Re: Windows 10

Postby skylinechild » August 12th, 2015, 1:57 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ you should put in a SSD, it will scream

i plan to....but not right now....

i had the cash for a new SSD but i didnt pull the trigger on it....i ended up buying some other stuff online.
when i ready again i will buy a SSD....but for now....i good.
just to swap out the processor....and i'll be even better

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » August 12th, 2015, 2:35 pm

anybody try a dual os setup with win 10? have a 7 and 10 setup, behaving crazy at times, long boot times

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 13th, 2015, 9:21 am

build 10512 out for mobile

tried installing it on a lumia 635..

it fcuked up... grrrrrrr

gonna have to resort to a flash and a re-do

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » August 13th, 2015, 2:03 pm

delete
Last edited by STORM1234 on September 19th, 2018, 3:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » August 13th, 2015, 4:25 pm

Install on the Vaio went well. Install on my wife's work PC went horribly wrong. She lost everything cause during the install, T&TEC decided it was a good time for an outage.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 13th, 2015, 4:37 pm

Wogyad

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 13th, 2015, 4:54 pm

I have a ultra book I can say without a doubt I am not going back to laptops unless it is absolutely necessary

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 13th, 2015, 6:52 pm

snypaz wrote:Install on the Vaio went well. Install on my wife's work PC went horribly wrong. She lost everything cause during the install, T&TEC decided it was a good time for an outage.

Is she one of those people who saves everything "to the desktop"? Even a completely borked Windows installation with the plug pulled half way through wouldn't cause data to just disappear.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 13th, 2015, 8:47 pm

So anyone figured out how to transfer files to a mobile device with windows 10? I sending it like usual but its never starting and would eventually say device isn't responding.

I now have to transfer to a flash then thru a laptop to the device

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » August 14th, 2015, 10:48 am

Question: If i partition my drive and save all my personal data on the new partition (E), then do a clean install of w10 on (C), would that cause the probs ppl been getting?

Postby The_Honourable » August 14th, 2015, 11:08 am

ryandtrini wrote:Question: If i partition my drive and save all my personal data on the new partition (E), then do a clean install of w10 on (C), would that cause the probs ppl been getting?

Nah, you would still be doing a clean install. The problem is upgrading from Win 7 or Win 8 to Win 10. Wiping out a previous OS and installing a new OS aka clean install eliminates most if not all bugs. Simply "upgrading" can cause bugs and unnecessary files being saved which picks up space. The only thing you have to "worry" about is getting updated Win 10 drivers for your hardware.

Make sure you assign a drive letter to your "personal data" partition so that you would be able to see and access it easily. Normally that setting is on by default if you are using windows disk management tool. You can search diskmgmt.msc on windows search and the program will come up.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 14th, 2015, 1:12 pm

lost to all wrote:
original_lollybob wrote:build 10512 out for mobile

tried installing it on a lumia 635..

it fcuked up... grrrrrrr

gonna have to resort to a flash and a re-do
\\

is ah good ting you talk dat jed, i was about to install on my lumia 635 too.

i had to recover using the nokia software update tool... had to dl a whopping 1.52GB file to recover back to 8.1 cyan

then got denim

then got 10 build 10152 installed last night

took a couple hrs..

this morning i did a factory reset to erase everything...

and its working fine now... wifi at work doesnt allow me to dl anything (u'd think as the IT person here i'd make it work eh)

so when i get home ill update with the store and app situation...

Mail is working.. but ive pinned 3 seperate accounts to my start screen but opening any one account tile opens the last account i used

eg.. open gmail from pinned gmail tile... gmail account
open PML mail from pinned PML mail tile.. gmail account

fcuk

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 14th, 2015, 1:15 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:So anyone figured out how to transfer files to a mobile device with windows 10? I sending it like usual but its never starting and would eventually say device isn't responding.

I now have to transfer to a flash then thru a laptop to the device

wah u mean?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 14th, 2015, 1:22 pm

Basically I cannot transfer torrents to my tab. Just to a flash and then thru a laptop to the tab.

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » August 14th, 2015, 1:33 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
ryandtrini wrote:Question: If i partition my drive and save all my personal data on the new partition (E), then do a clean install of w10 on (C), would that cause the probs ppl been getting?

Nah, you would still be doing a clean install. The problem is upgrading from Win 7 or Win 8 to Win 10. Wiping out a previous OS and installing a new OS aka clean install eliminates most if not all bugs. Simply "upgrading" can cause bugs and unnecessary files being saved which picks up space. The only thing you have to "worry" about is getting updated Win 10 drivers for your hardware.

Make sure you assign a drive letter to your "personal data" partition so that you would be able to see and access it easily. Normally that setting is on by default if you are using windows disk management tool. You can search diskmgmt.msc on windows search and the program will come up.

Of course. I backup my drivers and saved them elsewhere just in case.

