THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2011, 11:55 pm

I stopped smoking a few months now and dont ever plan on going back.

Look at this video of a 32 year old man'

Wanna stop smoking? I suggest looking at these videos. I know they made me stop.

Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 5th, 2011, 11:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: This is what smoking does to your Heart.

Postby Bizzare » October 5th, 2011, 11:57 pm

Vega approves.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2011, 12:01 am

Please note Obesity can also cause clogged arteries but theres no warnings on packs of sweets and fried food even cheese etc

But smoking makes it very easy for the arteries to get clogged.

Postby rfari » October 6th, 2011, 12:06 am

i need to quit. its a great post OP but honestly those videos didnt do anything for me.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2011, 12:23 am

rfari wrote:i need to quit. its a great post OP but honestly those videos didnt do anything for me.

What about this one

Stroke. Smoking can send you blind for life. Quitting now is better than becoming blind. Not to mention paralyzed to a wheel chair.

Unless offcourse you have a gun and plan to shoot yourself in the head if you get a stroke.
The only way you can justify smoking is if you can shoot yourself when something happens.

Either way you gonna die. But dying isn't a problem thats easy. Problem is when you get a stroke and you must suffer till you die. Suffering is the problem not dying.

Postby rfari » October 6th, 2011, 12:33 am

The vids are gross but still i'm unmoved. i've tried to quit many times and tried many quit smoking aids except the e-cig and hypnosis. what do u think about the e-cigs being sold? any good IYO? i'm at an average of 1 pack a day sometimes 3 if i'm liming hard. pleas from family/friends have zero effect on me except for my grandmom. she asked me once about my smoking habit and she simply responded by saying something to the effect that all i'm working hard for now, i won't enjoy it much longer if i continue smoking.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2011, 12:45 am

its somewhat stupid to save money and plan for future if you smoke. You better off spending all now on all kind of stuff. I recommend electronics. Enjoy life as much as possible, go out with a bang.

BTW another thing smoking can cause is retardation. Yes you can literally become retarded by smoking.

I supported smoking 100% a few years ago. I promoted it as a great habbit. But when i realized how much things can go wrong especially if your family has a history of heart disease etc I realized how dangerous this was.

But like I said, keep a gun close by my friend. Believe me, you can end up without a penis and balls. You will have to pee through a straw and thing. Cut a hole in your bladder etc.

Smoking can cause diabetes

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/7138901.stm

then they cut out your penis etc. Cut out your foot etc. Its no walk in the park my neighbor had it bad. He penis was rotten with worms and thing. Very nasty stuff.

I say fack smoking and eating fast food yes. Is dieting by force now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2011, 12:51 am

You know its easy to stop smoking. Soon as something irreversible happens to you, you will immediately wish you had the chance to reverse time and quit it by force.

Only problem is there is no time machine and it will already be to late. They say yuh doh miss the water until the well run dry. Continue they way you are and that well gonna be dry very soon.

I pray that you are not in your 30's and over. Else it will be to late. Atleast in your 20's you still have a chance to quit and reverse the effects within 15 years time.

15 years is how much it takes to completely reverse the chances of getting cancer to the point as if you never smoked.

If you lucky you will get a heart attack instead of a stroke. Stroke is the worst of them all.

When you get paralyzed and can't move and or blind. Its only then you will be wishing you could go back in time and do what is necessary. Its all in your mind.

Postby Razkal » October 6th, 2011, 1:02 am

its terrible. but now i want a blend :(

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2011, 1:12 am

Atleast smoke the E cigs. You get the nicotine and none of the harmful stuff found in real smoke.

smoke is toxic.

yuh only have 1 pair of eyes. And 1 chance to prevent diabetes and stroke. There are no cures for this. Prevention better than cure. If you over 30 years old it might already be to late. Consult your doctor urgently and find out if it makes sense to quit or is it to late.

My advice is if its already to late your heart is already filled with to much plaque. Then continue smoking, don't listen to the doctor advice on stopping. Because if its already to late to undo the damages then why not enjoy the rest of your short life since it won't be that much long even if you quit anyways.

Postby goalpost » October 6th, 2011, 3:26 am

December 2011 would make 2 years since I quit smoking, prior to that i had smoked for about 10 years. Surprsingly it wasn't that hard to quit the habit, at least for me.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » October 6th, 2011, 4:33 am

rfari wrote:i need to quit. its a great post OP but honestly those videos didnt do anything for me.

Ah selling e cigs it does work check meh

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 6th, 2011, 5:28 am

Bizzare wrote:Vega approves.

