***THE FARMERS CHED***

MonsterPower

Re: Any farmers in here??

Postby MonsterPower » April 13th, 2013, 7:59 pm

hey shakes i planted some tomatoes in my kitchen garden and the tomatoes when full ready to ripen getting a black spot to the bottom .. what can cause this?

ingenic89

Postby ingenic89 » April 14th, 2013, 9:59 am

The tomato problem is called Blossom End Rot, its a physiological problem with the plant, not an actual disease- its therefore very difficult to 'treat'. It can be caused through irregular watering/ calcium uptake by the plant- if there isnt enough calcium in the soil it can lead to blossom end rot and if there isnt enough water in the soil to allow regular movement of calcium through the plant it can lead to blossom end rot. Adding to much fertilizer to ur soil can also cause it... using too strong of a manure mixture can also cause it... buying seedlings that are too old can also cause it- as roots begin to get restricted very quickly in the seedling trays- causing damage to roots- limiting water/calcium uptake. can be controlled by maintaining adequate water supply and calcium in soil, not using 'too much' fertilizer... selecting good planting material, ensuring that ur soil is tilled properly etc. look up 'blossom end rot'- im sure theres tonnes of info online.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 14th, 2013, 12:23 pm

yes i read it all
but i am not using promix but rather local soil/compost mix and a regular watering regime ,fertiliser is done once or twice a month

which is why i preferred to as an experienced local farmer and benifit the whole of tuner instead of quoting google.

ingenic89

Postby ingenic89 » April 14th, 2013, 3:03 pm

Did i suggest that u were using promix?! what i said above is not beneficial?! :( i'm hurt!.. padner i loss an entire half acre of tomatoes because of that- not 2 plants in my kitchen garden. and what i told u not from google- i just suggested u check online for further reading if ure interested. however, if ure using a local soil/compost mix- u may not have to fertilize, and alot of kitchen garden brands of fertilizer are 20:20:20 NPK, which would be adding way too much Nitrogen to your plant. Your fertilizer regime needs to change as your plant progresses to different formulations. In your case you may not need fertilizer at all as well as less compost in ur mix. if the nitrogen in the fertilizer is ammonium based it would also compete it calcium uptake- leading to BER... but my apologies sir, i don't want to say anything that doesn't "benifit" - "the whole of tuner"

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 14th, 2013, 7:27 pm

doh take it so hard man no offence intended its just that with the amount of trolls here its hard to realise the real help from the forum trolls.

now that u explained it in ur second post it makes alot more sense . i did use the nutrex/20-20-20 so i may try to go with a diff fertiliser

is the yara fertiliser any good .. i dont rember the numbers tho

dont take it personally man .

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 14th, 2013, 7:35 pm

^^^The ministry website has good info on planting stuff

http://agriculture.gov.tt/fplma/?q=down ... 1345511077

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » April 14th, 2013, 8:48 pm

MonsterPower wrote:doh take it so hard man no offence intended its just that with the amount of trolls here its hard to realise the real help from the forum trolls.

now that u explained it in ur second post it makes alot more sense . i did use the nutrex/20-20-20 so i may try to go with a diff fertiliser

is the yara fertiliser any good .. i dont rember the numbers tho

dont take it personally man .

x2 @ what ingenic89 said in the first post. (more or less)
blossom end rot is a common problem with tomato.
mainly due to Ca deficiency and irregular watering....
btw..its not soo much "too much" fertilizer but more of the "type" specifically high N fertilizers (ammonical)

@ MonsterPower - the Yara Green special (12-11-18) is a very good fertilizer imo.
it also has a lot of micro nutrients.
it is usually recommended that u mix this with Nitrabor or CalNitro in a 2:1 ratio (2 part yara green : 1 part nitrabor) and apply at first sign of flowering then every 2 - 3 weeks later depending on the soil nut. status.
(when deficiency symptoms are observed..its usually too late to be corrected- general rule.)...tomato does bare for a prolonged period however and it is possible to correct it by using foliar sources of calcium...such as CalMax.

(for home gardens...i personally have seen persons mix crush egg shells in the growing medium and had great success)...note that this should be done prior to planting.

incorporating Limestone also helps...apart from the NUMEROUS OTHER BENEFITS...

