***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Re: *** The Official Bess Movie Thread***

Postby X_Factor » January 14th, 2012, 9:37 pm

rather this one tho, it has a nice 80's feel...drive was really great, the little dialogue and the old school 80's feel was amazing!

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 14th, 2012, 9:58 pm

Phone booth
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0183649/
for almost the whole movie the guy was in a phone booth

I only watch it to see how the hell this movie would play out since you can't really do anyting in a phone booth, but it was AWESOME

boogy910
Location: if i tell u i'll have to kill u, unless u have vodka

Postby boogy910 » January 15th, 2012, 2:05 am

fight club jed, nevr get tired of tht movie

Postby rfari » January 15th, 2012, 2:23 am

^^fight club is a very hard movie. definitely could make my top 5. top 3 movies in no particular order; fist full of dollars, good bad and the ugly and pulp fiction.

Postby goalpost » January 15th, 2012, 10:28 am

No film in 2011 would qualify as great films "of all time", but the best movies I saw during that year were "The Tree of Life" (very different film), The Descendants, Beginners, We Need To Talk About Kevin (another strange but satisfying film) and Take Shelter.

For me, Fight Club was an excellent film, which works due to a pretty impressive screenplay and visuals, but it isn't David Fincher's best movie; that would be "Seven".

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 15th, 2012, 10:51 am

Singham
The Mechanic
The Fast and Furious Series
Underworld Series
Spongebob Squarepants Movie (Yes i'm Serious)
Thor
Shrek Series
New Years Eve
Rise of the planet of the apes
I am Number Four
Season of the Witch
Solomon Kane
Over The Hedge
Scary Movie Series

Postby Trini Hookah » January 15th, 2012, 8:04 pm

No one mentioned Secret Window?

Postby A172 » January 15th, 2012, 10:14 pm

goalpost wrote:No film in 2011 would qualify as great films "of all time", but the best movies I saw during that year were "The Tree of Life" (very different film), The Descendants, Beginners, We Need To Talk About Kevin (another strange but satisfying film) and Take Shelter.

excellent post man....saw all, loved all.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 16th, 2012, 2:57 pm

the movie aint release as yet but I'm classing Contraband as ah besssssss movie...together with other M.Walhberg movies:

4 brothers
shooter
Italian job
Perfect Storm
Invincible
We own the night

Postby Trini Hookah » January 17th, 2012, 9:56 am

These days you can't judge a movie by a trailer anymore.

Postby mero » February 29th, 2012, 11:24 pm

Rating 8/10
Huge huge DC anime fan, (Based on the JL:Tower of Babel comic) saw this last week(rel Feb 19th) and really liked it. Still can't compare to Batman:Under the Red Hood or Public Enemies but its worth a watch, hope they bring out a Flash movie next, they really showed him off in this movie
Last edited by mero on February 29th, 2012, 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 29th, 2012, 11:29 pm

^ Is that JL: Doom you're talking about? (image can't be hotlinked) Need to see it myself, the ad looked bauce

Postby mero » February 29th, 2012, 11:47 pm

^^ yea it is.

Just downloaded American History X tonight hopefully if i don't fall asleep. Heard it was really good, one of Edward Norton's best roles

Postby Mark! » February 29th, 2012, 11:57 pm

allyuh men avi makin me gon watch some jed space ghost on youtube now eh :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2012, 7:28 am

I would add Contraband to my list...awaits Expendables 2, Die Hard 5 and Pain and Gain to add as well..

Postby dougla_boy » March 1st, 2012, 9:12 am

saw Machine Gun Preacher....show was great....shed 1tear when the little guy stepped on a mine.......i think it is based on a true story tho......but great show

Postby Trini Hookah » March 4th, 2012, 4:48 pm

mero wrote:Image
Rating 8/10
Huge huge DC anime fan, (Based on the JL:Tower of Babel comic) saw this last week(rel Feb 19th) and really liked it. Still can't compare to Batman:Under the Red Hood or Public Enemies but its worth a watch, hope they bring out a Flash movie next, they really showed him off in this movie

I didn't like Flash's animation. And the story itself was mixed up at some parts - Cyborg, Royal Flush gang etc. But it's cool.

I'd give it 7.5/10. But imagine everyone else got reallllllll licks, Green Lantern just broke down and cried :|

Postby mero » March 4th, 2012, 5:42 pm

well as i said, its nowhere as good as Under the Red Hood(5/5 on tottentomatoes) but i still liked it. Would have been nice to stick to the original plot with Ra's Al Ghul though. Could have also been longer too

Postby Ted_v2 » March 4th, 2012, 7:26 pm

Night at the roxbury !!

Postby Trini Hookah » March 4th, 2012, 7:28 pm

mero wrote:well as i said, its nowhere as good as Under the Red Hood(5/5 on tottentomatoes) but i still liked it. Would have been nice to stick to the original plot with Ra's Al Ghul though. Could have also been longer too

Yes! Thank you, I thought they jumped into the action way too quickly.

But I may have over exaggerated in my 1st post, I enjoyed it alot but after I watched "The Grey" was still thinking how good a movie that was.

Postby 1UZFE » March 4th, 2012, 7:30 pm

Undisputed 1,2, and 3 was good..
Anybody saw Project X and John Carter as yet???

Postby Ted_v2 » March 4th, 2012, 7:31 pm

1UZFE wrote:Undisputed 1,2, and 3 was good..
Anybody saw Project X and John Carter as yet???

project x looking like a must see movie

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 4th, 2012, 7:39 pm

anybody saw safe house yet?

Postby mero » March 5th, 2012, 1:25 am

didn't see it yet, getting mixed reviews though, but overall i heard its aight, would check it out this week most likely.

Just watched this though :D
good movie imho 8.5/10
now see why they selected Tom Hardy to act as Bane in the upcoming batman, man is a fricking beast and could play a real badass

Postby 16 cycles » March 5th, 2012, 1:22 pm

hurt locker

the pianist

^ both free on Flow - movies on demand at the moment....

Postby mero » March 22nd, 2012, 2:11 am

like is me alone watching movies worth seeing :| .
anyway
American History X, great fricking movie 8.5/10 . One of Edward Norton 's best roles. definitely recommended.

Postby mero » March 22nd, 2012, 2:16 am

21 Jump Street 8/10 imo
just came home from the movies from seeing this,was way better than i expected. Thumbs up

Postby Mark! » March 22nd, 2012, 2:35 am

wanted to check that out

anybody see this? seemed a bit similar to safehouse..

Postby shogun » March 22nd, 2012, 7:02 am

goalpost wrote:No film in 2011 would qualify as great films "of all time", but the best movies I saw during that year were "The Tree of Life" (very different film), The Descendants, Beginners, We Need To Talk About Kevin (another strange but satisfying film) and Take Shelter.

For me, Fight Club was an excellent film, which works due to a pretty impressive screenplay and visuals, but it isn't David Fincher's best movie; that would be "Seven".

Great choices there man. So i'm gonna have to see "We Need To Talk About Kevin", because of your previous choices.

And yeah, i agree "Seven" is Fincher's crown jewel, so far.

Postby goalpost » March 22nd, 2012, 8:12 am

Finally sat down and watched Fincher's "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo". A nice film, again nowhere close to his films like Fight Club, Seven or The Social Network, but a pretty impressive movie. Didn't see the original so nothing to compare it to though.

Gonna have to include "The Artist" on this list. Thought it was gonna be crap, but turned out to be pretty awesome.