Windows 10

Re: Windows 10

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 1st, 2015, 7:32 pm

lost to all wrote:back to windows 8.1 and things normel normel, especially with windows classic shell installed.

I think I'm going back to 8.1 too...and with classic shell everything was just nice....plus this lil netbook I using running slower....somehow I don't like 10 and all this control microsoft wants over my updates....though I set it as metered connection and can control when I could update I can't choose which ones I want....and I don't like how onedrive works now

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » September 13th, 2015, 10:27 am

Allyuh check this out about Win 10 being forced on users:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly ... windows-8/

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 13th, 2015, 11:46 am

The day Google puts out an OS for Computers...

Aww man microsoft gonna crash and burnnnn

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 24th, 2015, 1:07 pm

Finally got my parts yesterday, installed windows 7 pro on it with the key activated over the phone you can activate the key as many times as you want but it has to be over the phone. Cause it didn't work online for me.

No idea if the ISO of Windows 7 I got was clean but matters not once the key is legit thats all that mattered I forced a download of win 10 upgrade, then did the factory "reset" which turns it into a fresh clean install. I think I have a motherboard here that will last me 20 years, and since windows 10 will be the last windows from microsoft, I made sure to get something really good with an upgrade path. In about 8 years from now I will buy a 4790K i7 for this board.

I got a core i3 4170 for this board, I don't mind upgrading parts like CPU, RAM and GPU. But its a real annoyance to change a mother board and reinstall windows etc. Then in future you gonna have to pay for a windows 10 so I figured now was the time to buy a proper motherboard. No more AMD for me. And with my intel SSD I should have no issues for decades to come as SSDs can't crash like an HDD.

https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/H97MPLUS/

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » September 24th, 2015, 1:58 pm

Yawn...................k

In other pressing issues, dx11 never looked so good in sniper elite gameplay. Cant wait for a compatible dx12 win 10 game.....killer instinct

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 24th, 2015, 3:46 pm

I am more excited about DX 12 coming to Arma 3 Expansion in 2016. Just look at the incredible scope of that map larger than Tobago with no loading.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 24th, 2015, 5:08 pm

powered up windows last week, Cortina and the taskbar went missing. reset twice Noting.

left it alone and boot up yesterday. boom flick fully functional.
Not sure if win or total fail

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 24th, 2015, 7:15 pm

HSA wrote:hello...i overclock to 2.4ghz eh....try doing that imps

Overclocked to 2.4Ghz........

to 2.4Ghz......

Sorry. Just trying to let that sink in........

Postby Monk BANzai » September 25th, 2015, 1:16 am

gurus...want to run windows on Parallels.... 8.1 or 10?

(and enough already with the OH GOAR WINDOWS ON A MAC comments...)

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 25th, 2015, 6:35 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:gurus...want to run windows on Parallels.... 8.1 or 10?

(and enough already with the OH GOAR WINDOWS ON A MAC comments...)

I've used 8.1 since launch with no issues.
I cloned it and upgraded the clone to Win10 and it's ok so far.
The VMs are used primarily for some coding apps.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 25th, 2015, 11:35 am

Nice.. Thanks. Haven't used window since XP... But I need to run a program that's not Mac friendly.. Hence parallels...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 6th, 2015, 9:22 am

MS event @ 10

Looking forward to the Surface Pro 4. Hope it goes on sale from today!

Postby Spitfir3 » October 6th, 2015, 10:00 am

Ted_v2 wrote:powered up windows last week, Cortina and the taskbar went missing. reset twice Noting.

left it alone and boot up yesterday. boom flick fully functional.
Not sure if win or total fail

typical windows 10 problem..make sure windows is up to date
windows button>settings>windows updates

Postby Ted_v2 » October 6th, 2015, 10:11 am

Yea. I noticed that when I turn off my pc it still remains installing updates automatically.

Edge needs updating because it constantly crashes and too much pop ups. Else it decent

HSA

Postby HSA » October 6th, 2015, 12:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Finally got my parts yesterday, installed windows 7 pro on it with the key activated over the phone you can activate the key as many times as you want but it has to be over the phone. Cause it didn't work online for me.

