thinking it was easy to get. Catching mih nennen to source one now and feeling guilty to take it back from her.

What i'm getting at is i don't want to go through that scenario with hunting for parts.

Postby TRAE » May 8th, 2012, 3:30 pm

that model wicked but the parts is hard to come by jed... is just like the accord in that same year... both use the same lights and shyte---- partna had to change a alternator---- we had to guts one and use his shell cause they were that hard to find

Postby rollingstock » May 8th, 2012, 3:38 pm

Now you have me frightened trae :?

Postby TRAE » May 8th, 2012, 3:46 pm

rollingstock wrote:Now you have me frightened trae :?

well... you might have better luck but getting an alternator was a beyatch cause all the alternators from moruga to New grant to princes town had a different bolt up... i guess other prelude or accord men can give you better places to shop.

Postby AllTrac » May 8th, 2012, 3:47 pm

1UZFE wrote:The prelude was always nice but now there are almost 20yrs so the maintenance might be kinda high as with hondas. would prefer the h22 though..

Not really concerned about the cost of maintenance, my issue is with the availability of parts which will affect down time, but in the same breath not looking for something that is overly expensive to maintain.

The age is not an issue, been driving the gdi galant daily for 8 yrs, no real issues, but recently a friend had a problem with her galant with fuel delivery, went to a mechanic who made her buy new plugs, coil packs, fuel filter, intank fuel pump.

Took the car from her and it turned out to the high pressure pump, lent her mines as my car is down thinking it was easy to get. Catching mih nennen to source one now and feeling guilty to take it back from her.

What i'm getting at is i don't want to go through that scenario with hunting for parts.

man i hope you tapping that there ass cause after all you doing for her if u not getting some of that pucci u might be a prime candidate for friendzoned.

Postby rollingstock » May 8th, 2012, 3:55 pm

^ yeah i tapped the ass a few times but more importantly and even better than the pucci, she drops home cooked meals for me at work on a regular basis ;)

Postby r3iXmann » May 8th, 2012, 4:11 pm

RS, quicksilver and i OWNED one and posted the above review

TRAE talking about he 'padna' car

who u gonna believe? :lol:

my biggest realisation when i got one is that a lot of people dont know much about them and hence vent waste matter on the topic

Postby rollingstock » May 8th, 2012, 4:27 pm

^ Same thing i'm thinking.

Proven with the gdi, heard horror stories, just liked the look of the vrg galants, so went ahead and bought several :oops: never a regret yet.

Gonna buy it tonight most likely, if i get a chance i'll post some pics.

Postby stev » May 8th, 2012, 4:38 pm

really nice car. never had a liking for the back lights but it looks sleek. ever thought bout a levin?

Postby rollingstock » May 8th, 2012, 4:46 pm

^ My actual dream garage would consist of a vr4 galant, prelude, levin bzr, s13 and a 2 door escort.

Have the 1st, obtaining the second, had the last and sold so back in the market.

Why i chose those cars? somewhat attainable (well except for the s13, remember getting one for 37k, didn't take it thinking ehhh maybe later, saw the same vehicle selling for 80k+ ten years later with a forkin rb :x, i could understand replacing the Ka24 for an sr20det but a stinking sohc rb :sick:

Postby stev » May 8th, 2012, 7:25 pm

thats a nice garage 2 have. 1jock

i saw some prelude goin for 40 - 45k on trinicarsforsale.

i know this one is not wat u lookin for, but does dis belong in the crazy man price ched?

http://www.trinicarsforsale.com/databas ... #topofpage

Val

Postby Val » May 8th, 2012, 7:29 pm

I really hated mine. But I think I didn't know enough about it while I owned it to keep it running properly. It's a good car once you can get one in good condition, mine was the H22. Parts were easy enough to find as Prelude owners are always willing to help out.

I wouldn't buy another though. At that age of vehicle, I would prefer to buy a 200sx.