Postby r3iXmann » August 17th, 2015, 7:25 am

I upgraded from 8.1, no issues. Even updated all of my VPN client drivers. Is recommend you google your hardware + windows 10 to see if there's are any issues since everybody's mileage seems to vary

RhymePaladin

Postby RhymePaladin » August 17th, 2015, 2:29 pm

Anyone get this error "WindowsUpdate_80070003 OR WindowsUpdate_dt000" when updating from 8.1 to win 10?

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » August 23rd, 2015, 3:51 pm

I just saw this article, interesting info here:

http://www.komando.com/happening-now/32 ... d-software

Postby Spitfir3 » August 23rd, 2015, 9:36 pm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2015, 1:45 pm

So I ended up ordering a new Mainboard and i3 4170 CPU and 256GB intel SSD that the OS is going onto to build my 20 year dream computer. Its been a while I wanted to put down a PC that I expect to last me 20 years before I have a need to upgrade. Which was why I needed a new windows 7 cd key cause my older 8.1 pro windows key was an OEM key and won't transfer to the new board.

I ended up buying a MSI ECO B85 military class 4 mainboard with a 25 year life expectancy certified by German TUV company.

http://www.msi.com/product/mb/B85M-ECO. ... o-overview

Wanted to get a proper intel system with a good upgrade path for CPU and get all this out of the way while windows 10 has a free upgrade so once I get that over with maybe in 8 years from now I may buy a i7 4790K which should take me into 12 years further. Judging from the very slow pace of CPU improvements in the last 7 years its likely that a i7 4790K won't be minimum requirements for games until maybe 17 years from now. I am not going i5 after this I will be getting a used i7 4790K in 8 to 10 years from now.

The biggest reason for Win 10 for me is Killer Instinct is exclusive to win 10. I doh need ultra latest games like other people here I just need KI, Street Fighter 5, DOTA 2, Team Fortress 2 I could play them games for 50 years straight. Or how long the online will be populated for.

My current board and CPU I am selling to someone cause well AMD FM2+ is a dead end platform that does not cater for future CPU upgrades. I strongly dislike having to replace a mainboard and the annoyance that comes with it. I like to stick to just replacing a CPU and GPU or adding ram

Postby Spitfir3 » August 24th, 2015, 2:33 pm

FM2 is indeed fail that's why i ended up going the fx route instead that was more than a year ago..what gpu do you use effective?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2015, 2:53 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:FM2 is indeed fail that's why i ended up going the fx route instead that was more than a year ago..what gpu do you use effective?

I have a HD 7850 1GB XFX black super OC but I also ordered a used GTX 660 ti 2GB ASUS TOP OC

Seems to be the same power roughly as a reference stock GTX 760 card aswell.

Its costing $140 USD used. So $1000 TT when it lands in Trini. I would try to sell back my HD 7850 here on tuner for maybe $700 if I could get that aswell.

The AM3+ platform is a really excellent platform don't worry with people saying intel is better, maybe for current single threaded games but in terms of future, AMD is easily ontop there with heavily multi threaded games.

As you can observe from the benchmarks as games are now becoming multi threaded, AMD now shines. Also AMD FX is way better value for over clocking than any of the intel solutions. The fact that all FX chips are unlocked for OC is the main reason why FX series is such a great choice.

The FM2 platform flat out sucked major ass, I have the 760K quad core Athlon and its missing the L3 cache that FX chips comes with so I lose 10 FPS literally!!! further than that 4 cores especially without L3 cache cannot cut it for games it just stinks. But the i7 4790K has a lead over the FX 8350, so in 8 years from now when I can get it cheap used off ebay I will order down one else if I had to buy a 8 threaded CPU would never buy intel would get FX 8350/ 8320E or something to that extent.

Observe, and just imagine the FX 8300 series chips is like half the price of a haswell i5 4670K and even more powerful eh. Imagine for future games that gonna really use 8 cores cause far as I understand BF4 can only use 6 cores partially.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2015, 3:00 pm

BTW spit which FX chip you have? If you have the FX 4300 that plays everything for now.

And with your upgrade path in later years when you find it not cutting it just slap in a 8320E or 8350 etc that taking you to 15 years service before you really need to get a new mainboard.

DX 12 promises to move load from the CPU onto the GPU aswell further extending the life of the platform and reducing the need to replace mainboard or cpus.

Postby Spitfir3 » August 24th, 2015, 3:32 pm

im using the FX-6350 3.9ghz stock speed

got it for like $300 practically brand new from a buddy because his client changed his mind about wanting a system he was building for him :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2015, 6:03 pm

Holy sheit :shock: thats an epic deal yes.

U eh need nothing more than that LOL

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » August 31st, 2015, 12:13 pm

HSA

Postby HSA » August 31st, 2015, 7:05 pm

I have an amd sempron overclocked to 2.4ghz...so ha....after all that..i even have 2gb ram and bf4 couldnt play.......all i could say is amd is sheit

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 31st, 2015, 7:32 pm

Well when u hav sheit...wa u expect

Postby Spitfir3 » August 31st, 2015, 10:45 pm

exactly, those specs are what you use to do basic web browsing

HSA