Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

mitsu_crazy

Re: Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Postby mitsu_crazy » April 27th, 2015, 11:42 am

Cheaper than buying containers for grow beds

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2015, 11:44 am

mitsu_crazy wrote:Cheaper than buying containers for grow beds

how much for one of those barrels? about $200?

you get IBC's for $200 though, just have to cut and clean them out

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » April 27th, 2015, 11:45 am

I have an ibc top as a growbed on the old system.....furstrating bugger....

Prefer the smaller tanks....lil more control

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2015, 11:49 am

Yea the barrels would be much more manageable.

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » April 27th, 2015, 12:38 pm

Understatement...

My siphon on the ibc works when it feels too..

spranga

Postby spranga » April 27th, 2015, 3:28 pm

mitsu_crazy wrote:Small update...new system under construction.

What part of that small? Lol

What media do you intend to use?

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » May 7th, 2015, 7:57 am

spranga wrote:
mitsu_crazy wrote:Small update...new system under construction.

What part of that small? Lol

What media do you intend to use?

Gravel or expanded clay...thats small as its only part of the overall expansion.

Postby Chimera » May 16th, 2015, 12:50 pm

not sure if asking in the right thread but does anyone know if anyone sells super male tilapia locally?

jackal

Postby jackal » June 1st, 2015, 12:36 pm

Somebody in Freeport does have the silver tilapia and he does "feed" them the male hormones as well, don't know his number.

Postby Chimera » June 1st, 2015, 12:54 pm

Chris?

jackal

Postby jackal » June 1st, 2015, 6:10 pm

I am going to a aquaponics system very soon, will be trying all forms, NFT, floating raft and grow beds.

Will be attending the AquaTT meeting on Saturday.

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » August 15th, 2015, 12:24 pm

Any of you guys have a shade house over your AP system?

Is the shade cloth available locally at a reasonable price or should I look online?

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » August 15th, 2015, 2:03 pm

Should be able to get shade cloth locally. Have not started to look for any for mine yet

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2015, 4:27 pm

Plant doctors in palmyra has everything you possibly need, cheaper than buying it yourself online

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2015, 4:28 pm

Look for them on fb or google

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » August 15th, 2015, 7:06 pm

Thanks, will check them out.

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » November 5th, 2015, 8:33 pm

What happens if the talapia breeds ent u get more fish to eat

CBharath

Postby CBharath » December 9th, 2015, 3:02 pm

anybody selling expanded clay pellets in grande

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » December 9th, 2015, 5:38 pm

Anybody know where to get Styrofoam sheets?

Postby Chimera » December 9th, 2015, 5:54 pm

Icecon I think is the company....by piarco cheapest you can find

CBharath

Postby CBharath » December 9th, 2015, 10:01 pm

nobody? clay pellets?

Postby Chimera » December 9th, 2015, 10:17 pm

Yea plant doctor in sando has a generic clay pellet. Check them on fb

Postby black start » December 9th, 2015, 11:29 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Yea plant doctor in sando has a generic clay pellet. Check them on fb

Yea doc has!! Was by him today...

CBharath

Postby CBharath » December 10th, 2015, 12:01 am

from grande and no transport.was hoping to find someone from this side.

black start wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Yea plant doctor in sando has a generic clay pellet. Check them on fb

Yea doc has!! Was by him today...

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » December 11th, 2015, 3:36 pm

anywhere else does sell the clear plastic for greenhouse other than plant doctor?
dont really want go down south.

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2015, 3:53 pm

m and d marketing in macoya

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 17th, 2016, 10:00 am

ado15mk3 wrote:where can i get a grow light locally?

anyone know?

undercover

Postby undercover » February 20th, 2016, 4:06 pm

Hey tuners, I've been interested in hydroponics for a while now and it's good to read through the discussions here on it. I've just completed a hydroponic rain tower as a diy experiment, but as I'm completely new to this I was hoping for some advice and pointers. Here are some pics of the system. I used 3x3 guttering and 2" round pvc for the spouts.
I'm at the stage where I'm ready to add and test the nutrient solution. This weekend I picked up a couple bottles of sensi grow ph perfect. Has anyone here used this before or familiar with it in any way? The instructions are pretty straightforward. I would like to grow selected vegetables in the most organic and safe solution possible. Based on reading I intend to determine the ppm and ph of the nutrient solution and then plant various veggies that do well within that range. What do you guys think of this approach? Any helpful advice will be appreciated.

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » March 1st, 2016, 2:46 pm

Nice build but the prob u will see is the root structures will grow down and entangle. So You might need a way to 'pull' a grow pot and 'trim' excess rooting. Also the cross section of the guttering is too small....the roots will potentially bundle up and choke off the 'rain' flow.
You need about 1' diameter.

Also if this thing is in the weather, the normal rain will get into the grow pots and overflow your tank and mess up your E.C.

As it happens I designed an built a complete control system 12VDC, fully Photovoltaic based on a 55 Gallon tank from Rotoplastics, growing plants on the sides and top, with an optional 'trellis' box for heavy fruiting.
Super energy efficient. The built in 7Ah 12VDC batt. can run the system for 3 days with no sunlight at all.

BTW the control system , seen in the 4x2" white box in the pic, monitors E.C., Ph, root moisture, timing protocols, Battery voltage, runs LED lighting and is programmable for 'weed' growth optimizations and is thus suitable for sales in Colorado. 8)).

The controller directly runs a 12VDC pump cycle and monitors the pump for proper function to alert you if the pump stalls or fails. The system flashes an LED heartbeat once per minute to indicate all is functioning well.

CARIRI wants to seed fund the commercial development but, I am a bit busy right now to do that.

http://www.ipsnews.net/2014/02/indoor-f ... te-change/

undercover

Postby undercover » March 6th, 2016, 10:30 am

Thanks for the info man. I figured I my have had a challenge with the size of the gutter. At present I've just loaded lettuce, some herbs and cabbage. The system with the nutrients added was limited to just a few types of crops, but it added some others outside of the ppm ranges to see how it would do. The system is in the garage right now so no rainfall, however the heat looks like it may be a problem. Will have to find a way to keep the nutrient solution resovoir cool. Will post some pics shortly.