I most certainly do!!!!

32 days smoke free......and never going back!!!!

Smoked for 23 years, tried to quit, made a couple months and always went back.....This time around is different because I WANT to stop....I not stopping because of anyone else or somebody tell me something, like before.....I want to do it and so far the urges come very strongly but subside faster....I loving the fact that I no longer coughing up darkly coloured phlegm, in fact not coughing anymore, my cardio activities feel better and I'm saving that $17 daily.....so far $544 saved!!!! sweet, that money is adding up to buy me a home gym!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 6th, 2011, 5:31 am

oh and 301 days alcohol free.....that kinda made the quitting smoking much easier....

I feel so freakin' free!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

neals

Postby neals » October 6th, 2011, 6:22 am

jed like, wth, i take my first pull last night, lose ah bet. but i rel good yes, not me and this sheit, i dont see how ppl cud do it. blehhh, feel sick with my self

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 6th, 2011, 6:53 am

Good going vega , keep it up! I am smoke free as well going on 3 years. The one bad side effect is that u tend to eat more , just have to watch that

Postby Bizzare » October 6th, 2011, 7:10 am

All you smokers gonna die. R.I.P.

But seriously, I kicked a few habits as young as I am. Whatever habit I still have is because I really don't make an effort to stop and just because I love what I do so much, I prefer to continue. :?
I never had a problem ending my very short stint of smoking cigarettes though.

The best solution, if not the only solution, I have found to kicking a habit is similar to meditation. Not any yoga, monk kinda meditation I'm talking about here. Jus plain and simply taking a few seconds every time that urge comes around, clearing my mind, and re-assuring myself that I do not and will not do what I felt like doing. My actions must show that also. You can't be trying to quit smoking, but yet you have a pack of cigarettes in the office or working out a budget that ensures your habit doesn't affect your daily life.
It also helps to count how many days you have made since you quit the habit and feel proud about it. Boast about it every chance you get although no one really cares :|
Find something else to direct your thoughts on.
Pretend you stopped smoking ten years ago and look down on others who do so, telling them what an unhealthy bastard they are. lol jk :)
Its all about removing the thoughts outta your sub-conscience I guess.

civic minded and vega, do you both ever feel like smoking again?

jusme

Postby jusme » October 6th, 2011, 7:43 am

I quit smoking back in 2004/05 & never looked back since

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 6th, 2011, 7:48 am

I value my $$$ so why waste it on smoking..

Postby ismithx » October 6th, 2011, 7:56 am

neals wrote:jed like, wth, i take my first pull last night, lose ah bet. but i rel good yes, not me and this sheit, i dont see how ppl cud do it. blehhh, feel sick with my self

*raises eyebrow*

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 6th, 2011, 8:21 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I value my $$$ so why waste it on smoking..

LOL ent...never smoked, never will

Postby TRAE » October 6th, 2011, 8:42 am

smoking is bad... i hate my habit

Postby dougla_boy » October 6th, 2011, 8:42 am

eh started smoking since days of secondary school.....cigs eh...and eventually i just stopped, dont have a reason for smoking cigs, it doesnt make me high....eventually i did it when i was feeling stressed out, i would have a cig or 2, then it happened when i was liming........but i have stopped now, natural herbs only if i hadda smoke again.........

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 6th, 2011, 8:48 am

On a pack of du maurier @ $17 dollars.....$12.00 goes to the gov't in taxes!
Yes the taxes are very high in Trinidad.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 6th, 2011, 8:53 am

Proud to say I have never even tried a cigarette. Having grown up with a father who smoked I decided it was so disgusting I never even bothered with it.

My dad stopped drinking, meat eating and smoking 20 years ago. He started back the smoking within a few months and eventually only stopped after a further 4 years. He admits its the hardest thing to give up.

Postby rfari » October 6th, 2011, 9:09 am

good advice here fellas.

Postby Stephon. » October 6th, 2011, 9:28 am

I relapsed this morning.

Postby dougla_boy » October 6th, 2011, 9:34 am

hmmmm.....*goes and buys some kush* natural herbs me say

Postby Stephon. » October 6th, 2011, 9:41 am

Does those e cigs feel like a real cig? Or is it a lighter less exciting feeling?

Postby Trini Hookah » October 6th, 2011, 9:43 am

Stephon. wrote:Does those e cigs feel like a real cig? Or is it a lighter less exciting feeling?

Try an E-cig with High nicotine, and see how excited your throat is after. :|