No idea if the ISO of Windows 7 I got was clean but matters not once the key is legit thats all that mattered I forced a download of win 10 upgrade, then did the factory "reset" which turns it into a fresh clean install. I think I have a motherboard here that will last me 20 years, and since windows 10 will be the last windows from microsoft, I made sure to get something really good with an upgrade path. In about 8 years from now I will buy a 4790K i7 for this board.

I got a core i3 4170 for this board, I don't mind upgrading parts like CPU, RAM and GPU. But its a real annoyance to change a mother board and reinstall windows etc. Then in future you gonna have to pay for a windows 10 so I figured now was the time to buy a proper motherboard. No more AMD for me. And with my intel SSD I should have no issues for decades to come as SSDs can't crash like an HDD.

https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/H97MPLUS/

daiz a sheit board for people who earn $150 a week

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 6th, 2015, 12:11 pm

Sent from my ONE A2001 using Tapatalk

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 6th, 2015, 12:22 pm

Thought buying a surface pro 4 was going to be an easy decision yes. That surface book making mih think twice now :|

Postby Country_Bookie » October 6th, 2015, 1:58 pm

Surface book looks great. Is it worth the extra US$600 than the Surface Pro tho?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 6th, 2015, 2:06 pm

Surface Pro 4 with touch type cover costing $1430

Surface Book costing $1700

(Based on an i5, 8GB ram and 256GB hard drive configuration)

Postby Slartibartfast » October 7th, 2015, 8:37 am

nos_specialist wrote:The day Google puts out an OS for Computers...

Aww man microsoft gonna crash and burnnnn
Google has a Chrome OS. It's used mostly in net books right now though because it is apparently very light compared to windows. Just look for Chromebooks on amazon.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 22nd, 2015, 6:24 pm

My Windows 10 installation just automatically downgraded itself to Pro Insider Preview Build 10565!!

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » October 22nd, 2015, 6:37 pm

Laptop did an automatic update to windows 10. After got a message "operating system missing". Restarted twice everything normal now. Anyone experience this.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 23rd, 2015, 3:04 am

DTAC wrote:My Windows 10 installation just automatically downgraded itself to Pro Insider Preview Build 10565!!

Update:

It's a new build of the OS. Cool but the watermark is a PITA.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » October 26th, 2015, 9:05 am

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 26th, 2015, 3:13 pm

Already did that. It's great that as an insider we get upgrades before everyone else but it's kind of daft that we need a constant reminder on screen that it's a preview build. If I want to know the build number I'll go into This PC>Properties. Oh and copyright 2016?... a little presumptuous!

Re: Last few hours to get Windows 10 free!

Postby redmanjp » July 30th, 2016, 12:09 am

A few hours remaining to get your FREE upgrade if you haven't yet. Yes after today you will have to pay US$119 for it. You can always rollback to Win7 or whatever u had and keep your Win 10 licence to upgrade at a later time.

Postby sMASH » July 30th, 2016, 9:05 am

damn, havent gotten my cpu yet to get another w10.

HSA

Postby HSA » August 2nd, 2016, 7:41 am

DTAC wrote:
HSA wrote:hello...i overclock to 2.4ghz eh....try doing that imps

Overclocked to 2.4Ghz........

to 2.4Ghz......

Sorry. Just trying to let that sink in........

got it to 2.9 on liquid nitro...now i can play call of duty 4 without lag on my gtx 1190

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 2nd, 2016, 1:51 pm

Why do people buy call of duty every year even though its still the same COD 4 with a new paint job?

I don't get it people keep buying COD 16 and Madden 16 infact the number has reached so high we are at COD Infinity now. Anyways only reason I got windows 10 was for Killer Instinct. Was well worth it quite honestly I might probably get Gears of War 4 there is no point in owning a Xbox One anymore.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » August 3rd, 2016, 6:36 pm

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2016/08/windows-10-anniversary-update-delete-partition
It seems that the latest version of Microsoft’s OS has attention issues. Not content with forcing itself on users who didn’t want it, it may be taking even more drastic steps of hosing other operating systems entirely!

A handful of reports surfacing on social media suggest, anecdotally, that the Windows 10 anniversary may interfere with, affect and even delete other partitions on the same disk.

If these claims are accurate —and do keep in mind that various different factors may be at play in these cases — it would be a pretty shocking situation.

Broken boot loaders on an update are one thing (even expected) but losing data, even entire partitions? That’s a whole other kettle of krappé.