P.S.- hope its not too much info for your "couple tomato plants"

Regards.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 15th, 2013, 12:03 am

Any advise on what to use on some citrus and fruit trees that has some sort of disease. The leaves are getting yellow and dried.
Thanks.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » April 15th, 2013, 7:39 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Any advise on what to use on some citrus and fruit trees that has some sort of disease. The leaves are getting yellow and dried.
Thanks.

many things can cause those symptoms bro...

there is a "Plant Clinic" every 2nd Tuesday of the month at all Ministry of Food Production county offices.
you can walk with plant samples and let the plant doctors diagnose it for you...FREE of charge.

they will also give you some general recommendations.

other than that..you can also call in and request a visit by your Extension Officer
or
Ministry of Food Production has "Office Days" are on Wednesdays...you can go in and meet the Extension Officer for your district personally.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 15th, 2013, 7:46 am

Thanks.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 15th, 2013, 8:02 am

Or you can go to Plant Pathology at the Research Division up in Centeno

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 15th, 2013, 9:15 pm

@ monster power-another problem which you may have bypassed,and I'm not saying you did,is the use of chicken manure.I have seen this manure being used on tomato fields and this was one of the side effects.

@sniper 3000,more than likely extension officers like they stop seeking out farmers,sadly you need to seek them.or if you know a good garden shop you could go check them.

Postby Bizzare » April 15th, 2013, 9:27 pm

part time farmer checking in. Last crop was 5 acres of corn.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 15th, 2013, 9:34 pm

Bizzare wrote:part time farmer checking in. Last crop was 5 acres of corn.

:shock: :shock: :shock:

big$$$$$$$$$$$

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 16th, 2013, 5:53 am

Shake past and check it for meh nah!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 16th, 2013, 10:02 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Shake past and check it for meh nah!

where u live boiiiii? what citrus do you have,be specific in terms of variety.for eg,if orange state type of orange.

Postby De Dragon » April 16th, 2013, 11:58 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:BTW anyone with a link to who will buy limes in bulk? 1000+ per week.

I have 400-500 tree's just sitting there and would like to sell to one buyer or just a few buyers. Also I have a crop of mixed variety paw paw.

Citrus Growers Assoc.? Angostura?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 16th, 2013, 12:44 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:BTW anyone with a link to who will buy limes in bulk? 1000+ per week.

I have 400-500 tree's just sitting there and would like to sell to one buyer or just a few buyers. Also I have a crop of mixed variety paw paw.

Citrus Growers Assoc.? Angostura?

Namdevo packing house,the wholesale market usually has a number of buyers as well.

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2013, 9:36 am

thank you rain 8-)
IMG_20130426_171810.jpg
IMG_20130426_171756.jpg
IMG_20130426_171009.jpg
IMG_20130426_170957.jpg
IMG_20130426_170931.jpg

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2013, 10:12 am

5 acres of corn u say

hadda kidnap bizarre right after he go market yes

Postby Rooki3 » April 27th, 2013, 10:35 am

we have like 3 acres of agricultural land, jus dey doin none, have water on it, i feel i'll do sumn, but i doh have d patience for plants/crops, i prefer animals.

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2013, 10:39 am

go chook some ochro seed, thats a crop you doh hadda maintain or care about.

Postby Rooki3 » April 27th, 2013, 11:07 am

grandfather said it have ole pig pens on them in d bk

dem dey easy to mind? i kno ppl pay a premium for pork

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2013, 1:54 pm

Rooki3 wrote:grandfather said it have ole pig pens on them in d bk

pass on d land to me nah

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 27th, 2013, 2:23 pm

butchers make the money, not the farmers :wink:

marlener

Postby marlener » April 27th, 2013, 3:00 pm

Well before I got around to planting the pumpkin or anything else on the land,the reains came.Water in the ravine aplenty.Planted 20 cucumber plants and thirty pimentos or a small area I cleared to see how they fare.Would like to do it on a large scale but I don`t have the know how and it just me.I did observe some rather large spiders coming out though 3-5 inches across.Will post a pic later not sure if they are harmful.Black and hairy.Shakes send me a number inbox will pass and check you on the way up might get some idea for the garden.

Postby Rooki3 » April 27th, 2013, 3:02 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

serious?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2013, 3:19 pm

marlener wrote:Well before I got around to planting the pumpkin or anything else on the land,the reains came.Water in the ravine aplenty.Planted 20 cucumber plants and thirty pimentos or a small area I cleared to see how they fare.Would like to do it on a large scale but I don`t have the know how and it just me.I did observe some rather large spiders coming out though 3-5 inches across.Will post a pic later not sure if they are harmful.Black and hairy.Shakes send me a number inbox will pass and check you on the way up might get some idea for the garden.

sounds like a tarantula..ask away all your questions here man.

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » April 27th, 2013, 3:30 pm

so guys what is the recipee/fertilizer for tomatoes & sweet pepper thinking starting with a 20 crate

info for success!

Thanks much

Postby Rooki3 » April 27th, 2013, 4:21 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

ok did a lil asking around, u are so wrong sir, yes butchers make d most, but the farmers make alot also, they make a fair amt