What brand of dog food do u use?

Rx

Re: What brand of dog food do u use?

Postby Rx » January 23rd, 2012, 7:43 pm

how come nobody say Price Mart bulk chow?

Wah wrong with that?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 24th, 2012, 12:00 pm

My uncle actually uses that to feed his rott & he looking real good I must say. Was studying to try a bag myself. But I personally endorse Eukanuba

Halfbreed07

The Dog Food Thread

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 21st, 2012, 9:08 pm

The intent is to help others with dog nutrition, chow choices, food prices and availability.

I currently use Taste of the wild for the adult dogs
http://www.tasteofthewildpetfood.com/pr ... e_formula/

and Blue Buffalo for the pup
http://www.bluebuffalo.com/dog-food/lp-puppy-lamb

both chows I buy from a pet shop on the SMR in cunupia, they are a little pricey but are always in stock, mostly because very few people are willing to pay the price for chow, but I firmly believe in providing the best for my dogs.

Re: The Dog Food Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 21st, 2012, 9:12 pm

Cooked food,dog chow as well but it can't have chicken in it as my dog has allergic reactions to it

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 21st, 2012, 9:16 pm

yea, one of my pits had bad chicken allergies as a pup, i switched her to a lamb formula and was cleared up in a few months. I would be careful about switching up cook food and chow on the same day as the both foods my be digested at different rates, causing intestinal blockage.
cooked food, although not ideal must not contain ANY seasonings, cooked bones or vegetable cooking oils.

Postby stev » August 21st, 2012, 9:28 pm

sometimes pet rice with sausage or chicken / liver. never chicken scraps. no bones.

purina dog chow occasionally. sometimes i buy the dog treats that help them clean their teeth (pet shop in perseverance).

no chocolate like my stupid neighbour gives his dogs.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 21st, 2012, 9:43 pm

@Halfbreed
Mine is a pitbull as well :lol:

Postby maj. tom » August 21st, 2012, 9:50 pm

ImageImage

For treats. Two of each twice a day. They know when it's snack time, and it drives them dribbling wild at the allotted time. Good ways to train a dog with such rewards.

To be honest, the rice and lamb biscuits smell kinda good and I have been tempted so many times to try one myself, :shock: especially seeing how much they enjoy it. I've read somewhere that the biscuits also help clean their teeth... oh yeah, on the pack.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 22nd, 2012, 6:28 am

anybody ever tried feed raw? I used to do it but now I don't have the time to prepare it for them.
Saw some great results when I used to do it though.

Postby sMASH » August 22nd, 2012, 7:06 am

maj. tom wrote: :shock: especially seeing how much they enjoy it. I've read somewhere that the biscuits also help clean their teeth... oh yeah, on the pack.
hoss, that is no reason to try what they eat. my hunting dog goes madd for all sorts of dead things, and the stray hunts beetles.

Postby stev » August 22nd, 2012, 12:38 pm

vet told me not to buy price mart dog chow....it doesnt really have nutrients that are good for the dogs....just something to full their belly.....she said that is why dogs that only eat price mart chow tend to eat more and get skinnier over time.

glacier

Postby glacier » August 22nd, 2012, 3:16 pm

I use this for my German Sheppard,

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 22nd, 2012, 3:29 pm

stev wrote:vet told me not to buy price mart dog chow....it doesnt really have nutrients that are good for the dogs....just something to full their belly.....she said that is why dogs that only eat price mart chow tend to eat more and get skinnier over time.

I used to feed my dogs that. Bad thing is the chow spoils after a short while and it feels greasy when u hold it in ur hand. Could imagine what kinda crap dey put in that.

Now i feed dem rice with liver and/or chicken, no problems.

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » August 22nd, 2012, 7:30 pm

best is Pro Plan

Rush

Postby Rush » August 22nd, 2012, 8:00 pm

I use Purina / Pedigree for the adult dogs. They seem to be doing well on it and enjoy it. For the puppy, I use Pro Plan Large Breed Puppy Chow. He seems to do well on it, but doesnt like it too much.

I am going to switch over to Acana Praire very soon.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 22nd, 2012, 8:41 pm

GReddy23 wrote:best is Pro Plan

best is relative my friend
http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food- ... -food-dry/

KIRAN-TEK

Postby KIRAN-TEK » October 8th, 2012, 4:24 pm

Tom Boy lamb an rice works good for my rotts... has more protien content than purina.....

risley93

Postby risley93 » October 8th, 2012, 5:31 pm

Pro Plan Performance Chicken and rice

http://www.petandkennelsupply.com/image ... 00x500.jpg

Postby DVSTT » October 8th, 2012, 5:46 pm

Pro Plan Selects Salmon and some cod liver oil with it. Dogs love it.

Postby sMASH » October 8th, 2012, 6:16 pm

fish men stop passin by me cause they got robbed too many times recently. so until i get buckets go on on the wharf i have been buying dog chow. they have taken a liking to the alpo, and tolerate the pedigree. they did not like the pricemart bulk chow, and the dog ration, when i had tried it times before.

but, they really like normal cooked meat and rice and ting.

Postby Bizzare » October 8th, 2012, 6:53 pm

purina or ah bag ah chow from pricemart. dat too cheap fuh ollour dog oarr?

Postby sMASH » October 9th, 2012, 9:06 pm

fleckars juss doh eat it, and for the price i would like to get that instead.

mattu

Postby mattu » October 9th, 2012, 9:42 pm

tool-band wrote:pro plan chicken and rice, my boxer wont touch anything else.

how old is he?

as the age a lot of boxers get allergic to chicken and get skin problems.

my old boy only eats salmon (proplan select)

Invisible

Postby Invisible » October 10th, 2012, 12:58 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I feed my rott this, she's only 16 months old..

My Rotti actually used to eat this, with encouragement. But now he refuses to eat this...4 days fresh chow with variants to make it more enticing and he wouldn't fart on it.

ImageImageImage

Eats the full line, but especially loves this one

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » October 10th, 2012, 7:43 am

I use these

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 10th, 2012, 8:11 am

Purina Blue Large Breed Formula, I normally add a TB spoon of Tuna in water to 6 cups once a day but now i've tried rice + beef liver 1 cup - 5 1/2 cups chow.

My unregistered pot hound is 65+ LBS at 7 months. Solid stool, happy to eat..I think he's about to start barreling out. vet says expect 100-110 lbs, breeder + me agree 120+ lbs

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 10th, 2012, 8:13 am

cooked food...used to use chkn liver...but i realise it made the dogs sick if you kept them on liver to long...dropping hair, bad coat etc....

RDevil

Postby RDevil » October 10th, 2012, 8:42 am

I have a bully on PROPLAN but he's giving alot of trouble to eat. Unless I dont mix it with cooked food he wont touch it. Thinking about trying the Acana, where can I get this to buy and how much does it cost?

Invisible

Postby Invisible » October 10th, 2012, 10:56 am

I get Acana from Trinipaws on Royal Road in San Fernando.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » October 10th, 2012, 10:57 am

Price varies depending on flavor. From $480 - $560